petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marina Betta Kit in Purple

Marina Betta Kit in Purple

Create a dramatic aquatic displayComplete kit1/2 gallon plastic TankPlantGravelFoodWater conditionerJust add water and your betta
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
76 out of 89(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Review 1 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Tank

PostedMarch 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
VegasBettaGuy
from Las Vegas, Nevada
These tanks are good for bettas, Just keep it away from any cold vents. Bettas like warm water appx 75-86F. My bettas seem to do better in tanks 1/2 gallon to a gallon. I did stick them into larger tanks in the past but for some reason they get scared and dont like it. I know that bigger is better sometimes but in my case it was not. These are fish that are breed in small ponds and rice patties. But anything smaller then this is NOT OK for them. Smaller tanks sometimes mean more cleaning the water thou, but if your willing for commit to this type of tank without filtration it will be ok. Just becareful with them because they can become stressed from the water changes. Bettas originate in the shallow waters in Thailand (formerly called Siam, hence their name sianese fighting fish), Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam, and parts of China. They proliferate rice paddies, shallow ponds, and even slow moving streams.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+34points
45of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a Good Betta Tank

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
BettaGirl24
from Wisconsin, USA
This tank is not big enough for any fish to live in. Contrary to popular belief, betta fish do not like tiny tanks. In the wild they live in shallow water but their territory often spans much larger horizontally. If your betta doesn't like a large tank it is most likely because of current from a filter or lack of hiding spaces.
Bettas are tropical fish and should be kept at temperatures between 76-82 degrees F. A betta kept at a lower temp will be lethargic and more susceptible to disease. And room temperature will not be the same as the water temperature. You should have a heater for your betta fish. This tank would not fit a heater nor would it be easy to keep a steady temperature in this tank. Temperature fluctuations can also stress your fish out.
Plus a tank this small will have to be cleaned everyday. Betta fish do not like dirty water. Bettas come from waters rich in tanins from Indian Almond Leaves and other trees. This discolors the water and makes it look brown and murky, but the water isnt dirty. Ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate are what make your water dirty. Your tank can be crystal clear and be absolutely deadly to fish from high ammonia levels.
It is for these reasons that most experienced betta keepers suggest a tank no smaller than 2.5 gallons.(I keep both my boys in their own five gallon tank) If you give them a proper home bettas are bright and active fish with a ton of personality and you can enjoy several years with them (my friends betta with be 4 years old next month).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fishbowl

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jdskid
Nice kit I placed my betta fish in. Keeps the cat from sticking her nose on the bowl. My fish seems happy. The color of the rocks are ok. I'm happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome tank for my beta!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
bbrenbren
from virginia, VA
Two days ago I got a butterfly male beta from PETCO which I named Ocean. This tank looked pretty good when I first saw it since it included water conditioner, gravel, a plant, and beta food. But when I opened the box, it included no food! Another thing I wish it had was lighting. Because at night Oceans tank becomes pitch black. Now Oceans second day at his new home, he is doing very well in his new tank. Overall, this tank is an excellent starter home, for a first time beta owner like me. Thanks PETCO for having this awesome tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WAY TO SMALL

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
hayjo100
from minnisota,mn
this tank is much to small for a betta bettas need at least 2 gallons and you cant fit a fillter or heater in this thank i would not recomend it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great starter kit!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mine12
from Chicago,IL
This is the perfect starter kit for one betta. It com with all most every thing you need. For the water I would recommend petco's betta water in the betta section, but it also comes with water conditioner for tap water. The tank is beautiful with the gravel and plant. You might want to add a few toys because your betta will get bored with just swimming around. Food is also great with the complete supplement and with color enhancers. Great kit for new owners or just getting a new betta! Would recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Starter Tank

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
linzerlee
from Nashville, TN
This was a really good tank when I first started out with my betta. My betta loved this tank and enjoyed the plant too. It has everything you need to get your tank going and I am still using the food that came with this! Since it is plastic and small, you do have to clean it every week. I have now moved to a 1.5 gallon tank and am liking it much more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too small

