petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder

PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder

Easy to use as an automatic cat feeder or automatic dog feederTimer allows you to program the feeder to deliver meals at preselected timesFood tray is divided into 5 feeding slots, each holding approximately 1 cup of dry foodTray is dishwasher safeIdeal for cats, puppies and small breed dogsModel PFD11-13707
Average Customer Rating:
4.541 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
81 out of 85(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Review 1 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just bought my second one

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
JO537
from Richmond, VA
I have had one for about 5 years and it works great. Have had to change the batteries twice in all that time. Buying a second one to accomodate three cats since I work 24 hour shifts and want to limit theor food intake. Free feeding = fat cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleeping In

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ohmygosh
from Minneapolis, MN
I purchased 2 of these for 2 reasons.
Reason 1: My 2 cats are very insistent on getting food when they think they want to eat in the morning. They wanted food very early in the morning even if it was not my time to get up. With these feeders, I have these set to feed them at 5:30 AM. The cats know now that I do not have to be awake to give them food so I never get that early morning wake up call.
Reason 2: If I am going to be gone for a weekend, I can set them to feed them 2 times a day. It is easily programmed to feed 1 or 2 times and change it back.
This feeder is easy to keep clean, the cats cannot manipulate it to get food when they are not supposed to be fed, and it has never failed to feed them when it was supposed to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Auto feeder

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Renda
from Wichita, KS
My dog lives for feeding time! This helps when we aren't at her feeding time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to refill

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
TinAZ
from Tucson, Az
You have to dismantle the entire system on the previous feeder I had. The tray on this one is easy to refill. The 4D batteries are easier to install than the other one's, BUT it was hard to get the bottom 2 D's in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect pet feeder

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
mombea
from South Jordan, UT
I am very impressed with this pet feeder. Before I got it, my cat nagged me every time he saw that his bowl was empty. Now he never bothers me to feed him and he has also figured out when the food tray is going to rotate. He has even began to lose a little needed weight since his constant nagging caused me to put more food in his bowl every time he complained. Now he's a much happier kittie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto pet feeder

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ngtshiftwkr
from Minneapolis
Working very well. Easy to program. Turns very quietly. I frequently don't hear it at all. The turn doesn't freak out my cat. So far, I have not had any difficulty with the cat turning the trays and getting to the other food bowls. Only minor criticism, the trays are very deep for a cat. She doesn't like to stick her head down in there to eat so she pulls out the food and eats it off to the side.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Greyling
from Bountiful, UT
This feeder accomplished my goal. We left for a few days and did not have to find some one to come and feed our cat. This feeder also works well for feeding several smaller portions throughout the day.
Although the feeder is a little pricey, I still recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luv2Shop13
from Southern CA
I previously purchased a different type of auto feeder with a clear glass/plastic 'globe' above the feeder which fed the food down into a bowl. It only took about a week or so before the cats figured out they could bump the feeder and/or reach up into the feeder tube to get food out whenever they wanted. That wasn't the definition of automatic feeder I was looking for.
So far this model is smarter than the 2 cats and they have not figured out a way to get at the food until it is served to them.
My only issue so far is putting the feediing schedule on hold when you don't want to use it. There is a button which is supposed to suspend feeding, but it does not work. So it continues to spin in the closet until I go on vacation again, or I have to take out the batteries and re-program it, although that is not very hard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LED needs improvement

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Burtsmom
I have a cat who will gobble everything in her food dish, and then vomit it all back up immediately afterwards. Which is why I can't leave food out for her all the time. I've tried so many different ways of feeding her and nothing works. I got this feeder with the idea of feeding my cat small amounts up to 5 times in a 24 hour period - which so far is working out - by giving my cat smaller meals more often, I'm hoping she will feel satisfied throughout the day. So far, so good. The only negative I would post about this feeder is that the display on the LED timer is tiny and does not light up. A larger display with a back light would be so helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for smart cats

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
ILuvCharlieCat
On the second day of using this feeder, my cat had already figured out how to nudge the exposed section with his face and force the bowl to the next feeding slot. They should have designed it so that once it turns it locks into place. It's a great concept, just not good for clever animals. This is the second feeder I've tried and I'm starting to lose hope :/
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feeding made easy.

