petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs

Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs

Kills fleas and ticks while killing flea eggs and larvae preventing reinfestationFast acting, begins to work immediately as it is placed around your pet's neckProvides continued protection up to 5 monthsWaterproofChoose from two sizes
Average Customer Rating:
3.154 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
7 out of 13(54%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Review 1 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO. NOT. BOTHER.

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
MuMuMama
from Rhode Island
We bought this collar after finding ONE flea on our shih-tzu mix. He was given a flea bath at his groomer (who found no subsequent fleas or eggs in the process) and we flea-bombed our home as I have a very low tolerance for insects. By doing EVERYTHING the instructions told us, we were rewarded with another flea AND EGGS on our dog a mere week and a half later!!!!!! We are now in the process of treating our yard because we have found no evidence of fleas in our home!! If we still had the receipt this collar would be going back to Petco for a refund!!! We will be buying a different brand collar... our poor pooch has had enough!!! The scent is also rather gross and the powdery coating is a cause for concern.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works for me

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
TommyB1947
from Meyersdale, PA
Got this on the recommendation of my groomer. Finding nothing but dead flea(s)
If it doesn't work for some people, maybe you forgot to stretch the collar to activate it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving this Collar

PostedJune 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tanyatiger
from Hendersonville, tn
I have 3 pets in the house, confirmed fleas on my kitten who I was told received a spot treatment before I got her. Instead 2 months after getting her, the things couldn't hide anymore, she was infested one day. She is white and fluffy, have no idea how they went without being noticed, especially since I snuggle her all the time. I quickly bathed the kitten, then did some research. I didn't like using the spot on treatments, they never seemed to work in the past, and the greasy spots were horrible, and cats can get it in their mouth. I found this had the better ratings, so I ran down and got it for all my pets. Pets are no longer scratching, seem happy, don't mind the collars. And flea check after flea check comes up negative. I am really happy with this collar just wish they would make it in fashion so it would look cute on my babies, haha. Really awesome Collar!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor quality

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
PuppyLover2009
from Tucson, AZ
I purchased the Adam's collar last summer before my young puppy turned one and shortly after her having contracted Parvo. Living in dessert means that fleas and ticks are heightened in our area which had me worried. After purchasing the collar, I noticed a white powder that came off of the collar and smeared on both of my dog's coats; after one week of wearing the collar it began to fall apart. I figured it was my puppy's playfulness, but my Min Pin is very lethargic, and hers was destroyed as well. After wearing the collars for only one month, our first rains came and virtually destroyed the collars. These collars in my opinion are worthless and a waste of money. I do NOT recommend these to ANYone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
11of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

nothong works

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
grandmabuffy
I'm at the end of my rope. I've tried everything and nothing works. I have fleas that are unstoppable. I chose this collar because of the reviews. But it didn't work for my dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has Worked for Years

PostedJune 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
PDawgGal
from USA & Other Countries
This is the best tick/flea collar out there. It is all I use on my dog and she's never had fleas and only gets maybe one tick per year (if that), whereas before this collar she'd get several ticks per year. I've been using this brand of collar for many years now and it works perfectly.
Last spring/summer I heard from others in the area (at a pet store) talk about how horrid the ticks were that year. I wouldn't have known if I hadn't heard them talk about it 'cause my dog never had a tick on her! This works in every state and country we've lived in and/or travelled to, including Florida and Puerto Rico, so I don't know why some of the other reviewers had issues with their collars even if those were the older versions (they made some changes a couple years ago). Our main residence is surrounded by forest on three sides and the yard is big and grassy with shrubbery. We do have a company treat the lawn for weeds and I think also bugs, but that has only been the last couple of years and this collar worked just fine even when the lawn wasn't treated with anything at all.
Yes, there is a scent to the collar and my dog trainer hated it (would always say it smells like baby powder), but it doesn't bother anybody else all that much. You only smell it when you have your nose right next to it (i.e. when cuddling your dog), so most people won't smell it. The scent is a whole lot better than the scent of spray-on or shampoo flea/tick products!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hated it!

PostedSeptember 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
sweetdog
from Vieques, PR
I bought these collars the end of July & I'm finding ticks on my dogs on 09/19/09. The collars were barely effective for a month & 1/2.
They smelled HORRIBLE also.
A waste of my money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Smell & Waste of Money!!

PostedApril 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
LatinPapi8
from Oakland Park, FL
We live in Florida where the ticks and fleas are rampant!.....After giving my dog his monthly flea and tick bath I put on this collar which SMELLS HORRIBLE!!.... He is still scratching like before wihout the immediate relief that FRONTLINE PLUS provided!! He is in the 45-88lbs group. Can't wait to go back to FRONTLINE!! Waste of Time and Money........Worst Collar Ever!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far So good!

PostedNovember 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
reda
from NC
My dog seems to be doing good with this collar, I have a beagle we live by woods so I needed a good flea collar even this time of year,I noticed when I put it on her she didn't scratch herself to death like usual she has only had it on 2 days but I see a difference much beter than hartz, She and I don't even like the powdery smell!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

MONEY NOT SO WELL WASTED.

PostedAugust 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
DOGKID
IN MY OWN OPINION I THOUGHT THIS ITEM WOULD HELP MY DOG.SO I BROUGHT HOME.BUT WITH IN A FEW DAYS AFTER A FLEA BATH MY POOR DOG HAD FLEAS ONCE MORE.THERE FOR I DUB THIS THE WORST FLEA PRODUCT IN THE WORLD.
P.S SAVE YOUR MONEY.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tick repellent EVER!

PostedMarch 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
klee
We have never had a problem with fleas on any of our cats or dogs, but we do live in a wooded area with a high tick population. This is the ONLY tick remedy that has ever worked reliably on my pets. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Dog Flea Collar!

PostedMarch 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
DoggyMommy2
from Southern California
I needed a dog collar that would stop fleas from biting my dog, who is on the larger side. I got this collar and put it on my dog, who was scratching at the time. It was easy to fit, and you simply cut down the excess that you don't need. It has not slipped off and she doesn't tug at it. Within two days, she stopped scratching! It was amazing. I got a smaller version for my pom too. For the price, you can't beat it. And I think it lasts 5 months too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adams Flea & Tick Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loved it and so did I!

PostedAugust 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sakee0109
from Miami, FL
So we moved to this community were dogs are allowed and my maltese started scratching so bad. I didn't even suspect he had fleas because in 7 years he never had any. Then I actually saw a couple of those jumping on him and I felt desperate, I didn't know what to do. I took him to petco and they recommended this new product. We gave it a shot, and it was great, is still is great, we've had it for 4 months already and it still works. We're about to go get the second one.
I recommended it to all my neighbors and we all agree that this product is just great and inexpensive!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.