petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API Freshwater Master Test Kit

API Freshwater Master Test Kit

Fast, easy and accurate test solutions for pH, high range pH, ammonia, nitrate & nitriteScientifically accurate for professional resultsIncludes free color wallchart, riveted color cards and glass test tubesKit includes over 800 testsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
31 out of 34(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Review 1 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquarium Must Have Item

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I love this test kit! It is accurate and easy to use. You get a lot of use out of it for the price. Recommended !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Test Kit

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
Great Test Kit. Contains lots of information about the different water parameters, and other things. Contains tests for lots of parameters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I've been wanting this kit for a while, and I like the fact there's a chart to keep track of the readings. The book is written very well, to where a novice like myself can understand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I was given good advice from one of Petco's aquarium professionals on purchasing this product and I'm very pleased at both the price and the results. It was very easy to use and clean up was a breeze.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Odessa, TX
I think this little kit is great! I've never used the test strips as most reviews online said it was more cost effective to buy this kit. I'm glad I did! Easy to read and follow instructions for accurate test results. I corrected the water peramiter issue in one of my aquariums and the fish looked much happier the next day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Whether you are new to owning fish or have been doing it for years, these tests are a must have for your aquarium. The tests are easy to use, effective, and a great indicator of how your fish are doing. These tests are a GREAT help when trying to cycle your tank. I have 4 tanks and use this test kit all the time, and I would highly recommend everyone to pick one up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth you money

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from new york
We bought the strips first to save money. Do not do that. buy this test even if it's more expensive. Easy to use and very accurate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

API Master Water kit

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu
Am very happy so far. Received it last night, used it, & found it easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An absolute must!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma
You need to have a test kit, plain and simple, no matter what size tank you have. Most fish problems can easily be diagnosed by testing your water. Just get it, you wont be sorry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best test kit you can buy

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kenosha, wi
I've used many different test kits for my fresh and saltwater aquariums and by far this is the most accurate. I'm going to buy the saltwater one today too. Only way to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Test Tubes Always Break.

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
This product is very accurate indeed! (: The only issue is that the glass test tubes are constantly breaking if they slip off the container or when I'm putting on the top. Maybe a plastic version of the tube would be better for clumsy people like me.
I would recommend this product to anyone who is cycling there tank or just cares about their fish's well being.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than tests strips!!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Madison MS
This kit is so much better than the tests strips that you can purchase. It cost more in the beginning but it will give you around 800 tests as compared to 27 in the strip purchases!! It is so much easier to tell what color your pond water is producing giving you a more accurate reading too. The strips bleed and run and you can not be sure which color you have. With this procedure you can feel that you have an accurate result. I feel my koi are safer with my use of the API Freshwater Master Test Kit. Top Rated!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value For The Price

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
For 31 dollars (unless you get it on sale), you get up to 800 tests. For 18 dollars (unless you get it on sale), you get 25 test strips. While I won't argue against the ease of use comparison, really, I think the value speaks for itself. And really, it's relatively easy and worth the extra action to save so much money. 800 vs 25. Even if that figure isn't accurate, these bottles of liquid hold more tests than the bottle of strips.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NE MT
Very nice test kit. All test are easy to perform and the tray that the kit comes with is nice to keep everything organized.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Need to Look Further. Buy this Kit!

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I feel remiss in not writing a hearty recommendation for this kit many weeks ago. It is accurate, easy to use and its instructions are complete and thorough. It is a must for the newbie but probably already a mainstay for the experienced. You will not find a more accurate and easier to use kit on the market, nor will you find one cheaper to use in the long rum.
Two thumbs up. Way up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best and complete

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from usa
Good price and more, I recommend for all people for your aquariums it greats kit
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than the test papers

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from PA
This kit has more exact readings than any of the test strips I have used. Takes a little more time, but well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this product so lucky to have found it!

PostedApril 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I have the freshwater and the saltwater kit both I love them both im so glad that I bought them yes they are a lil expensive but worth every dime you spend I think its a must for any aquatics keeper just my personal opinon also you can test 800 times basically without fail. I use to spend $22 a month on test strips where now I do not have too trust me its less expensive this way I have 3 tanks 2 freshwater and 1 saltwater so best of luck to new tank owners. Also before testing I or after first test I would get some prime and stability at your local pet store to put in I recommend before testing and let water filter for atleast 24 hrs before first test then 7 days before fish being added~!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
overall a good test kit for the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for API Freshwater Master Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Rancho cucamonga, ca
Lots of tests for the money, accurate and easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>