petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness

PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness

This Easy Walk Harness never causes coughing, gagging, or choking because the chest strap rests low across the breastbone, not on the delicate tracheal areaIncluded is a quick snap buckle on both the shoulder and belly straps to make it easier to get the harness on and offConstructed of soft-but-strong nylon and 4 adjustment points provide maximum comfort and a reliable fitComplementary color of the belly strap makes it easier to identify each strap, while keeping the overall look pleasantly color-coordinated
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(150 Reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 150 reviews
5 stars
106
4 stars
19
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
12
132 out of 150(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Review 1 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thorin
from Schaghticoke,NY
I have a young male Siberian Husky. With this harness he is well behaved and easy to walk.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

never even got to use it

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
dissappinted
from oregon
I got the harness adjusted for our first walk, then the phone rang. In less then five minutes my dog had chewed the strap in half. So if you purchase one do not leave it on your dog, use it only for walking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best thing ever invented for dog owners

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
princesspeach21
from Orlando, FL
I have tried EVERYTHING for my German Shepherd, including the Caesar Millan obedience collar, and nothing worked for us. A sales associate pointed this out to me and I fell in love the moment I figured out how to put it on him. Walking him has never been easier thanks to the different place settings and durability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
sous
from Pittsburgh, Pa
So far this has worked better than any other collars that I have tried on my dog who pulled all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great harness for my big boy!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
lizzy426
from Seattle, WA
I adopted a Lab/Dane from the shelter yesterday and along with a crate (YAY!) they sent him home in this harness. He's a big boy with a lot of strength and this harness makes a big difference while I am teaching him what I consider to be appropriate walking manners. It's easy to adjust the individual straps to get the right fit all over the harness and I haven't had trouble getting it on or off. For reference, he is about 80 lbs and wears a large. I haven't measured him yet, but if you're iffy on size bring your dog in to the store to get fitted for sure!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must be snug

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
AHappyDogWalker
from San Antonio, TX
I have 2 young, strong pups and the first time I used this one of them knocked herself down in less than a block and managed to hog tie herself about half way through our walk. I took it off and finished our walk with the regular martingale collar then tightened straps when we got home. It works well now although they both knock themselves down when overly enthusiastic. Better them though, than me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is GREAT for pullers!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
SleepyTigers
from Waterford, Mi
I was hesitant about the effectiveness of this harness, but my puggle/boxer mix is big puller. When that beagle in him catches onto a scent, he's off.
The very first time I put it on him, there was a 100% difference in our walks. He even started to stop when I stop.
I was always worried about him injuring himself with how hard he pulls, and now I don't have to worry.
My only issue is how snug the harness is against his legs. He doesn't wear it between walks, but I'm afraid it rubs his "armpits" a bit.
I was also pleased to be able to find his size online, as they didn't appear to sell them in stores.
Overall, I'm extremely happy, and so are my arms!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Walk Harness

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
rungirl
from Tampa, FL
Great product and truly stops pulling but chaffing under arms is a problem no matter how I fit this product. Padding would be a great additions to a great product and for this price, I would think that they should add a cushion type material to where the straps fall near the underarms. Otherwise, good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Daily Walk

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Clarkie182
from Boston, MA
Great for the new puppy. Seems to ride up on her front legs. I think a little padding would have helped but over all a good set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for walking my pup

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
SpiceyGlitter
Great walking dog harness for my four month old pup. Very easy to use. I'm not a big fan of the choke collars and this lets me gently pull to correct her back into her place; next to my side and not in front of me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent for those pullers

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
shelterdogmama5
from New ORleans, LA
I have searched for years for a harness for my dog which would be gentle enough on her but at the same time put an end to her endless pulling. I found my answer! They also have a halti muzzle which she tried but it didn't do it for her. I think you should try both before giving up. There's also the gentle leader brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works too well

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wired2tight
from St Louis
I have a 6 mo old terrier that would pull with a regular leash. I got the Easy Walk and it worked too well. She refuses to walk. I made sure it was not tight and encouraged her with treats. She will not walk with it on. I am leaving it on so she can get use to it. I hope it will eventually will work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
jgibbyslp
from Worcester, MA
This product is like nothing else for reducing pulling on the leash by my dog. We had tried training with treats and even a slip collar, which were affective until we were in a novel environment or around novel people. The easy walk harness is so effective that my 5 year old niece can now walk my 80 lb. dog with no problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Walk Harness is the best!

