petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tick Twister

Tick Twister

Safest and easiest way to remove ticks without leaving the mouthparts of the tick planted in the skinQuickly and painlessly remove the tick without squeezing it, reducing the risk of infectionFor use on dogs and cats
Average Customer Rating:
4.952 / 5
5
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Tick Twister
Review 1 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is amazing

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh
The tick tool is simple to use and removes the tick in seconds. Also very important, it doesn't pull your dogs hair while removing the tick. Love this item!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from VT
If you have a dog or cat with a tick, this is the perfect way to get it out. I wish I had this little helper years and years ago. I have struggled with ticks many times, this is THE answer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooray! This is the best purchase ever!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Salem Village
Our catboy is outdoors during the day on a 25 foot leash with anchor, and loves going over the wall into the brush, where the ticks live. Now that it is fall, the ticks are in full force. We found a wood tick so embedded, the enflamed area was the size of a dime. We tried smothering it in soap, but it would not release. And it was awful, as there was so much soap on our catboy, I was concerned that we were poisoning him. We finally pulled the tick out at some pain to our best boy, with the head still in the skin, and 2 weeks later there is still a scab. The second wood tick was easier to remove, but we could not release simply and the head also remained in the skin. After these experiences, we found the Tick Twister. Once we separated the fur, the tick was released intact and alive in less than 10 seconds with no pain or fuss! And, the design is friendly for small and large hands, so my husband can use it as easily as I can, which is a huge benefit from a different version our veterinarian offers. It is the best item I have purchased all year!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tick Twister

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bay Shore, NY
My Boston had 2 ticks this morning and i searched online for a safe, harmless way to remove the ticks. Saw a vet using the Tick Twister and seemed easy to use. Purchased this morning and removed both ticks in under a minute in it's entirety. Placed them into a glass of alcohol and watched them perish...Definitely going to recommend this tool for all pet owners...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tick Twister

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I love this little tool. It really does work; I had to use it on myself one day to remove a "seed" tick. Worked like a charm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick, easy, virtually pain free - AWESOME!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Peterborough, NH
I have a wheaten terrier with a lot of hair who also is a big baby! I bought the Tick Twister after finding a tick on his leg and he wouldn't hold still for me to remove it with tweezers. Even with all his wiggling around, the Tick Twister worked perfectly to remove the ENTIRE tick. Since then, I've found several other ticks on him, and he now knows the little green tool isn't a bad thing! The Tick Twister minimizes the time he has to be still as well as the pain while getting the whole tick out every single time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tick Twister

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bloomington, IN
Wow! This thing is amazing with 2 dogs (have yet to try it on us but will next time either of us has a tick) in the woods all the time, it just pops them out, no muss, no fuss. Have used on all sizes of ticks and it works perfectly. Will be buying these for all our kids with dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Prescott, Arizona
I hike in the forest wilderness with my dog off-leash. She usually manages to get a few stickers lodged in her paws, legs or sides. The Tick Twister easily and painlessly allows me to remove these deeply embedded stickers. Before purchasing the Tick Twister I often broke the sticker off attempting to remove it but now the entire sticker beneath the skin is easily removed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
The tick twister works great. It's quick and easy to use. It pulls the whole tick off mouth included. I would recommend this product to anyone with a dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
My outdoor cat got in a fight last night... Watched the cats fight, tried so hard to separate it.....It's painfully, awful watching that take place... But I was looking at his wound on his ear ( cat was safely in the house ) and noticed a small tick by his wound... so I got out my Tick Twister, cup of rubbing alcohol, and gloves. The whole tick came off! Mouth and everything! You can feel and hear it get pulled out. Then my Mom noticed 3 more! One below his eye and and one above that same eye. One by his nose... The one below his eye was a little difficult to get but she got it! All 4 ticks were very small and the Tick Twister got the whole tick without leaving the head in his skin! I thought the ticks were too small for the Tick Twister but I was wrong! It works great! We treat our cat with flea and tick stuff but the Tick Twister is a must have if you have outdoor animals. It came in very handy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from DC Metro
We've had to use the tick twister to remove ticks on my poor pup many times, but the tick twister is easy to use and has always removed the whole tick. We then trap the tick in tape and flush it down the toilet. This product does what it says and has been the easiest and most effective item and method we've used to remove ticks without issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product to Have on Hand

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I purchased this to have on hand in case one of my dogs got a tick & sure enough the time came when I needed it. It works very well to remove ticks. Just follow the directions exactly. The hardest part for me was getting the tick threaded into the little notch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely a Must for any pet owner

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
I had learned about the tick twister few years ago when my friend went to the emergency room to get a tick removed from his body and they removed his tick by using this tool. This tool also works on humans too! I have used it often on my dogs and children, It is harmless and painless for the dogs and kids. Would highly recommend this to have handy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick & Painless As Advertised

PostedMay 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
from South Florida
I found a tick on my dog today and yelled "Eeek!" I've never had to remove a tick from a dog. I went on the Internet to read about tweezers and twisting the body of the tick. (Ok, I'm not touching that!) Then I saw a mention of Tick Twister. I found out it was sold at my local Petco and ran down to get it. (Salesperson was very helpful & reassuring.) It works as advertised. My dog is squirmy and hates to be poked, prodded, etc. He barely noticed what I was doing. You hook the tick in the 'crowbar' and twist it until the tick comes out. The tick started moving right away. (I wanted to faint.) I was able to just lift it out even through my dog's long hair.
The design of the tool kept it safely away from my dog and me. I was then able to trap it into a piece of tape without touching it. This tool is a miracle of design. I HIGHLY recommend keeping one handy in case you find one of these nasty critters on your canine pal!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great device simple to use

PostedMay 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have utilized this device with great results. I am only mad that I have misplaced the device. Online right now to verify that the device is available at my local store.
Will buy 2 this time just in case. I do not want my lil dog to suffer any more.
Great buy worth every penny, and the price is a great value and there are no harsh chemicals or metal cans / plastic bottles to get rid of, or fill our overburdened landfills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tick remover ever!

PostedJuly 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
I purchased this device after reading the reviews on this site. It had its first test tonight when my son found a tick on his back.This is an awesome product! It is so much better than using tweezers, and it doesn't leave anything behind!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant

PostedJuly 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Eastern Oregon.
I carry these in my saddle bags when we go horseback riding in the mountains, works very well for my dog as well as humans and horses. I highly recommend this product. The fact that it has a large and small tick remover is an added bonus!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tick twister

PostedApril 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
I am an ER physician in PA. This device works great for removing ticks. No local anesthesia needed. Takes about 10 seconds or less to use. Does not leave anyting behind. Removes the tick live with all parts intact. Highly recommend for home or ER.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and Easy!!

PostedMarch 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
I went to Petco today, and picked up this product. Once I latched it to the tick it was off in less than 10 seconds. Great product!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedNovember 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
I was very impressed at how well this worked. It even worked on ticks hidden down in thick fur. I may get an extra set for the car to have on hand during camping trips...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>