petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control

PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control

Uses ultrasonic sound to deter nuisance barkingDetects bark up to 50 feet awayDurable and weather proofTwo color LED for good/low battery indicationOperates on a 9 volt battery (sold separately)Model PBC00-11216
Average Customer Rating:
3.141 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
5 stars
56
4 stars
11
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
46
77 out of 135(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Review 1 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
bigdon
from Rockford, IL
Our next door neighbor's little dog would be outside barking most of the day. Even when the neighbor was sitting on their deck they did not try to stop it from barking. The bark control unit started working almost immediately. Now when he starts yapping he stops within a minute. We are thrilled with the results! We are now able to enjoy our deck and yard again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Try

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
BarkiesMom
from Salt Lake City, UT
This did not work at all for either my own dog, or the neighbors. Mine is a big dog...theirs are two small dachshunds. It slowed mine down for a day or two, but the 2 smaller dogs never missed a beat. Would not recommend this product. Did not perform as hoped.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pupmaster
from Chicago, IL
We bought this to solve two problems. First, the neighbor's dog was standing at our fence and barking constantly whenever we were in the yard, or when our dogs were out and she wanted to get their attention, and also whenever she was let out of the house in the very early morning.
Second, our two dogs run to the front gate and bark a few times at the mailman, or other passers by, especially but not only if the passers by have a dog with them, though our dogs don't keep it up for long.
Since getting this device, the first problem is almost completely gone, and the second is noticeably reduced. It seems most effective at stopping habitual constant yapping like that of the neighbor's dog, and somewhat less effective at stopping alarm barking like that of our dogs (though even that has been reduced).
It's been a big help and therefore, so far, so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great for us

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
2curlygirls
from MI
The reviews for this product were mixed, but it seemed worth a try to keep the peace with one set of neighbors. I thought this unit might work for us since our dogs (now almost full grown) are smart and easily trainable, and a solution was needed for a specific area of the yard.
We have a big fenced yard with many "distractions" beyond our tall fence that kept our growing puppies entertained. We have really enjoyed being able to give them outdoor access at will, and wanted to keep this arrangement. They can come indoors through a doggie door, but love spending lots of time outdoors. As the dogs grew older they started to bark, and one of our neighbors started to complain.
After a couple months, I am happy to report consistent success! We installed the box near the neighbor's place at the recommended height, on the outside of our chainlink fence so the dogs couldn't reach it. They may still start barking, but quiet down quickly.
I just bought a second unit, installed further down the fenceline to expand the coverage area.
If you have a similar situation with otherwise well-behaved dogs that don't just bark because they like to hear their own voice, I recommend you give this unit a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works wonderfully!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
3ccc
from AK
First let me say the sales person at Petco tried to talk he out of purchasing this saying most were returned, and indeed the box I took home had been returned (taped closed, hair in the box...yuck). Anyway, I'm glad I decided not to listen.
I was worried about trying this after reading reviews but I decided to try anyway. We have two dogs and our neighbors have one. We also have the type of neighbors who let their dog bark constantly but get a angry when ours bark (aka "Your dog is barking at ours!" "Your dog is terrible because our dog went up to your fence and started barking and your dog barked back!" Seriously. You get the picture). So we tried the citronella bark collars, which worked, but I felt terrible because our dogs were being punished for barking but our neighbors dog was still going to town. Plus they look like your trying to electrocute your dog even though it's citronella. So this was our next hope. The box had been opened before and my hopes sank, until we turned it on and my husband tried a test "bark". One of our dogs had an immediate response. We let our dogs outside, they barked once, that was it. It did take some coaxing to convince them to go back in the yard after that experience though. I think they thought some invisible monster lived there, but they are fine with it now. And I listened with a smile as our neighbors dog barked a couple of times then stopped. Although I admit it's been eerily quiet around here because even the dog on our other side isn't barking.
I saw a review where they wondered if it worked better for small or large dogs, our neighbor had an 80 pound mix, we have a 20lb and a 12 pound dog. It works for all. But it works best for our 20 pound because he's super sensitive, he gets upset if you raise your voice. Our other dog is more stubborn and may test with a low bark or two when she first goes out but then she stops. So I think it depends more on the dog itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nicegirlintown
from Riverside Ca
After four years of barking dogs in my front yard and in my back yard, it's finally quiet. At first I had the device on the front porch and even when a siren went by, the dogs across the street quieted right down. Then I moved it to a tree in my back yard. The neighbors dog moved further away before she started barking. We moved the bird house a little further toward the back fence and it's been quiet for a week. We've been able to open the windows and enjoy our patio.
My husband can't believe it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sorry didn't work for me

