petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System

PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System

Vibration feature in the warning tone as an additional deterrentLevel one is warning only with vibration - ideal for initial training or very timid petsLevels two through four with vibration are for easy or average to train petsModel PIG00-10777
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Review 1 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best $$ Spent on Dog

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
We have a stubborn Beagle/Schnauzer mix that loved to roam out of the yard. We bought the stubborn dog invisible fence and at the lower levels she just ran through. When it was increased, she learned not to even go close. On occasion we have accidentally left the collar off and she never tries to leave the yard. When she nears the boundary she puts on the brakes. The installation wasn't too bad. We have a big, difficult yard to dig and did the installation in June in Texas in an afternoon. Seriously the best money spent on a dog for safety and convenience.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works. Period.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from wi
I had another "basic dog containment system" from our first dog which worked quite well for her.
Our new pup, however, did not seems to care about the "zap" on her neck once she learned how to run full speed through the fence line. She would even run back through it once she had made her visit to her friends across the street.
This "Stubborn Dog" fence system was my last hope. Really. The neighbors were getting nasty and I didn't want a dope-on-a-rope dog.
We put this system in a turned it to 10 (max). What did I have to lose? The wire was already installed from the other unit.
2 escape attempts later this stubborn pup is COMPLETELY trustworthy outside. Even alone!
I am considering dialing the number back little by little to make the "warning area" more narrow as she knows now what will happen if she continues on. It's pretty convenient that you can control the width of the warning area and correction area with the dial. 10 is a pretty wide correction area a nd only a couple times into it will teach.
It seemed a little sadistic to me but really the dog chooses to enter that correction area. There's a nice wide warning area before the zapping happens.
The collar takes a 9v battery too. Much more readily available in every gas station and convenience store around than the special tiny battery in the "Basic" system.
I wish I had bought this system sooner!
Don't give up- even if your dog is tricky it won't love the consequences for escape attempts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast correction

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I little hard to install for what we wanted but in the end my husband figured it out and it took a matter of hours before the dogs stopped going where they should not go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Didn't Think it could be so easy!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
I installed this fence one Saturday, started training my dog and within a week or so he was on supervised playtime. By the next week he was on it by himself and I haven't had any problems with him running across the road since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Doggy

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, NM
After spending thousands of dollars on fences modifications upon modifications we were never able to keep our intelligent 4 year old golden retriever in the yard. 6 ft fences no problem he managed to jump right over. No matter what we did we could not keep him in the yard.
After reading some of the reviews I had to give it a try I could not stand seeing him tied up.
After one evening of setup along our existing fence. Then another couple of evenings of training he is free to roam our large yard. He has since gotten out once as he bolted thru an open gate. Other than that this product is awesome. And to think we almost gave him away to a rancher in northern New Mexico. My only regret is that i didn't make this purchase sooner
Stubborn dog is now a good puppy that stays home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
19of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pensacola, FL
We have had our system for almost three years and it is still in good working condition. We have two Lab mixes who are both escape artists and this was our savior. We walked our dogs around the yard so that they could learn the peremiter. They only had to be corrected once or twice and they have not had a problem since. The best feature is the sound that emits as a warning before correction takes place. If my dogs become to close they will run from the fence when they hear the sound hence they do not get correction. I would recommend this product to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best money I've ever spent!!!

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, Tx
I have two silly, adorable freedom fighters who can go over, around, under, through ANYTHING. They are pit bulls and I've never known them to hurt anyone but I can't take the chance. Plus there is the stigma many people associate with pits so they were both on heavy chains for a looooooong time. I was afraid the containment system would make them mean so I was afraid to try it. Out of sheer desperation to get the poor little monster babies off the chains, I finally installed the stubborn dog system. They are still silly and adorable but they are now off the chains!!! The female only needed the second setting and she received very little training. The male had to get the fourth setting and a few hours more of training. Even though I wasn't able to properly train them, they are both safe and secure IN THEIR OWN YARD and have been for several months now. I ran the wire along the top of the fence then back around along the bottom of it. IT WORKS!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Central PA
This product works fantastic. We live in a city area and had problems with our escape artists chasing people and other dogs. We have a Jack Russell mix and a Staffordshire Terrier mix and they both do not cross the boundaries anymore. I definetly reccommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
21of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love it

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Western Pa
The fence is working well so far. My only complaint is the collar, it shredded within 3 days and I had to order replacements. I pray I just got a couple from a bad batch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In-Ground Dog Fence

