petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Ideal fish tank water heater for both freshwater and saltwater aquariumsCompletely submersible heater with 6' power supplyPrecise temperature setting accurate to within +/- 1°FAdjusts to between 68-88°FDurable aquarium water heater with shatter-resistant constructionAutomatic safety shut-off and overheat protectionLifetime warrantyUL listed for safety
Average Customer Rating:
3.78 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
9
41 out of 59(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Review 1 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
DeboM939
from San Diego
I bought this product about 3 weeks ago and it has been working out great. The only problem is that the switch at the top is to tight and hard to turn for heat adjustment. Overall 5 stars and would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
jg1983
from Maryland
it wont hold a temp properly. My aquarium water was at 72 degrees before I put the heater in.....I put this heater in the tank and put it on 68 degrees bec I was worried about over-heating. The heater turns on (even though I have it on 68, and the current water temp is 72) and in minutes has heated the tank to 75 degrees! just terrible. The heater is not supposed to turn on if the water temp is already warmer then where the heater is set.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never again!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charmed79
from NH
We bought this a few days ago for our 10 Gal, we bought it based on all these awesome reviews. It would not hold the temp at all, up to 82, then down to 70, then back up, then after 48 hours, it started to leak. I will never buy another of this brand, that is not acceptable at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect heater!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
CAFishLady
from California
I have three of these and they all work like a charm. My tropical fish are happy and warm. It's very accurate according to my thermometer and well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Started leaking

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
amg04
I bought this heater three years ago, and noticed condensation forming inside the heater. I'm not sure how long this has been going on, and while it's given me a few years of good use, this is a pretty serious problem, and I won't be buying another one. Who knows what would have happened if the condensation had reached the heating elements...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
njgh
from Los Angeles
the product works great formy 40 gallon tank and the temp control is very accurate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work great

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
SamNchris
from Detroit, MI
The work great, we've had no problems, would buy them again. we own 2 right now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
pluckycducky
from missouri
The heater worked perfectly, and so far has stayed suction cupped to the side of the tank instead of popping loose like alot of heaters do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquarium Heater

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
nomorepets
from Hillsborough, NC
Works great in our new 55 gal aquarium. Love the indicator light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifetime warranty

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Juska
from Bloomsburg, PA
This heater has kept my 20 gallon at a steady 80F since I plugged it in. Works well and blends in with the background of my tank, doesn't stick out at all. The lifetime warranty is a great plus as well. That part really sold me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top of the line

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
btdt
from Missouri
Put this in my 40 gallon and it only took 6 hours to go from 59 to 76F. Not only that, lifetime warranty. Now you can't go wrong there. Ordered on line Sunday evening and received it 10 a.m. on Tuesday. WOW! Standard free shipping. Third time I ordered from Petco.com and two days later....Got it. Isn't life wonderful?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

aqueon heaters

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gruesome
from los angeles
it works pretty good. ive owned fish for about 3 years and its worked for a few months. no problems at all
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Adequate for heating, but strangely noisy

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
TurtlesRgr8
from Gaithersburg, MD
The aquarium in which I placed the heater is in my bedroom. I woke up at night to hear odd electrical tickings, which were louder than the white noise of my fan. The source was traced to the heater as it was heating up. During the daytime, while working from home, it emits an odd humming noise. Could work well for aquariums not in a commonly used area.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My experience

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
OscarKing
from Massachusetts
I have the 13" version for my 55 gallon tank. I have a tempature reading on both ends of my tank and they read within 1 degree of each other. I had this for almost 4 months now and never heard it turning on. Being in an Oscar tank, it has been knocked around by a large fish and still remains functional. I do agree the measurements are off and will heat your tank higher than what the adjuster says. To overcome this, start at 70 Degrees and every hours increase or decrease until you reach the tempature you want.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

broke

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
fishkeeper3456
stopped working after a month and a half but the safety turn off does work also dial is a bit inaccurate
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

leaks

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
USMC1
from us
had one of these for a year and it started to get condensation in it.. it held a good temp but now it has condenstation inside. Aqueon cust serv was very good and I got a new one via their warranty program but the new one got condensation insided the first day. They will send me another one.. fingers crossed..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Somethings Wrong

PostedJune 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
benji20
from Indiana
I got two of these heaters for christmas. A small 50 w and a larger one for my 55 gallon. All of a sudden my smaller heater bubbled real bad and it smelled like gun powder! i pulled it out and smelled it and sure enough it smelled like gun powder. Very concerned about this heater. I felt the water and it was very cold so apparently the heater hadn't been working at all. very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
15of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not that great

PostedMay 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
fish123456789
from washington
this heater came with my 10 gal Aqueon tank, and i put it in my tank, plugged it in , and nothing happened. i give it a two because it's pretty sleek and can be hid easily
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Noisy but works well

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cleoisalittlebittyfish
I have 3 of these heaters...When they turn on they make a pretty noticeable clicking/knocking sound...It is sort of annoying until you get used to it....They all heat very well though and my tanks all stay at a steady 79-80 degree temperature..! Very happy fish. I would buy another in the future..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Quality Heater

PostedApril 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Damers
from Wilmington, NC
Fair priced. Gives wonderful heat. Warms the water within 30 minutes.
Only problem with this heater is the temperature goes higher than you set it.
I have it set at 72 and its 10 degrees higher than that in the water. Just keep that in mind when setting the temperature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>