petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit

Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit

The perfect starter kit for your home or office1 Gallon capacity is perfect for BettasCorner Aquarium design allows you to fit the tank easily into a cornerKit includes everything you need for a great starter home
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
3
54 out of 62(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love It

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
montecarloismyfish
from Seattle, WA
I have three Cobra Guppies named Paris Sydney and Monte Carlo, they live in this fish tank and love it! they are only about a inch each but the still have plenty of room i only have a couple complaints. It is kind of tiny so you can't have a lot of toys for your fish the flitter is very noisy like very noisy so i don't recommend putting it in a bedroom also you cant put it in a corner because of where the tube comes out of the top of the tank. Overall this is a good tank and i really recommend this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tank is useful

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
crdr
from Indiana
Love the shape of the tank and I use it for my beta. Sad that the pump went out after 4 months. Sorta cheaply made, but does the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jamaicangirl81
from FL
I've had this tank for about 2 weeks now... so far, so good. liiiiil small if you want to add more decor for your fish. i have 2 lil plants and a leaf hammock in there... he seems to like it.
Pump doesnt seem to bother him and its not very loud.
he seems to like the light too, except when i shut my room lights off, have my TV on and just has the tank light... reflections galore.. so he flares up.. so to remedy this, i put a towel over the tank if i want to watch TV late in the night in the dark.
this tank is good for now, especially for the price (i'm a new betta fish owner and i didnt know how well i would do with him, so i didnt want to spend a lot of money as yet)... but i do think i may want to get a bigger tank for him so i can put some other things in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has a great fun design .

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
lovemy2fish
from belmar nj
I would recommend this 1 gallon corner aquarium kit to any one looking for a small tank.it is the perfect size and design for starters. I love this tank. It is just the right size for two fish and a peace of small décor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great home for my new fish!

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
KentFlashes123
from Kent, OH
When I went to Petco, they had this tank on sale, so I got it for my new fish at school. It was easy to set up, and everything worked without a hitch. The only problem is, it came with a filter that bubbled, and I didn't realize it, but Betta fish don't like that. So I took it out, and my new little roommate has been swimming away happily!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful for my betta

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
KimmyCheeks
from Walnut Creek,CA
I have purchased this product before when I had my blue betta. Now I have a red betta and he absolutely loves his new tank. 1 gallon is ample room for him and I do complete washes of the tank weekly in order to keep him healthy. It's easy to set up and I don't actually use the light bulb or air pump.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

1 gallon fish tank

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coco1128
from Mims fl
Too small air stone broke 5 minutes after I had the tank
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Little Aquarium

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mavuriku
from Grand Rapids, MI
I wasn't sure about purchasing this tank, but it proved to be better than expected. It was very easy to set up, and so far, proves to be a nice little home for my betta. The filter is not too loud, and seems like a nice solid unit. My only qualm is that, even though there is a slot for it to fit through, the air tube pushes up on the lid, making it not snap closed all the way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this tank!

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nikkigrl19
from DC
I was skeptic about this tank due to the mixed reviews. When I finally got the tank it was easy to set up and my betta loves swimming around with his light. Also, some people said the light was too bright but it really isn't. The bubbler seems intense but it really is just perfect. The only annoyance is the top doesn't close all the way. It really isn't a big deal though! So this tank is really a great tank for bettas!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Little Tank

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ricky2222
from Brea, CA
Clearly there are a lot of reviews on this tank. But I have had it for a little over 2 months ago and I bought it for a Betta fish that was rescued.. I mean won from the Orange County Fair. While I am not a huge fish person or expert, I did my research and ended up buying all kinds of things, including this tank, to make sure this little fish is well taken care of. It is nice as small so water changes are easy and it fits anywhere! But it is large enough that you can put a few decorations in there to make the fish happy and he, or she, can move around a bit. I also put a little snail in there so he has a companion. The little light is bright but my fish does not mind and actually seems to be more active with it on. But if the room is completely dark with this little light on, he does see his reflection and does start to get all tough with himself. So I stopped doing that. The filter... or little blue bubble making thing, doesn't actually keep the tank very clean. I'll have to look for other options or keep doing regular water changes. Hope this helps. I included a picture of the tank and the decorations in it to help!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
commonsenseismymiddlename
from Providence, RI
I had my beta fish in this aquarium for 4 years. The tank wasn't too big and wasn't too small. Perfect size for my fish. The tank also has enough room for decorations, which my fish enjoyed. It loved hiding in the fake plants and under a tiny cave. The filter worked great and I only needed to clean out the tank every few weeks. The filter was also very quiet and I never had a problem with it. Obviously the blue piece at the end of the filter tube has to be replaced after a while, but it only costs a few bucks at the pet store. I really had no problem with the product and don't know why other people had such a hard time with it.
Unfortunately, my fish died a few months ago and I gave this tank to my brother for his new fish. However, I really liked this tank and will be purchasing it again for my new fish friend. Good luck with your fishes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Buy only if you want the minimum size and quality for Betta

