petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats

Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats

Kills fleas on contactSafe for use on all cats and kittensContains no pyrethrins or similar chemicalsWill not wash out spot-on flea and tick control products
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Review 1 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washinton, dc
The shampoo works on contact i seen fleas fall off my 2 cats. I have used this on client's cats as I am a pet care owner, their owners loved this stuff. The shampoo is watery but works into a lather if put directly on your cat. My cats feel much better, they aren't itching like before, i have used hertz, front line and Sergent, all didn't work but caused some side effect that hurt my cats. I don't know how other users said it doesn't work? It didn't irritate my skin but made them dry. Please read the instructions carefully, it states don't put on kittens younger than 12 weeks!!! This isn't meant to be used on dogs lol. It clearly states only for cats and kittens!!! It's best to be used again if you see fleas or see your cats itch like crazy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great flea killer

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Manassas, VA
I just got this product and used it on my kitten. We could see the fleas running to her head and dying off in the water. It was gentle and completely effective at the same time. It is a little different, as it doesn't look like "normal" shampoo, but this stuff works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Buy

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
This product did not work at all!!! I have two little kittens who are covered in fleas after I adopted them from a rescue place. I've taken every measure I can to get rid of them. I bombed the basement and the only other rooms they go in. I washed them in this shampoo and saw no result. Although it did kill some of the fleas while I shampooed, they were still covered in them. The dead fleas just sit in their fur and are hard to pull out. The poor things are still covered and itching. I also can't wash them for another 3 days so I got them a flea collor and will try another shampoo in 3 days.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always read reviews

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I wanted to thank all of the other purchasers for their advice. I read the reviews about it being watery, not like a normal shampoo. I bought 2 bottles( one big, one small) and had enough for 4 cats. I found that this product is great for instant relief. Of course they didn't like the whole bath idea, but they quit scratching immediately. The smell wasn't as bad as I thought, they did have a minty scent. I did find one or two stray fleas that were still alive, but the majority of them were dead on contact. I would also recommend that once you are done with the bathing, check around the ears and face of your pet. Fleas love to hide there until things dry out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply amazing

PostedNovember 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
My dogs developed a resistance to their monthly flea medication. We decided to switch to a different treatment, but we wanted to immediately kill the infested fleas, eggs, and larvae. Because we were treating them with a monthly flea medication, we did not want to bath them with a shampoo containing insecticide. We decided to use this product because i) after researching the active ingredients we found them to be completely safe and organic and ii) the customer reviews were very encouraging. This product is amazing. I could not believe how effective this product was at immediately killing ALL of the fleas. I was rinsing all of the dead fleas down the drain. This product does not lather as much as other products, BUT this allows me to use this product without rinsing away their monthly spot on treatments. This is great stuff and I would recommend it to everyone to use!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing!!!

PostedJuly 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
I adopted a kitten off of Craigslist. The woman told me that she had given the kitties some drops of flea medicine "just in case" but that they did not have fleas. I checked the kitty's belly when I got home and saw three fleas moving. Went to Petco and got this product and my sister-in-law helped me bathe her. Turns out that she was INFESTED WITH FLEAS, even had eggs all over her. The fleas were dying INSTANTLY, and the rest were running up Chloe's face trying to get to safety...but there was no running from this stuff!!! I checked her again this morning and not one flea is to be found on her. Poor thing, she was so bitten up by the fleas she had blood/bite marks all over her body, hidden by her fur. But I would recommend this to ANYONE who has a cat that has fleas, it really TRULY WORKS!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This stuff sucks!

PostedJuly 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
First of all, this stuff looks like water. Second, it's lather is non-existent. Last but not least, this stuff doesn't do anything to help my cat. In fact, right after washing my cat, most of the fleas continue right where they left off by walking around like nothing happened. I bought this shampoo because of the great reviews, but I'm extremely disappointed. I have no clue how other people have seen good results with this product, so I must be doing something wrong. I will never buy this product again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best shampoo ever

PostedAugust 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
I tryed everthing from powders, sprays, collars, and dips.....this shampoo killed every flea on my baby, and he was covered in them. I would deff. tell a friend about this product. thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kills on contact

PostedMay 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought this based on others peoples reviews as well. I must say I was extremely happy. We killed fleas like no body's buisiness. As we combed our fleas after the bath fleas fell to the ground dead!!
Great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best purchase

PostedNovember 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
from New York,NY
Because of the reviewsI tried it .It's worth the cost it kills fleas and ticks quick!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kills them

PostedSeptember 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Its good stuff. Its knocks the fleas out or kills them. I'm not sure which. On the dog the fleas just dropped in the bath tub and went down the drain but because of the cats fur they just kind of stuck there. I went through with a comb and picked all I saw out. You can use the shampoo again in 3 days. I checked the kitten in 3 days and there was 15-20 fleas on it. I gave it another wash, picked the fleas out and waited another 3 days. Yet again I've seen 2 fleas thus far and I have to wait another day or so to give it another bath. I don't know where the fleas are coming from. We spent 50 dollars to bomb the house the same day as the second bath. The kitten NEVER goes out side and there are no other pets (except fish) inside the home. I do recommend this especially if you have a dog. It can be used on either or as it says on the directions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.