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
tklovesfish
from United States
It's really sad that these tiny, tiny tanks are marketed as good homes for bettas. Bettas need at least 2.5 gallons of water to really thrive. I bought this kit at first, but then I felt guilty and moved my baby boy into a three gallon tank with a mini heater. WOW. What a difference. He's ten times more active, blows bubble nests everywhere and swims up to greet me when I enter the room. He's so much happier and I wish I'd gotten him a bigger tank sooner. This is a decent starter kit for the value, because you get the water conditioner, plant, gravel and food. Now I use this tank to hold my little guy during tank cleanings, but that's it. You wouldn't want to spend your whole life in a tiny room. Neither does your fish.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+22points
36of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it good

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
nemobetta
i got this tank for my first betta fish it was a great starter kit comes with what you need to lead your fish to a healthy life. from this tank i upgraded him to a bigger one then to a five gallon. i would recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
JTAOL
from New York
This fish tank is great!!! It comes with all you'll need to start off. A bottle of water purifier, a plant, gravel, and a small food package. Never clouds up and is roomy for any Betta. Definitely a must have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good tank, but one problem.

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
lanadreea
from pocatello. id
i bought this tank a week ago and so far my betta loves it. i like the fact that it comes with everything you need when starting out with your first fish. the only thing that i don't like is that it doesn't come with a light which is dissapointing because my betta loves it when i have a light on the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
BettaMF97
it is a very nice tank and very roomy for my female betta fish she loves her new tank and you can fit some toys into it like i put a krusty krab that my betta fust loves to go into.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

perfect size

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
FirstBetta
Just bought this tank along with my betta today. He loves it! He is very curious and swims around checking things out. I wouldn't put more than one fish in this tank, however, because it is only .5 gallons. Also, I may replace the plastic plant with a live one or at least a softer one because I am afraid it may damage his fin. I highly recommend this for new betta owners! Great little starter kit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maddie's Review

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
hermieluver
from Torrance,California
I loved this product because it came with everythig you need exept the Betta Fish and water.You can also buy "Betta Water" at Petco.My fish,Justin Timberlake, really liked it too.He had plenty of swim around.He loved the plan.He would swim all around SO CUTE!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My review

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
wspgirl
from Washington, WA
I am a first time owner and this was the tank I chose for these reasons. It's easy to clean, I like the color of the lid and gravel, and it's easy to see my fish inside. Some of the downers are that it's really small, and it gets dirty really quickly. but, other than that, it's a really good product! =D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
BettaKeeper145
It was awesome for my crowntail male you could tell he loved it!!! Well easy to clean is just what i needed!! THNX PETCO
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so amazing

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
cheerleader99
from concord
ths is they most amazing thing (tank)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! im betta fish loves it and swims all around in it. i love this tank so much thank you petco!!!!!!!!!!!! x)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for First Time Owners

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
ekagome
from Washington, PA
Last year I got into Bettas, and at first was NOT very knowledgeable. This was the tank that the store associate recommended, and now I see why. This tank is great for first time owners, especially for kids, or rather, for parents getting their kids fish. The lid is removable, but I don't recommend it because betta fish jump. Caring for it is really easy too. Wash it out and fill it up, putting a capful of the conditioner it comes with into the water, and wait at least twelve hours. Then take your betta out of the cup it came in and just let him go! Then, fill up a gallon jug of water (a distilled water jug, if possible) and put a capful of conditioner in it. Keep it near the tank so the temperature is the same all week, and every seven days, remove the fish, dump the old water and clean off the gravel, and then pour the jug back into the tank. It's so easy, and soo good for the fish. The plant it comes with is even very nice :) Though I recommend that you use freeze dried blood worms to supplement the pellets included. San Francisco Bay is the best, and just use tweezers if you're squeamish. Good luck and enjoy your betta!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
teehee
from new york ny
This tank is very nice. My betta (sharmane) loves it. It is nice an roomy for her to swim around in. She is a very active fish and lovs to swim. This tank is very easy to clean. I got a live plant for my tank, so therefore I have no comment on it, but it seem very nice for a small tank. I used all of the water conditoner and it must have worked because Sharmane is still alive. I have not opened the food I just got bloodworms instead. THe gravel is really nice, and easy yo clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marina Betta Kit in Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

marina kit in purple

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
betta198
from new mexico
I bought 3 of these and their doing good my bettas seem to like them it's a cute little tank my bettas escpally likes the plants it came with good buy for one betta
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>