petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder

PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder

Easy to use as an automatic cat feeder or automatic dog feederTimer allows you to program the feeder to deliver meals at preselected timesFood tray is divided into 5 feeding slots, each holding approximately 1 cup of dry foodTray is dishwasher safeIdeal for cats, puppies and small breed dogsModel PFD11-13707
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 96 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
89 out of 96(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Review 1 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Peace of mind!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
LolaAgain
from hamden, CT
I usually go away one weekend every month and I have been concerned lately because my cat doesn't seem to be able to control herself and eats as much as she can at once. This product is fantastic. I left for 5 days and had a friend come by once to refill and check on the puss. Worked out wonderful! We are all happy, healthy and fed =)
Easy to set up, fill, refill and easy for my cat to get used to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Feeder Failed After Two Uses

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
PetcoNickname
from FL
I had high hopes for this product, but also some reservations after reading the reviews. I ordered it anyway and found out the hard way that this is an unreliable product. When you purchase a product to feed your pets while you're away you really want it to work. It worked for two short trips this summer, but failed this past weekend while we were on an overnight trip to make an airport run. I came home and the kibble was still in the feeder exactly where I left it. Luckily we were only gone about 18 hours. We've researched the problem using the online manual and have replaced the batteries, but no luck. I'll be returning it and hopefully will get my money back. Buyer beware - when it works it is great, but I'm glad that I have a human backup to feed my cats on longer trips. This is not a product that I would purchase again or recommend to family and friends.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Five scheduled feedings.

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stardust21
from Central Vermont
This product is great for times when my schedule conflicts with a feeding time for my cat. She is so used to regular feedings. I simply program the feeder and it will
provide a feeding if I can't. I am satisfied with this product and would highly recommend it to anyone with a busy schedule.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
TwinkiesMomma
from Woodland,WA
My cat was unsure of it at first, but, now when she hears the feeder change she runs to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
YellowLabMomma
from Washington State
Had to leave the dog on her own for two nights, so we bought the PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder. Worked like a charm! Easy to program, and well made. Saved a ton of money not kenneling her. She had access to her fenced in area, and access to her enclosed kennel, bed, water and food. Worth the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
PuppyMom1908
from North Carolina
This is the perfect feeder for our puppy since she eats three small meals per day. It is easy to use, and we don't have to worry about rushing home at a certain time to make sure she eats on schedule.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
LovesCats2014
from USA
Wonderful product for our cat! She was confused at first but got used to it quickly!! Very nice timer setting, able to sleep in for a bit without being waked up at 5am to feed our cat! Highly recommended if you will be gone 1-2 days or work overtime, your pet will be fed no matter what!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good product

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Concerningshopper
from Albany, NY
The feeder was very big in size in any room you have to becareful tripping or the cat just avoiding it. If the cat is use to a bowl. It's expensive feeder and my cat changes his eating time, it just didn't work out. The feeder is plastic and gets stuck, in evening and I have to wake up at midnight, and feed the cat using the bowl. "Not happy about buying " the feeder.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
HillHound
from Stillwater, Ok
Though I had to wait some time to get the produce because it was on back order, the product has worked great so far. I got the cat feeder because my cats would wake me up very early for their breakfast. Now they leave me alone because they know that they will be fed when the machine turns and gives it to them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder

PostedMay 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
awayfortheweekend
The feeder arrived with a problem with the motor. It would turn at the time set, but only a fraction of turn, so the next meal couldn't be reached by the pet. After reading all the good reviews, I think this was a problem only of the feeder I received, not a flaw in the product. Good thing I tried it before leaving for a long week end.
I could return it without problem to a Petco shop (I bought it online) after having printed the return receipt and the money was credited back to my account the same day.
Outside of that, the product is easy to clean, large enough for an adult cat, and my cat hasn't tried / succeeded into rotating manually the cups.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works good but.......

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wabut
from Cedar Park, TX
Works good but........ my Golden Retriever figured out if he just pushes the tray with his nose to the next meal, he can get another helping!! We tested it out with a treat and set the timer for 5 min so we could see our dogs reaction. The tray started to move and my dog decided to help and moved it with his nose to get his treat. Now I'm not sure if he actually waited until the timed setting the next day. We laughed it off but still didn't know what time he ate !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just bought my second one

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
JO537
from Richmond, VA
I have had one for about 5 years and it works great. Have had to change the batteries twice in all that time. Buying a second one to accomodate three cats since I work 24 hour shifts and want to limit theor food intake. Free feeding = fat cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleeping In

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ohmygosh
from Minneapolis, MN
I purchased 2 of these for 2 reasons.
Reason 1: My 2 cats are very insistent on getting food when they think they want to eat in the morning. They wanted food very early in the morning even if it was not my time to get up. With these feeders, I have these set to feed them at 5:30 AM. The cats know now that I do not have to be awake to give them food so I never get that early morning wake up call.
Reason 2: If I am going to be gone for a weekend, I can set them to feed them 2 times a day. It is easily programmed to feed 1 or 2 times and change it back.
This feeder is easy to keep clean, the cats cannot manipulate it to get food when they are not supposed to be fed, and it has never failed to feed them when it was supposed to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Auto feeder

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Renda
from Wichita, KS
My dog lives for feeding time! This helps when we aren't at her feeding time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to refill

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
TinAZ
from Tucson, Az
You have to dismantle the entire system on the previous feeder I had. The tray on this one is easy to refill. The 4D batteries are easier to install than the other one's, BUT it was hard to get the bottom 2 D's in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect pet feeder

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
mombea
from South Jordan, UT
I am very impressed with this pet feeder. Before I got it, my cat nagged me every time he saw that his bowl was empty. Now he never bothers me to feed him and he has also figured out when the food tray is going to rotate. He has even began to lose a little needed weight since his constant nagging caused me to put more food in his bowl every time he complained. Now he's a much happier kittie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto pet feeder

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ngtshiftwkr
from Minneapolis
Working very well. Easy to program. Turns very quietly. I frequently don't hear it at all. The turn doesn't freak out my cat. So far, I have not had any difficulty with the cat turning the trays and getting to the other food bowls. Only minor criticism, the trays are very deep for a cat. She doesn't like to stick her head down in there to eat so she pulls out the food and eats it off to the side.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Greyling
from Bountiful, UT
This feeder accomplished my goal. We left for a few days and did not have to find some one to come and feed our cat. This feeder also works well for feeding several smaller portions throughout the day.
Although the feeder is a little pricey, I still recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luv2Shop13
from Southern CA
I previously purchased a different type of auto feeder with a clear glass/plastic 'globe' above the feeder which fed the food down into a bowl. It only took about a week or so before the cats figured out they could bump the feeder and/or reach up into the feeder tube to get food out whenever they wanted. That wasn't the definition of automatic feeder I was looking for.
So far this model is smarter than the 2 cats and they have not figured out a way to get at the food until it is served to them.
My only issue so far is putting the feediing schedule on hold when you don't want to use it. There is a button which is supposed to suspend feeding, but it does not work. So it continues to spin in the closet until I go on vacation again, or I have to take out the batteries and re-program it, although that is not very hard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LED needs improvement

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Burtsmom
I have a cat who will gobble everything in her food dish, and then vomit it all back up immediately afterwards. Which is why I can't leave food out for her all the time. I've tried so many different ways of feeding her and nothing works. I got this feeder with the idea of feeding my cat small amounts up to 5 times in a 24 hour period - which so far is working out - by giving my cat smaller meals more often, I'm hoping she will feel satisfied throughout the day. So far, so good. The only negative I would post about this feeder is that the display on the LED timer is tiny and does not light up. A larger display with a back light would be so helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>