petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API Algaefix

API Algaefix

Effectively controls green water algae bloomsKeeps aquariums clean and clearWill not harm fish & plantsWeekly use reduces aquarium maintenanceFor freshwater aquarium useMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for API Algaefix
Review 1 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't work.

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CA
I have green water in my aquarium. I was told to try Algaefix. I did and it doesn't work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not good

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hanover, PA
I just received this product today. I put the recommended dose in the aquarium and the fish started going crazy. None of them, including the cories wanted to be near the bottom of the aquarium. It also made the water very cloudy.
I immediately did a major water change and things are starting to calm down
Will not use again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great in planted discus tank

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Greensboro, NC
So pleased. Used UV sterilizers in the past. This worked faster and completely with no evidence of damage to fish or plants so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Repeat Buyer

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from PA
This stuff works great. I have little or no algea throughout the year.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Florida
My white gravel started to turn orange and my glass had rust spots and lines on it. I knew right away I had the start of an algea problem. I bought this and followed the directions adding at night when it was cooler and the lights were off. It cleaned up the problem perfectly in a few days. My glass and my gravel is clean once again. It didn't hurt my fish or my plants so I'm very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT!!!!

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Well to start out I thought my tank was yellow! I invested in carbon and nothing seemed to fix the problem. I did numerous water changes but after a day of having cloudy water the tank would go back to this yellowish color. I finally realized that maybe it wasn't really yellow, it was green. It had gotten so bad that I couldn't even see my fish half the time! I poured in the amount stated on the bottle and within an hour my tank was crystal clear!! It's been about a couple weeks and my tank is still crystal clear. I suggest if you have an algae bloom you buy this product. It was quick and effortless and my tank looks awesome again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfect!

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Franklin Square, NY
This product does its job! Keeps my tank algae free and water clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have a forty gallon tank that had a terrible algae bloom. I couldn't even see a few inches into my tank. I put in the recommened amount and it had started working in 15 minutes. Overall best bang for the buck!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
We have a 20 gallon tank with goldfish & live plants residing in it. The tank has been set up for years. Recently, we had a algae bloom (dark green water) that we couldn't control with just water changes, no light, etc. For over a month we were dealing with this problem! You couldn't even see a 1/4" into the tank! I added just ONE does of API's AlgaeFix, and in less then 1 hour the green water was amazingly clear!! The whole family was just amazed, and we were quite happy to actually see our fish again! I will wait three days, repeat, and then do a water change. We couldn't be more pleased with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Algae Treatment for Turtle Tanks!!

PostedMay 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
from New Milford, CT
Purchased this for my 55 gallon tank that our painted turtle lives in. We were having a horrible algae bloom and could barely even see our turtle in the green water. We think that he rather enjoyed it but we were perplexed on what we could use to treat it w/out hurting the turtle and fish. I read online about the AlgaeFix in a turtle forum and tried it. Amazing results within 3 hrs of first dose! Able to see turtle & fish clearly again. Amazing product and safe to boot!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API Algaefix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AlgaeFix

PostedApril 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from USA
I have a 24 gallon "Aquapod" freshwater tank that aquired an excessive green algae bloom (microscopic algae suspended in the water) a few weeks ago. I tried patial water changes, limiting the light source and feeding...nothing seemed to be working. I could'nt even see the back of the tank. I added just a 1 ml dose of AlaeFix to the water, and in one hour, my water was crystal clear! Most importantly, it didn't seem to harm the fish or live plants. This stuff is great! Do not use this if you have any kind of shellfish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.