petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums

Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums

100% organic herbal formulaTreats Ich, fungus, protozoans & dinoflagellatesDoes not affect beneficial bacteriaTotally free of chemicals and all heavy metals, including zinc and copperSafe for use in all aquariums including reef and live rock, and ponds
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
9 out of 14(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Review 1 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh
I had some fin rot that I had treated. Would start to get better, then get worse. Used different products over a few weeks, along with h2o changes, incresed temperature. Kept coming back. Had crabs and snails. Thought I would try this as its natural. Had white spot/ ich or whatever.
Within 24 hours the new fish looks nearly 75% better.
I now use this during water chages and it has really nipped any beginning issues in the bud.
Have 29,10,6, and 1 gallon tanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe and it Works

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MO
I've been dosing this twice per day at double the dosage right off the bat and in 3 days my male betta stopped clamping and was completely acting like his old self. The betta is the only fish in the tank with symptoms though I am treating the entire community. My corydoras and brochis catfish, shrimps, live plants, and celestial pearl danios don't even notice the medication (neither do the handful of pest snails). The water has only started to very slightly discolor on this mornings dose (fifth day), not that I mind. It smells like garlic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works if used properly

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, IA
If you plan to just dump some of this stuff in a tank and hope it works, you're probably going to be disappointed. I started raising my temperature about 2 degrees per day to about 90 to speed up the ich life cycle. I added the product one in the morning and once at night for about a week and everything cleared up. The water did get a brown tint to it but that cleared about a week later. This won't stain the sealant like copper based treatments, it won't damage plant life, and it works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really bad smell

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from TX
I have been using this product for two weeks and my fish have gotten worse when i started using it i could only see a couple of spots on my Ocellaris clownfish now he is covered i also noticed an ammonia spike so if you decide to use this product just keep an eye on that I think the ammonia spike stressed him out and more got attached.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mild strength

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought this product after observing ich on three new mollies. I have live plants and did not want to kill them with a copper based medication. The infection was moderate. I used double the minimum dose on a daily basis. A week later the ich spread to my tetras and killed them all within days. The mollies did survive and look to be improving slowly. I'm guessing in another week the infection will be over. In hindsight I think I would of rather taken my chances with a different treatment, as this medication does work very slowly (if it does work) - in this case to slow to stop the spread of ich. In the future, I may use this product for prevention purposes with new fish, but never again for treatment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

of no use at all

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from portola,ca
This is no treatment for ICK.
The ONLY positive is it will not kill invertebrates-it won't.
ICK is it's own monster.
Only copper works on ICK. But don't use that unless you are experienced enough to do so.
This product is not effective at anything but making the water brown.
It is fine for the novice-you cannot overdose.
Do not use this product and expect results.
There is so much information out there. Read. Study. Understand.
Understand what fish you are buying and make intelligent choices.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works well, but slowly

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Georgetown, TX
Ich Attack works, but it works slowly. If you don't catch the ich early on and it gets a good hold on the fish, you need a stronger, chemical treatment for your fish, not an herbal one. Being herbal, Ich Attack doesn't have many of the disadvantages of the harsher chemical treatments. I am currently using this on a 12 gallon freshwater tank populated with 7 black neon tetras, 5 pygmy corys, and 3 dwarf gouramis. I lost 6 of the tetras, but I consider that more my fault than the failure of the Ich Attack - I didn't catch the ich until it was too far along on the tetras. I'm not even sure if a chemical treatment would have saved the tetras as badly as they were infected. It took a week of dosing the tank with Ich Attack before I saw the last of the ich on the remaining fish, but the bottle warns that it may take as long as 5 weeks if the ich is particularly resistant. As recommended on the bottle, I am continuing the treatment for 5 days after all ich is gone. In summary, it works and I like it, but I have learned to inspect my fish carefully each day to catch any infections early.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly effective - and safe

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reccomended by an LFS store employee where they don't stock it (but Petco does). This product REALLY works. I agree with other posters that a double dose (i.e., 1ml/10gallons) seems to work quicker. I ddo it for a whole week to catch the bugs at all stages - and then it's done (until a new fish brings in more...). Has NO harmful effects on corals, scallops, clams, shrimps or fish as far as I can tell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ich attack is good for both salt and fresh water

PostedMay 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
from il
its real good
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very effective

PostedApril 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Portland OR
I used this product to cure ich in my planted 55gal tank I had a very resistant strain of ich it took 48oz of rid ich to cure in 2 1/2 weeks I started with one dose a day for a week without any results I then increased to 3 doses a day and started to see some results I then used about 1 and a half doses 3 to 4 times daily and the ich cleared up with out damaging plants or fish I refridgerated after opening and shook well before each use I recomend to use generously otherwise you might be wasting your money anyways it won't hurt the fish to throw in an extra dose or use heavy doses sticking to a dosing schedule to kill the free smiming parasites is how this product works missing doses will definately effect your sucess with this product depending on the strain of ich your fish have ect... if you can't be at your aquarium up to every 6 hours to medicate then this product might not be for you but for vitality of plants inverts and biological filteration it works I would not recomend this product for severe ich infestations (when fish can't swim regularly) quick cure is faster but bad for plants inverts and bacteria damaging biological filteration can kill sensitive fish species like my dwarf cichlids and discus
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as promised

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
Just used the product this week for a serious ich infestation. Today is day four, and no white spots on any of the fish. And my invertebrates are all doing fine. Only negative is the muddy brown color it turns the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Warning do not buy

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from rochester ny
I picked up this product too use on my saltwater fish and it DID NOT WORK please keep away from it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't clear the Ich

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
I ordered this product online, and I used it as directed right away to help clear away my fish's Ich (Betta) A few days later i noticed that the ich had not cleared up at all, in fact it had gotten worse. Much worse. if anything, it probably kept my fish alive a few extra days while I went and bought the quick cure. But I used this product for a week and a half with no deterioration of the ich. I went and bought Quick Cure, I put one drop in my one gallon and the next day the Ich was considerably reduced.
This product was of no real use to me, and it smelled terrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kordon Ich Attack for Fresh & Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works

PostedJune 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
The ich is gone and my puffer and inverts are still alive. Worked good in my salt water tanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.