petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food

Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food

Grain-free cat food for adult cats and kittensOffers high digestibilityNatural Balance cat food specially formulated with a unique protein and carbohydrate blendNo artificial preservatives, flavors, colors or bleached ingredientsDoes not contain corn, soy, wheat, eggs, dairy products or sunflower oilGreat for cats with allergies or sensitive stomachs
Average Customer Rating:
4.628 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 86 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
78 out of 86(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Formulated for Youth to Senior

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
akamarmee
from Hagerstown, MD
We have six cats ranging in age from five to sixteen years old (all rescues). Several of them have food allergies, one has sensitive stomach issues, and one is an extremely picky eater. We have been using the Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food for 3-1/2 months. All six cats LOVE it! We have not had any allergy or stomach issues to date. All six cats are of a healthy weight, have shinny coats, clear bright eyes., and lots of energy. I would recommend this product to anyone who has a cat with health issues or that just wants a limited ingredient product for their pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

high quality cat food for all stages of the cat's life cycle.

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patriciaf541
from Oregon
This is a high quality cat food for all stages of a cat's life. now that my cat Tom Tom is older now this cat food is excellent for him as it is very easily digestible.
I give his cat food a five star.
Excellent cat food very high quality too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Duck

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
mrmott
My cats like duck and eat this right up. I like that it's good for them as 10+ year-old, indoor cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great food

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
lordypants
from pennsylvania
My cat has a very sensitive stomach and this is one of the only foods she can eat. Wheni saw petco will do recurrent delivery i was thrilled because it was cheaper then the store!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Limited ingredient food

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Countrycousin
from Michigan
My cat became hyperthyroid and we needed to change her food. After much online research, we decided to try Natural Balance as it fit the recommended needs. Our vet had given us a prescription food but I did not like the chemical nonfood contents. Our cat started to improve even before we got the medication. We are looking for duck and venison nutritional sources and green pea is an excellent additonal source.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than RX food

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
fireandicernice
I switched from an RX pea and duck food to this because the RX food was too expensive and the ingredients are almost exactly the same. Cats seemed to like the taste and it did not upset their stomachs like other foods in the past. The only bad thing I noticed is the pieces are slightly larger than other brands so one of my cats had a hard time chewing the pieces
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
abigspottedkitty
from Missouri
My finicky Bengals prefer this over any other dry food sold at Petco and we've tried them all! It's moderately priced in comparison to the others and I like that the limited ingredients don't upset their tummies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better ingredient Cat Food

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
tedzee222
from New York, NY
my cat, Vince, usually eats Purina Pro-Plan. (dry food).
But, there was no hesitation to go for this in a bowl laid-out 50% // 50%.
*
I purchased a larger bag after the sample pouch was gone, and he's still "after it".
Good Stuff!! Try it today.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Our cats like it

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ucce
from California, SF Bay Area
One of our cats has intestinal problems, and we buy this particular line of cat food and this "flavor" because our vet has strongly recommended it.
All our cats like it, but it's expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So close

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
IndyAnnie
from Indianapolis, IN
I have a cat with food allergies that cause her to scratch her chin and face. When I put her on the green pea & duck formula, her itchy face cleared up dramatically and I was so happy to have found a food that she likes and that is good for her. I took her to the vet a couple months ago and he tested her urine PH level and discovered that it was too high, around 8. Cats' urine PH levels should be between 6 and 6.5 or else they risk developing crystals in the urine that can lead to urinary problems. When I called Natural Balance to ask what the target urine PH for this dry food was, they said it was 7.5, which is way too high for a cat. I took my cat off of this food immediately and switched her to a prescription food. It does not work as well as Natural Balance for clearing up her itchy skin, but my vet said he would rather have an itchy face than urinary problems. I wish Natural Balance would figure out how to get the PH levels right in all their cat foods so I could put her back on the green pea & duck without worrying about her urinary health.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Allergy problem

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
paige2plg
from Havelock NC
My veterinarian recommended Natural Balance Green Pea & Duck. I asked about SamBo's ears because they are scratched and he is constantly using his back feet on his ears, The vet suggested SamBo had a food allergy and from other cases he has seen he suggested it is a grain allergy and I should try green pea and duck. This was three weeks ago, the vet said give it three months. So far I don't see a change. I hope it works. SamBo really likes the food. I've given it as a treat for my other two cats. Does this sound familiar to anyone?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good and Bad

