petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control

PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control

Uses ultrasonic sound to deter nuisance barkingDetects bark up to 50 feet awayDurable and weather proofTwo color LED for good/low battery indicationOperates on a 9 volt battery (sold separately)Model PBC00-11216
Average Customer Rating:
3.149 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(141 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 141 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
13
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
48
81 out of 141(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Review 1 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and solved my issue!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Peoria, AZ
I first purchased the "PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System" collar from Petco. It was working fine for 3 months and then all of the sudden I noticed my 13 lb Yorkie/Chihuahua mix starting barking out of control again. He some how figured out the "code" meaning after 15 barks the "collar" shuts off! So I downloaded an app called dog whistle on my iphone to test this bird house theory and it worked! I noticed right away how he reacted to the high freq. sound and was listening to me. So i went back to Petco and they helped me switch out the collar for the bird house. Brought it home and done! I put it at the back of the yard facing my house in the middle section so it covers the yard equally on setting (#3). He was a good dog and not a bark since then! I am very please with the result and glad I got this product! I strongly recommend it! And also the neighbor dogs were also silenced and barked less! I am so happy. Thank you Petco and PetSafe bird house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

give it time

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from san diego,CA
I have had a most irritating experience with my neighbors dogs and have been researching these products. I myself having bought one but my roommates parents have this one and it worked for their and their neighbors dogs at the fence where they go crazy very well. I see some frustrated reviews and I am writing this before it leave my mind. After comparing products It seems it may take a while 2-3 weeks for the dogs to learn it's their barking causing the sound. It's pretty sensible to give it time, after all a dog,especially one with more aggressive personality, is going to bark at any initial disturbance. So I'm just writing to let people know you should probably give it some time before you disregard it. Not everything in life is instant! I've seen it work so be patient...the range is poor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works a little too well

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring, texas
I bought it mainly for the numerous barking dogs that my neighbor has. It works so well, my dog is real skid dish about going in the back yard now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't Work For Me!!!

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
After a few days of research on what was the best way to stop a neighbors dog from barking, I found that this product was the best, but unfortunately it didn't work for me. The reviews did say it didn't work on all dogs, but just because it didn't work for me, it doesn't mean it won't work for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work , my Goldens retrievers still bark

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Concord, nh
I bought this hoping it would help stop the barking that my Goldens have on occasion. It does not work. $ave your money .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
It works so well with my doxin it stopped her almost instantly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rockford, IL
Our next door neighbor's little dog would be outside barking most of the day. Even when the neighbor was sitting on their deck they did not try to stop it from barking. The bark control unit started working almost immediately. Now when he starts yapping he stops within a minute. We are thrilled with the results! We are now able to enjoy our deck and yard again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Try

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, UT
This did not work at all for either my own dog, or the neighbors. Mine is a big dog...theirs are two small dachshunds. It slowed mine down for a day or two, but the 2 smaller dogs never missed a beat. Would not recommend this product. Did not perform as hoped.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
We bought this to solve two problems. First, the neighbor's dog was standing at our fence and barking constantly whenever we were in the yard, or when our dogs were out and she wanted to get their attention, and also whenever she was let out of the house in the very early morning.
Second, our two dogs run to the front gate and bark a few times at the mailman, or other passers by, especially but not only if the passers by have a dog with them, though our dogs don't keep it up for long.
Since getting this device, the first problem is almost completely gone, and the second is noticeably reduced. It seems most effective at stopping habitual constant yapping like that of the neighbor's dog, and somewhat less effective at stopping alarm barking like that of our dogs (though even that has been reduced).
It's been a big help and therefore, so far, so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great for us

