petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding

Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding

Not harmful to your pet if accidentally digestedAdded reptile-safe bacteriostatic agent keeps both bacterial and germ growth to a minimum100% natural material made in the USABiodegradable, herbivorous composition makes it a rich addition to any compostMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Review 1 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Safe but smelling

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Eau Claire, WI
The Alfalfa smell is a bit overwhelming but my bearded dragon wont get an impacted belly from it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I liked it

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
I used this product for my bearded dragon, Mushu, and it was wonderful! He really liked it, but when he splashed around in his water bowl the water would get on it and it would mold so other than that it's great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bedding

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wyoming
My tortoise can throw this around and it doesn't make near as big of mess as the sand does. Plus if he eats it, its okay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great alterative to walnut shells

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boston, Ma.
I love this product!! Its smells good and holds heat well. Only problem, its hard to separate from fecal matter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from chicago, il
the alfalfa pellets are amazing! my three girls love to snack on 'em in-between meals and sleep on em a few minutes later.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good stuff

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
food and bedding in one good stuff
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Bedding

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
This product is wonderful. My Russian Tortouise loves this bedding material. He is able to digest it as well, if he does eat it.....
Easy for Cleaning Purposes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tottaly worth every cent!

PostedSeptember 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
I got this for my baby beardie, Plato. He loves it!!! I can see everything when it needs changing, its very absorbent and soaks up water when I accdentialy spill his water. I recomend this to anyone who has a beardie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stuff

PostedMay 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
I was contemplating what I should use for my bearded dragon. I really dislike germs, so I was pleased after I tried this for my beardie because it says it has something to minimize bacteria. And on top of that, I also loved how its safe to eat, accidentally of course. So far I haven't had problems with this substrate and would definitely recommend it to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Safe

PostedMarch 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Central Florida
We purchased this for our baby bearded dragon, after it was recommended by a store employee. He said it was a lot safer than using sand. It's now been over a month and we're very happy with this product. It's very safe if ingested, the price is reasonable, easy to clean up and our beardie has no problem running all around it in his 50 gallon tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Bedding fo Bearded Dragon

PostedAugust 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
I used sand at first, until I realized there was a much better product out there. The sand, it they get their feet wet then in the sand, or out of the food, the sand will dry and can cut off circulation in toes and they can loose them. The Alfalfa is great! so easy to clean, looks nice, smells ok. Overall I would never ust another bedding becides the alfalfa pellets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful for Bearded Dragon

PostedJuly 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
from NJ
My local pet store and vet recommended this for my bearded dragon. I've been using it for a few months now and its wonderful. Its easy to clean up after the lizard and its very inexpensive to replace. The best part is it won't hurt my bearded dragon like sand can. And its soft enough that it won't bother their little feet. Highly recommended for the ground cover for your bearded dragon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zilla Alfalfa Meal Reptile Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Alright

PostedJune 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Broomfield, CO
I used this for my turtle and tortoise and overall it's alright. It's a plant based pellet. There's a little dust, but not enough to cause a problem. It's a little hard to get a grip in, so I laid down some cage carpet, then poured the pellets over it. Dry this stuff works great but when it gets wet its a nightmare. It expands, gets all mushy and smelly and rots. So to prevent this, I make sure to clean up under the water dish (where water pools) and around the dish from spills. Overall its an OK bedding, but I would really just save your money and put it towards different bedding like those compressed dirt bricks or forest bedding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.