petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder

PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder

Easy to use as an automatic cat feeder or automatic dog feederTimer allows you to program the feeder to deliver meals at preselected timesFood tray is divided into 5 feeding slots, each holding approximately 1 cup of dry foodTray is dishwasher safeIdeal for cats, puppies and small breed dogsModel PFD11-13707
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
85 out of 91(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Review 1 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
PuppyMom1908
from North Carolina
This is the perfect feeder for our puppy since she eats three small meals per day. It is easy to use, and we don't have to worry about rushing home at a certain time to make sure she eats on schedule.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
LovesCats2014
from USA
Wonderful product for our cat! She was confused at first but got used to it quickly!! Very nice timer setting, able to sleep in for a bit without being waked up at 5am to feed our cat! Highly recommended if you will be gone 1-2 days or work overtime, your pet will be fed no matter what!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good product

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Concerningshopper
from Albany, NY
The feeder was very big in size in any room you have to becareful tripping or the cat just avoiding it. If the cat is use to a bowl. It's expensive feeder and my cat changes his eating time, it just didn't work out. The feeder is plastic and gets stuck, in evening and I have to wake up at midnight, and feed the cat using the bowl. "Not happy about buying " the feeder.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
HillHound
from Stillwater, Ok
Though I had to wait some time to get the produce because it was on back order, the product has worked great so far. I got the cat feeder because my cats would wake me up very early for their breakfast. Now they leave me alone because they know that they will be fed when the machine turns and gives it to them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder

PostedMay 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
awayfortheweekend
The feeder arrived with a problem with the motor. It would turn at the time set, but only a fraction of turn, so the next meal couldn't be reached by the pet. After reading all the good reviews, I think this was a problem only of the feeder I received, not a flaw in the product. Good thing I tried it before leaving for a long week end.
I could return it without problem to a Petco shop (I bought it online) after having printed the return receipt and the money was credited back to my account the same day.
Outside of that, the product is easy to clean, large enough for an adult cat, and my cat hasn't tried / succeeded into rotating manually the cups.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works good but.......

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wabut
from Cedar Park, TX
Works good but........ my Golden Retriever figured out if he just pushes the tray with his nose to the next meal, he can get another helping!! We tested it out with a treat and set the timer for 5 min so we could see our dogs reaction. The tray started to move and my dog decided to help and moved it with his nose to get his treat. Now I'm not sure if he actually waited until the timed setting the next day. We laughed it off but still didn't know what time he ate !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just bought my second one

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
JO537
from Richmond, VA
I have had one for about 5 years and it works great. Have had to change the batteries twice in all that time. Buying a second one to accomodate three cats since I work 24 hour shifts and want to limit theor food intake. Free feeding = fat cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleeping In

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ohmygosh
from Minneapolis, MN
I purchased 2 of these for 2 reasons.
Reason 1: My 2 cats are very insistent on getting food when they think they want to eat in the morning. They wanted food very early in the morning even if it was not my time to get up. With these feeders, I have these set to feed them at 5:30 AM. The cats know now that I do not have to be awake to give them food so I never get that early morning wake up call.
Reason 2: If I am going to be gone for a weekend, I can set them to feed them 2 times a day. It is easily programmed to feed 1 or 2 times and change it back.
This feeder is easy to keep clean, the cats cannot manipulate it to get food when they are not supposed to be fed, and it has never failed to feed them when it was supposed to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Auto feeder

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Renda
from Wichita, KS
My dog lives for feeding time! This helps when we aren't at her feeding time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to refill

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
TinAZ
from Tucson, Az
You have to dismantle the entire system on the previous feeder I had. The tray on this one is easy to refill. The 4D batteries are easier to install than the other one's, BUT it was hard to get the bottom 2 D's in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect pet feeder

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
mombea
from South Jordan, UT
I am very impressed with this pet feeder. Before I got it, my cat nagged me every time he saw that his bowl was empty. Now he never bothers me to feed him and he has also figured out when the food tray is going to rotate. He has even began to lose a little needed weight since his constant nagging caused me to put more food in his bowl every time he complained. Now he's a much happier kittie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto pet feeder