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MI
The reviews for this product were mixed, but it seemed worth a try to keep the peace with one set of neighbors. I thought this unit might work for us since our dogs (now almost full grown) are smart and easily trainable, and a solution was needed for a specific area of the yard.
We have a big fenced yard with many "distractions" beyond our tall fence that kept our growing puppies entertained. We have really enjoyed being able to give them outdoor access at will, and wanted to keep this arrangement. They can come indoors through a doggie door, but love spending lots of time outdoors. As the dogs grew older they started to bark, and one of our neighbors started to complain.
After a couple months, I am happy to report consistent success! We installed the box near the neighbor's place at the recommended height, on the outside of our chainlink fence so the dogs couldn't reach it. They may still start barking, but quiet down quickly.
I just bought a second unit, installed further down the fenceline to expand the coverage area.
If you have a similar situation with otherwise well-behaved dogs that don't just bark because they like to hear their own voice, I recommend you give this unit a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works wonderfully!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from AK
First let me say the sales person at Petco tried to talk he out of purchasing this saying most were returned, and indeed the box I took home had been returned (taped closed, hair in the box...yuck). Anyway, I'm glad I decided not to listen.
I was worried about trying this after reading reviews but I decided to try anyway. We have two dogs and our neighbors have one. We also have the type of neighbors who let their dog bark constantly but get a angry when ours bark (aka "Your dog is barking at ours!" "Your dog is terrible because our dog went up to your fence and started barking and your dog barked back!" Seriously. You get the picture). So we tried the citronella bark collars, which worked, but I felt terrible because our dogs were being punished for barking but our neighbors dog was still going to town. Plus they look like your trying to electrocute your dog even though it's citronella. So this was our next hope. The box had been opened before and my hopes sank, until we turned it on and my husband tried a test "bark". One of our dogs had an immediate response. We let our dogs outside, they barked once, that was it. It did take some coaxing to convince them to go back in the yard after that experience though. I think they thought some invisible monster lived there, but they are fine with it now. And I listened with a smile as our neighbors dog barked a couple of times then stopped. Although I admit it's been eerily quiet around here because even the dog on our other side isn't barking.
I saw a review where they wondered if it worked better for small or large dogs, our neighbor had an 80 pound mix, we have a 20lb and a 12 pound dog. It works for all. But it works best for our 20 pound because he's super sensitive, he gets upset if you raise your voice. Our other dog is more stubborn and may test with a low bark or two when she first goes out but then she stops. So I think it depends more on the dog itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Riverside Ca
After four years of barking dogs in my front yard and in my back yard, it's finally quiet. At first I had the device on the front porch and even when a siren went by, the dogs across the street quieted right down. Then I moved it to a tree in my back yard. The neighbors dog moved further away before she started barking. We moved the bird house a little further toward the back fence and it's been quiet for a week. We've been able to open the windows and enjoy our patio.
My husband can't believe it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sorry didn't work for me

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MA
I am JJ, a hyper excited beagle/jack russell mix and this did not deter me from barking not one bit, my owners were hoping it would distract me, but they rescued me from the shelter and love me just the same
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Redmond, OR
I have two dogs (mini Aussie and Pomeranian), along with a new neighbor dog (Pit Bull) that would go CRAZY barking at each other. After trying to keep my dogs mostly inside for 3 days, I went looking for a solution and found this. IT IS INCREDIBLE! Worked immediately. If they bark at all, it's once or twice, then they look around and stop. This has been a godsend for us. We live in a neighborhood and the neighbors wouldn't stand for the barking. Oh and it even worked on the neighbor dog through a good-neighbor fence! Thank you for a great product, it was a life saver!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Might work

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I have two Aussies. The bark control works for one but not the other.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wellington, Colorado
I bought this to try and quiet our neighbor's dog that stands at the split rail fence seperating our yards and just stands and barks. His location is right next to our bedrooms and is getting annoying. I placed it on a pole right next to the split rail fence that seperates our yards and the dog actually came up to about 4-5 feet of the bird house and started his barking like normal and didn't stop, like normal. After a couple of hours I just went out and took it down. I'm taking it back tomorrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't Quite Do It

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Norwalk, CA
It was nice to receive something we thought MIGHT work and it helped a few days. We could see the neighbor dogs reacting to the sound emitted. Also found from others that following instructions of 5' off the ground didn't work so well through a wooden fence. Moved it up into the tree pointing down at where the dogs stand and bark, but the range is weak. Need something with more range than max of 50' for a small dog with a shrill yap. He figured out all he had to do was move a few feet out of range and he could bark all he wanted. I got a sports whistle (much cheaper) to train the dog from my side of the fence. Contacted the City, Sheriff's Dept and dog pound and ordered dog whistles. I'm going to get this done, but this product isn't the answer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work with my dog.

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boise, ID
I purchased this thinking it would stop my Aussy from barking. The first day she would look at it after barking, but now she just keeps barking. I will try the citrus collar next.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CO
I wanted something that wasnt going to harm my dogs and bought this birdhouse. It worked great for a day and then my dogs ignored it. Was a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

neat idea but dog didn't care

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from shallotte, nc
This worked for about a day and then my dog could care less. I liked that it didn't hurt her and that it was cute but it didn't get the job done.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>