petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding

Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding

100% natural ground English walnut shellLighter in weight than old fashioned sandDust free for a healthier home environmentStimulates natural digging and burrowing behavior in desert reptilesWon't scratch cage glassCan be readily composted with everyday yard wasteMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Review 1 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clean and Dust free ...

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tatt2Jack
from central PA
This would seem to be good for desert reptiles as it says in its description, it does seem to be dust free and ground to a sand like texture. I actually bought it to be used as Tumbling Media for my reloading, so its ground a bit too fine, but when mixed with Corn Media seems to work good. AND its made in the USA!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tumbler Media

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skeezix9
from Lebanon, OR
This product works great in my tumbler for polishing brass. It is fine enough that it doesn't get stuck in the flash hole, if the primers are removed. I don't feel that I need to add anything to this product; I just use it straight from the bag!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

zilla ground english walnut shells reptile bedding

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
parrotbird
from michigan
Product arrives quickly. We use it for bedding in a parrot cage. Works the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is so much better than others

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
CastleRockSusan
from Castle Rock, CO
We use ground walnut shells for the bottom of the enclosure for our 2 macaws. The other brand we were buying wasn't dust free. This one is. It's more finely ground and is easy to scoop and clean up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks nice, came early in mail

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lizardwoman
Its what I wanted, good price, came fast in the mail.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

i like the shells

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvalanimals
from Napa, CA
I have a beardie Zig Zag & I have only seen him curiously lick at the shells a couple times but I also make sure he has enough food & things in his cage to keep him more curious about something else. We have had the shells in his tank for a month or more & i think it works great. he likes to dig in it a lot more than he did in the sand I think he likes the texture of it & it's a lot easier to clean and maintain. There is also no dust when cleaning which is nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product, but can get messy

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chromedome
from Phoenix, AZ
I have a sulcata hatchling that is a few months old. I love that it is really easy to clean and no dust or smell. The only downside is that as my tortoise goes into the water and comes out, he is covered with the shells and then goes back into the water. This make having to change the water multiple times per day. Other than that...works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

walnut review

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
beardie3
from eau claire WI
this prouduct looks good and is light but its grains are bigger than sand so it cause impaction easier.
i got this and my beardie got an impaction. it is a great prouduct if you have a lizard that is not curious and eats its substrate
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hook424
from Levittown, Pa
THis is great stuff . THey need to carry it in the stores so you don't have to pay to have it shipped to your home. If you have lizzards or reptiles it is the best stuff to use!. It clumps like the tidy cat kitty litter. Doesn't have to be changed as much because you can scoop it every day. And it doesn't make your reptiles change colors
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great sand substitute

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlueTongueSkink
from Broomfield, CO
Walnut shells are much lighter than sand, so you don't have to worry about putting too much weight on the bottom of your glass cage. These are easy to use and spread out well, covering your whole cage quite nicely. These don't "dust" as much as sand does, but the only downfall is that when wet this bedding clumps, smells really bad and can mold. If your lizards needs sand, try out these shells FIRST. These are great. All natural!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great substrate

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
KillerRex213
from los angeles CA
This is one of the best substrates I have ever used!!! It looks like real sand and it is digestable for any reptile that lives in the desert. My bearded dragons love to bury themselves at night and sleep nice-like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedNovember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beardielove234
I like this, I was using alfalfa meal at first...... But then I found this. It is a bit more dusty, and it smells really good! Overall, it's a good product, 4 paws because its dusty and it's hard to clean sometimes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMay 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
CMiranda
My two bearded dragons are on these walnut shells. I really like how it accentuates the viv. Its not heavy or dusty either. Depending on the reptile, I would suggest trying it out. Just great for me in the past year or so that I've used it. Not switching, either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best reptile bedding ever!!!

PostedJune 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
wizardofoz
When I first got my bearded dragon people told me to get sand. I used sand but it was so messy and the dark colors would stain my dragon!!!! So a friend told me to use crushed walnut shells. When I tried it I loved it! It was not messy, it did not stain(hurt) my dragon, and he loved to burrow in it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks and works great

PostedApril 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roho
I love this substrate for leopard gecko, Oz. It looks really nice, and is safe if ingested. It does not smell when exposed to light (unlike Calci-Sand). It is easy to shape and scoop, so you can keep your pet's cage nice and neat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bearded Dragon lovable Bedding

PostedFebruary 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
trell19
I purchased this item, because my bearded dragon: bobby would not stop scratching on the cage glass. just scratching and tair his background wallpaper. then 7 hour later after putting walnut bedding in the corner under the uvb light. now he just sleep in breeding all day long..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

walnut shell bedding

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
reptifreak
i really love this stuff. I have a bearded dragon, a leopard gecko and an armadillo lizard. My leopard gecko likes it because it catches heat and he easily bask in it. My armadillo lizard enjoys burrowing in it. My bearded dragons prefer sand though...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not only for Reptiles!

PostedFebruary 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
BrianB
from Connecticut
I use this for my African Grey's cage. She seems to like it. I like it because it works just like that scoop up litter. It's easy to clean up and natural. I don't worry when she goes down to the bottom of the cage for her baths.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zilla Ground English Walnut Shells Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Briee
My eight leopard geckos just love this bedding. It's easy for them to digest and move around in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.