petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters

Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters

Keeps water crystal clear with a four-stage filtration process including; mechanical, chemical, biological and stationary wet/dryPump is submerged in water to provide leak-proof, silent operationAuto self-priming start pump eliminates messy spills-even if the power goes outFor fresh or saltwater aquariumsIncludes one free filter cartridge
Average Customer Rating:
3.853 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(163 Reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
21
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
26
114 out of 163(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 98 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Review 1 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super!!!

PostedJuly 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
I purchased the 10 gallon power filter and it works great! Also very quite and very easy to set up! All you hear is the water falling out of the filter like a little waterfall, very relaxing at night. And it cleans the water VERY well! You also dont need an undergravel filter with a power filter, GREAT!!! BUY THIS FILTER BEGINNER OR EXPERT GREAT FILTER!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+54points
54of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great filter!!

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
I've had fish tanks for years and so far this is my favorite. I bought the 55/75 for my nano reef tank. The aerator at the outflow point is great for gas exchange leaving my power heads free for water flow instead of surface agitation. This results in a bit of water noise, but the filter itself is beautifully quiet. The filter chamber is spacious and leaves plenty of room for additional filtration media like poly filters for phosphate and nitrate control, or small chunks of live rock for additional bio filtration. I'd recommend this filter to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from OKC,OK
I bought 4 Quiet Flow filters (2- QF10 \ 2 QF55/75). I firmly believe in giving a product a chance to prove itself, but when each of the 4 filters quit working 3 DAYS after plugging them in, I find it's hard to say anything positive about the expensive chunks of plastic that is labeled as aquarium filters I now own. I have used the HOB's that come with aquarium kits for 20 years with no major problems other than running loud. I absolutely do not recommend anyone to waste their money on these.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Product

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Greensboro, NC
I am very dissatisfied in this filter. It only lasted seven months. It kept a pretty good flow throughout the life of it, but suddenly stop working.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Filter I ever owned!

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NH
I bought the 55/75 for my 55 gallon freshwater aquarium. I have very hard water and have struggled with sediment build up for years that creates an awful silt in my tank. I try to vacuum it weekly but that's not realistic. This filter was easy to put together, primed in seconds with just a couple cups of water in the reserve. After I added about 5 gallons of fresh water to my tank it was sparkling clear in under 5 minutes! A process that would have taken several hours to overnight with my old filter. And my fish lover the aeration feature (a plastic insert right before the opening). Even my husband commented on how quiet it is. For the price this filter is amazing! For maximum benefit buy the next size up from the recommendation. It never hurts to have a more powerful filter. If you need to treat your tank the carbon is part of the filter medium. But you can take the bag out and replace with quilting batting. Also the filter tube in the 55/75 almost touches the bottom of the tank so if you do size up double check the dimensions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good ROI (return on investment)

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from austin, tx
My husband and I set up a new 5 gal tank for our neighbor's son for Christmas. We replaced tbe in tank filter that came with the kit with a larger version of the same, neither could keep up, so we put the Aqueon 10 onto the tank and were amazed that it fit the lid cutout perfectly. Our friend wanted easy filter media, and this is where the filter lost a rating's paw. The carbon is scant, I would add another pure carbon pad (cut up an air filter carbon pre filter pad).
The flow is strong so I had to build ledges and caves for some calm areas in the tank and is quieter than the previous filter.
Everyone is happy, especially the Cory, the Platys, and the guppies!
it also freed up a lot of valuable tank real estate!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Flow bad filter

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Castle TX
I have a power 50 on my 40 gallon tank, the filter has great flow and was easy to set up. About a week after I set it up I started to notice the water getting a yellow color to it and I did a 20% water change and left it at that. Through out the next week I noticed the water getting more and more yellow so I changed out the filter cartage and thought maybe that would fix it. I was wrong, the water just kept getting more and more yellow and no matter how many water changes I did or all of the chemicals I put in the water It did not correct the problem. So I'm now looking for a new filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Peoria, IL
I like this filter, however it is not as quiet as they say it is. It did clear a cloudy 55 gallon tank up in less than 12 hours!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

decent filter

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I find these filters to do a good job and I find them to be quiet as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great HOB Filter

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TN
This might be one of the best HOB filters ever made. After 30+ years keeping fish tanks...I have used them all and these have a lot going for them. I especially like the aerator in the outflow. This greatly increases gas exchange. The only improvement I can think of is if they had another chamber for some bio-media...but they do have a plastic grid that will grow bacteria. Very good and quiet filter. I have been using AquaClear filters...but these are easier to keep up and have a higher flow rate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
This is for the model 30 filter, It was very cheap feeling, flimsy, and loud. The way the water exits the filter causes loud constant splashing sounds even with the water level at full capacity. It has a poor design which causes the assembly to sit loosely on the tank resulting in vibrations and buzzing on the tank, even after insulating the pressure points. The water intake tube is also very cheap, it is made to extend to the desired depth but does not have a good clamping system, the tube stays loose and is allowed to rock around with the water current. All in all I would not recommend this filter. I exchanged it for a Tetra brand filter of similar capacity and it is night and day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

does the job. satisfied and they don't crack.

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from usa
we have several aqueon filters different sizes, mostly 55/75. aqueon is the best for the price and so is their heaters. another known brand, where the motor is, cracks, then leaks. I gave a four
because we have a large canister filter system in one tank. that would be a 5. ,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Quiet

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from OH
This filter is great. It barely makes a noise. The only downside is that replacement filter pads are expensive. But, it is easy to make your own. get frost king room air filter. you get a big sheet for less than a dollar. cut out a piece and use a rubber band to attach it to the filter. it is easily washable. ta-da! cheap filter. you can also sandwich carbon between 2 pieces if you like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

filters

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from powell, tn.
received a filter system, not filters for tge system, trying to return.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spokane Washington
I use the 55 75 for my turtle tank. Works great.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter!!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
This filter has been great! Ive had it set up on a 10 gallon saltwater tank for over a year now and have had no problems like I have had with other filters! The tank is in my bedroom and its not noisy at all! My powerhead is louder than the filter lol! I don't know why so many people have been having problems with it being noisy, mine has been perfect! I just clean the filter pads that come with it in old tank water every month and thats about all the maintenance it needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst filter

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought the Aqueon Quietflow 10. The filter is quiet but has horrible suction and the filter cartridges get dirty really fast. This filter is a waste of time and money. Invest in something higher quality like a tetra whisper power filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the best filter

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from East Brunswick, NJ
I got this included in my fish tank kit. At first it was quiet but then became increasingly louder. I replaced this with a fluval after two months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great filter

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from new orleans
the bio- holster and bio- grid work well. the grid has a lot of surface space on the back side, not shown. if you have used bio beads you will like this filter. the bio- holster will also hold other media between the cartage and the holster and the holster will hold media you cut yourself if you want to save some money
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon QuietFlow Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aqueon QuietFlow 55/75

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lynnwood, Wa
I love this filter. Set up was easy, and its noise level is a bit higher than what they describe it as, but even then it's not irritating. It was bigger than my tanks hood would allow, but make an "adjustment" to the hood, and it fits perfectly. Used the filtration system after adding CaribSea beach gravel, and it cleared the water in less than a day.
Glad I made this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>