petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder

Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder

Kills and repels fleas and ticks on contactSafe for use around children and petsConvenient easy-to-use resealable containerTreats up to 1,000 square feet or 3-5 roomsDelightful spice scent will leave your home smelling great
Average Customer Rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
3 out of 9(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Review 1 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smell won't leave the room

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
This product is horrible and should be taken off the market. It made the room smell so bad that it's been unusable for days after the powder was vacuumed up. I am going to have to have to room professionally cleaned to be able to use the room again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Labor Intensive, but Worth It!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I tried this because I wanted something that would help repel fleas without a lot of chemicals, as I have moderate allergic reactions to many common pesticides.
Knowing that this contains a lot of essential oils, I knew the scent could be quite strong, so I was prepared. I did not find it as overwhelming as many other reviewers though.
The directions clearly state that the recommended amount to use is 1 to 2 ounces per 100 square feet. That seems like a very small amount until you realize that the powder is extremely fine. I think if you use more than the recommended amount the smell could be overpowering.
Also, I did not leave this in my rugs for 24 hours, as recommended by the manufacturer. I left it in for 6 hours. I found that to be enough time, and I noticed that the few fleas I did see before I vacuumed were dying.
A few caveats:
1. There are 10 ounces of power in the container. It is recommended that you shake the powder prior to use. The powder is very fine, and shaking it does make it easier to distribute on the carpets.
2. The safety seal comes off very easily, and the cap does not screw on very tightly. Some powder will spill when you shake the container.
3. as I mentioned, this powder is extremely fine. If you have any respiratory issues, definitely use a mask. You may want to dust thoroughly after using this product.
4. Because it uses concentrated essential oils in powdered form, it will have a stronger, spicy smell. If you don't like the scent of cinnamon, clove, lemon grass or peppermint, then you won't like this.
5. The directions state that the powder should be brushed into the carpet with a broom. This will raise some dust, but I found that if you go slowly, it won't be as bad. Again, use a dust mask if you have respiratory issues.
This product is not one that can be used quickly. It does take time to apply correctly, and it takes time to work. The longer you leave it in, the more effective it is. It does work, but it takes some time.
Overall, I am very pleased with the results, but give it only 4/5 because it does require more work than most products. I would recommend this as part of a flea control regimen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE smell, not sure it works

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bought this product because it claims it's safe for pets and children. Sprinkled a moderate amount onto our carpet and area rugs - but the SMELL is HORRIBLE. We were planning to leave the powder in the carpet for 24 hours - as suggested by the manufacturer but after a couple of hours I couldn't take it anymore. The smell is NAUSEATING and my eyes were very irritated. We vacuumed the entire room after a couple of hours. The smell is still VERY strong and it's been a day already. Horrible horrible product. I would never buy this product again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Thank You!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I have tried this product in the past, and was able to treat my whole house just fine. It is not a cheap product but it is the only one i could use without removing all my animals from the house. However, this time there is hardly enough to do two small bedroom! on their website they claim there is enough to treat 2,000 sq ft.... this is not true at all. im pretty disappointed in this product, not sure if it even works. And the smell is very awful!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smells horrible and does not work

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lakewood, CA
Foremost I don't believe this powder kills anything. Much worse than that the horrific smell this product emits is overwhelming. After applying per the instructions to furniture and an area rug I had to leave the house immediately. Even days later with the windows open and fans running I still couldn't be in the room for more than a few minutes at a time. After a week I paid to have the furniture and area rug professionally cleaned. It's now been two weeks since application and I still cannot sit on my couch for more than 30 minutes without having to leave the room. Horrible, horrible, horrible product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smells but does not kill

PostedApril 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Florida
So I tested this product by putting a live tic on a tissue paper and pouring the Sentry powder all over it and then folded up the tissue. After an hour I opened up the tissue and out ran the tic covered in powder but completely unharmed. Now my house smells like cloves and cinnamon and I'm sure the tics don't care.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Natural Product

PostedApril 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from CA
I love this stuff! It works great! However, it does have a very strong smell. But that's what you get when you have powder and essential oils! I would suggest keeping the powder down for a few hours though. I usually leave it for 24 hours. I also use it again after 2 weeks, since it doesn't kill flea eggs. I have found that is the best way to use this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Overwhelming smell

PostedSeptember 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Smelling this in the store wasn't too bad. Sprinkling it lightly in my bedroom was completely overwhelming. I couldn't sleep in this room for 2 weeks and at 4 weeks later I still sleep with all the windows open. It didn't work very well either, I ended up treating the room with Fleabusters with much better success and it has NO smell...just dust.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural is best

PostedSeptember 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for awhile now and I like it for a couple of reasons. I don't think chemicals are good for people or pets & when there is a good alternative I don't know why anyone would not choose the safer product. This smells so fresh and nice that even after I have emptied the vacuum it freshens the air when I vacuum again. It's not overpowering. I use a very small amount and am pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.