petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs

Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs

Fast, safe and easy to useDetects nail differences between the live blood of your pet's quick, and the dead skin of the nail and clawProvides visual cues as to when it is safe and when it is not safe to begin clippingIncludes two AAA batteries
Average Customer Rating:
2.461 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
7
5 out of 13(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Review 1 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work at all.

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
isa1983
from Miami, fl
I would give this item negative stars if possible because now I have to drive all the way back to Petco to return it. THIS PRODUCT SIMPLY DOES NOT WORK. As soon as you insert the nail, even before it gets to the clipper part, the clipper goes from green to red. I made sure my own fingers weren't in the way and I also made sure to follow the instructions exactly regarding nail and sensor placement. Thinking its a fluke, as per the instructions I turned the unit off, waited 30 seconds, turned it back on - same problem. Took the batteries out, waited 5 minutes, put them back in - same problem. Then I decided to test it and got a small steel rod and inserted it into the clipper and guess what--> THE CLIPPER TURNED RED even though a steel rod obviously does not have a quick in the center. Tried this with a rolled up piece of paper too and the clipper also turned red indicating that the piece of paper has a quick. This product does not work and now I have the added inconvenience of having to drive all the way back to Petco to return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no good

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
stuart2005
from Baycity, Or
The clippers origionally stayed on the green light, as though it was okay to clip the nails at every angle and length, from the tip to the furtherst back. Then the lights just flickered from green to red!
The clippers were very unpredictable. I would not recommend them to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Arct
from Palm Springs, CA
Bought these hoping they would help.
The lights don't even work. It shows red even when nothing is in or even near the slot.
Don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
goodtimes619
from San Diego, CA
Finally a product that makes it easy for me to cut my own dogs nails.....I just wish I could get my doggie to stop squirming!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Miracle coat quickfinder for dogs

PostedAugust 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
LSD1
Like the design. Haven't used yet. . .still building confidence in my ability. Sure the clipper will work. . .did one nail! Like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just a gimmick

PostedApril 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
My husband and I were looking for a decent clipper for the small dog we have. When we tried to cut her nails they cracked off and did not cut properly. the light did not function properly. An expensive piece of junk...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A: Does not work B: Does not trim

PostedAugust 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
plunkit
I bought in-store. I was concerned about paying $32 for the 'quick finder' feature if it didn't work. The friendly assistant asked someone "in the back" who said they'd sold a lot of these and had received no complaints. So I went ahead. They had no regular trimmers in stock and I needed a trimmer.
The package recommended itself for my size dog. The quick finder mechanism in my trimmer basically found the quick over the entire nail. I had lost my old trimmer so it had been too long since the last trimming. My viszla's nails were obviously long enough. I just went ahead and found the quick the old fashioned way. When I tried to clip, the trimmer handles twisted and the blades didn't even penetrate the nail.
If you intend to cut cat's claws buy the size recommended for a 75 lb dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick nail finder

PostedFebruary 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
bordercollieslover
I Like this item it is easy to use especially for people who don't know where the quick is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Happy Birthday to me!!

PostedJanuary 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
SGF1101
from Toledo, OH
I received my nail clippers for my birthday and I have to say I love them when using on my Shih Tzu, they are very easy to use. Although I still have some trouble because occationally it will give me a green light and when I attempt to trim the nail it turns red "confused"...this does not happen to often. I would recommend these clippers for a small breed only.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not impressed

PostedJanuary 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doggiesfriend
from California
I Thought this item was a really good idea but in reality it does not cut well. The light does determine the place to cut but then changes to red at the last second! Confusing!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wait for Version 2.0 or 3.0

PostedOctober 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
QandAGuy
I love the idea of this product. For nervous people like me, the idea of not causing my puppy harm is very appealing. The issue is for the sensor to work you need to have the absolute perfect "touch" with the device. Don't squeeze it enough and nothing happens. Squeeze it just a bit too far and it goes right to red. Now if you were cutting grass or trimming a plant, that would be fine- but with a fidgeting dog it's hard to be that precise with the device to get a good read every time. So in some cases i wound up cutting less than I could have since it was so hard to get a steady green light to say it was safe. In other words, I wasn't getting much out of al the technology except a higher price. Wait for version 2.0 or 3.0.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best purchase ever!!!!

PostedOctober 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jenn7846
Best nail clipper ever!!!! So easy to use... I was always afraid i was going to cut to much nail off before i had this nail clipper. Now i'm not afraid to cut my dogs nails. I love this
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Miracle Coat QuickFinder for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedOctober 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
k9rescuelady
The clipper must be at the perfect angle for it to register a reading. Lightweight cheap quality. The guillotine cutter is terrible. It took three trys for it to snip part of the nail. It is much faster, less expensive and even more reliable using a standard clipper.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.