petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Extreme KONG Dog Toy

Extreme KONG Dog Toy

Tough dog toy specially made for power chewersUltra-strong black rubber dog toyGreat for focusing your dog’s attention and chewing instinctsProvides great physical and mental stimulationCan be stuffed with treats, pastes and other goodiesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(157 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 157 reviews
5 stars
123
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
5
146 out of 157(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Review 1 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
PenPenthePupPup
from FL
- Super durable
- Easy to fill with treats, peanut butter, etc.
- Easy to clean
- Entertains the pup for hours!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kong Dog Toy

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
jayderblue
from North Dakota
Such a good product for all types of dogs. Great for when they are teething. A must have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect toy for entertainment

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
BostonTerrierOwner
from Brooklyn, NY
This toy is perfect for entertaining your dog. I fill it with peanut butter or a biscuit and she is entertained for a while. I thought it was too big but was glad that I got the larger size since it's longer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for chewers

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
ihoyouhoweho
from West Hollywood, CA
My pup loves this! Goes great with the KONG snacks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hours of thankful distraction

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
BugLady
from Poteau, OK
We have a 3-year-old 100-lb labrador retriever who LOVES to chew&chew&chew&chew&chew. The XXL Extreme Kong toy has been a blessed relief, as he spends hours chewing on it (it's kind of like giving a pesky child a book so he can entertain himself...). However, he has been able to tear it up - he can chew the top part off, and then start destroying it completely before we notice and get it away from him. It takes him about 6 months to get through the Extreme model (and only about a week to destroy the red one), so we do have to keep an eye on him all the same.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These are the toughest you'll find.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
AmStaff
from Houston, TX
One of the only dog toys that he can't destroy within an hour. However, he does manage to tear it apart within a month or so. We have a bully so they are extreme cases of powerful chewers. If you have a power chewer get the XL, ours went through the Large like a pizza.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for heavy chewers

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
weimvizsla10
from Toledo, Oh
I had the red kong dog toys and they work for a while, but my weimaraner and vizsla tore through them. These extreme black kong toys are the best and last a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lab Tested

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
MsAttitude
These are the only chew toys that last with my dogs. Have 2 labs that love to chew and these take them awhile to destroy. Only chew toy I buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Execellent for Aggressive Chewing Dogs

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blaze1
from Vidalia, LA
I have two pit bulls that can destroy any toy made, except this one. I use this toy filled with treats to occupy my dogs in their kennels. They have not chewed up any part of the toy for the first time in nine years of toys. I would recommend this toy for anyone who has a dog that chews everything!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mega Kong

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveOurBlackLab
from NJ
It's nice to have a larger size for our Lab. These are one of the few toys that he can't destroy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme Kong fun

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
BrenGT1
Great product, can handle a pit and a Newfoundland.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good choice

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
goodjack
from Pittsburgh, Pa
We have a 1 1/2 year old Jack Russell terrier that can chew through anything! We can't buy him rawhide because he shreds and eats them in no time. We previously bought him a large red kong but he destroyed it, pulling out bits of the rubber and eating it.So we bought the medium extreme kong and he is having a much harder time sinking his teeth in it. We probably should have bought the large or extra large but his tends to throw them up in the air. We were afraid he would break a window or the TV. He'll need another one in a couple of months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Kong Ever!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
MyCody
from NJ
The Extreme Kongs are the only ones that my Carolina dog doesn't destroy. We mainly use theses as his crate treat when it's a workday. They are good with wet dog food frozen in them. I hit them in the microwave for 5-7 seconds or you can let it thaw a few minutes to make it more fun for your pup to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kongs are great!

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moylan
from Oregon
I have a hyperactive dog, and he loves the kong, especially when I fill it with his food. I got the "extreme" because he's a big boy (113 lbs.).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for pit bulls

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan29NJ
from New Jersey
I don't think there is anything better for a pit bull than this product. I purchased a large for my female and an extra large for my male. Since my male wants his and his sister's, we don't allow them to play with them unless they are separated, so they don't actually get to play with them on a daily basis. So, I can't say how long they would have lasted if that were the case. ****** ONE VERY IMPORTANT THING I WOULD LIKE TO POINT OUT IS THAT I AM UNABLE TO FIND THE BISCUIT TREATS THAT FIT THE EXTRA LARGE KONG. I'VE LOOKED ONLINE AND IN EVERY STORE I COULD THINK OF . SO MANY STORE SELL THE XL KONG, BUT DON'T CARRY THE TREAT THAT FITS IN IT***** I know they sell the paste, but it is very messy and if the dog doesn't get every drop out, it has to be cleaned out. The hard treats are so much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

extreme kong

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
vtnoah
from Marrero, La.
my hula girl will chew through anything but i like to put peanut butter in the kong and freeze it. it takes awhile to get the stuff out before she starts chewing on the kong itself. i buy them whenever they are on sale since she's such an aggressive chewer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough toys for a Pittie

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pittie
from MA
I see a lot of questions on what toys can be used for owners of a Pittie. I agree the Black extreme Kong does work well and nothing else without close supervision. You might want to check out the Goughnuts website and pick the black Extreme. Very limited in what they sell though. Also, the Bento ball treat holder was kind of cool
but my Pittie plucked it out of the toy in 30 seconds. Once she realized the toy was a good holder for the treat she no longer pulled it out and enjoyed eating and licking the treat to the end. Good luck!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A staple in our home

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
JennyBean13
We have had these for many years. Our Boston terriers can be strong chewers and the med/large size Kong holds up. We stuff them full of treats once a day and they throw and roll them all over the house trying to dispense the goodies. Afterwards it is nap time for these happy dogs.
We now have a bulldog and he has learned how to use these as well. He loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best toys for my 3 dogs!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Abuc5224
from Edwards, CA
I LOVE Kong toys, but the extremes are the only ones that can withhold my Weimaraner's agressive chewing habits; top it off with a tiny Mini Schnauzer who loves to play keep away with the big dogs with these and an Austrailian Sheppard who only likes toys if they have banana, pumpkin puree, or ginger treats in them... And we have a perfect match! I don't like to purchase these at full price. I wait until the XL is around $13 before I buy a new set. Petco is one of the cheapest places to get them with their sales (when you include the percentage back for every $100 spent with pals rewards). We managed to snag about 4 little ones for the Mini Schnauzer on a special manager clearance for only a few bucks each. These are AMAZING!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Extreme KONG Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

hole too big

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
pbphilic
from st louis, mo
We had been pleased with the size L Kong Extreme -- tough, firm springiness to chew, and held treats inside for a lengthy work-out. It never wore out and remained a favorite for years. When it was lost, a replacement was desired. The sizing chart suggested our 110# Newf-mix ought to have an XXL, but that looked too huge for comfortable chomping. I bought an XL. The diameter of the treat hole increases in proportion to the Kong size. It is almost impossible to wedge dental chews inside the XL firmly enough to last beyond brief moments of chewing enjoyment -- they extrude too rapidly. I'm down-sizing my next purchase.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>