petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow

Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow

Advanced mesh underbelly provides quick and proper draining and dryingHigh-contrast colors and reflective strips for visibility in low light provide maximum safetyIncludes a handle on top for quick and easy grabbing
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
47 out of 48(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Review 1 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well.

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carrollton
from Carrollton, OH
Have never had a dog out on the water before so I really have no experiences with dog life jackets. Seems to work well on our girl who weighs about 19lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks good

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hil2013
from Brooklyn, NY
Well made with good security waist belting and a grasp handle. the Large fits our 90lb lab and the med. looks like it should fit our 6 month pointer when we actually start using it this coming summer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice fit

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ledger
from Portland, OR
It looks great and fits great. We have not got to try it yet because the weather is turning cold here...to cold to swim, but I have a feeling it will work great as well...it looks well made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than good!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Etelka
from ohio
Our rescue, part golden retriever, is a swimmer to begin with, however due to his age we noticed that he is beginning to tire easily in our pool. This vest has enabled him to swim for longer spells; as soon as we put it on him he runs and jumps in. One excited "old dog."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits Well

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luvmypoohs
from Hickory, NC
My older boxer loves to get in the water. I bought this to help him keep from sinking when he descends the pool stairs. He hates to get water in his ears and this flotation device helps to keep his head and ears elevated out of the pool and pond.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sweendog
from Columbus, OH
I bought this for my 6lb. Yorkie Poo. He absolutley loves the water and will swim until he is exhausted. This XS life jacket fits like a glove with a little room to grow. He is now able to play a longer in the water. The floatation around the neck helps keep his head above water and the handle on the back helps us get him out from our boat. A must have for water loving dogs!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
dazzle09
from IL
I actually purchased this item for my cat. He was very tolerant of me putting it on and it is easy to setup and take on and off. I LOVE the handle on top. Great way to keep your hands on him. I use this for water therapy for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doggy Live Jacket in Yellow

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barkles
from Kalama, Washington
While the jacket seems to be very sturdy and proper, the sizing is way off for my dog. I measured my dog and accordingly ordered a medium. It was "swimming" on him. So I have returned it to my retail store since no options for returning it were included in my mail order. I have ordered another one now in a smaller size, and I'm hoping that it is the proper fit. And it's not yellow; it's green.:
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a Life jacket

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Feestyle316
This jacket was so thin I really doubt that it could hold my 87lb puppy out of the water. It was more like a thick rain coat. I need floatation! This product does not deliver for us and was returned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for cats, too

PostedOctober 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Feedee
from Alaska
I bought one of these - for my cat. We boat a lot in SE Alaska, and she loves being out on the deck. We worried that she would launch herself off the side of the boat trying to catch something flying by so got one of these preservers. Cats are not quite as "cooperative" as dogs, but we were able to get this on her. The other plus is the bright color which will make it easier if she should ever end up in the water, or swims to shore and take off into the forest. So, any cat owners interested in a life preserver, this one does work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yellow Lifevest

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
SurferDog
from Centerville, Ut
Shipping is very quick!
The item I purchased (a life vest for my dog) worked very well. I was torn between x-small and small as my dog could go either way. I think it was good snug and would have been huge around the neck but my husband thinks I should have gone with the small. We might get another one and trade the x-small with my daughter who has a smaller dog than ours. The vest is adjustable so as long as you measure, the fit is accurate. And the color bright in case of emergency. I love the handle also, and it also has a place to hook up a leash. Great purchase
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
MariaP
Jacket is good but size measurements were deceiving. My dog is 13 pounds but did not fit into the size for his weight but I have a dachshund and I guess those sizes are different.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price!

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
jorja
In stores these run around $30, I got mine for $15 online and we love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great life jacket

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
jkhtrip
from St. Lucie West, Florida
I find this life jacket a wonderful item for my little dog. I like to hike and camp which at times takes me near or in water. This vest is perfect for your Best friend/Pet.
Make sure you measure your dog for proper fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Features

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
JBrzez
from Oxford, MI
This jacket has a lot of great features.
The under-belly velcro webbing is nice and forgiving. Add the 2 quick-connect clips and wide straps underneath and you really get a sense that this jacket won't slip off.
The neck opening is a little big but better then too small.
The handle on the back is nice. There is a D-ring at the front of it that is conveinant to clip a leash to but don't rely on it. If your dog pulls hard against it the entire D-ring/handle will peel right off the jacket. Clip your leash to their collar instead.
Plenty of 'clearance' (Male) for 'taking care of business.'
Lots of bouyancy and my beagle/spaniel mix took to it quickly.
Bright yellow really stands out on the boat and in the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yellow Life Jacket

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bridget06
My dog is a Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier, 32lbs. This medium life jacket fits her a little loose but still secure. You can adjust the velcro underneath her belly and neck area along with the buckles. It should fit a dog up to 50lbs. She has a blast swimming around in the pool. The jacket keeps her afloat. I love the handle on top to direct her to the pool ladder. The bright color makes the life jacket stand out! Great investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight and Bright

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
TootsieAndTeddy
from Roanoke, VA
I have 2 dogs, and the Medium and Large each seem to fit them correctly. They also seem very secure, although we haven't had time to really test the velcro and snap closures.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Going to get a 2nd one tomorrow

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Auburn, AL
I have two Boston Terriers, a 2 year old who loves swimming and a 6 month old who hates it. My boyfriend and his parents both live on a lake and we spend a lot of time playing in the water, so I wanted the little one to have this to hopefully make her more at ease in the water. It works great and keeps her afloat great, keeps her head above water well, and the handle is very helpful.
I'll be going back to the store to get a 2nd one for the strong swimmer tomorrow. I had it on her for a while today and she fell in on the inner part of the dock trying to jump onto a boat and it took me a minute to swim back over and help her get out, so I was very glad she had it on since she was a bit panicked.
Some reviews said these run a bit small, but I didn't find that to be the case. These dogs are 12 and 15 pounds, and the small is ALMOST too big for them. We tried it on the other Bostons in the family, ranging from 17 to 20 lbs, and the fit was perfect for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeska
from Wyoming
Bought it for my 6 lb Chihuahua so he could swim with his 55 lb APBT friend with ease. No worrying about him drowning! It fits well and he can wear it in and out of the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket in Yellow
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for Extra Large Dogs

PostedJune 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
grandmanae
from Grand Terrace, CA
I would recommend this product for a med to large dog, my Bullmastiff weighs 150+lbs. and cannot swim fast enough to hold herself up, I still have to assist her in the pool. But for a smaller dog I think it would work fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>