petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses

Clear, non-sticky, and easy to apply sprayStops animals from chewing on paws, furniture, leg wraps and moreSafe to use on any washable surface, indoors and outdoorsInexpensive and non-stainingAlcohol free formula is non-stinging
Average Customer Rating:
2.489 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
26
17 out of 47(36%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Review 1 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bad taste

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
kittypurry
from Harlem, MT
This product is perfect it has really helped my cat to quit scratching on our couch. I put double sided tape on the couch and then sprayed the tape a little and he is not interested in the couch at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work!

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
DrNO
from Orlando, FL
My five month old Samoyed started chewing a section of the carpet and wooden ledge. I got the Bitter Yuck to stop this... only problem, he likes it! Everything I have tested this product on he goes to and either licks the yuck off or continues to chew it. Need to find a better flavor. Oh, and the cats like it too! For some reason my animals find it to be a treat rather than a deterrent.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

"Yuk"

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
persistent
from Baltimore, Md.
My exuberant dog would chomp on the leash line once or twice as we were going out to walk! This quickly resulted in the line being severed. I did not have luck with putting "Yuk" on the line.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nasty

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
PitBullLover42
The first time i used it my dog just seemed confused by the flavor and stopped, but the second time i used it my dog started licking it off!! And I had the taste in my mouth for hours. It was horrible!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Working Well So Far

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
KatienLou
from Minneapolis, MN
My Malti-poo has allergies, and consequently licks his feet constantly and developes hot spots. The only way I could keep him from licking was to have an e-collar on him. That was very comber some and he couldn't really eat while wearing it either. I had tried other similar products to remedy this problem, but nothing worked! This, however seems to finally be doing the trick! When you do spray it, be careful though, because if you inhale the mist that hangs in the air, you'll get a bitter taste!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stuff!

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shegens
from Riceville, TN
My 140lb Bloodhound had a growth removed from his lower front leg a month ago and has been wearing an e-collar cone since. The stitches and staples wouldn't stay in. Whenever I tried to leave the cone off I had to stand and watch him all the time. The wound is healing good but slowly and he hates the cone. After a month I decided to try some Bitter Yuck. I sprayed the leg and he tried to lick it. He licked twice and stopped. He was able to be cone free all day and did not try to lick it again even once. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bitter Junk

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlueDevil
from Triangle, NC
My cats were chewing on cords and plants all throughout my apartment. They ruined a phone cord even. I found this product thinking it would help, but it only made my cats more intereseted in everything I sprayed it on and they even seemed to like the flavor as they licked it off of everything! DO NOT purchase this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My Dog Licks It

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
HeidiB
from Federal Way
Bitter Yuck worked the first time that I used it, but since then my golden retriever puppy has licked it off of whatever I spray it on and proceeded to chew on the area that was sprayed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yuck is not effective for me

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
TheBatman
from Philadelphia PA
Dog still bites leash. Doesn't work well. I dosed the leash a few times with the spray but it hasn't helped.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

That didn't work

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
stargazer401
from Fort Collins, CO
Like so many others, my puppy loved it and was actually licking it off my hands. Also, when I sprayed it, everyone sitting within five feet could taste it in their mouth. Gross! It made us all half sick, but the puppy thought it was awesome.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mildly Helpful

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
mandawhtny
from New York City
It's transparent, and that's good for all my white stuff, but it only deters my puppy right when she's chewing. I get her to stop, then I spray the area, then she licks the stuff a bit, and decides not to chew. However, once it's dry it seems to lose any effectiveness. I was using cayenne pepper, which is very effective, but since it's red I needed a transparent solution. This is fine for white stuff, but you do have to keep applying until the dog learns not to chew.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

it IS yucky

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
pixelgrrl
from Rochester, NY
I sprayed this on a doggie bed since my puppy of just over a year tends to chew things. I only wanted to test it out on something I knew he wouldn't be able to resist chewing. So far so good. I sprayed it once on only one of the doggie beds and he has not attempted to chew either one. I don't know if it's because we have worked to give him more than enough toy options to chew or it was the spray?
I gave only a couple stars because I personally have not been able to bring myself to use the spray again because of the way it stained my hand. (I literally shudder when thinking about using it again.)
If you try this out I would recommend using latex gloves- after several hand washings with even dish detergent soap- this stuff lingered on my hands for a good portion of the day. And, oh boy, YUCK!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My TerriPoo Loves it, too!

PostedOctober 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
FloraFlower
Instead of being a deterrant, she is drawn to it! The only good part was the easy return to the store after ordering online.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My Puppy Loves This...

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
iSean1
from Highlands Ranch, CO
.... unfortunately that isn't what I purchased it for. Instead of being a deterrent to chewing behavior, it is instead an attractant and a treat. It rewards her for the bad behavior because she loves the taste. I could pour the entire bottle in her water bowl and she would drain it.
I let my adult dog try it as well, sprayed a puddle of it in my hand and they both went nuts trying to lick it all off.
Not at all a suitable product, at least not for my dogs. YMMV.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
chase00
from Georgia
My 5 month old Vizsla licked it up. Not even close to stop chewing items. Reads NO Chew Product. Save the money and buy something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJune 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
JRTlvr
from Texas
Vertical blinds were my puppy's chew toy of choice until I started using this stuff. It was the best option for me as it's all-natural and water-based, so it didn't stain the blinds. Kept my little stinker from destroying any more blinds than he already had, and helped him focus on the toys that were actually meant to be chewed on!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as Advertised!

PostedJune 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
MDogg
from Colorado
I used this product to keep my dog from excessively licking himself and his stitches after surgery. It did the trick! It does need to be reapplied daily, but if used properly, should work for you too. Be aware of the back spray, though, this stuff is beyond strong!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
marksmom
my 10 week old yorkie likes the way this tastes. I would spray it all over something and he would sit there and lick it...did not work at all....i have used four different sprays so far...this was the worst.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended by the pros so...

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
JS79
...it must be good! I run the front desk at a small animal hospital and all of the doctors here recommend Bitter YUCK for their patients (and owners!). It's alcohol-free so it won't sting surgical sutures or any healing wounds, which is important as any stinging will lead to more licking and chewing. Also great for keeping animals from chewing and licking their bandages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NaturVet Bitter Yuck! No Chew Spray for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJune 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
EGreg
I have been a groomer for 13 years and have tried several no-chew products, both for customers and my own animals. This product is fantastic and probably the best I've tried because it's:
-All-natural
-Alcohol free (won't sting hot spots or other wounds)
-Odorless
-Won't stain perfectly groomed fur or the furniture!
-Inexpensive
-It works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>