petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Extreme KONG Dog Toy

Extreme KONG Dog Toy

Tough dog toy specially made for power chewersUltra-strong black rubber dog toyGreat for focusing your dog’s attention and chewing instinctsProvides great physical and mental stimulationCan be stuffed with treats, pastes and other goodiesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 183 reviews
5 stars
145
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
5
172 out of 183(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Review 1 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chew proof

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hi Nella NJ
My dog loves to chew so it's always hard finding a toy that would last more than a few days before she destroys it. I've seen Kong toys for yrs, but never thought they would last with Annie. Well I decided to buy the Extreme Kong. What a smart move! She LOVES it. Loves that it bounces around on the hardwood floor making her want to go after it again & again & again. Non carpet flooring works best. I have yet to put a treat in it, but looking forward to seeing how crazier she'll become once she notices the treat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tuff Toy

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Spartanburg, SC
The Kong for aggressive chewers is the only toy that my dog can not destroy in a day! He carries it everywhere and doesn't get tired of it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great toy!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix,AZ
We love this toy(XL)! It entertains our 2yr-old, 50lb pit bull mix for longer than any other toy. He can throw it up in the air and chase it while it bounces all different directions. Also, we use it to get him into and convince him to stay in his crate by putting some peanut butter and one of the KONG Stuff'N Snacks Dog Treats inside it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outlasted all his other toys by far!

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs, CO
One of my lab mix's favorite toys! He'll work on it for hours, take a break, and go right back to it (even after all the filling is out! haha)
I was skeptical at first but it lives up to it's name and is now the oldest toy in the house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Try it Frozen

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Burlington VT
My 40lb husky is an avid chewer. My vet recommended the XL extreme KONG filled with broken biscuits, mashed banana, mashed potato, and/or wet dog food placed in the freezer overnight. This keeps her busy and satisfies her desire to chew.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good-ish...

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NH
I'm. Very torn about this toy...i purchased the large Kong Extreme for my 45lb lab/pit mix. The weight recommendation for the large size is 30-60lbs.my pup is a super chewer, so the Kong Extreme was the only option. While it lasted longer than any other toy, the idea of this toy is that it's basically indestructible. After a month of occasional use (for maybe 20-30mins at a time) my pup chewed the top tier right off. I contacted Kong to see what they suggested. They suggested trying a larger size, but at only 45lbs, the xl size is too heavy for her to pick up and carry, and too large to effectively play fetch with her. As I said, this had lasted longer than any other toy, but at $17-$20 per toy, this thing should last forever. On the other hand, it's been perfect for my 60lb husky/malamute.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Chewer

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicagoland, IL
My dogs love this toy. We put treats inside and they spend hours tossing it around and munching on it to get the treat out. Works great also in the crate when I have to run errands - keeps them busy so they do not miss me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fun to Chew but...

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Birmingham, AL
My dog was infatuated with this toy at first without any treats or peanut butter, fillings, etc. She jumped around with it and chased it around the room. She will fetch it every now and then and the bounce is fun because it's always unpredictable. My only problem with the toy is that the part that's supposed to "stimulate" her mind while I am away is the challenge of getting the treats out of the toy but now by the time I'm walking out the door she is licking up the final little bit of the treat that's stuck inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Can't Destroy It

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
It's one of the only chew toys she's not been able to absolutely demolish in days...great investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Once the food was gone my dog chewed right through it

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
I'm not saying this is a bad toy, it's mentally stimulating when the dog has to work to get the food out, it's fun, and my dog loved to have it in his crate filled with peanut butter. One day however, maybe 3-4 days after we bought it, I came home and the whole top of the Kong Extreme Large was chewed through. I kept the toy, but he only comes back to chew more of it now. For a regular chewer, this is an excellent toy, but my lab/shephard/pit mix need a raw hide in his crate when I leave.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Kong Toy

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Leominster,MA
Both of my 14 week old mixed breed pups love these toys. I have not used any of the treats yet. When we are going out shopping for a couple hours or I am cleaning/doing laundry this is the best, I just put a little peanut butter in it at these times to make it more interesting while in their exercise pen.Even my persistant chewer can not make a dent! 2 weeks with it and still not bored, with or without peanut butter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Named

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Randolph, New Jersey
This kong is Extremely strong. Has withstood a large breed jaw for over a year. Bought a spare to keep at an often visited relative's house. Cookies are easily extracted but adding peanut butter keeps him licking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product is great for strong chewers

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have had a hard time finding toys that my dog will not chew up but this kong is perfect for that. I can put a treat in the middle and my dog can play with it without me worrying if when I come hone it will be torn to pieces.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kong black toy

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
This is the only toy my dog does not destroy in 15 minutes. We put peanut butter in it and treats and it keeps him occupied for a while. We have a 4 year old lab. We have had labs for years and this is the best toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect puppy trainer

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chapel Hill
This product is great for teaching your puppy to spend time in their kennel. My dog loves getting the treats out and forgets he is in his kennel. I use it to keep him busy when I leave the house. He loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy customer

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rainier, OR
This Kong is great for our dog - who chews thru just about everything she gets in her mouth. The Kong really stood up to the reputation I have seen about this product. Our dog is happy, and with a treat keeps her busy,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has great durability

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from belleville,il
Very tough keeps a bully dog mix busy for hours! This kong is puppy proof.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Loudoun County, VA
my rotties just love these toys. we have 4 total now and have so many different ways and options to use as a treat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ding Dong Whatta Kong (Deal)!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Charlottesville, VA
Kong products are great and the 50% off deal made them even better especially when trying to supply multiple puppies being housed at a sanctuary. This was a great purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Longview, TX
My 4 dogs can shred a tennis ball and other toys in a matter of few minutes. I have always wanted to buy Kong products but knowing what my dogs can do, I was afraid of buying something this expensive and only last a day or two. Oh boy was I wrong! I had this thing for a week now and it still look the same from the day I bought it. My dogs would chew on it but unable to bit a chunk off. This is a money well spend. I would buy more in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>