petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System

Built-in flashlight for nighttime useWrist strap and belt clip is includedReleases a corrective ultrasonic siren that is immediately audible to dogsCan also be used as a personal alarmOperates on one 9-Volt battery (not included)
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
6 out of 10(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Review 1 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, Ohio
This did absolutely nothing to my dog. She would not respond when I tried using it to stop barking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog-Off Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Myrtle Beach, SC
I hoped this device would work but I found out quickly that the ultrasonic button only makes my puppy aggressive. Instead of stopping what she is doing she attacks. I then tried using the Personal Alarm button. At first that seemed to deter her but she became aggressive again. The light works well and the personal alarm would get attention. The ultrasonic button might work for some dogs but not mine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
I love this dog training remote. I bought this because my neighbors have a mean dog who jumps at the fence and would like to kill me. I stated using the remote and after about a week the dog as learned to stay away from the fence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't Work for my dog

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System did not work for me. I have a Pomeranian/Spitz mix with erect ears and she was not affected by the sound transmitted the least little bit. Perhaps the sound was not offensive enough to halt the pleasure she was having when barking at the dogs next door!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for some

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
This product works well on my dog (a beagle/dachsund mix) to control her incessant, ear piercing, bark. At this point, I don't even have to press the button. I pull out the gadget, she sees it and she stops immediately EXCEPT when the UPS man comes. That is the only time she ignores it. Odd, but I suppose it depends on the type of barking she is doing - whether it's for "fun" at passers-by or "threatening" at the UPS guy that she obviously has it in for.
I lent this to my Mom for her 2 golden retriever puppies. They are brothers and it works for one, but not the other. The one it works on is more mild tempered. The one it does not work on is hyper and kind of a nut. He barks non-stop at everything.
So I think it just depends on the dog.
The cats freak out over it and go flying whenever they hear it.
Overall, it works for my needs. But I know from experience it does not work on every dog.
As far as the quality of the product, I've had it for about a year and it has held up well. I have not had to change the batteries yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent training aid

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Waterford, Ct.
My dog Holly can be very strong willed with certain things and I was absolutely amazed at how well she reacts to this remote, Even if the button is pressed only a second. It is great to have something effective and not hurt the dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't work for me

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Quincy California
Nice unit. Light works. Personal security alarm
does work, but not very loud. Don't know if the
ultrasonic part works or not. My dog pays no
attention to it. Tried different types of new batteries
with no differences noted. Disappointing for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dog trainer

PostedMay 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Sandwich, IL
Worked as I hoped. I have two dogs. One has virtually stopped barking after using this product. The other dog is a Yorkie and as I expected, she barks when I use this device. However, her barking has been reduced since my dominant dog has stopped barking.
Somewhat tricky to install batteries without accidentally pushing buttons, but otherwise a wonderful product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

working well

PostedMay 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from nevada
i was unable to be out in my back yard due to the neighbors constantly barking dogs-----this makes them run and so far they no longer come over to the fence and bark so far working well and happy with the product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lentek Koolatron Ultrasonic Dog Training & Personal Alarm System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good item

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bought this to quiet annoying barking from the neighbors dogs. Works much better than treats, ignoring them or, telling them to be quiet. They run back into the house now when I reach into my pocket. Our dogs don't mind the sound but I haven't found a need to use it as a training tool with them. Personal alarm button is too easy to activate and you will get nusiance alarms. Parakeets love it when you chirp the personal alarm though. Unlike the dog button it can be locked on though. Expect to need to shut it off while it's blaring away in your pocket. Flashlight feature is pretty worthless but is a light. Overall a good training tool provided the dog isn't deaf and you back it up with verbal command and physical presence. Automatic units are more expensive and less reliable in stopping nusiance barking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.