petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles

Natural looking bark provides shelter for aquatic turtles, box turtles or land tortoisesEasy to cleanFor use with dry or wet terrarium set ups
Average Customer Rating:
3.278 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
12 out of 18(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Review 1 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fell apart

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
HilaryRES
from Milwaukee, WI
My turtle loved to bask on this log! However, after a short period of TWO weeks under water, the log's underside cracked and fell apart and is no longer usable. Would definitely not recommend spending the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ZOO MED HUT (LARGE)

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Meleana
from Hawaii
This is a piece of JUNK. Had it for less than two months & pieces broke off and cracked over the top.
I picked it up to clean the tank and the part I was holding just broke off. Only thing I like is it looks natural. Paid $31.99 for it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a tortoise!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tortrat
from NY
My tortoise has had this log for well over a year now. It is a great size (the large), as she has been able to grow and keep it, and it's durable! She scratches it while digging her burrow, and it continues to hold up like new. There are many days she chooses not to come out of it at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falls apart In water after 3 weeks

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Manuel
from Baltimore
After I placed this in water with my turtle after 3 weeks the plastic got so brittle it broke apart when you tried to remove it from the tank to clean it. DO NOT BUY FOR WATER TURTLES!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for water turtles.

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
MyfatTurtleLovestoEAT
from Seattle
this is an absolute horrible product, i have a 16 year old RES turtle, she is large and in charge, well, she came down with shell rot while i was on vacation last july, and i dry docked her. and her shell is better, but i didn't want to take a chance, so i sanitized her take, replaced the pump, and all that went with it, her basking rock, all of her plants and sand and any other MISC. decor, well i decided to pick this up, i have a 2 foot by 1 foot piece of limestone in her tank, i originally took from the waterfall of my pond to use as a basking area for her, i found that it was too hard for her to get up on, so i used it as a mid level basking platform and i thought this would be perfect to prop up on the edge of the limestone as a new large basking area, and she truly enjoyed it! but now here i am 2 week later and i went clean her tank, and as i got her out i noticed that the brown paint was missing off a large portion of the hut. so im cleaning her sand, and all the little half brown half cream colored flecks of paint, and i go to pick the arch up, and my thumb breaks a huge hole in the side, and im just siting her shocked. whatever its made of *foam? was so soft, it was like sticking my finger through a wet piece of paper. it took no effort to break the little pieces in half. so i go to take it out of her tank, and it LITERALLY broke in half, and then into about 20 different pieces. what the heck kind of poor product is this? now i have to wait until i get paid, in 2 weeks to get my turtle another basking platform. i strongly advise to anyone reading this, IF YOU HAVE AN AQUATIC TURTLE, DO NOT!!!!!!!!!!! BUY THIS. im sure it works a lot better with a tortoise or any other dry reptile, but im so mad i have half a mind to call the manufacture.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This log is a hunk of junk

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
CateM
from Chicago, IL
As I said in my title, this log is a piece of junk. Why do I say that? Well, I recently decided to upgrade my turtle tank to a 20 gallon. Part of that obviously requires switching all of my stuff from the 10 gallon. So I picked up the log. I found that it was not only totally full of water, but it started breaking on the bottom. Pieces of it cracked off-I'm assuming from the water being stuck in it for the 6+ months I've had the thing. Gross turtle water (which there are turtle feces living in) got ALL over my front. Eww.
I don't know what to do because I don't have the receipt anymore, but I am NOT happy. This thing was poorly made, like EVERYTHING from Zoo Med that I've bought so far. I would not recommend it to anybody ever. I'm going to take it in to my local store tomorrow and see if there's anything they can do about it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
BHFR
My stink pot loves to hide and he just loves his new log cave! He also likes getting up on top and resting out of the water. I would definitely recommend it. The only down side is the color fades/chips when I clean it. Other than that it functions great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is a great hideaway.

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brendy
from Nueva York, NY
I found this hideaway absolutely adorable but unfortunately my tortoise didn't like it nor could he fit inside so I had plans to resell it but I accidently dropped it, it broke & shattered all over the floor... ugh, oh well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Turtle Hut

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
ChloeandOtis
from Marietta, GA
We purchased this turtle hut for our new Russian tortoise. It seems to be well-made and has a good inside height and width for our growing tortoise which was our mail concern. These are very nice as tortoises like a place to "hide" when they sleep or just to get out of the way of their heat and light lamps. It is plastic with small holes which would keep it at the bottom of a tank for water turtles or just use it dry for tortoises like we do. The only thing I would recommend is that you check the overall width of the hut and compare it to your tank or enclosure width to be sure that your tortoise can move around it. Great product overall!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Adequate

PostedNovember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Flaca414
from Dubuque, IA
I bought this hut for my russian tort about 2 weeks ago. Based on the description and reviews I wasn't sure he would fit inside, but though it is a snug fit he seems to enjoy it and spends much of his time in it. He also can't tear it apart like the shoe boxes I had been using.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding *TURTLE* Hut

PostedSeptember 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
milo322
When I purchased this product at my local Petco store, I was delighted because it was the largest hut I have come across yet, and Zoo Med is a trusted company. Though it is a terrific item; very durable and roomy; I am unable to use it 'as is' in my land tortoise's habitat. Keep in mind, if you have a tenacious tortoise like mine, there seems to be some kind of water-proof coating used to keep the hut from rotting when submerged. I applied a scent-free, non-toxic coating to mine, and he finally quit persisting to eat the previously sweet smelling hut.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedSeptember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
greenfinger
from Klamath Falls, or
I own a reptile rescue. Trying in provide security for the reptiles can be expensive and difficult. It has been a great addition to my turtle habitats. It gives thwm a place to bask out of the water and a place to hide under the water and helps them feel secure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DONT BUY!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Yackie
from Morristown, NJ
I bought this hut for my turtle 3 weeks ago, and noticed it had a weird plastic like smell. So I gave it a good rinse before I put it in the tank. Every time I've changed the water, I can smell that plastic like smell. Today when I was doing my water change, I was rinsing the hut in my sink, and I put my thumb right through the tan side!! It's a cheap, plastic, hollow, smelly mess! With the hole, that plastic smell that I've been smelling was tripled! That can't be good for the turtle. I would NOT recomend this product to ANYONE, stick with the rock-like caves and huts.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best thang selling

PostedFebruary 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
REDEARSLIDERTURTLES
from harvey,IL
it is like so great all of my 3 res's is like trying to get on top and bask in the sun but falls and th other 2 just share it it looks like im going to have to get some more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice product, a little cheap looking

PostedJanuary 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
SarahG
This is a nice basic hiding spot for a turtle or lizard, the only problem I had was that it looks very plastic and cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Depends On Age

PostedJanuary 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
fluffy
from Wallingford, CT
I have one baby turtle, Gus, and and adult turtle, Bobert(don't ask), but the baby turtle loves it. Bobert, however, does not fit under it, so i found someting else for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedSeptember 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lindz
I did not use this for a turtle, I used it in my fish tank for my catfish. I have a tank of catfish about five I think and I have been looking for something the fish can hide under when I turn the lights on. This log fits all the cat fish under there well and it gives them enough shade. Also the price on this is unbeatable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Turtle Hut for Water or Land Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe and secure...

PostedJuly 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dragonchik2005
from Phenix City, AL
My little turtle, Squirt, just loves his log. I put it at the bottom of his tank under the water and he loves to hide in it when he's not basking on his floating dock. This is wonderful for providing security to your young or baby turtle. It's a great addition to make a stress free environment. A full grown turtle, however, will not fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.