petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food

Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food

Grain-free cat food for adult cats and kittensOffers high digestibilityNatural Balance cat food specially formulated with a unique protein and carbohydrate blendNo artificial preservatives, flavors, colors or bleached ingredientsDoes not contain corn, soy, wheat, eggs, dairy products or sunflower oilGreat for cats with allergies or sensitive stomachs
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
70 out of 78(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Our cats like it

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ucce
from California, SF Bay Area
One of our cats has intestinal problems, and we buy this particular line of cat food and this "flavor" because our vet has strongly recommended it.
All our cats like it, but it's expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So close

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
IndyAnnie
from Indianapolis, IN
I have a cat with food allergies that cause her to scratch her chin and face. When I put her on the green pea & duck formula, her itchy face cleared up dramatically and I was so happy to have found a food that she likes and that is good for her. I took her to the vet a couple months ago and he tested her urine PH level and discovered that it was too high, around 8. Cats' urine PH levels should be between 6 and 6.5 or else they risk developing crystals in the urine that can lead to urinary problems. When I called Natural Balance to ask what the target urine PH for this dry food was, they said it was 7.5, which is way too high for a cat. I took my cat off of this food immediately and switched her to a prescription food. It does not work as well as Natural Balance for clearing up her itchy skin, but my vet said he would rather have an itchy face than urinary problems. I wish Natural Balance would figure out how to get the PH levels right in all their cat foods so I could put her back on the green pea & duck without worrying about her urinary health.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Allergy problem

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
paige2plg
from Havelock NC
My veterinarian recommended Natural Balance Green Pea & Duck. I asked about SamBo's ears because they are scratched and he is constantly using his back feet on his ears, The vet suggested SamBo had a food allergy and from other cases he has seen he suggested it is a grain allergy and I should try green pea and duck. This was three weeks ago, the vet said give it three months. So far I don't see a change. I hope it works. SamBo really likes the food. I've given it as a treat for my other two cats. Does this sound familiar to anyone?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good and Bad

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wisewoman
from Weston, CT
Good: my cat is allergic to almost everything (chicken, salmon, rice, eggs), but this food seems to do the trick. No itching!
Medium: she loves it, but she's eating way too much.
Bad: she's also drinking a lot more water, which leads me to believe that the flavor she loves comes from added sodium.
Wish I could compare sodium levels with other cat foods, but there's not enough info available.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great For Kitty's With Allergies!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kittehxox
from Vermont
This food is pretty amazing, I have a cat that has a food allergy, he's broken out in "kitty acne" and has even gone to the point of OCD licking/scratching etc. We ended up having to put kitty in a cone so he wouldn't harm himself anymore. I've taken him to the vet, spent well over $500 just trying to figure out what was wrong with him! Finally we figured it might be a food thing because everything we were trying was not working for him. We switched to this food and I know that it takes 6/8 weeks to confirm it's a food allergy but he's been on it for about 2 weeks and his coat looks a lot nicer, and whole lot less kitty acne too which means less scratching for him! I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who has an "OCD" like kitty, it might just be a food allergy like my cat. And if it is you'll be saving yourself frustration and money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is amazing!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luvmycats99
from Providence, RI
I can't say enough about the green pea & duck formula. I starting using this product cold turkey on my cats. I ran out of the other brand that I used to feed them with and decided to finally give my cats food that was REALLY good for them. I asked a manager about which dry food would be best for my specific cat that looked like she was having some type of allergy to something not quite sure what and my younger cat was shedding like crazy. The manager suggested the green pea & duck formula because it would help with my cats allergies. Boy was she right! I have to admit that they didn't like it at first, because I didn't introduce this new food to them slowly, like you should, but they ate it and to my amazement, I have seen a HUGE difference in my older cat with no more dandruff and less shedding on my younger cat. Both their fur is so much shiner too! The other big difference is that they eat a lot less because they are fuller faster. This food has so much protein and omega 3 so that means less waste. Its only been a month since they have been on this food and what a difference in their fur and NO MORE ALLERGIES!!!So thank you so much for this product. I will never let my cats eat anything else....EVER!!! The Green Pea & Duck formula is FANTASTIC!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
elhcat
Both of my finicky, housebound, allergy laden cats will eat this and not throw up. What better recommendation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat food without a bunch of junk in it

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
stellaj
from ct
My two kitties enjoy it. They seem to not eat as much when I bought the chicken flavor one but this duck one they seem to gobble up. I do mix it up with another food. and also very reasonably priced for a natural cat food product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NB LID Pea and Duck

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
NCMtnGirl
from Asheville, NC
My picky cats love this food! My 14 yr old boy who was recently revealed to be allergic to grain and chicken has stopped pulling his hair out and almost stopped scratching after 2 weeks on this food. It has also almost completely cleared up the diarrhea problem with my recently adopted 6 month old stray. I highly recommend for allergies and sensitivities.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This food saved my cat!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
RebeccaW
from Concord, NC
Our rescue kitten was having terrible diarrhea and all of her blood work came back normal, so the vet recommended that we try some different foods. After researching online, we decided to try Natural Balance. I truly believe that this food saved my kitten! Our older cat is also doing much better (she had constipation issues). They both have beautiful healthy coats and the digestive issues have cleared up. I would HIGHLY recommend trying this food if your cat is having digestive problems!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cat wouldnt eat it