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
momofsilver
from Concord, NH
I have a Golden/Lab cross. She is 2 years old and always wants to play. I love this harness! With a collar when she wants to chase a squirrel or a blowing leaf et5c. a collar would cause her to cough, choke,etc. This is not good! With the easy walk, it gives more control to get her to heel and if she does pull or try to chase something it does not cause harm to the windpipe. I have had 2 vets recommend this harness.
This is now the only harness I will use and never attach the leash to her collar!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Major design flaw

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
kkoganei1328
from San Gabriel
I have a 70lb labrador that I recently got from a family that was no longer able to care for him. He began showing signs of aggression a week or two later, and so it was imperative he was neutered to stop the aggression from becoming worse. I almost lost control with the regular collar, I'm a 120lb girl, and he is full of energy and still only 9 months old and only getting bigger. If he pulls and I'm not 100% aware, I WILL be dragged with him. But with his cone on, the gentle leader was a nightmare to use, so I bought this harness hoping the physics of it would allow me better control of the dog.
I lost complete control of the dog because the harness D ring was in the front of the chest area, connected to his lead. One evening after being spooked by another dog, he decided to have an impromtu game of Tug-o-war with his leash that was completely accessible to him since it was by his face. He wouldn't let go so I lost complete control of the dog due to this design flaw. He thought he was playing a game, but I was nearly a 1/3 of a mile away from home and every time I picked up his leash, he 'played a new game' because his 'toy' was right there. In the end, I had to call in reinforcements to help reign him in because I could not distract him, I could not control him with the harness since the lead is in his mouth. I pulled, he tugged. Maybe this is a unique situation to me, but this could happen to anyone. the 'bringing him back to you when he goes the other direction' as advertised did not work for this pup, because what can you do when your dog wants to play tug? In the month I have had him, this has never happened before. His leash usually hangs by him at home and he has never gone after it like he had that evening, nor do I have any rope toys to promote this type of behavior. I have only had this harness for about a week. Maybe this will work with other dogs, but with temptation dangling in front of your pet, this could happen to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
9of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to work

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Schtickwldr
from San Diego, CA
My girl always has a constant slight pull on the leash. I've used a halter (bad idea and still chokes them), a head halter, which worked to some degree, but not only did it still choke her, but it irritated her face near her eyes, not good, it seems everything out there chokes them, this however does not choke them. And if she lunges at a rabbit it has a much larger effect on her than on me! I barely feel it but she gets bowled over and still doesn't choke.
There's only one problem with it, and it's really kind of important but I think can easily be fixed and that's that it chafes and irritates the armpits. It needs to have fuzzy stuff around it in the armpit area, if the silver belly strap was made out of a soft material you've got your perfect product there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for a head strong dog

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Illinois
After just one walk our problem dog was back out for our evening walks. Before this harness she was like a wild animal pulling regardless of what we did. We have walked our dogs every night but this young dog thought she had to be out front, full speed ahead so we left her at home and took the other dogs. It was sad but she refused to change until this harness! . She now enjoys her walks and we can enjoy her outside again. Magic! Great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anotherhuskylover
from West Henrietta
These harnesses are great for curbing the pulling of stronger animals. They[re very long lasting too. We had a hard time finding more of them so we're very glad that Petco had them online. We actually put them on with the silver part on the dog's back only bc then as we face the dog one of the releases is up on the right and the harness comes off right over their heads.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Harness!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
RescueMom4
from Hartland, WI
This is the best harness there is - we love it and so do our dogs! We originally had a medium sized harness for our collie when he was still growing, however, now that he has reached his full size, it became too small so we ordered a large. We used the previous harness for 3 years, and it is still in great shape! It is very easy to put on the dog, and prevents them from pulling on the leash. Whenever my dogs see the harness come out, they get crazy excited because they know it's walk time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Walk Harness

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MastiffOwner01
from Jackson, Ohio
I highly recommend this leash. Leash Trained my mastiff with this collar, other products failed.. He could then fit in a larger.. Now I need an X-large & you don't carry them. Why not?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>