petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tick Twister

Tick Twister

Safest and easiest way to remove ticks without leaving the mouthparts of the tick planted in the skinQuickly and painlessly remove the tick without squeezing it, reducing the risk of infectionFor use on dogs and cats
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 26(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Tick Twister
Review 1 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked well

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from AZ
It took a couple of tries because of how much hair my dog has. But after a couple of tries the tick came out. I learned to really push it in to the thinnest part of the twister and I twisted slowly and it worked.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kalamazoo, mi
My dog is very active and loves to run in the woods and in tall grasses etc. The tick twister makes it easy to remove any ticks and she hardly even notices what's happening. It also will hold on to the ticks head long enough so you can properly dispose of it before the tick jumps away. I keep it in my keys and take it on our walks every time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Sure Yet

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Midlothian, Tx
I have horses, dogs, cats, and people, so based on the reviews, I bought this product in case I may need it in the future. So far it seems like it will be a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have tool

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Warrenton, MO
This is a must have "tool" for dog owners living in the country. Trust me. No need to grab your tweezers. The twisting of the tool truly does make the tick release from your pet. It has worked two times for me already with easy, clean removal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Laurel, DE
This tick remover is amazing! We fight with our little Beagle every time he gets a tick! He will hide from us if he hears the word "tick", much as he does the word "clippers", LOL. We found a tick on him this weekend and I decided to try out this little gadget. It was so easy, painless and didn't pull out his hair or squeeze the tick! Worth every penny we paid!!! You must get one of these!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is amazing

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh
The tick tool is simple to use and removes the tick in seconds. Also very important, it doesn't pull your dogs hair while removing the tick. Love this item!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from VT
If you have a dog or cat with a tick, this is the perfect way to get it out. I wish I had this little helper years and years ago. I have struggled with ticks many times, this is THE answer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooray! This is the best purchase ever!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Salem Village
Our catboy is outdoors during the day on a 25 foot leash with anchor, and loves going over the wall into the brush, where the ticks live. Now that it is fall, the ticks are in full force. We found a wood tick so embedded, the enflamed area was the size of a dime. We tried smothering it in soap, but it would not release. And it was awful, as there was so much soap on our catboy, I was concerned that we were poisoning him. We finally pulled the tick out at some pain to our best boy, with the head still in the skin, and 2 weeks later there is still a scab. The second wood tick was easier to remove, but we could not release simply and the head also remained in the skin. After these experiences, we found the Tick Twister. Once we separated the fur, the tick was released intact and alive in less than 10 seconds with no pain or fuss! And, the design is friendly for small and large hands, so my husband can use it as easily as I can, which is a huge benefit from a different version our veterinarian offers. It is the best item I have purchased all year!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tick Twister

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bay Shore, NY
My Boston had 2 ticks this morning and i searched online for a safe, harmless way to remove the ticks. Saw a vet using the Tick Twister and seemed easy to use. Purchased this morning and removed both ticks in under a minute in it's entirety. Placed them into a glass of alcohol and watched them perish...Definitely going to recommend this tool for all pet owners...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tick Twister

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I love this little tool. It really does work; I had to use it on myself one day to remove a "seed" tick. Worked like a charm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick, easy, virtually pain free - AWESOME!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Peterborough, NH
I have a wheaten terrier with a lot of hair who also is a big baby! I bought the Tick Twister after finding a tick on his leg and he wouldn't hold still for me to remove it with tweezers. Even with all his wiggling around, the Tick Twister worked perfectly to remove the ENTIRE tick. Since then, I've found several other ticks on him, and he now knows the little green tool isn't a bad thing! The Tick Twister minimizes the time he has to be still as well as the pain while getting the whole tick out every single time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tick Twister

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bloomington, IN
Wow! This thing is amazing with 2 dogs (have yet to try it on us but will next time either of us has a tick) in the woods all the time, it just pops them out, no muss, no fuss. Have used on all sizes of ticks and it works perfectly. Will be buying these for all our kids with dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Prescott, Arizona
I hike in the forest wilderness with my dog off-leash. She usually manages to get a few stickers lodged in her paws, legs or sides. The Tick Twister easily and painlessly allows me to remove these deeply embedded stickers. Before purchasing the Tick Twister I often broke the sticker off attempting to remove it but now the entire sticker beneath the skin is easily removed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
The tick twister works great. It's quick and easy to use. It pulls the whole tick off mouth included. I would recommend this product to anyone with a dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
My outdoor cat got in a fight last night... Watched the cats fight, tried so hard to separate it.....It's painfully, awful watching that take place... But I was looking at his wound on his ear ( cat was safely in the house ) and noticed a small tick by his wound... so I got out my Tick Twister, cup of rubbing alcohol, and gloves. The whole tick came off! Mouth and everything! You can feel and hear it get pulled out. Then my Mom noticed 3 more! One below his eye and and one above that same eye. One by his nose... The one below his eye was a little difficult to get but she got it! All 4 ticks were very small and the Tick Twister got the whole tick without leaving the head in his skin! I thought the ticks were too small for the Tick Twister but I was wrong! It works great! We treat our cat with flea and tick stuff but the Tick Twister is a must have if you have outdoor animals. It came in very handy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from DC Metro
We've had to use the tick twister to remove ticks on my poor pup many times, but the tick twister is easy to use and has always removed the whole tick. We then trap the tick in tape and flush it down the toilet. This product does what it says and has been the easiest and most effective item and method we've used to remove ticks without issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product to Have on Hand

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I purchased this to have on hand in case one of my dogs got a tick & sure enough the time came when I needed it. It works very well to remove ticks. Just follow the directions exactly. The hardest part for me was getting the tick threaded into the little notch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely a Must for any pet owner

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
I had learned about the tick twister few years ago when my friend went to the emergency room to get a tick removed from his body and they removed his tick by using this tool. This tool also works on humans too! I have used it often on my dogs and children, It is harmless and painless for the dogs and kids. Would highly recommend this to have handy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick & Painless As Advertised

PostedMay 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
from South Florida
I found a tick on my dog today and yelled "Eeek!" I've never had to remove a tick from a dog. I went on the Internet to read about tweezers and twisting the body of the tick. (Ok, I'm not touching that!) Then I saw a mention of Tick Twister. I found out it was sold at my local Petco and ran down to get it. (Salesperson was very helpful & reassuring.) It works as advertised. My dog is squirmy and hates to be poked, prodded, etc. He barely noticed what I was doing. You hook the tick in the 'crowbar' and twist it until the tick comes out. The tick started moving right away. (I wanted to faint.) I was able to just lift it out even through my dog's long hair.
The design of the tool kept it safely away from my dog and me. I was then able to trap it into a piece of tape without touching it. This tool is a miracle of design. I HIGHLY recommend keeping one handy in case you find one of these nasty critters on your canine pal!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tick Twister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great device simple to use

PostedMay 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have utilized this device with great results. I am only mad that I have misplaced the device. Online right now to verify that the device is available at my local store.
Will buy 2 this time just in case. I do not want my lil dog to suffer any more.
Great buy worth every penny, and the price is a great value and there are no harsh chemicals or metal cans / plastic bottles to get rid of, or fill our overburdened landfills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>