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom2kitties
from Estes Park, Co
My 6 year old female cat all of a sudden started throwing up her food for several months. Vet did complete bloodwork on her and it tested fine. Vet said to keep trying different foods. Cat barely touched Natural Balance Limited Ingredient (duck nor turkey) and we tried for several days to get her to eat it. But at least what little she did eat she didnt throw it up. So if your cat has this problem it may be worth trying this one to see if your cat likes it. My cat threw up Blue Buffalo Wilderness immediatley. But when we switched her to Solid Gold Indigo Moon she LOVED it immediatley and so far hasnt thrown it up!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jfby
from Buffalo, NY
My cats really enjoy this food, and seem to eat less of it than when they were getting Iams. No complaints!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Food!!!

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigJohnNH
from NH
All of the limited ingredient products are great! Cats love them, and lots of variety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural Balance limited ingredient

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
deb74
from Columbus, Ohio
My cat is suffering from stomatitis and the vet suggested a limitied ingredient diet. It seems to be helping - it could be food allergies causing the stomatitis. Either way, this food is very nutritional and not loaded with a bunch of corn and chemicals (that could be causing stomatitis in our cats!).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST CAT FOOD ON THE PLANET!

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
TeeCee
from Hollywood, FL
Wholesome, natural, healthy ingredients. Just drop by PETCO and check out the label....see for yourself. My sweet little Dutchess has had a marked improvement in her allergies and coat appearance and feel since she started Natural Balance. I mean, after all, doesn't she deserve the best that money can buy? Oh yes, BTW, Natural Balance isn't even as expensive as those other, more popularly advertised foods you buy at the Vets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I found this product

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
littlebitofnc
from Huntersville, NC
I have been searching for a food that my cat would actually want to eat that was also good for him. The Green Pea and Duck Formula is not only good for him but he actually likes it.
My cat has seizures and eating chicken makes them worse. I'm thankful this formula doesn't have all the chicken in it that most other formulations have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product was a life saver.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Felliini
from Manitowoc, WI
We recently found out that our cat had food allergies. After a long testing process we were given a list of foods he could eat. This was at the top of the list, so we gave it a try. It wasn't easy going, but we mixed his old food with it until we could just give him green pea and duck. He simply loves it and know more sick kitty. The girls and Petco were very helpful in helping us choose this new food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A cat with food allgeries...

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blackat187
from North Branch, MN
A few years ago my cat started to scratch his face... It went from bad to worse, It came down to that he had scratched off 1/2 of his face in a very short amount if time. When I brought him to the vet, I thought it was an ear infection or something. Turns out he had food allgeries, The vet thought another brand would be good, but I was tallking to an employee of Petco that really knew his brands. He thought that the Natural Balance would be good for my cat because of the limited ingredients.... Needless to say my cat is doing 100% better and he is not scratching anymore!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Van Patten's Duck & Pea Protein Dry Cat Food [Review]

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
V2Cats
from NWI, USA
This food is my go-to stock for my cat, Leif. He not only loves the foods he is allergic to, but frequently "turns up his nose" at the foods he can eat. He just loves the chicken and fish that make him sick, but he won't even eat shrimp!!
Don't think that this means he's skinny. He had a serious weight problem, and most of the foods out there for cats that are "diet foods" all have chicken as a base.
To make matters more difficult, I have a second cat, Scooter, who was too thin. I was actually feeding them both decent food, but somehow it was cutting it for either of them.
Thanks to the size differential and the personalities involved, feeding them two different foods was not possible without considerable headache.
Desperate, I found this food, found that it was inexpensive relative to the main-line limited diet cat food. Yes, it is on the reasonable end of the price range of a premium food, but special diets are usually MUCH more pricey even than that!
At any rate, I brought a sample home, figuring we could take care of the hunger problem and the allergy problem, then tackle the weight problems later.
Though I give my cats 24 hour access to the food bowl, he lost two pounds while eating this food.
Now his head looks like it is the right size to fit on his body! This is also the first special diet food that he actively enjoys. He no longer seeks out any opportunity to eat something-- anything else.
Even Scooter, my little black runt who barely eats a thing, eats it enthusiastically. He actually gained the weight he needed to be strong and active!
So it fixed too conflicting and difficult situations without having to resort to separating the cats for feeding time. I'm impressed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Formula Limited Ingredients Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pea and duck formula

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luv3bobs
from Santa Barbara CA
One of my cats was diagnosed with pancreatic disease and a limited diet was recommended. I started her on Natural Balance Pea and Duck formula and she is doing very well besides the fact that she loves this food. I highly recommend this food for any cat that has issues like mine or has problems with gluten and corn based ingredients.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>