petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit

Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit

Acrylic aquarium kit includes an acrylic bowfront tank, Mini Bow filter cartridge and water conditionerComes with full lighted hoodFish flakes includedDesktop fish tank is the right size for the office, school, dorm room or homePerfect for a first aquariumMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.413 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(133 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
5 stars
81
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
2
122 out of 133(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tank

PostedJune 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
HappyPetLover
from Cincinnati, OH
I had my betta Norman in a 1 gallon tank by himself and decided I wanted something bigger for him so he could have some "friends". I choose this tank after reading all the great reviews about it. I got the Neptune Blue, which is beautiful in my blue themed room. I also went with other recommendations and got the Red Sea Nano Filter which is smaller than the filter provided and does not take up as much space inside the tank, it's like it's not there! Norman just loves swimming around in all the room and I am enjoying it's beauty myself. Perfect for a room or office. A must have for a betta or a few smaller fish!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+70points
82of 94voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fine, but....

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
FishFreak012
from Seattle, WA
I purchased the 2.5 gallon tank for my single betta. However, after about 6 months, the light quit working. I replaced it, and it worked for about a week until it quit again. My poor betta has had to live in darkness.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Tank

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bailmint
from USA
This tank is actually better than I thought. I would've rated it 5 stars/paws but the filter makes weird sounds sometimes. I have three Betta tanks, two 10 gallons and one [this one] 2.5 gallon. [1 Crowntail, 1 Halfmoon, and 1 HalfmoonXDoubletail.] The tank comes with a hood, a lightbulb, some water conditioner, and a filter. The filter works great besides the sounds but 90% of the time it doesn't make sounds so it's okay. It is big enough for a betta, my new one is very happy and it's big enough to have heaters, plants, and such. It's very clear and I totally recommend this for anyone. [especially beginners].
Pros-
Easy to Assemble Filter.
Clear Tank
Water Conditioner works just fine [although I would recommend Prime or Stress Coat].
Filter works and doesn't suck fish in
Easy to transport
Cons-
Filter makes occasional sounds
Filter is a tad strong [but it's okay if your fish is healthy]
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome tank!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
BriannaWSMS
from az
I recently purchased this tank for my yellow male Betta. He loves it! he enjoys hiding in the live plants i got for the tank and occasional goes inside the little cave. there is plenty of room in his black, 2.5 gallon tank and the current is not too strong for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice aquarium

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Zzzkatz
from Alameda, CA
I bought this tank for my African clawed frog. It's easy to set up and spacious enough for him. I like the the fact that the light is a regular bulb instead of the the LED since I've had problems in the past with the LED light's durability. This tank is a perfect size for smaller spaces too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great starter tank!

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
jesslynn
I bought the 2.5 gallon tank to upgrade from the little bowl I had for my betta, and the tank is wonderful!
The current from the filter is a little stronger than I would want for my fish, but on the plus side, it is SILENT!
The tank is sturdy and fits really well on my not-so-wide dorm room shelves.
I'm in need of a larger unit, and definitely going to upgrade to a larger version of the mini bow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Bettas!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jy23
from .California
Just bought the 2.5gal for my betta and he is loving it. It's large enough to give him plenty of room while still small enough to fit on my desk. It's made up of a thick plastic, has good lighting and a nice overall appearance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WELL MADE SMALL DESK AQUARIUM TANK

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
lovethetank
from NEW CASTLE, NY
I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY DAUGHTER. I WAS HAPPY TO FIND THE TANK WAS WELL MADE AND EASY TO SET UP, PLUS THE RED COLOR WAS A BONUS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice quality

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fish4Girl
from Oklahoma City, OK
I enjoy everything about this small aquarium. I set it on the bar in my kitchen and you can see the fish from most any angle. I had aquariums back in the late '70s and early '80s and these newer setups are strange to me, so I was unsure if I would like it or not...I absolutely love it! I stare at my little fish for hours, and unlike my old setups, the filter is so quite you hardly know it's there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Filter is too powerful, too small

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
13paperflowers
from San Jose
I did not like this product I got for my betta. After a few months the light is starting to flicker. The filter is way too strong for a betta. My betta hated this tank. For this price you can get a 2.5 gallon tank with a heater and small filter. Also one gallon is far too small for a betta and there's no way to fit a heater in the tank. I got a 2.5 gallon regular tank and it looks a lot better and my betta like it more. I now use the tank as a hospital tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great aquarium

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
DrB1
from Milford, CT
This is a great starter aquarium. Got it for a betta and he loves it. Gives him a lot of space to move around, yet is manageable for water changes etc etc. Would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

