petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel

Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel

Easy-to-clean dog carrier made with high impact plasticAssembles in seconds without toolsSome sizes of this travel dog kennel include with seat belt slot for auto travelSteel door with dual rod spring-loaded latch that's easy to operate and stays very secureAvailable in a variety of sizes to suit your petMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.396 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(149 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 149 reviews
5 stars
98
4 stars
34
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
9
134 out of 149(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Review 1 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel kennel

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, IA
We purchased this kennel because we are planning to take our dog, a border collie, on a flight. The kennel has all the features required by the airline. It was simple to put together and is very sturdy. Great value for money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD QUALITY AND LOOKS GOOD

PostedMay 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from WHITE HOUSE TN
MY DOG IS A RESCUE DOG AND LOVES TO CUDDLE AND FEEL SAFE INSIDE HER "HOUSE". WE HAD A LARGER METAL KENNEL IN OUR BEDROOM, BUT IT TOOK UP A LOT OF ROOM AND WAS NOT VERY ATTRACTIVE. THIS IS SMALLER, BUT SHE LOVES IT AND IT LOOKS MUCH NICER. WE DRAPED A TENNESSE TITANS BEACH TOWEL ACROSS THE TOP AND IT GIVES HER EVEN MORE PRIVACY ON EACH SIDE PLUS ADDS TO THE LOOK OF IT. I LOVE SHOPPING AT PETCO.COM. THANKS FOR GREAT SERVICE AND PRODUCTS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

priced right

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from lansdale ,pa
very good quality . priced right . fast delivery ,,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice crate, just bigger than expected

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
I have a mini poodle with very long legs, so I purchased this crate when he became too tall to fit in the smaller size of this crate. The crate seemed nice, just much bigger than I expected. I really need a crate in between this and the smaller size. I ended up exchanging for a 2nd wire crate from Petco instead. Petco was very nice and helpful. Would recommend crate, just for larger dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Travel Carriers XS

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster, PA
Great product! Easy to put together and clean. My cat loves it so much she sleeps in it often! We just got a second for our newest addition
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
I have a 15lb dog (Chihuahua/Pug) and this works great for him. Does the job but not as sturdy as a higher weight carrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Pet Crate - Sturdy anb Easy to Assemble

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oak Creek, WI
The new dog crate we purchased was exactly what we needed. It was delivered directly to our home. It was easy to assemble. We are happy with our purhcase. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

petco small premium kennel

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from tx
Easy to put together, well made and good colors to go with home décor. Plenty big enough for our terrier and he likes it which is what counts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Crate

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
This crate is great. Big enough for my English Bulldog to move around and lay down. He loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Latch Does Not Align Properly

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
The metal latch does not line up without pushing it into the groove. The carrier also has a vent at the top that is an elevated flap cut on three sides. The plastic is flexible enough for a cat to push its face into the flap and risk injury.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap!

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dubuque, IA
This kennel/carrier is very cheaply made! I returned it to the store right away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice crate & made in the USA

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wells, ME
I bought the small size for my senior cocker spaniel. She weighs just under 30 lbs, & the size of the crate seems appropriate. Thought the structure & materials were very good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

XXSmall and XSmall has insecure latching

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Hollywood, CA
I would give the Small and larger sizes a 5 paw rating, as they are fine but the XXsmall and Xsmall models have plastic latches which flip down and are supposed to securely latch the top and bottom together but do not, so I can only give the product an over-all 2 paw.
If you do not inspect the XXSmall or Xsmall carrier before using, the latches can easily come undone and you can find your carrier falling apart at a very, very bad time. I have a friend who had one fall apart twice on her way to her car with her cat (luckily she caught her kitty - she was still at home) and met another person at a vet office whose carrier fell apart (I saw it happen) as she arrived at the vet office. Luckily her kitty was very mellow and she immediately caught him. But most cats would be out in the street or 2 blocks away under such circumstances.
DO NOT PURCHASE the carrier with the plastic flip down latches; only the one with the latches that require turning to secure.
NOTE: If you have already purchased a XXSmall or XSmall model, a work around to prevent the carrier falling apart is to strap a long piece of duct tape around it, to keep it together. I have purchased one in the past, so I do know what I'm talking about and use this work around. The price for those 2 sizes is good but you get what you pay for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool HOUSE!! THANK YOU!!:)):))

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lakewood, CO
My pets got my new little sister this just last week.... It needed to be assembled when it arrived, but didn't take Daddy Pet long at ALL to accomplish THAT!! My little sister's HOUSE looks JUST LIKE MINE!! NOW we are TWINS!! :)):)) Now we BOTH have our sanctuary; our haven; our HOME....!!:)):))
Thank you PETCO for providing such lovely NESTHOMES for us BOTH; as well as security and peace of mind for Daddy Pet and Mamma Pet..!! :)):))
Warm, Fluffy PURRS...,
~ Rox and Family,~
:)):)):)):))
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good carrier

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tkhis carrier is just the right size for our miniature Schnauzer. With a comfy pad, it accomodates her nicely. It was easily assembled, and it's very easy to her to step in and out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid construction

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gulf Breeze, FL
This is a well made kennel. However, no kennel is a substitute for sound, patient kennel training. Any dog can break out of any crate if not trained properly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I Expected

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boonville Mo
We chose this one over the slightly cheaper grey carrier because it looks a little nicer. It is perfectly fine, nothing wrong with it. If I were to be really picky I could say that the lock part it minutely slanted in from the many times of being opened, and that the two front snaps that aid in holding the top and bottom together are hard to undo sometimes...but nothing worth complaining about. Overall after having this for about a month and a half, I think that this is a durable, useful, and easily taken apart and put back together carrier for my Bichon Frise. Btw, I got the size second to the smallest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WASTE of money

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I was taking my new shelter dog to the vet with the recommended cage, he is only 15 pounds and the bottom just came off in the middle of the street! Luckily he wasn't too scared and stayed put in time for my boyfriend to get the leash on him quickly. For the $70 cost of this thing, I was surprised that it didn't even last going down the street.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

series 700

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from los angeles, CA
A great size for my mastiff-pit -lab mix pup. As he gets bigger it will be a good fit. Vey sturdy, use it in the house as a crate. The slate gray color isn't a color which says hey lookit me, I'm an ugly crate in the living room. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Home and Travel Premium Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
I don't like this kennel at all. The door is way too small, and the kennel doesn't fit together securely. The instructions suggest adding ties, which do not come with the kennel. It is oddly shaped with a small bottom and top and sides that come out. This is a total waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>