petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy

VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy

Built to last, the camo bone contains three squeakers and is a wonderful toy for those dogs that like to play tug or chew and whip their toys back and forth.Great for indoor play, outdoor play or trainingWill not hurt teeth or gumsFor medium to large dogs
Average Customer Rating:
2.647 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
16
15 out of 34(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Review 1 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dukethedog
from NC
My dog ripped through this "Tuff" toy in 30min after I got home from petco. My dog is 55 lbs and not very strong. So I definitely would not call this a "Tuff" toy by any means. The packaging said this ranked a 9 out of 10 on the tough scale....I would love to see how long a 10 last
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

lasted 5 minutes.... Maybe

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Houston, Texas
Supposed to be "tuff" my Shepard mix torn this to pieces in literally less than 5 minutes.... A waste of money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not "tuff" enough

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nc2nj
Within 15 minutes, my 8-month old German Shorthair had chewed through a seam & was ripping out stuffing. 5 minutes later, a squeaker was gone. She does love it, but it's proven to be no tougher than the much cheaper toys we pick up at the checkout aisle or in the drugstore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great toy for aggressive chewers

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
GolfrrGrrl
from Charlotte, NC
My 107 lb GSD loves these toys! Typically he uses them only for fetch games but sometimes chews them as well. I try to direct him to other more chewable toys but he loves the squeaky soft chew qualities of a stuffed toy and this works well. He demolishes normal plush in a minute but if you look for a 9 or 10 Tuff rating on Tuffy's toys they are pretty good. Not Indestructible but lasts lots longer than regular plush!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tuffy's the name

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
InsomniaEnergy
from Indianapolis, IN
I have 2 terrier mixes whom has literally destroyed every toy I've ever purchased. I had the black kong toys just be woodchipped within hours. Even though within a few hours a small pile of stuffing was out of this. We can "disembowel" the exposed and torn sections and it leaves a great toy that lasts forever. They will play and chew at and we will "prune" this for months until only remnants are left and we buy another.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Holds up well under pressure...

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyBeaux
from St. Louis, Missouri
My Beaux has torn through every toy he's had...until now. He loves this toy. He's very rough with it and it's holding up very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
lovemygsdstarke
from Idaho
This bone has held up great for my new german shepherd puppy! She has chewed up rugs, rain gutters, soccer balls, etc. and she hasnt been able to rip this yet. It also is a toy that she is really likes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best toy for a destructive big dog!

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linzkristen
I have a 2 year old Yellow Labrador Retreiver and have bought literally every "tough" toy imaginable. We tried several Kong toys as well as other non name brand toys and this brand "Tuffy's" has been AWESOME!!!! I love that it has a squeaker and he hasn't come close to tearing it up and we've had it for about 2 months!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for chewers

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
CaveRock
from Aurora, CO
Our lab mix had it apart at the seams in 20 minutes. Very disappointing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Worth It

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
lillijet
I actually bought the lvl 8 "toughness" bone, and my Dobe managed to find where the seams meet. Thus ripping it to pieces. It did last longer than usual, but she also wasn't as entertained by it for some reason. Not until she started to rip it up of course. Too expensive for your average wanna be tough toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ONLY FOR WIMPY DOGS

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Jeannette, PA
I bought this toy, thinking my pit bull would enjoy but he never got a chance, my jack russell destroyed it within 5 minutes. This is not a tuff toy, do not recommend for any dog with strong teeth!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Tuff Enuf

PostedApril 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
HRL54
from MA
For a product that's listed as "tough" this one fails miserably. Lasted less than 48 hours with my two razor-toothed labradoodles.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tuffy's always a win here.

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
bailsmom698
from Dingmans Ferry, PA
One of the only brands of soft toy that last my 3 dogs more than a day or so. Tuffy is strongly made. They play tug of war with this toy often and it's holding up well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Tuff AT ALL

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
luvmydogsKazu8Cleo
from Ohio
This toy didn't last 2 minutes before my weimaraner had a hole it in. Such a disappointment!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a very durable toy

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Allie0587
Just purchased this toy today. I have an extremely hard time finding durable toys for my 10month old Cane Corso and I was hoping this one would last a while, but it was ripped open in about 5 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not very "heavy duty"

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
StaffyBullBabe
from Fall River, MA
I was really looking forward to purchasing toys from this brand because my staffordshire bull terrier puppy destroys most toys right away. This bone toy did last longer than most toys but he probably tore it open within a month, maybe less. I would recommend this toy to dogs who are average chewers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Product

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
chellemybelle
from Smithfield, ME
It's so hard to fine toys that are soft that don't get torn up in a matter of seconds. This toy did not live up to its name! My Golden Retriever didn't have it more then 30 minutes and she had already torn into it and pulled out the squeaker. I cannot believe I paid 15.00 for this junk!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Tuffy Toys

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
tuffys
I have heavy chewers and these toys last the longest!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tuff Scale rating to high

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Firedogs2x
from Chandler, AZ
I own two Dalmatians and the boy who is 4 1/2 years old loves to destroy toys with squeakers. So when I saw this in the dog store and noticed the name I was interested in learning more. I read all about the Tuff Scale and I figured since this is a 9 I would give it a try. From the overall looks this seems to be a well made toy with the heavy black seams, two rows of stitching, and the heavy looking insert material. So I bought it for him in hopes that it would last. Within 15 minutes of giving it to him he ripped a chunk of the black seem right off. He continued to work the edges and a section of the insert material. Now 24 hours later he was able to tear a hole in the insert material and one squeaker has been laid to rest. Since this is the first time I have ever seen the Tuff Scale I do not have anything to compare it to. I just believe maybe a 9 is a couple numbers to high.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for VIP Products Tuffy's Bone Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fun Toy - Not Durable

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Peanut13
I bought this toy for my 6 mo. beagle-mix puppy this morning. I wish I would have read the reviews before I went to the store.
Peanut's been a problem chewer as of late, tearing up all of his soft toys. He loves this toy - has been chewing on it for the past three hours. Unfortunately, the seams are already starting to rip.
The lambswool chewman toy has been the best toy for Peanut - it's lasted for months without any tears or rips. If you have a chewer, try that instead. Keep in mind - the squeaker is LOUD, which can get annoying.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>