2.5 Gallon Mini Bow

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
CarlyAmber
from Bakersfield, California
Pros:
Great size for one Betta & a couple of snails, easy set-up, easy to maintain, replacement filters readily available in stores & online
Cons:
Light placement in hood, strong filter intake, opening in hood
This is a great starter tank. It comes with almost everything you need. Just add fish and décor. Although there are a few cons to this tank, most of them are easily remedied with some quick fixes. The placement of the light bulb in the hood is a odd. The chamber for the filter covers a good portion of it, so there is a big dark area on the left side of the tank. The filter intake is a little strong for my Crown Tail Betta (Yoshi), but I was able to resolve the issue by buffering it with a plant and an ornament. There is also an opening in the back of the hood for the cords to feed through. I have three baby Mystery Snails (Turbo, Lighting & Jet) that could easily get out. I put a piece of wax paper over it to prevent any escapees. Everyone is happy in their new home and I would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aqueon 5 gal Mini Bow Aquarium

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
RRozebud
from San Diego, CA
I LOVE this mini tank. It is very attractive in my living room, a very nice looking mini tank. I have my betta in it with silk & live plants. I added a small heater and my betta is thriving. I can tell he loves his new tank. I have plants that lay flat near the surface & he likes to lay on them, also he sleeps under the bridge. I am very happy with this purchase. It is also extremely quiet. my other tank makes a humming noise. i will include a photo of my happy little fish in his new home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kit!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
akpetmom
from long island,ny
This is everything it says it will be. Great quality, easy to set up, looks very nice. the color, blue, is a nice touch too. it has everything you need to get up and running and is a manageable, somewhat portable size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Bow 2.5

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New Bedford Ma
Excellent kit.easy to use, comes with everything you need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Tank!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
AJ1034
from Wisconsin
Overall this tank is fantastic. I have always loved Aqueon products. The tank is small enough to place on your desktop or in your kitchen if wanted, but big enough so you can actually see your fish. I have three goldfish in mine and they seem to enjoy the tank. The filter the tank comes with is nice and quiet and it is amazing to see how much junk it gets out of the tank. The only thing bad I would say about the tank is that it scratches very easily. The tank is acrylic and thus is it plastic. However I tried to find a glass tank this size and was unable to find one, so you don't really have any other option. Just an fyi is you have kids who are going to put their fingers on the tank. Also, another possible negative of the tank is since the filter is set inside on the left side of the tank, it does create a shadow on that side. However I do not think it’s bad and it wasn't that big of a deal to me, but just to let everyone know. Overall though, besides for the tank being easy to scratch, it is a very nice tank and I would highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good tank!

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
sneakers
from Memphis, TN
I have had fish tank before one being a 10 gallon and the other being a 5 gallon. I got rid of those tanks but of course, I wanted fish again. So I bought this tank in the 2.5 gallon version and I love it. The tank houses one betta fish and two small red and blue colored fish. My only concern is that the hood gets very warm sometimes and I have to turn the light off which disappoints me because I like to always be able to see my fish. Other than that I really like this tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
goobie715
from Montrose, CO
We bought this as a surprise for my daughter for Christmas. It is a great product! It was about $20 cheaper than in the store too. Very Satisfied!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Christmas gift!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kibbleart
from NC
I purchased this aquarium for my daughter and she loves it! It has a little kit included and all you need are gravel, plants, and the fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Mini Bow Desktop Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Feels like a toy. Otherwise great.

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarineBiologistInTraining
from Auburn, AL
After a few months with the Aqueon Evolve 8, a beautiful, though expensive, tank, the betta bug bit me and I decided I needed another fish. Enter the Aqueon Mini Bow 5.
I'd never handled one of these, and you may be surprised if you haven't either: it feels like a cheap plastic toy. Every time I have to do something with the tank, it feels like it's going to fall apart.
Sitting side by side with my Evolve 8, it's certainly not nearly as sleek and attractive. Still, its attractiveness is on par with the standard glass box tank + hang on back filter that's so familiar. It's not ugly, just so-so.
Nice plus that, due to the curve of the acrylic, the filter and heater are almost hidden at most viewing angles. However, this also means that you might not always see your fish!
The light is a complaint of mine. Upon dissecting my unit, I found out that there were two light sockets back to back installed in there, but only one was accessible and in use. Um, what? The aquarium uses a 15W incandescent bulb, which is fine for fish viewing but weak to grow all but the least demanding plants. I'm planning on modifying the tank a little to take advantage of both of the light sockets and maybe replace the recommended incandescents with 15W compact fluorescents or LED bulbs.
That being said, the built-in filtration is fine, and there's plenty of room and holes to add a heater or eschew the built-in filtration and add your own filter. I have a betta in there and the output from the filter doesn't push him around, as is often a concern.
All said, it's a decent little tank, though not as high quality as I had hoped for the price I paid. Definitely going to recommend Aqueon's Evolve line over the Mini-bow for a desktop tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>