petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood

Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood

A beautiful two color African hardwood for aquariums.Use with aquarium plants to create the "naturalistic" aquarium look.One of the hardest and densest woods available; sinks immediately in aquariums and unlike driftwood, will not rot!Made in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
6
31 out of 42(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Review 1 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mopani wood works as it should

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dogmacatma
from Seattle
I see many people complaining about the color the driftwood turns their tank. This is caused by tannic acid in the wood, pretty much the same thing that is in tea. As others have pointed out, extended periods of boiling with water changes will reduce tannins. The tannic acid lowers ph. For those of us with hard water, that can be desirable. My fish are from South America (tetras, albino catfish) and need a lower ph. Do research on what your fish particular fish need before adding anything to the tank. I don't mind a slightly stained look for my tank, as that is what is natural and healthy for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

an aquarium must!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
tilapiaman
from Mira Loma, ca
I Love it. The fish live it. Here in the outskirts of riverside defiantly have 8.8 ppm Ph it's been in there for a few hours I didn't soak it just washed it and already a drop in ph.. I'm liking this already.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still Leaching tannin

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
angryshopper
from new york
I've boiled this product for 2 hours 5 different times and it's still leaching tannin. It looks amazing and i hope it will stop but at this point its hopeless
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mopani

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
oneway88jr
from Powhatan, VA
Great natural decor for your aquarium, I wanted a natural looking habitat, and the wood added what I needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure. I thought it's supposed to sink

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
TabbyRT
from Flower Mound, Tx
I haven't placed this in my tank yet as it's still soaking. I thought mopani wood is supposed to sink immediately, and this is still floating. If it doesn't sink, I'll try swapping it for another piece.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pieces

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rfaulk
from Wilkes-Barre, PA.
I purchased both the small and medium and couldn't be happier. The sizes were great and the tannins only took a few days to leech out of them. I just started a planted tank and they add so much more to the tank. The fish even seem happier now with the plants and driftwood added.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hfdbuff
from 11801
Even after several water rinses in a container and water boiling in a pot, this item still made my fish tank water turn brown. I then disposed of the item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Water in my tank looked like urine :(

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Zeusmum
from San Diego, CA
It was very beautiful in my tank and looked perfect with my live plants. However, after a day, leaked tannis and it looked like someone peed in the tank! I had even soaked for 2 days prior. The pH level was off the chart. I immediately took it out of the tank to soak. Ten days later...still leaking tannis and I change the water daily. My Chinese algae eater (Chow) is bummed I took it out as he was really digging that piece of wood. :( One other thing....it doesn't sink...mine stays afloat about 1/4". I had to bury the ends in the gravel to stay down.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely disappointed

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennifer1593
I bought one of these displays because it's beautiful and was exactly what I was looking for for our tank. I soaked it for 6 days before putting it into our tank and it STILL leaked tanis which turned the entire 20 gallon tank yellow, requiring us to drain it. It also caused the pH to stay very high. If you do buy one, soak it for weeks, I guess but mine went into the garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
WillisD
from Colorado
Very good shape. lots of character. soak for several days before use. lots of tanis.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ceillie
from Cullowhee, NC
It was exactly what I wanted for my tank, looks fabulous, and is the right size. Didn't release tannins into the water, perfect to go straight into the tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
bluesloversrv
I bought 3 pieces of this wood to put in my fish tanks as a natural way to bring down my PH, however, I haven't been able to use them because they will not stop leaking tannins into my tanks. I have boiled this for many hours, after many days, and it still leaks! I can handle a little discoloring, but this turns my water a dark brown.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
ThatDarnBetta
The piece I order was beautiful and really makes my aquarium look great with the live plants I have in it. From ordering online, I was expecting to get a really boring piece of wood but that was not the case. I got a really interesting piece and couldn't be happier with it. It takes a long time to soak the tannins out but its worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

piece of wood for aquarium

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
BlacktopQueen
from NY
This piece of wood is gorgeous. The fish love it and swim thru it .
One problem is that it discolors the water for quite a while as the tannins come out of it.
But I would definitely get another one and I would recommend it to everyone. It is a beautiful addition to my aquarium and the fish love it.
The original reason I wanted to purchase it is because my pleco ate all my live plants that had been flourishing, along with the beautiful braided wood that they were growing on. The pleco loves to cling to this new piece of wood and I don't think he could devour it any time soon......
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BIGGER

