petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens

Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens

Kills fleas, flea eggs and deer ticks for up to one monthKills and repels mosquitoes that may transmit heartworm diseaseThe unique applicator design helps prevent misapplicationContains a natural coat conditioner4-month supply
Average Customer Rating:
2.273 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
4 out of 11(36%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Review 1 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No way will I ever recommend this product.

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Persephonebleu
from Idaho
My cats have more fleas since I started using this product and I even paired it up with the 6 month flea collar. What a nightmare. Do not buy these drops. I wish I could get a refund as well as reimbursement for the foggers, etc. that we had to use to rid the house of the fleas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not so bad.

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jayneisplayn
from Hallam, PA
I'm surprised by all of the bad reviews of this product. When I read them, I had already purchased the product, and they were slightly mixed, so I decided to go for it.
I have 2 cats, one being about 2 pounds and a little over 3 mo., and the other being around 4 or 5 and just over a year old. I put the product on them as directed in the evening and left it alone from there. At first the cats went from biting, to going into a frenzy. I read that this was normal because the medicine was affecting the fleas causing them to start jumping and moving at a dramatic rate. The next morning I noticed that my cats were both still scratching, but not as frequently. By the evening of the second night, at least 24 hours later they were pretty much back to their normal comfortable selves. Around 36 hours later they were not biting or scratching at all.
The medicine does leave a greasy spot on the back of their neck that slowly starts spreading. To help with this, after the 24 hour mark I took my flea/dirt comb and ran it through to spread it and collect any fur that still had flea dirt in it. I didn't catch many fleas, but the few that I did, were very lethargic. What once would be seen one second and gone the next, could now barely move.
I rate this product a three because it helped my cats feel comfortable, but it did take a little bit longer than expected. What else can you expect when it's an off brand product? I will continue to use this product from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great Zodiac product

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
countryzoolady
from Tennessee
Effective and safe flea/tick treatment for my two cats. I like the fact that this product has a coat conditioner. I have an older cat who doesn't always groom herself well. Her coat is getting shinier now. One of my cats likes to go outside, so I like the fact that this product repels and kills mosquitos. The individual dose packages are easy to open and apply. A great product at a great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Huge Mistake.

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kalolaina
from Madison, WI
I bought this product about a week ago. The only reason I decided to try it was because the store was out of the product I usually treat my cat with, and I didn't want to wait for it to come in. I put it on my cat like the box said. She had the same initial responce all cats have to flea meds. The next day, she started scratching again. It didn't get rid of the fleas. But, I figured that since it was the cheap stuff, it might take longer to work. Two days later I noticed that there was a bald spot where I applied the medication. I quickly bathed her, and got the rest of the stuff off of her so she didn't lose any more of her fur. Needless to say, I will NEVER use any product this company puts out ever again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wast of Time and Money

PostedAugust 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Raleigh, NC
I bought and used this product about 2 weeks ago on my cat. I put the stuff on the back of her neck and watched it spread all over her body. I left it alone.
After 3 or 4 days, I took my cat to a neighbor's house, and as one could guess (and as cats do), she got away and went under their porch-- where a bunch of feral cats live. She came back out covered in fleas. I didn't worry about it, though, because I had applied this product. I took her back home, assured that any fleas in my home would die along with their potential offspring and I would not have to worry about it. After several days, I noticed the fleas were still on her. The box doesn't say how long it takes the product to work. I began picking the fleas off of her myself. I took off 5 or 6. Yesterday, a week and a half since applying this product and a week after her acquisition of a flea colony, she and I spent an hour in the bathtub and I removed over two dozen fleas from her small body (she's only 3 months old).
The product did not work, and because I believed the advertising I am now faced with the task of getting the fleas out of my home when I could have taken proactive measures in the first place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

allergic reaction

PostedMarch 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
moka
This is not the first time that I notice that after I treat my cat, she always seems lethargic. In additon, this product may be cheaper, but I do not feel that it does such a great job killing the fleas. I still find fleas on her 2 days later. I stcuk to it for 4 months and gave the product a good chance. I will never use again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I will never buy again

PostedJuly 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
butrbal
We just put this on our cats 3 days ago and have seen no improvement. We got this one because it was cheaper than the one we usually get. Needless to say we are going to stick with the more expensive one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
ladya879
Surprised to see bad feedback also, worked great for my 3 cats and one is even an outdoor cat. The price is also good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedMarch 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
MomofMolly
I'm surprised to see the negative reviews of Zodiac Spot On Plus. It has worked really well for my cat! I've used the much more expensive Frontline and Advantage and didn't find them to work as well as the Zodiac product has. Molly and I thank Zodiac for a great flea control product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't waste your money

PostedNovember 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
ErikaG
this did absolutely nothing for my kitten. I think it made the flea problem worse.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zodiac Spot On Plus Flea Control for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Product Ever

PostedSeptember 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
momhmschl3
Not worth the money. Put it on my cat and the fleas not only did not die, they multiplied. Now I can't use another product for 30 days. Would NOT recommend this product at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.