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
gladformynewfamily
from MA
I am JJ, a hyper excited beagle/jack russell mix and this did not deter me from barking not one bit, my owners were hoping it would distract me, but they rescued me from the shelter and love me just the same
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Deberz
from Redmond, OR
I have two dogs (mini Aussie and Pomeranian), along with a new neighbor dog (Pit Bull) that would go CRAZY barking at each other. After trying to keep my dogs mostly inside for 3 days, I went looking for a solution and found this. IT IS INCREDIBLE! Worked immediately. If they bark at all, it's once or twice, then they look around and stop. This has been a godsend for us. We live in a neighborhood and the neighbors wouldn't stand for the barking. Oh and it even worked on the neighbor dog through a good-neighbor fence! Thank you for a great product, it was a life saver!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Might work

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
dickk8
from San Diego
I have two Aussies. The bark control works for one but not the other.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
mcavs
from Wellington, Colorado
I bought this to try and quiet our neighbor's dog that stands at the split rail fence seperating our yards and just stands and barks. His location is right next to our bedrooms and is getting annoying. I placed it on a pole right next to the split rail fence that seperates our yards and the dog actually came up to about 4-5 feet of the bird house and started his barking like normal and didn't stop, like normal. After a couple of hours I just went out and took it down. I'm taking it back tomorrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't Quite Do It

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Awake93
from Norwalk, CA
It was nice to receive something we thought MIGHT work and it helped a few days. We could see the neighbor dogs reacting to the sound emitted. Also found from others that following instructions of 5' off the ground didn't work so well through a wooden fence. Moved it up into the tree pointing down at where the dogs stand and bark, but the range is weak. Need something with more range than max of 50' for a small dog with a shrill yap. He figured out all he had to do was move a few feet out of range and he could bark all he wanted. I got a sports whistle (much cheaper) to train the dog from my side of the fence. Contacted the City, Sheriff's Dept and dog pound and ordered dog whistles. I'm going to get this done, but this product isn't the answer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work with my dog.

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
GertyGirl
from Boise, ID
I purchased this thinking it would stop my Aussy from barking. The first day she would look at it after barking, but now she just keeps barking. I will try the citrus collar next.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
brandikb5
from CO
I wanted something that wasnt going to harm my dogs and bought this birdhouse. It worked great for a day and then my dogs ignored it. Was a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

neat idea but dog didn't care

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from shallotte, nc
This worked for about a day and then my dog could care less. I liked that it didn't hurt her and that it was cute but it didn't get the job done.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
gmn08
from PA
Complete waste of money. Worthless piece of junk. Does not work at all!! I also have collars for indoors and they work great so it is not just that my dogs can't be controlled. It flat out doesn't work and obviously is totally overpriced.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I had high hopes...

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
PitNMini
from Lake Orion, MI
I had high hopes for this product. I have a miniature Dachshund and a Pitbull Mix. The Doxie is an annoying barker, and is "teaching" the Pibble to bark at everything.
However, the product did not seem to activate while they barked. It tested perfectly, made the appropriate chirp during test, but had no effect on the dogs, even on level 3! The red light did not even turn on, even during their greatest barking jaunts.
The mini Dox has a very high pitched bark, and the Pitbull has a very deep bark, and it did not activate for either one.
Changed location of birdhouse, changed height of birdhouse, to no avail.
Product was returned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Completely Useless

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
JA1975
from Virginia
Dont waste your money on this one. You'll be burning your gas up returning it the next day. Had no effect at all on my dachsunds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolutely worthless

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
JSUPLL
I would give 0 paws if possible. Almost deterred our GS from barking for about 2 days. Then, it did nothing but use batteries. Wife was supposed to take it back within the 30 day period but refused. She thought that maybe not using it for a while and trying again would work. Wasted $60 of my hard earned money. Since I can't take it back for a refund, maybe I ought to throw it in the yard and destroy it the next time I cut grass.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thought it would work

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
MAJORBS99
from CORVALLIS, OR
I tried this for about a week but my two dogs didn't even respond to it. The crazy thing is I heard it every time it went off. Anytime I'd talk it would go off and after a while it actually began to annoy me while the dogs never even reacted. I honestly wanted it to work but I'll be returning it today unfortunately.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did not seem to work at all.

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
yadoro
from Rowland Heights, Ca.
I purchased the outdoor bark control house and it did not seem to have any effect on my dogs when they would bark at the dog next door. This was not an effective bark control device. I would not recommend anyone buying it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>