petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control

PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control

Uses ultrasonic sound to deter nuisance barkingDetects bark up to 50 feet awayDurable and weather proofTwo color LED for good/low battery indicationOperates on a 9 volt battery (sold separately)Model PBC00-11216
Average Customer Rating:
3.122 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 131 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
10
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
45
74 out of 131(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Review 1 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works wonderfully!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
3ccc
from AK
First let me say the sales person at Petco tried to talk he out of purchasing this saying most were returned, and indeed the box I took home had been returned (taped closed, hair in the box...yuck). Anyway, I'm glad I decided not to listen.
I was worried about trying this after reading reviews but I decided to try anyway. We have two dogs and our neighbors have one. We also have the type of neighbors who let their dog bark constantly but get a angry when ours bark (aka "Your dog is barking at ours!" "Your dog is terrible because our dog went up to your fence and started barking and your dog barked back!" Seriously. You get the picture). So we tried the citronella bark collars, which worked, but I felt terrible because our dogs were being punished for barking but our neighbors dog was still going to town. Plus they look like your trying to electrocute your dog even though it's citronella. So this was our next hope. The box had been opened before and my hopes sank, until we turned it on and my husband tried a test "bark". One of our dogs had an immediate response. We let our dogs outside, they barked once, that was it. It did take some coaxing to convince them to go back in the yard after that experience though. I think they thought some invisible monster lived there, but they are fine with it now. And I listened with a smile as our neighbors dog barked a couple of times then stopped. Although I admit it's been eerily quiet around here because even the dog on our other side isn't barking.
I saw a review where they wondered if it worked better for small or large dogs, our neighbor had an 80 pound mix, we have a 20lb and a 12 pound dog. It works for all. But it works best for our 20 pound because he's super sensitive, he gets upset if you raise your voice. Our other dog is more stubborn and may test with a low bark or two when she first goes out but then she stops. So I think it depends more on the dog itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nicegirlintown
from Riverside Ca
After four years of barking dogs in my front yard and in my back yard, it's finally quiet. At first I had the device on the front porch and even when a siren went by, the dogs across the street quieted right down. Then I moved it to a tree in my back yard. The neighbors dog moved further away before she started barking. We moved the bird house a little further toward the back fence and it's been quiet for a week. We've been able to open the windows and enjoy our patio.
My husband can't believe it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sorry didn't work for me

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
gladformynewfamily
from MA
I am JJ, a hyper excited beagle/jack russell mix and this did not deter me from barking not one bit, my owners were hoping it would distract me, but they rescued me from the shelter and love me just the same
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Deberz
from Redmond, OR
I have two dogs (mini Aussie and Pomeranian), along with a new neighbor dog (Pit Bull) that would go CRAZY barking at each other. After trying to keep my dogs mostly inside for 3 days, I went looking for a solution and found this. IT IS INCREDIBLE! Worked immediately. If they bark at all, it's once or twice, then they look around and stop. This has been a godsend for us. We live in a neighborhood and the neighbors wouldn't stand for the barking. Oh and it even worked on the neighbor dog through a good-neighbor fence! Thank you for a great product, it was a life saver!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Might work

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
dickk8
from San Diego
I have two Aussies. The bark control works for one but not the other.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
mcavs
from Wellington, Colorado
I bought this to try and quiet our neighbor's dog that stands at the split rail fence seperating our yards and just stands and barks. His location is right next to our bedrooms and is getting annoying. I placed it on a pole right next to the split rail fence that seperates our yards and the dog actually came up to about 4-5 feet of the bird house and started his barking like normal and didn't stop, like normal. After a couple of hours I just went out and took it down. I'm taking it back tomorrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't Quite Do It

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Awake93
from Norwalk, CA
It was nice to receive something we thought MIGHT work and it helped a few days. We could see the neighbor dogs reacting to the sound emitted. Also found from others that following instructions of 5' off the ground didn't work so well through a wooden fence. Moved it up into the tree pointing down at where the dogs stand and bark, but the range is weak. Need something with more range than max of 50' for a small dog with a shrill yap. He figured out all he had to do was move a few feet out of range and he could bark all he wanted. I got a sports whistle (much cheaper) to train the dog from my side of the fence. Contacted the City, Sheriff's Dept and dog pound and ordered dog whistles. I'm going to get this done, but this product isn't the answer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work with my dog.

