petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats

Used by professional groomers to maintain nails at a comfortable lengthHandles are sheathed in soft rubber for a non-slip, comfortable grip Sharp, precision-made blades ensure a quick, exact cut
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 out of 22(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Review 1 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too big for kitten

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
Too big for use with tiny kitten. Probably okay with adult cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't provide a clean cut

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
These clippers either aren't sharp enough or aren't aligned properly. They make a jagged cut which bothers my cats. I do not recommend them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Very handy, not hard to use, cheap and im not complaining.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for trimming cat's nails

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Waxhaw, NC
Since I have 7 cats, and none are declawed, this comes in very handy for easy, quicker nail trims. Even though I have mutiple scatching posts, this helps save my couch. I also have a kitten who likes to jump on my shoulders if I lean over, so this saves my clothes and skin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not OK!

PostedApril 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
The clippers frayed my cats nails so much that when she scratch the rug later, her nail got caught in the rug and ripped the nail and made it bleed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I have two cats that I use these clippers on and I don't have a problem using them. The only thing is, like every cat, they don't want to be clipped. But these clippers work quick and my cat doesn't have time to pull his nail out once it is lined up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Clippers

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
These clippers easily cut my kitten's nails and produced a clean cut.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good clippers for small nails

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
I purchased these clippers to trim my 5 lb. Papillon's nails. His nails are so small I figured cat trimmers would work well. We have the Pedi-Paw but it only works for our big dogs. I trim the hair under the Papillon's paws to prevent splaying so he is somewhat used to me touching his feet. While he hates it when I trim his feet hair, he did not mind his toes being clipped with these at all (I have never done it and the only time he had it done before this was when he was unconscious being neutered). He laid on my lap and didn't mind at all. I didn't cut very close to the quick to make sure I didn't make him bleed. I figured I'd spend $6 on nail trimmers that last a long time, as opposed to the $10 Petco's groomer's charge for nail clipping. It seems silly to pay someone so much for a job that took me about 1 minute and was easy.
These were easy to use and seemed comfortable to my dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

buy it

PostedNovember 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is the first time i have had to use nail clippers for my cat. I can say he did not like his paws being handled but they worked great. So far no complaints at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have used other nail clippers on my cats before and they always left split nails or were hard to use. With these clippers you can see exactly what you are clipping and they make nice clean cuts. A definate winner in our house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cat nail klippers.

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
We bought a new pair of nail klippers to replace an older pair and style. I love the new klippers. They are easy to use and make nice cuts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedApril 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
from long island, ny
I used the clippers and my cat did not even flinch. I thought I would have a hard time with her but I didn't. It cut easily and fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
very easy to use to cut our rat sockies nails
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedFebruary 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
I wish I would have spent a few extra dollars for better clippers. These clippers don't leave a clean cut and aren't as sharp as they could be I think.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good, simple clippers

PostedOctober 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
We have four pairs of clippers at this point, after lots of moves and losing them and finding them again, but this pair is the best. They're better than the ones with the much larger opening and the claw guard and spring action, because they close faster and there's less room for error. Plus they're smaller and they hide in your hands better when you're trying to corral the cat. The construction feels sturdy, and my cat was actually purring while I cut her nails last night, which is a first.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice

PostedApril 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Marysville, CA
I've never used anything else to cut my cat's nails, but these are awesome. I trim his nails once a week and he doesn't seem to mind as much as he used to. These clippers are of great quality and easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
These are great and easy to use! I really like how they dont hurt the cat. I just have one problem with them, my cat hates them! She runs at the sight of them! They dont hurt her but they make her go crazy! A great product!, but not to the cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than people clippers!

PostedOctober 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay, WI
I was using small sized people clippers for Nermal for almost a year. They were hard to use and a little awkward when trying to get a nail in the small opening.
These clippers are great! They open up with plenty of space for clipping and the finger grips are very comfortable. I rated the pet satisfaction a 5 because these take less time to cut with, therefore, a happier cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for JW Pet GripSoft Nail Clipper for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Whidbey Island, Washington
After using regular (people) nail clippers, these are a treat to use. They hold the nail in a secure position, and cut without the shredding or flaking of the nail as happens with regular clippers. Now if they would just invent a sack-like apparatus so that only one paw was sticking out for clipping!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>