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
First let me say that I am known to research everything near to death before buying anything! I started out looking at wireless dog fences. We measured the footage that would be covered by two units plugged into our home. It would not allow the dogs to use their entire fenced-in area. For this reason and the more- area for less money, we went with the in-ground fence. I researched the different brands and the one name always coming out on top was PetSafe. (Especially in the service dept.) It was also pointed out that most all in-ground fences are made by the same RadioFence company.
We went with the PetSafe "Stubborn fence" because our dogs out-weighed the regular in-ground dog fence collar weights. (We have 2 black Labs, 1 Golden Retriever and 1 Newfoundland). I called PetSafe and talked to a HUMAN! She was EXTREMELY helpful and friendly, very knowledgable and answered all of my questions and even gave me some very good pointers. I thought that I would need the longer prongs for the collars. I called and they were sent out to me Free of Charge, for all 4 dogs. As it turned out, the 2 black labs needed the collars turned to the 2 nd setting and the large Newfoundland is afraid of just the vibrating and ticking on the 1st level, so she stays away from the fence. The Goldren Retriever tested the fence once and after we turned up the setting on the collar he respected the fence.
Although it is NOT reccommended, the 3rd day out, we left the dogs in the yard and were gone for 4 hrs. They were still there when we came back.
I LOVE this product and the company that is standing behind it.
The only bad part that I can say about this experience, (not the company's fault), is that I received a bad case of Poison Oak from planting the in-ground fence by hand.
We had rented a 'turf cutter' locally, for $80, but it wasn't working, so the 4 of us used up the 3 (500 ft), spools of wire and installed the pet fence by hand in about 10 hrs. We were VERY excited when we plugged in the fence and it worked the FIRST time without even having to re-do anything!
I do not make a habit of writing reviews, but this one deserved it! I do hope that you will consider PetSafe in-ground fence. We are VERY glad that we did!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+126points
153of 180voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stubborn dog inground fence

PostedJune 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have a huge and extremely fast dog. He learned in 3 days not to pass the flags and after 11 days he does not need the flags. and i have over 2 acres of inground fence for him to have fun and run with plenty of room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+39points
42of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

In Ground Fence installed

PostedJune 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
One Saturday to install-recommend wet ground and shovel for trench (we burned up edger: shovel just as quick). Currently training 6 mos Lab Mix puppy rescued from shelter. Day 2 of training, instructions are to turn "static" to level 2 (of 5) for 4 days of training. She was VERY aware of the static. It appears she will respond quickly to the new system. Make sure you have enough room away from each buried wire to set "static" 5 feet away from wire. We didn't figure that out until after wires buried and will have to restring one wire 5+ feet high on the house to allow for dog walk on side of home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
26of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely a great purchase!

PostedMay 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from LeClaire, Iowa
Within a week our dog was trained. He definitely knew what those flags meant. Would recommend this product to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Installation only.

PostedOctober 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
from steilacoom, WA
I have not yet fully trained my dog, and have only installed the "Stubborn Dog" version of the in-ground fence.
1. I have a 1/3 acre property, and just assumed 500 ft would be fine. However, had I thought through my install and all the elevation changes between vinyl and chain link fences, over concrete walkways, and under eaves of the house in front, I'd have know I'd have less than 10 ft of wire left.
2. I'd bought 4 cheap garden hoses and slit them with a utility knife and just pushed the wire in along that slit to protect the wire in the ground from any digging. It worked, but extended install time.
3. Recommend thinking through the HEIGHTS that wire will be installed if different in parts of the perimeter (i.e. on 6ft chain link fence vs. in ground for vinyl fence, etc.) That may mean having to re-do install to lower the highest locations....or a decision to set the signal strengths for transmitter and collar at one setting, and letting the highest locations go, in hopes the dog can't scale a 6ft fence.
In sum, I created problems for miyself because I did a single loop install, around the back and side yards that went just in front of, and through the garage of, my house...rather than including a front yard. So, there were several elevation changes.
Luckily, the system works, and dog is to be trained soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
20of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Standard Battery

PostedApril 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
I love that this collar uses a 9v battery instead of having to order expensive button cells. We've been using the system over 9 months now, and are still on our first battery. Just tested it today, and it's still working.
My dog isn't the brightest, and refuses to figure out the white flags. He's just doesn't go anywhere NEAR the fence line. I feel kind of bad that he thinks his yard is so much smaller now. But at least he's safe. He was escaping out the front door every chance he got to go on a grand tour of the neighborhood. I love that he can hang out with us out front now. (We have a traditional fence plus the Petsafe invisible in the back.)
We installed the wire using an electric lawn edger. It took a few days, but wasn't too difficult once we got the hang of it. To go across the cement driveway, we used a masonry blade on our circular saw to cut a thin trench, laid the wire, then caulked it in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No so good.

PostedDecember 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
I purchased this system for my lab. The fence system works well, however, the collar is not made well at all. I had to retrofit the receiver to another collar within a month of purchase. The collar supplied is thin and falls apart easily. There are two metal prongs which extend out of the transmitter on the collar. One of these prongs broke off leaving the system inoperable. Hopefully I can purchase another collar without needing to buy a whole new system.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best inground fence

PostedJuly 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, Florida.
This is my second inground fence. My previous one was from a competitor. My 65 pound Black Lab mix would walk through it like it was'nt their, plus I went through two control boxes and two collars and it didn't slow her down and the collar would eat batteries like they were going out of stile! After installing the PetSafe Stubborn Dog System and about 4 days of refresher training of the boundry areas she hasn't left the area once. Thanks PetSafe. This was well worth what I paid for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe In-Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more escaping dogs!

PostedMarch 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
My labs found every loose part of chain link fencing in my yard and would "commando crawl" under it to freedom. No more! The installation took me and my husband a good 4 hours to do. Luckily, we zip-tied the wire to our chain-link fence in the backyard and buried it in the front yard, so that saved us a lot of time. If you were to bury the whole thing, I would block off an entire day to do it, but overall if was very easy. Even my headstrong labs figured out the training quickly. Now they hear the beep from the collar that tells them they are too close to the boundary and they get back. I no longer worry about the animal control officer or speeding cars on my street.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
30of 33voted this as helpful.