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
AJamie
from Morgantown, WV
I think my tanks of this style must be old already because my two did not have an underwater filtration system (at least that I remember seeing in the box). As I have two bettas, I doubt I would have bothered with it anyway (bettas do not like moving water, in case you didn't know). Mine were purchased online in early January 2011.
On to the review:
You get what you pay for. It's the minimum size (1 gallon) you can have for your betta without being cruel to your new companion. For a betta, it should probably be shorter and wider, though for small other types of fish this would be just fine. I say this because some fish prefer the top third of the tank/environment, some the middle, and some the bottom. Bettas like to hang out on plants or inside decorations (which there really won't be much room for in this tank). Even better, bettas like to have a place where they just have to move their head up or swim just a short way to reach the surface for some air. (If you are new to fish or bettas, please read up on them! They must have room for air at the top of their tank or you will literally suffocate them).
One thing I am super displeased about is how the top/lid fits. Or should I say, doesn't. My water evaporates very quickly from my tanks because they don't seem to be even. There is about 1/4 of an inch gap depending on which side of the lid I depress. It is very annoying and if I move the tank much (cleaning around it, for example), I could very easily (and have) knocked the top off completely.
The light is a bit confusing. It has a little spot where it should stay, but doesn't. It also seems to be too bright for my bettas as when it's turned on, they can suddenly see their reflections and freak out. They dart all over the place. Stimulation is a good thing for any pet, but perhaps a less powerful light bulb should be included. I don't want to blind/overexcite my fishies!
They definitely do well in corners, as advertised, which isn't why I bought them, but they've just been moved into corners a few days ago and they're looking lovely.
I wish the light was battery powered because the power cords are just ridiculous and if you move a cord, the lid comes off.
I bought little heaters here at the petco.com site at the same time as these tanks. They work well and are minimally intrusive to the rest of the tank, but I wish the lids had a been designed to allow for the power cord for heaters to go through, too. I suppose that's another reason the tank lids come off mine so easily (though they aren't a good fit even without various cords).
The lids come with a sheet of plastic to fit into the bottom of the lid to make sure water doesn't come into contact with the light bulb. Definitely a good idea, but as I mentioned above, the light doesn't fit into its little place and therefore lays directly on the plastic. I worry that if I have the light on too long, it may get too hot and melt the plastic a bit. My solution? I just don't turn on the lights.
All in all, I would recommend this to anyone in a confined space that wants a fish but isn't allowed a bigger tank/more fish. It is the least amount of money you can spend on the minimum tank requirements for your fish. I imagine that most customers will be in college living in a dorm or an apartment, like me. If you aren't constrained by money or rules where you reside, give your pet some "luxury" and buy a bigger tank. They'll love you even more for it. If you buy this, well, they'll still be happy, I imagine. Almost anything is better than those tiny little plastic containers they are in when you buy them from a store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE!

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveMyBetta
from Boston, MA
This is a horrible tank! DO NOT BUY!!! This tank is absolutely horrible. The filter is *super* hard to set up, it is hard to manage and it doesn't even work! The filter sticks up in the middle and my Beta fish *hates* it so much! We had to put it back in his old, no filter, bowl because it was so bad. The light was bad too.
***** Overall: It was THE WORST tank I have ever seen in my entire life.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-19points
6of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prefect for betta fish!

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
atomicmicro
from Glendale AZ
I love my tank and my betta too. He loves it so much he's moving up and down left and right non stop!
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I absolutely love this lil' setup!