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ngtshiftwkr
from Minneapolis
Working very well. Easy to program. Turns very quietly. I frequently don't hear it at all. The turn doesn't freak out my cat. So far, I have not had any difficulty with the cat turning the trays and getting to the other food bowls. Only minor criticism, the trays are very deep for a cat. She doesn't like to stick her head down in there to eat so she pulls out the food and eats it off to the side.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Greyling
from Bountiful, UT
This feeder accomplished my goal. We left for a few days and did not have to find some one to come and feed our cat. This feeder also works well for feeding several smaller portions throughout the day.
Although the feeder is a little pricey, I still recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luv2Shop13
from Southern CA
I previously purchased a different type of auto feeder with a clear glass/plastic 'globe' above the feeder which fed the food down into a bowl. It only took about a week or so before the cats figured out they could bump the feeder and/or reach up into the feeder tube to get food out whenever they wanted. That wasn't the definition of automatic feeder I was looking for.
So far this model is smarter than the 2 cats and they have not figured out a way to get at the food until it is served to them.
My only issue so far is putting the feediing schedule on hold when you don't want to use it. There is a button which is supposed to suspend feeding, but it does not work. So it continues to spin in the closet until I go on vacation again, or I have to take out the batteries and re-program it, although that is not very hard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LED needs improvement

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Burtsmom
I have a cat who will gobble everything in her food dish, and then vomit it all back up immediately afterwards. Which is why I can't leave food out for her all the time. I've tried so many different ways of feeding her and nothing works. I got this feeder with the idea of feeding my cat small amounts up to 5 times in a 24 hour period - which so far is working out - by giving my cat smaller meals more often, I'm hoping she will feel satisfied throughout the day. So far, so good. The only negative I would post about this feeder is that the display on the LED timer is tiny and does not light up. A larger display with a back light would be so helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for smart cats

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
ILuvCharlieCat
On the second day of using this feeder, my cat had already figured out how to nudge the exposed section with his face and force the bowl to the next feeding slot. They should have designed it so that once it turns it locks into place. It's a great concept, just not good for clever animals. This is the second feeder I've tried and I'm starting to lose hope :/
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feeding made easy.

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
catsgonewild
from Red Oak, Tx
I have 4 cats and feeding time was crazy; now with the auto feeders it has made it easy. It took a few times to sink the timers to open up at the same time. it also makes it nice for weekend trips I don't worry who is going to feed them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
4MomsCats
from NJ
Bought this for Mom who was being awakened by cats @3 or 4 AM. Set it for 5 AM and although initially the noise of the dish advancing scared her 3 cats, now they know what that noise means and welcome it. Best of all, they leave her alone in the AM, knowing the unit will "feed" them vs. her doing it. Not only would I say I'd buy again, I DID buy again --- bought 2 initially, then back for the third.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
pjb515
from South of Boston, MA
I bought this after trying the Cat Mate C50 feeder. I didn't like that one for two reasons. First is that you can't have a feeding interval less than 6 hours. This is no good for me, I need to feed my cat wet food every couple of hours. Second reason is that it's kind of shoddy. The cover rotates via a spring mechanism, and since the spring gets less tense each time it moves the cover, it's barely moving the cover on the last two compartments, and the last one is especially bad. This Petsafe unit is much better. You can program the exact time you want it to expose each compartment, so technically, you could have it feed your cat every minute if you wanted to. Also, the unit is motorized, not just using a spring mechanism like the Cat Mate. I like that it uses 4 D batteries, it should go a long time before needing to replace them. I said that it's almost perfect, and the reason I don't give it 5 paws is for two reasons. First is that it only has space for one ice pack, which is not good for people like me that have to put wet food in it and leave it. The Cat Mate has room for two ice packs, one at the front and one at the back. My tip on that would be to refrigerate your cat's food ahead of time and this will slow the spoiling process. Second reason is minor, I'd really like a low battery power indicator. Glad I found this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real impressed

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
altifam
from post falls, Id
I am glad I went with this pet feeder after reading other good reviews. I have been using it for a couple of weeks and it works great. It opens on time each day and it is so easy to program. My dog loves it and I would recommend this dog feeder, you wont be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>