petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree

North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree

Features three levels of living space for your catHeavyweight design is unlikely to tipDurable construction is sure to last for yearsCovered with catnip for added attractionStain-resistant carpetMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Review 1 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kitty ph

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
davo
my 2 kitties love it, sleep in it, on it and literally wont stop playing....excellent investment for 2 or more kitties-
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wobbly at top, difficult assembly

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
elizabethjoy
from Portland, OR
I ordered this tree for its height and simplicity, but it was extremely wobbly at the top once I had finished assembling it.
The assembly itself was difficult and left me with no options or ability to tighten the connections between posts and platforms in order to minimize the shakiness. I'm afraid it's just shoddy design/construction.
My cat really liked the barrel-like enclosed part at the bottom, but this tree isn't worth the price for just the lower half. I will definitely be returning it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 cats love this, play daily, made very well!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
viccatt
from Los Angeles, CA
I was able to purchase this at Pet-co, assembled already. I thought it came that way! My 2 cats play daily on it and fight who gets to sleep on top. They knock each other off the mid levels and have fun. They don't use the cubby hole but it's good to put toys in. The carpet and sissel have lasted very well with no stains. I have had this for 2 years and it is used alot! It fits well in any decor and not an eyesore. My cats are rough and one weighs 20 lbs, so it is placed in a corner for support. It doesn't fall over but sways slightly due to aggressive playing and pouncing on and off of it. Overall, very sturdy and well made! It is a good size that will last for many years! A smart buy for a quality cat tree, large enough for our furry friends to enjoy when indoors! Good for exercise, jumping and sleeping:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitty loves it

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sundew
from IL
Even tho this item didn't come well packed, it was ok and easy to put together.
After taking the first piece out of the carton, our cat already claimed it and had his claws in it. Since, he's been most of the day (and night) on it.
This tree does what it promisses, It's keeping him away from furniture.
It's sturdy, he's a 16 lbs. cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
teddy11maltese
i own and run an animal rescue so this product along with other petco cat products do well for the cat room
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too much work

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
mickdolly
from new york, ny
this tree was very hard to put together and then when i got it built... it was shaky and unstable... i wound up taking off the top of it so i was left with a much smaller tree than i wanted. and now i'm going to have to buy another one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better Value 2 yrs ago

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
MollytheMangler
We purchased this tower for our cat 2 yrs ago. It is a great investment however it was a lot cheaper then ($149.99) than it is now. If nothing has changed or been added to it why is it so much more expensive?? Our cat loves this tower. She plays for hours on it and never gets bored. We are going to re-carpet it this week. She has all but destroyed the carpet. I would recommend this to others but I would say wait until Christmas to buy as it may be cheaper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Tree - LOVED BY CATS

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
LittleBit
I have two cats, and they LOVE this tree. Assembly was easy and quick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved by my Cats

PostedMay 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
PercysMom
I purchased the Penthouse Cat Tree for my four cats, and they love it. Each one of has chosen their level and everyday they lounge on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Your Cats will love this!

PostedMay 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Calyn
from Sylmar, CA
I have been wanting to buy a tree house for my two cats for the longest time, but the prices for what they were offering were always too high for the quality until I saw the Penthouse Cat Tree!
I have to tell you that anyone who is considering this kind of purchase for the quality and the ease of putting it together, you can't go wrong. My two kitties absolutely love it! They are in it or on it for most of their waking hours! It has really been a great source of entertainment for them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Height for the Window Seat

PostedFebruary 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sidney237
My cat followed us through the house when we first brought this home; he couldn't wait to climb up to the top. It's the perfect height for him to see out the window. And the access point is a circle in the top level so my cats can play together though the hole.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TOO MUCH FUN!

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
LAURAW
from FREEHOLD, NJ
I HAVE THIS TOWER & THE SHORTER ONE. IT'S SUCH FUN WATCHING MY THREE CATS VIE OVER WHO GETS THE TOP!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cats love this!

PostedJanuary 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
amanda6312
we bought this for our kittens when they were about 3 months old, and have had it now for about 6 months. they LOVE it, and spend most of their days chasing each other on it or sleeping on it. we have had it both in a corner and just in front of a window, and have had no problems with it swaying or tipping over. its perfect for anyone looking for furniture for their cats! i would say its probably easier to go to a store and buy it, where it is already put together rather than trying to put it together yourself!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats can't get enough of this!

PostedDecember 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kblair
from Bay Area, CA
I've had one of these for about 3 years now and at least one of my cats is in it all day long. They even give me whining and grief when they want to use it and the other is already there. This model is very stable and even my fat kitty can jump up and hang off the top level without making the tower rock. That's more than I can say for most of the cat-trees that are 6 feet tall!
The central post is nice and sturdy, and gives just the right amount of vertical space for kitties to sharpen their claws in the "standing" position they love. I wrapped natural sissal rope around it so the cats have a longer-lasting scratching surface. It's lasted 3 years and still looks great.
They do not use the cubbyhole in the base, but they adore the top shelf-bed and the sitting platforms. I use the cubbyhole for their toys, brushes, and treats. Put this next to a window and you'll have one (or two!) happy cat(s).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for North American Pet Classy Kitty Penthouse Cat Tree
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for the faint of heart !

PostedNovember 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
KrazyKat
The tower arrived in a 3' x 3' flimsy cardboard box that was split at the seams and some of the bolts needed to assemble it were missing.
It is different that the web site describes: smaller round base, the "crow's nest" is switched with the shelf below and it is 74" High.
It is best to turn it upside down when assembling it. It requires 2 different hexagon wrenches and a small stepladder or a sturdy chair to assemble it (unless you play for The NBA).
CATS REACTION: My 2 cats (Age: 7 months) loved it and raced to the top causing it to sway like an Elvis impersonator. They sleep in the "crow's nest". It is more stable if placed in a corner.
My cats did not scratch the rough cut carpet which is in a pleasing beige color on the posts and an ochre color on the sides.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.