petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood

Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood

A beautiful two color African hardwood for aquariums.Use with aquarium plants to create the "naturalistic" aquarium look.One of the hardest and densest woods available; sinks immediately in aquariums and unlike driftwood, will not rot!Made in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.82 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
6
39 out of 50(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Review 1 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely, lovely, lovely

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from WI
I was among those worried about not being able to hand select a piece of driftwood and instead just being given one at random. I absolutely love the piece I was given-- it's gorgeous! The appearance and sale price of this product led to me ordering it for it's main purpose: tannins! Though those tannins are the main complaint of most displeased reviewers, they are exactly what I was looking for; the pH of our tap water is a harsh 8.3, and using chemicals to alter it isn't worth the risk of inconsistency. I didn't presoak the wood whatsoever, simply rinsed it and placed it in our 29g freshwater community tank. I love the natural Amazonian "blackwater" look the tannins give the water-- after eighteen hours the water is a very light tea color, and the pH has dropped .5, down to 7.8. This piece of wood is gorgeous in itself, tinted my water a lovely color, and effectively lowered the pH gradually. Very pleased with this purchase, it has exceeded my expectations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I didn't read about the pre-soaking or boiling process for reducing the brown leeching until after I put my Mopani wood in my aquarium so I had to do frequent water changes for about 3 1/2 months to keep the discoloration at a minimum. It was worth it though. I love the look and all my tank occupants seem to enjoy it as well. I have upgraded to a bigger tank and now need to buy another piece of wood but this time I'll try the pre-soaking thing. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soak it before you use it

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
It's wood, you put it in a tank, easy right? No.
These are very nice, sustainably harvested pieces of wood (I hope) at a reasonable price when they go on sale (during holidays). It beats having to harvest your own hardwood from a stream where it may have accumulated pesticides or heavy metals that will kill your fish. It will be cheaper to keep your tank alive in the long run than to go cheap on found driftwood. Save those pieces for your terrarium or reptile tank.
Let the Mopani wood soak in a bucket overnight.
The next day you will see brown water that has leached out of the wood. Throw that brown water out. Refill the bucket. Repeat.
Day 2 you will still see brown water. Throw out the brown water. Refill the bucket. Repeat.
Day 3 you will still see brown water. Throw out the brown water. Refill the bucket. Repeat until it is less brown or you get fed up with soaking it.
I purchased the medium and small sized versions of the Mopani wood and noticed it took longer for the larger piece of wood to pre-soak to a level that the brown particles start to show less.
If you have enough time you can keep soaking past Day 3, but this was a living thing that is in the process of decomposition. Some fish keepers like tanks with a brownish tinge to mirror actual conditions for certain species of fish. I'm guessing most of us are not that way, but there's that. If your filtration is appropriate, it won't turn your water brown.
Enjoy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comes as advertised

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from park city
GIves your aquarium a natural look. Used it with my java fern
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful natural piece for your tank!

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
The beauty of these natural UNIQUE wood pieces are exceptional, just follow the directions and boil for many hours changing the water several times or soak for several weeks with several water changes to avoid the tea color water which would result from the excessive release of natural tannins. Highly recommended for anyone wishing to lower their water PH naturally!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice natural look added to tanks

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, CA
I like the natural tank look. I have live plants and this mopani wood adds that look I'm going for. Definitely soak in bucket for a few days and changing water as it does releases yellow/brown tint in water. Only thumbs down about product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mopani Wood

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Ordered ten pieces of Petco Mopani wood in large size and was happy with them all. They all looked great and were the size that was advertised or bigger.Please note this wood will usually turn aquarium water a tea brown color for a while. With water changes coloration eventually clears up in time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soaking

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greenville S.C
Just a thought when I need to rinse homemade items I make for my saltwater tank I simply tie a string on them nod put them in the most used toilet in the house ! Than of course weeks later soak in saltwater for a week. Anyways try boiling or soaking = toilet for a few weeks fresh water and when your T water is clear put it in the tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mopani wood works as it should

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
I see many people complaining about the color the driftwood turns their tank. This is caused by tannic acid in the wood, pretty much the same thing that is in tea. As others have pointed out, extended periods of boiling with water changes will reduce tannins. The tannic acid lowers ph. For those of us with hard water, that can be desirable. My fish are from South America (tetras, albino catfish) and need a lower ph. Do research on what your fish particular fish need before adding anything to the tank. I don't mind a slightly stained look for my tank, as that is what is natural and healthy for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

an aquarium must!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mira Loma, ca
I Love it. The fish live it. Here in the outskirts of riverside defiantly have 8.8 ppm Ph it's been in there for a few hours I didn't soak it just washed it and already a drop in ph.. I'm liking this already.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still Leaching tannin

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from new york
I've boiled this product for 2 hours 5 different times and it's still leaching tannin. It looks amazing and i hope it will stop but at this point its hopeless
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mopani

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Powhatan, VA
Great natural decor for your aquarium, I wanted a natural looking habitat, and the wood added what I needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure. I thought it's supposed to sink

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Flower Mound, Tx
I haven't placed this in my tank yet as it's still soaking. I thought mopani wood is supposed to sink immediately, and this is still floating. If it doesn't sink, I'll try swapping it for another piece.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pieces

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wilkes-Barre, PA.
I purchased both the small and medium and couldn't be happier. The sizes were great and the tannins only took a few days to leech out of them. I just started a planted tank and they add so much more to the tank. The fish even seem happier now with the plants and driftwood added.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from 11801
Even after several water rinses in a container and water boiling in a pot, this item still made my fish tank water turn brown. I then disposed of the item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Water in my tank looked like urine :(

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
It was very beautiful in my tank and looked perfect with my live plants. However, after a day, leaked tannis and it looked like someone peed in the tank! I had even soaked for 2 days prior. The pH level was off the chart. I immediately took it out of the tank to soak. Ten days later...still leaking tannis and I change the water daily. My Chinese algae eater (Chow) is bummed I took it out as he was really digging that piece of wood. :( One other thing....it doesn't sink...mine stays afloat about 1/4". I had to bury the ends in the gravel to stay down.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely disappointed

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought one of these displays because it's beautiful and was exactly what I was looking for for our tank. I soaked it for 6 days before putting it into our tank and it STILL leaked tanis which turned the entire 20 gallon tank yellow, requiring us to drain it. It also caused the pH to stay very high. If you do buy one, soak it for weeks, I guess but mine went into the garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
Very good shape. lots of character. soak for several days before use. lots of tanis.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cullowhee, NC
It was exactly what I wanted for my tank, looks fabulous, and is the right size. Didn't release tannins into the water, perfect to go straight into the tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
I bought 3 pieces of this wood to put in my fish tanks as a natural way to bring down my PH, however, I haven't been able to use them because they will not stop leaking tannins into my tanks. I have boiled this for many hours, after many days, and it still leaks! I can handle a little discoloring, but this turns my water a dark brown.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>