petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents

Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents

Textured and unique mottled color adds interest and enrichment to habitatsSafe for use in terrariumsResists rotting
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
8 out of 14(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Review 1 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but stains

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
I looks fantastic especially in the tank, but be warned that it will stain your water if you do not wash and let it soak beforehand. This process takes a while though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A hermit crabs delight!

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
My hermit crabs love to climb over this and burrow under it. It also gives my crabitat a natural look that my hermit crabs and I love. Well worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

sharp edges

PostedJune 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
this wood is very heavy with sharp edges and difficult to balance. For a bearded dragon, which was the intended use, it might prove dangerous just to climb onto. Regular driftwood is much softer and smoother. Bali jungle root has been ideal, available from bigappleherp.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

naturally beautiful!!!

PostedApril 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from NEW YORK,NY
Can't surpass the natural beauty of this wood--but be forewarned!!! It must be boiled washed and scrubbed to remove the tannins, which will discolor aquarium water-- and this takes time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not quite to the measure!

PostedApril 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Would I recommend this product? Yes and No.
The quality color and shape are excellent. However, the two 9" I had ordered seem more like 6" to me. Glad I ordered some bigger ones.
If you use for aquarium, do expect some tannins. Some are leeching more then the others.
Some one suggested me to order few more then you need and test for the least leeching ones then return the worse ones, but their is one petco in my state 3 hrs away. It is not worth the trouble.
Good luck with your order.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not what it looks like

PostedApril 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
not the same thing as the picture. Bigger then i thought
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME AWESOME AWESOM

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
from SOUTHERN INDIANA
PEOPLE DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE MISSING!! THE TANNIS IS A LIFE SAVER IF YOU DON'T HAVE A RO/DI SYSTEM TO GET YOUR PH LEVEL DOWN. THIS WILL COLOR YOUR TANK BUT IF YOU KEEP ON THE WATER CHANGES EVERY OTHER DAY IT WILL FADE THE BROWNISH WATER AWAY!! MY L-270 PLECO'S LOVE THEM!! THEY USE THEM TO EAT AND TO HIDE WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE ON. THE BROWNISH COLOR GIVE A GOOD EFFECT ON THE FISHS NATURAL HABBITATE!! I WILL KEEP BUYING THIS GREAT WOOD AS LONG AS I AM BUYING MORE TANKS!! HOPE THIS HELPS!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Skimpy!

PostedNovember 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
Described as 9", I got two and both were 8" or less, and overall undersized and not worth the money, even on sale...I returned both to the local Petco store and they were nice about it anyway. Descriptions that state a length for a product should BE THAT LENGTH AS A MINIMUM! In a catalog or online situation, the customer depends on an accurate description & it is inconvenient to say the least when that is not the case.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good item

PostedAugust 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
This wood will color your water badly, but it's still a very nice item.
I would suggest boiling it before putting it into your aquarium, it will help remove future coloring.
The item was even better than expected shape wise, I'm using it in my hermit crab tank and they love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT WOOD

PostedDecember 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Rosemount MN
This is good wood for any reptile but this wood is even better for ball pythons!!!! It is great because it is sharp so snakes can rub on it so they can shead but not so sharp that it will harm your snake!!!! BUY IT!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood

PostedJuly 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
This peice of wood is great for leopard geckos. It can wait for the cricket to go in where it is hiding and makes a nice hideout.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome buy!

PostedJuly 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
from SoCal
Bought a med piece to put in my terrarium and I'm loving it! The wood rotting is always a big issue with high humidity but so far so good. I love the look of the wood and my crested geckos love climbing all over it :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best piece of wood i ever owned!

PostedSeptember 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
The mopani wood is breath-takingly beautiful! I was so enamoured by the look that i bought two at one time (at my local petco)! And at the current price, you can't go wrong!
A word for dislikers of leeched tannins (the stuff that makes your water look brown):
Buy the wood and boil it a few times in an old pot that you don't use to cook in (it took 5 times at 20-30 minutes each for me, but i was doing two at once) until the boiled water is a light tea color. Place it in another container and fill it with water to cool it and test for leeching. Leave it overnight and check it the next day. If the water is clear, you are ready to put it in your tank!
if you like the tannins, boil it anyway to kill any microbes that might be on the wood. Plus if left unboiled, your water could get EXTREMELY dark.
Presto!
The best looking wood you will probably ever own! And if you own a pleco (sucker fish), he will love it even more than you!
BruiserThePleco
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Mopani Wood Terrarium Accents
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Was Horrible

PostedJuly 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
I can understand that wood is suppost to give off some color in an aquarium but I couldn't even see through my water! I soaked the wood for all most two weeks and it still would not stop putting out so much color. I would never by this again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.