petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Extreme KONG Dog Toy

Extreme KONG Dog Toy

Specially made for aggressive chewersUltra-strong black rubberProvides physical and mental stimulationCan be stuffed with treats
Average Customer Rating:
4.537 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(149 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 149 reviews
5 stars
116
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
5
138 out of 149(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Review 1 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Execellent for Aggressive Chewing Dogs

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blaze1
from Vidalia, LA
I have two pit bulls that can destroy any toy made, except this one. I use this toy filled with treats to occupy my dogs in their kennels. They have not chewed up any part of the toy for the first time in nine years of toys. I would recommend this toy for anyone who has a dog that chews everything!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mega Kong

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveOurBlackLab
from NJ
It's nice to have a larger size for our Lab. These are one of the few toys that he can't destroy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme Kong fun

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
BrenGT1
Great product, can handle a pit and a Newfoundland.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good choice

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
goodjack
from Pittsburgh, Pa
We have a 1 1/2 year old Jack Russell terrier that can chew through anything! We can't buy him rawhide because he shreds and eats them in no time. We previously bought him a large red kong but he destroyed it, pulling out bits of the rubber and eating it.So we bought the medium extreme kong and he is having a much harder time sinking his teeth in it. We probably should have bought the large or extra large but his tends to throw them up in the air. We were afraid he would break a window or the TV. He'll need another one in a couple of months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Kong Ever!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
MyCody
from NJ
The Extreme Kongs are the only ones that my Carolina dog doesn't destroy. We mainly use theses as his crate treat when it's a workday. They are good with wet dog food frozen in them. I hit them in the microwave for 5-7 seconds or you can let it thaw a few minutes to make it more fun for your pup to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kongs are great!

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moylan
from Oregon
I have a hyperactive dog, and he loves the kong, especially when I fill it with his food. I got the "extreme" because he's a big boy (113 lbs.).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for pit bulls

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan29NJ
from New Jersey
I don't think there is anything better for a pit bull than this product. I purchased a large for my female and an extra large for my male. Since my male wants his and his sister's, we don't allow them to play with them unless they are separated, so they don't actually get to play with them on a daily basis. So, I can't say how long they would have lasted if that were the case. ****** ONE VERY IMPORTANT THING I WOULD LIKE TO POINT OUT IS THAT I AM UNABLE TO FIND THE BISCUIT TREATS THAT FIT THE EXTRA LARGE KONG. I'VE LOOKED ONLINE AND IN EVERY STORE I COULD THINK OF . SO MANY STORE SELL THE XL KONG, BUT DON'T CARRY THE TREAT THAT FITS IN IT***** I know they sell the paste, but it is very messy and if the dog doesn't get every drop out, it has to be cleaned out. The hard treats are so much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

extreme kong

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
vtnoah
from Marrero, La.
my hula girl will chew through anything but i like to put peanut butter in the kong and freeze it. it takes awhile to get the stuff out before she starts chewing on the kong itself. i buy them whenever they are on sale since she's such an aggressive chewer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough toys for a Pittie

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pittie
from MA
I see a lot of questions on what toys can be used for owners of a Pittie. I agree the Black extreme Kong does work well and nothing else without close supervision. You might want to check out the Goughnuts website and pick the black Extreme. Very limited in what they sell though. Also, the Bento ball treat holder was kind of cool
but my Pittie plucked it out of the toy in 30 seconds. Once she realized the toy was a good holder for the treat she no longer pulled it out and enjoyed eating and licking the treat to the end. Good luck!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A staple in our home

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
JennyBean13
We have had these for many years. Our Boston terriers can be strong chewers and the med/large size Kong holds up. We stuff them full of treats once a day and they throw and roll them all over the house trying to dispense the goodies. Afterwards it is nap time for these happy dogs.
We now have a bulldog and he has learned how to use these as well. He loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best toys for my 3 dogs!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Abuc5224
from Edwards, CA
I LOVE Kong toys, but the extremes are the only ones that can withhold my Weimaraner's agressive chewing habits; top it off with a tiny Mini Schnauzer who loves to play keep away with the big dogs with these and an Austrailian Sheppard who only likes toys if they have banana, pumpkin puree, or ginger treats in them... And we have a perfect match! I don't like to purchase these at full price. I wait until the XL is around $13 before I buy a new set. Petco is one of the cheapest places to get them with their sales (when you include the percentage back for every $100 spent with pals rewards). We managed to snag about 4 little ones for the Mini Schnauzer on a special manager clearance for only a few bucks each. These are AMAZING!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

hole too big

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
pbphilic
from st louis, mo
We had been pleased with the size L Kong Extreme -- tough, firm springiness to chew, and held treats inside for a lengthy work-out. It never wore out and remained a favorite for years. When it was lost, a replacement was desired. The sizing chart suggested our 110# Newf-mix ought to have an XXL, but that looked too huge for comfortable chomping. I bought an XL. The diameter of the treat hole increases in proportion to the Kong size. It is almost impossible to wedge dental chews inside the XL firmly enough to last beyond brief moments of chewing enjoyment -- they extrude too rapidly. I'm down-sizing my next purchase.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kong chew

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nalani
great price (sale), fast delivery, excellent condition of item ordered (Kong)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for power chewers

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMR127
from Roswell, Ga
My 8 month old puppy is a power chewer and rips through most toys within a few minutes, but not this one! Sometimes I fill it with her dry dog food and "plug" it with baby carrots - keeps her busy for a while. Sometimes she just chews it without anything in it. Would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme Kong Toy

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
bissonj
My black lab can shred most toys in a heart beat, 3 tennis balls and fetch last about 20 minutes and all 3 are toast. She's been chewing away on this for 3 weeks now hasn't even managed a dent yet LOVE IT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Candi5
from Miami, FL
My dog tends to destroy her new toys on the first day.. We've found the only toys she doesn't destroy are Kong brand toys. While Kong toys are not inexpensive, they are definitely worth the cost and are a great value for those of us with hyper dogs and a hunting "tear it to shreds" instinct. This is our dog's new favorite toy.. Its a great toy for playing fetch and for filling with treats. When she's super hyper and i dont have time to play, I put a little paste in there, and then she's calm and distracted, allowing me some down time. Great product! Wish there were other colors though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lives up to its hype

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shopping4Emma
from Maine
Finally found a chew toy my PibbleX has not decimated--not even a penetrating tooth mark!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
felicia93
from Ca
My dog loves this !!!!! This is the best toy I found
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bigger the better

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from winchester, ma
4 month old loves the xl one more than the red large one
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

KONG Toy

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rae4
from Riverton, WY
We have finally found a toy that our dogs can not destroy!! They love to try to eat it whether there is treats in them or not. We love love love the KONG toys!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>