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
catsgonewild
from Red Oak, Tx
I have 4 cats and feeding time was crazy; now with the auto feeders it has made it easy. It took a few times to sink the timers to open up at the same time. it also makes it nice for weekend trips I don't worry who is going to feed them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
4MomsCats
from NJ
Bought this for Mom who was being awakened by cats @3 or 4 AM. Set it for 5 AM and although initially the noise of the dish advancing scared her 3 cats, now they know what that noise means and welcome it. Best of all, they leave her alone in the AM, knowing the unit will "feed" them vs. her doing it. Not only would I say I'd buy again, I DID buy again --- bought 2 initially, then back for the third.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
pjb515
from South of Boston, MA
I bought this after trying the Cat Mate C50 feeder. I didn't like that one for two reasons. First is that you can't have a feeding interval less than 6 hours. This is no good for me, I need to feed my cat wet food every couple of hours. Second reason is that it's kind of shoddy. The cover rotates via a spring mechanism, and since the spring gets less tense each time it moves the cover, it's barely moving the cover on the last two compartments, and the last one is especially bad. This Petsafe unit is much better. You can program the exact time you want it to expose each compartment, so technically, you could have it feed your cat every minute if you wanted to. Also, the unit is motorized, not just using a spring mechanism like the Cat Mate. I like that it uses 4 D batteries, it should go a long time before needing to replace them. I said that it's almost perfect, and the reason I don't give it 5 paws is for two reasons. First is that it only has space for one ice pack, which is not good for people like me that have to put wet food in it and leave it. The Cat Mate has room for two ice packs, one at the front and one at the back. My tip on that would be to refrigerate your cat's food ahead of time and this will slow the spoiling process. Second reason is minor, I'd really like a low battery power indicator. Glad I found this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real impressed

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
altifam
from post falls, Id
I am glad I went with this pet feeder after reading other good reviews. I have been using it for a couple of weeks and it works great. It opens on time each day and it is so easy to program. My dog loves it and I would recommend this dog feeder, you wont be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat is happier!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
NaniMom
from Hawaii
This great feeder changed my cat's happiness quotient for the better. She no longer meows for meals long before her feeding time. She just waits until she hears the feeder mechanism and eats! She no longer gorges on everything in the dish, but doles it out to herself as she desires. She used to wolf down everything in the dish. I think she no longer has mealtime anxiety...my personal schedule is always changing and I sometimes feed her hours dinner later than the appointed hour, because I need to leave the house and don't want to feed her dinner so soon after breakfast. My cat is calmer and more loving, and I get to sleep in in the morning!! Yea! I love my kitty and she loves me even more than before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good.....but....

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandra65
The instructions were a bit hard. The machine is great except if you sleep in the same room as the feeder, the spinning of the tray is VERY loud and will,wake you up. It has become my alarm clock. Otherwise working great for my kitty...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DandL
from MD
Now I can forget about the every day early breakfast !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy & helpful

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
squalz
from Jackson, GA
I bought this to try to stop the 4:30am interruption of sleep from my cat. That has not worked so far, but the feeder does exactly as it should. I like the thought of feeding our 2 cats smaller portions several times a day. I am hoping this will help one lose a little weight by controlling his access. Easy to use - easy to clean. May buy another for the dog later.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but not for a smart dog

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
D0ggysRule
from Modesto, CA
I thought this unit was the answer to my issue of not being able to be home in the evening in time to feed my dog. It's easy to program and works very well. However, after one feeding (I was home - it was a test feeding to see how it worked), my little 15-lb, 7 month old dog figured out that he can put his paw in the exposed food tray and advance it himself to the next tray in the cartridge where the food is (he could smell it there). The cartridge is easily turned if you force it a little. Back to the drawing board!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We think this feeder is great!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
tojoandev
from Jacksonville, FL
We are able to offer Misty smaller meals at timed intervals. This ability to offer more frequent smaller meals even in our absence has the benefit of greatly reducing her vomiting episodes. An improvement would be to add a tone or bell that would sound to bring her attention to the fact that the cassette has moved to offer new compartment of fresh food. She does not always hear the motor. It would also be helpful if the cassette had 6 compartments instead of 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>