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
BASTIN
from miami, fl
AS INSTRUCTED, MAKE SURE YOU SOAK THIS IN WATER BEFORE PLACING IT IN TANK. i LET MINE SOAK FOR 5-6 DAYS, CHANGING THE WATER ONCE OR TWICE EACH DAY TO LET IT RELEASE THE TANIN, OTHERWISE YOUR TANK WATER WILL TURN BROWN.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
forever13
Ignore the people comlaining about "harmful tannins" because for many fish(not all) including South American Tetra's, Betta Splendens, Corydoras, and many more fish, these tannins are actually great for them. It may not look "pretty" because of the tea stained water but theres a good chance it is perfectly fine for your fish. What these tannins do is lower the PH and make the water more acidic. This is GREAT for my fish(neon tetras, and a female betta) You should still ALWAYS soak any type of driftwood before hand however, to get rid of excess tannins. Be patient, the tannins will eventually go away!! Mine is actually still a little bit tea-stained in color, but you can't really tell and my fish love it. Thats also because I only soaked mine for a few days, and didn't boil it. Anyway, I love the way this piece of driftwood looks, I've had it in my tank for a year now, and it looks amazing. As a warning, for the first month or so of a newly set up tank you may get a "ghostly algae: type thing on your driftwood and surrounding decor.... do not freak out and return it to the store- this is perfectly normal and will go away!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful piece of wood

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
BobbyMac29649
from Greenwood SC
I'd been looking for some Mopani Wood and the pieces I liked were $45 & up.
When this piece arrived I was astounded. It truly does look like a piece of art.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

to much work

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
tonyfel
from kissimmee fl
i have this soaking since 10/02/2012.
it is still oozing out tanning.
today i decied to boil it.
i have been boiling it for 5 hours.
water still brown. DO NOT BUY IT. looks nice
but to much work and monet wasted in water.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

cool

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
wensloweaselsneasel
from Neillsville, WI
i got the wood in the mail a week and 5 days ago. i read the reviews before i bought it and heard you need to soak it or boil it before putting it in the tank. ive soaked it in a 5 gallon pail and changed the water every day and sometimes multiple times a day. soaking it in hot water makes the harmful tannins in the wood come out faster than cold water if you're anxious to get it in the tank sooner. the water is still very brown. it's probably going to take quite a while yet before i can put it in my tank, but it's going to look so cool when i do. it will be a unique piece in the tank. thanks petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Aquatic Natural Mopani Wood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unique and the fish and snails love it, but CHECK FOR CRICKETS!

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lambobble
from Omaha, NE
So this is an absolutely gorgeous piece of mopani wood. They are all completely different in terms of color, size, and shape. I only soaked mine for a few hours in warm, conditioned water, and opted not to boil it to remove tannins because I actually like the tinted water look, plus my water is very hard so I hoped it would soften it a bit. Be forewarned, this wood WILL cause your water to be yellowish if you don't boil it before adding it to your tank, so if you're not going for a natural river/lake look, do a google search for "mopani + tannins" to find out how to remove most of the tannins.
My fish and snails love swimming along the wood looking for bits of food and algae. It feels great knowing I am providing them with a natural environment that I know they can sense, as opposed to plastics.
BUT!!! Check for insects inside the nooks and crannies of these pieces of wood! Even though I rinsed and soaked this wood for hours prior to placing it into my tank, about 3 weeks (ughhh) after having it in my aquarium, I gently knocked the wood with a fish net, and a DECAYING CRICKET came floating out from a small nook on the side. I have no idea how I missed it, but it freaked me out and was probably fouling up my water something awful. The cricket looked almost "pickled" after having been in the water so long. *shudder* I'm guessing since Petco also sells crickets, one got loose and found a home inside the wood.
Needless to say, I did a major water change after that and took the wood out and scrubbed and rinsed it like crazy.
So yes, so long as you check for bugs and don't mind the tannins, your critters will love this wood. =o)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>