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bettaluver4evr
I love this adorable little tank. My 2 brothers and I all got betta fish a few years ago at the same time. We all picked out our little fishies and these tanks. One of my brothers just has the fish curse, no fish last for him! Poor bro. But my other brother and I had our fish last a few years in this tank! I love this tank, the filter is efficient and quiet, and my fish always had his little pearly white fins out and was always swimming around. My brother loves the red betta's, and his fins were out all of the time, until the end. I now own 2 adorable betta fish, 1 in a setup very similar to this 1 and another in a 1/2 gallon tank that will soon be upgraded! If you are like me and have the contagious betta fever, this tank is wonderful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

please dont put your betta in a bowl :(

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
himself
1st of I wana say if you get a betta aka fighting fish please dont put him in a bowl un less u like some where hot year round and the bowl is big!!!!! At the verry least get this for him and a heater. Bettas need warm water like 74 to 80. now this tank is a good price but 1 gallon is very small, now as far as 1 gallons go this is probly the best 1 for a betta because they go to the top for air and the top it the bigest part of the tank. They dont spend much time at the bottem witch is where this tank is realy small. So thats the up side, best 1gallon I have seen and better then a bowl. I bought this and right after bought a bigger tank. I got a 2.5 gallon thats 11" by 7 1/2" and 12" tall this is perfect for my betta. I got a plant and 2 statues and there is plenty of swiming room for him. This tank has no room for any statues or big rocks, small bottem! Now if you just want to put some marbals on the bottem and maby 1 smal plant and a betta its do able. If you want more then 1 fish dont waste your money!!!!! If you want your betta to be happy get a biger tank if you just dont care and want a fighting fish then get this over the stupid bowls. Now 1 last thing this could worf for keeping snails, but other then that then only 1 betta and realy thats like I keep stressing better then a lil bowl but still not big enough
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
GuppyGirl2
I love this tank! I used to have this adorable, sweet, music loving betta fish named Silky. He was a light lavender/pink/white color, and he was the best! He lived in this tank for 2-3 years with pink gravel and a few plants. The tank only needed to be cleaned 2x a month, because the filter was wonderful! Sorry to say, everything dies. When Silky passed, my mom threw out the tank. Oh well! I now have 2 sweet little bettas. My newest rescue betta is named Dumbo, because he rarely flares at other fish and he tried to commit suicided once... betta's love jumping!! Dumbo lives in a half gallon tank with a plant and is spoiled. I've had him for 1.5 months. My other betta is named Liberty, he is red/white and blue! He lives in a 1 gallon tank very similar to this one. I have had him for 5 months, and he is starting to have a fin problem... but he is still super spunky! I am doing my best to fix it. Anywho, (:D) this was a wonderful tank, definitely reccomend to any betta lovers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

1 Gallon Corner Aquarium

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
eelkeeper
from Spring Hill, FL.
Lights work well, I enjoy being able to change the color of lights as a lot of Christmas lights fit it. It does however need a few modifications. A UG filter is not a reliable filter. But if you add a short piece of plastic tubing to outflow hole, and take a small plastic container about 2 1/2 to 3 inches in diam. and cut a hole towards one side for the air line and riser then cut smaller holes around the opposite side of the top covering about half of it with holes (putting the main hole to one side makes it easier to fit the sponge around the tubes and make as much use of filter room as possible), then take a sponge(make a cut into the sponge on one side so that the sponge will surround the riser the better the fit of the sponge the better the filter works) and even a small carbon filled bag and place it over the Under Gravel riser and run the air tube through it you can improve the filtration tremendously(don't cover the top of the riser with the sponge though). You will however need to upgrade the pump, but a small pump will give you more than enough power to handle the job. The sponge is a great way to increase your levels of good bacterias too! Which are so important in controlling ammonia and nitrates keeping your fish healthier and happier and your water cleaner longer. Happy Fishing!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Tank, Not best quality

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
supermexlover
I like the shape of the aquarium and the hood, but it was kind of cheasy. After 10 minutes the air pump started to get vey loud and rattly. From the start the light wouldn't work, even with different bulbs. The tank was in the kitchen, so it got plenty of light without the light. We had to go back and get a better air pump, so it ended up being a lot more expensive.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco 1 Gallon Corner Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Starter Tank

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Texas
I bought this for my Beta, Vino. Although I am worried that he sometimes sees his reflection the way the sides face. The light provides enough heat for the aquarium and I have 4 small betta plants and a small frog and he still has plenty of room to swim. He loves sleeping on his thermometer at the top or hiding behind a plant in the back. He does have a big fan tail and a large body, so if he continues to do well I may buy a bigger aquarium soon. He has lived in this one fore two months now. One thing I really like is because of its size it is easy to clean and since distilled water is best for him I can afford to buy that to fill the tank when I clean it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>