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
GertyGirl
from Boise, ID
I purchased this thinking it would stop my Aussy from barking. The first day she would look at it after barking, but now she just keeps barking. I will try the citrus collar next.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
brandikb5
from CO
I wanted something that wasnt going to harm my dogs and bought this birdhouse. It worked great for a day and then my dogs ignored it. Was a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

neat idea but dog didn't care

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from shallotte, nc
This worked for about a day and then my dog could care less. I liked that it didn't hurt her and that it was cute but it didn't get the job done.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
gmn08
from PA
Complete waste of money. Worthless piece of junk. Does not work at all!! I also have collars for indoors and they work great so it is not just that my dogs can't be controlled. It flat out doesn't work and obviously is totally overpriced.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I had high hopes...

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
PitNMini
from Lake Orion, MI
I had high hopes for this product. I have a miniature Dachshund and a Pitbull Mix. The Doxie is an annoying barker, and is "teaching" the Pibble to bark at everything.
However, the product did not seem to activate while they barked. It tested perfectly, made the appropriate chirp during test, but had no effect on the dogs, even on level 3! The red light did not even turn on, even during their greatest barking jaunts.
The mini Dox has a very high pitched bark, and the Pitbull has a very deep bark, and it did not activate for either one.
Changed location of birdhouse, changed height of birdhouse, to no avail.
Product was returned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Completely Useless

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
JA1975
from Virginia
Dont waste your money on this one. You'll be burning your gas up returning it the next day. Had no effect at all on my dachsunds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolutely worthless

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
JSUPLL
I would give 0 paws if possible. Almost deterred our GS from barking for about 2 days. Then, it did nothing but use batteries. Wife was supposed to take it back within the 30 day period but refused. She thought that maybe not using it for a while and trying again would work. Wasted $60 of my hard earned money. Since I can't take it back for a refund, maybe I ought to throw it in the yard and destroy it the next time I cut grass.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thought it would work

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
MAJORBS99
from CORVALLIS, OR
I tried this for about a week but my two dogs didn't even respond to it. The crazy thing is I heard it every time it went off. Anytime I'd talk it would go off and after a while it actually began to annoy me while the dogs never even reacted. I honestly wanted it to work but I'll be returning it today unfortunately.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did not seem to work at all.

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
yadoro
from Rowland Heights, Ca.
I purchased the outdoor bark control house and it did not seem to have any effect on my dogs when they would bark at the dog next door. This was not an effective bark control device. I would not recommend anyone buying it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it sorta works... maybe

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
API1
from SoCal
I tested the PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control right outta the box on my Labrador that was bred for sensory acuity and the device worked immediately (of course my dog isn't the barking problem). Next I hung the anti bark box in a tree and directed it towards the neighbor's yapping Jack Russell with mixed results. Sometimes the Jack Russell will shut up and other times not. Who knows why...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
bink41
from Lewisville NC
Our Nieghbors have 3 dogs. A pit bull, german shepard and a rockwilder. they bark 24/7. the product was with in feet of them and nothing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It worked for me!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jedo
from Humble, TX
Needless to say I was very apprehensive about this item after reading the reviews but gave it a try anyway. It has worked superbly for over a week now. I have two adult huskies and two boxers. The oldest boxer was the culprit and barked incessantly all night. It was causing a lot of friction with the neighbors and I don't blame them. I mounted the device inside their outdoor kennel high enough to where they couldn't tear it up and it has made all the difference since day one. Thank you whoever designed this. 
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They Bark No More

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
BarksNoMore
This is the best thing ever. My husband loves it. We had two yelping dogs next door. My husband bought this and there was no more barking and a lot more sleeping. After several years, we are now having to purchase a new one. My husband says he will never be without one, ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
19of 23voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>