petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats

PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats

Harmlessly and safely trains pets off unwanted areas3 levels of correction allows appropriate sensations for varying sized petsLightweight and portable
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Review 1 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stopped working after one day of use

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
CatMomSF
from San Francisco, CA
I cannot recommend this product. It stopped working after one day of use even though we used a new battery, and even tried replacing it with another new battery. A waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

correction from afar

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
rivieravixen
from los angeles
My little Shiba Inu is smart but not always obedient and has been getting on table when we are out of the room. I put the Paws away on the table as directed and 30 min later heard a yelp and a tone. She came running into bedroom licking her paws but we were innocent. I think she did it one more time the next day. There was a tone and she was sneezing and shaking her head. No further incidents. I wish I had a video
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shock is too strong

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Broco
from MA
The shock was too strong and startling for me - I would never subject my kitty to it. It is getting returned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
snowhappy
from muskegon mi
I have a German Shorthair Pointer/Aussie mix, she has done fairly well with staying off the couch since I have gotten this mat. The shock from the mat is not very strong but it is enough to keep her off the couch. It is nice not to have to vacuum dog hair off the couch on a daily basis any longer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work..

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jimlb
from Easley, SC
This product does not work. We were worried it would hurt the dog so my wife and I both decided to try it out first. I couldn't feel anything at first, my wife could feel a small tingling. After trying it several times I finally got the small tingling in my finger. Our dogs completely ignored it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works most of the time

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from St. Louie, MO
I purchased this product over a year ago to deter our house rabbit from jumping on the sofa and digging in the cushions while we were sleeping
I knew it was working when we turned it on at night and she stomped at the beeping when it came on. It does not always give a static charge (the rabbit likes to annoy my husband by jumping up and down off the sofa when it is on to test it) but most of the time it must work because our sofa has received no new damage.
I thought it had stopped working, we pressed on it and it never shocked us, so we were using it as a reminder. The other night, our new dog must have jumped up on the sofa and received a shock, he was very upset when I walked in the room and the mat was beeping. So it seems to still work some of the time. It is still effective as a reminder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Whosonfirst
from Houston, TX
The first night I came home from work it looked like the dog had been on it, since then on she doesn't even look at the couch and yesteday I left it on the couch but forgot to turn it on and still no doggie hairs on the couch. I like that it is easily folded away when I come home at night and easy to fold out and turn on before I leave.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Petsrgreat
This worked the first day we used it. I set it to tone. It went off in the middle of the night when my dog jumped on the couch. He has not jumped on the couch again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Purchase

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tukie2
from Palos HIlls, IL
I accidently touched the wired part of the mat and felt the kind of shock Lady Bug would feel. It was set on sound and low. Perfect setting for her. She has not been on the furniture since the mat was placed on it. Now, friends are going to purchase the product to save their furniture from their pets.
Very pleased with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dogs don't care

PostedJune 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
janzy58
I just recieved this mat today. I have 3 dogs and babysit 2. Only one dog had a reaction but he still crossed it. All the rest of the dogs just stood on it. Hope it works better for others that buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping our dog honest

PostedMay 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
burnsny
from NY
Our dog was trained not to get up on our furniture in our living room. This lasted for about a year and then with in last couple of months we found dog hair on the furniture but never caught the dog on the furniture, he would always look guilt when we came home.
After using this product we never found any more dog hair and our dog does not go around looking guilty when we get home.
I would 100% recommend this product to anyone trying to keep their pet off the furniture.
Oh by the way we received one extra bonus by using this product. It stop our teenagers from flopping over on the furniture. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Pawz Away Mat for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!!

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
pokey05
I bought the scat mat for my Springer Spaniel about 6 months ago to keep him out of our kitchen. It works!! He hasn't stepped foot in the kitchen since he was "shocked" the first time. The shock is not that bad. My family, including my kids, will sometimes forget and get shocked. We then bought a $4.00 plastic mat from the hardware store and placed it at another section of the house. Our dog thinks it will shock him and he doesn't step over that plastic mat. Best buy ever!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.