petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel

Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel

Easy-to-clean dog carrier made with high impact plasticAssembles in seconds without toolsSome sizes of this travel dog kennel include with seat belt slot for auto travelSteel door with dual rod spring-loaded latch that's easy to operate and stays very secureAvailable in a variety of sizes to suit your petMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.378 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(143 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
5 stars
93
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
9
128 out of 143(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Review 1 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Pet Crate - Sturdy anb Easy to Assemble

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oak Creek, WI
The new dog crate we purchased was exactly what we needed. It was delivered directly to our home. It was easy to assemble. We are happy with our purhcase. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

petco small premium kennel

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from tx
Easy to put together, well made and good colors to go with home décor. Plenty big enough for our terrier and he likes it which is what counts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Crate

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
This crate is great. Big enough for my English Bulldog to move around and lay down. He loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Latch Does Not Align Properly

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
The metal latch does not line up without pushing it into the groove. The carrier also has a vent at the top that is an elevated flap cut on three sides. The plastic is flexible enough for a cat to push its face into the flap and risk injury.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap!

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dubuque, IA
This kennel/carrier is very cheaply made! I returned it to the store right away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice crate & made in the USA

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wells, ME
I bought the small size for my senior cocker spaniel. She weighs just under 30 lbs, & the size of the crate seems appropriate. Thought the structure & materials were very good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

XXSmall and XSmall has insecure latching

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Hollywood, CA
I would give the Small and larger sizes a 5 paw rating, as they are fine but the XXsmall and Xsmall models have plastic latches which flip down and are supposed to securely latch the top and bottom together but do not, so I can only give the product an over-all 2 paw.
If you do not inspect the XXSmall or Xsmall carrier before using, the latches can easily come undone and you can find your carrier falling apart at a very, very bad time. I have a friend who had one fall apart twice on her way to her car with her cat (luckily she caught her kitty - she was still at home) and met another person at a vet office whose carrier fell apart (I saw it happen) as she arrived at the vet office. Luckily her kitty was very mellow and she immediately caught him. But most cats would be out in the street or 2 blocks away under such circumstances.
DO NOT PURCHASE the carrier with the plastic flip down latches; only the one with the latches that require turning to secure.
NOTE: If you have already purchased a XXSmall or XSmall model, a work around to prevent the carrier falling apart is to strap a long piece of duct tape around it, to keep it together. I have purchased one in the past, so I do know what I'm talking about and use this work around. The price for those 2 sizes is good but you get what you pay for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool HOUSE!! THANK YOU!!:)):))

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lakewood, CO
My pets got my new little sister this just last week.... It needed to be assembled when it arrived, but didn't take Daddy Pet long at ALL to accomplish THAT!! My little sister's HOUSE looks JUST LIKE MINE!! NOW we are TWINS!! :)):)) Now we BOTH have our sanctuary; our haven; our HOME....!!:)):))
Thank you PETCO for providing such lovely NESTHOMES for us BOTH; as well as security and peace of mind for Daddy Pet and Mamma Pet..!! :)):))
Warm, Fluffy PURRS...,
~ Rox and Family,~
:)):)):)):))
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good carrier

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tkhis carrier is just the right size for our miniature Schnauzer. With a comfy pad, it accomodates her nicely. It was easily assembled, and it's very easy to her to step in and out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid construction

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gulf Breeze, FL
This is a well made kennel. However, no kennel is a substitute for sound, patient kennel training. Any dog can break out of any crate if not trained properly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I Expected

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boonville Mo
We chose this one over the slightly cheaper grey carrier because it looks a little nicer. It is perfectly fine, nothing wrong with it. If I were to be really picky I could say that the lock part it minutely slanted in from the many times of being opened, and that the two front snaps that aid in holding the top and bottom together are hard to undo sometimes...but nothing worth complaining about. Overall after having this for about a month and a half, I think that this is a durable, useful, and easily taken apart and put back together carrier for my Bichon Frise. Btw, I got the size second to the smallest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WASTE of money

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I was taking my new shelter dog to the vet with the recommended cage, he is only 15 pounds and the bottom just came off in the middle of the street! Luckily he wasn't too scared and stayed put in time for my boyfriend to get the leash on him quickly. For the $70 cost of this thing, I was surprised that it didn't even last going down the street.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

series 700

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from los angeles, CA
A great size for my mastiff-pit -lab mix pup. As he gets bigger it will be a good fit. Vey sturdy, use it in the house as a crate. The slate gray color isn't a color which says hey lookit me, I'm an ugly crate in the living room. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
I don't like this kennel at all. The door is way too small, and the kennel doesn't fit together securely. The instructions suggest adding ties, which do not come with the kennel. It is oddly shaped with a small bottom and top and sides that come out. This is a total waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Right!

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ontario, NY
The Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel was just right for my 15 LB. cat. It snapped together without any problems, even the screws worked properly and where all there. Made in USA. Can't get any better than that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent product for the price I paid

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I got this kennel for my Jack Russell puppy and it's a good thing that he's not going to be very heavy! When I pulled the kennel out of the box, it seemed somewhat flimsy and even after securely latching the two halves together, I might still need to reinforce it with zip ties of some sort. I had a horrible image of the latches coming undone and the puppy falling out of it.
I thought twice about keeping it, but I did get it at a great price so I can't complain too much. It will do it's job of keeping the puppy safe while in the car, but if you're looking for a strong and sturdy travel kennel, this is not it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a Good Buy!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
I liked it's sturdiness, and it is easy to put together. A good quality. I lined mine with an old blanket and the kennel still had room to spare.
The one thing I wish it had though was more color options.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Home & Travel Premium Kennel is very nice

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Little Rock, AR
This kennel is very nice. I use it for cats and I purchased a larger one to give to a friend. I am a little concerned about the closures on the larger kennel and pointed out that cable ties can be used to secure the top & bottom as well. Part of this comfort level depends on the size of the pet being transported. It is sturdy & nice looking. Got a great buy on it through petco.com, it was on sale 50% off making it more cost effective that the basic kennel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we needed it

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
I bought this one to replace fabric crate which my ACD chewed up mesh zipper. The size is perfect ( it should be, Petco uses ACD to show the size of crate) and very durable, fit perfect in my Subaru forester cargo space. There is Petco store in our area, but the deal was much better in the website, and it was free shipping ( it was very fast) so it's worth to wait a few days to get it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purrfectly Right!!

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
This carrier was a little challenging to put together because the snaps kept opening but I finally got it right. I would suggest that you do get the zip ties to make it extra secure. It just need added padding at the bottom and it's great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>