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wisewoman
from Weston, CT
Good: my cat is allergic to almost everything (chicken, salmon, rice, eggs), but this food seems to do the trick. No itching!
Medium: she loves it, but she's eating way too much.
Bad: she's also drinking a lot more water, which leads me to believe that the flavor she loves comes from added sodium.
Wish I could compare sodium levels with other cat foods, but there's not enough info available.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great For Kitty's With Allergies!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kittehxox
from Vermont
This food is pretty amazing, I have a cat that has a food allergy, he's broken out in "kitty acne" and has even gone to the point of OCD licking/scratching etc. We ended up having to put kitty in a cone so he wouldn't harm himself anymore. I've taken him to the vet, spent well over $500 just trying to figure out what was wrong with him! Finally we figured it might be a food thing because everything we were trying was not working for him. We switched to this food and I know that it takes 6/8 weeks to confirm it's a food allergy but he's been on it for about 2 weeks and his coat looks a lot nicer, and whole lot less kitty acne too which means less scratching for him! I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who has an "OCD" like kitty, it might just be a food allergy like my cat. And if it is you'll be saving yourself frustration and money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is amazing!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luvmycats99
from Providence, RI
I can't say enough about the green pea & duck formula. I starting using this product cold turkey on my cats. I ran out of the other brand that I used to feed them with and decided to finally give my cats food that was REALLY good for them. I asked a manager about which dry food would be best for my specific cat that looked like she was having some type of allergy to something not quite sure what and my younger cat was shedding like crazy. The manager suggested the green pea & duck formula because it would help with my cats allergies. Boy was she right! I have to admit that they didn't like it at first, because I didn't introduce this new food to them slowly, like you should, but they ate it and to my amazement, I have seen a HUGE difference in my older cat with no more dandruff and less shedding on my younger cat. Both their fur is so much shiner too! The other big difference is that they eat a lot less because they are fuller faster. This food has so much protein and omega 3 so that means less waste. Its only been a month since they have been on this food and what a difference in their fur and NO MORE ALLERGIES!!!So thank you so much for this product. I will never let my cats eat anything else....EVER!!! The Green Pea & Duck formula is FANTASTIC!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
elhcat
Both of my finicky, housebound, allergy laden cats will eat this and not throw up. What better recommendation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat food without a bunch of junk in it

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
stellaj
from ct
My two kitties enjoy it. They seem to not eat as much when I bought the chicken flavor one but this duck one they seem to gobble up. I do mix it up with another food. and also very reasonably priced for a natural cat food product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NB LID Pea and Duck

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
NCMtnGirl
from Asheville, NC
My picky cats love this food! My 14 yr old boy who was recently revealed to be allergic to grain and chicken has stopped pulling his hair out and almost stopped scratching after 2 weeks on this food. It has also almost completely cleared up the diarrhea problem with my recently adopted 6 month old stray. I highly recommend for allergies and sensitivities.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This food saved my cat!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
RebeccaW
from Concord, NC
Our rescue kitten was having terrible diarrhea and all of her blood work came back normal, so the vet recommended that we try some different foods. After researching online, we decided to try Natural Balance. I truly believe that this food saved my kitten! Our older cat is also doing much better (she had constipation issues). They both have beautiful healthy coats and the digestive issues have cleared up. I would HIGHLY recommend trying this food if your cat is having digestive problems!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cat wouldnt eat it

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom2kitties
from Estes Park, Co
My 6 year old female cat all of a sudden started throwing up her food for several months. Vet did complete bloodwork on her and it tested fine. Vet said to keep trying different foods. Cat barely touched Natural Balance Limited Ingredient (duck nor turkey) and we tried for several days to get her to eat it. But at least what little she did eat she didnt throw it up. So if your cat has this problem it may be worth trying this one to see if your cat likes it. My cat threw up Blue Buffalo Wilderness immediatley. But when we switched her to Solid Gold Indigo Moon she LOVED it immediatley and so far hasnt thrown it up!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jfby
from Buffalo, NY
My cats really enjoy this food, and seem to eat less of it than when they were getting Iams. No complaints!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>