petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats

Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats

High-calorie dietary supplement for catsVeterinarian recommendedQuality nutrition, great tasting energizer for "picky eaters"
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Review 1 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for elderly cat

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orting,WA
I am happy that I tried this product. I have an elderly cat that due to not eating is getting very skinny. I have tried different canned foods as well as baby food to get her to eat. No luck. She licks this up without any problem and I have seen an increase in energy as she will start the play with our younger cat. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicago IL
This stuff is wondefful. My 13 year old kitty was eating high quality food, and had a good appetite, but very skinny, seemed unable to retain nutritional value from her food. Had no energy Was sickly and going down hill. As soon as she started on this formula, she started improving immediately. I would certainly recommend anyone with a cat suffering similar to try this; have not tried their other products but would not hesitate to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Short-Term Vitamin Boost

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central Florida
Short-term Use Only. My cat had an operation and suffers from weight-loss. I bought one tube to support his recovery. The main ingredient is corn syrup which acts as a flavoring and catalyst for other nutrients. My cat is indifferent to it. All cats are different, so only buy one tube to try. This is not a food substitute or "meal." Rather, it is a "vitamin pill with a spoonful of sugar." I would not use this for diabetic cats. If your cat uses supplements from a vet, Nutrical may be unnecessary. Long-term use might cause cavities.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cat was repulsed and refuses to take this gel.

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Henderson, NV
My cat Max is almost 14 years old and has lost nearly half his weight in the last few months due to a hyperthyroid condition. He's very weak and I needed to do something to get some meat back on his bones. I was extremely excited when I read all the positive reviews on Nutri-Cal and was sure I had found the product that would finally help my poor weak cat. The minute I got home I filled up a teaspoon full of gel and brought it to him. He took a few sniffs, cocked his head back and turned away. I tried again and again but it was the same result. I smeared a bit on his lips knowing he would lick it off...he did but was totally repulsed. I spent over $12 on this product at a Petco store and my hopes for getting some weight on are dashed. I'm sure this product works for a lot of cats but please reserve your hopes until you know your's will like it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great nutritional caloric gel!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Nutri-Cal is a great product for kitties that are sick or underweight for any reason. I once had a cat with anorexia who practically lived on the stuff for nearly 20 years. Now I have a cat with lung cancer and it is helping to give her vitamins and calories to keep maintaining her weight and "health" through this disease. I can't say enough great things about this product. Just be careful not to give it to healthy weight or overweight cats as it does contain a lot of calories. Even cats who do not like the malt flavors of some of the laxative gels seem to like this stuff. If you need to use it, Nutri-Cal is awesome! I put a ribbon of it on baby food or cat food to tempt our cat to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

glad you still carry this

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from SLC Utah
I cannot find Neutrical in my local stores on a regular basis and it's the only product my pets will take willingly. The others have a flavor they do not like. I'm thrilled that they get their necessary nutrition, plus enjoy the taste. I can usually get free shipping and buy Neutrical on sale. Getting it deliverd to my house is a real plus.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful to keep on hand.

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lakeport, Ca.
I am involved in the rescue and care of many abandoned cats in my neighborhood. They often come to me with many health problems. I use Tomlyn Nuti-Cal to supplement their diet, and help them get stronger after an illness, or not being fed adequately. It is readily accepted by them as they recover.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from SLC, Utah
Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats allowed me to have more time with my 17 year old cat. Without the added calories Nutri-Cal gave him, he wouldn't have lived as long as he did. For that I'm grateful Tomlyn and PetCo.
rest in peace Ollie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tomlyn Nutri-Cal for Cats

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Roanoke, VA
This product is great for finicky senior cats. My 16-year old kitty was angry at me upon returning from the vet and refused to eat her wet food. She has hyperthyroid and it's important to maintain her weight. This product was very helpful at stimulating her appetite again and at sustaining her strength until she decided to eat again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ryu!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from harlingen, tx
My cat Ryu has feline leukemia and there are those rare times where he has a low appetite. He loves to eat but he never seems to gain weight. So I bought this one day when he seemed to be hungry but wasn't eating much. So I knew at least he was getting some nutrition. I still give him some every other day for added calories. He likes it. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat likes it.

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
Despite medication, my cat has lost about 3 lbs over the past year due to an overactive thyroid condition. She has a good appetite, but can't keep most foods down. Hopefully, this stuff will help her to gain some weight. She loves it! So far no nausia...
My only complaint is that when the order of two tubes was delivered, the ends of the tubes were split open and leaking. It made a BIG mess. Fortunately, the tubes were both inside a plastic bag inside the shipping box. I've had to try to seal the end of the tubes with tape.
I will not order this on-line again, but will visit the local Petco to purchase more. (After I recover from my hip replacement and can drive again.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats Love It

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kanab, UT
I tried this product because a product I used for many years has been discontinued- Nutrimalt by Sentry. Other supplements have been greasy & tend to separate. Not only do my cats love this product, it does not separate & it had a top that makes it easy for the cat to lick supplement right off the open top. Highly recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for Picky Animals

PostedJune 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Bedford, TX
My cat is at the beginning stages of kidney failure, so he doesn't always have a healthy appetite. PETCO recommended this and on days that my cat decides not to eat, I give him this and know that at least he has received something! I put it on th bottom of his paw because he doesn't voluntarily eat it, but he seems to like it ok! I would recommend it to anyone who has a finicky eater or a cat that doesn't always eat correctly due to medical problems! When cats don't eat, their organs shut down and even one day is not good for them! This product saves lives! Literally!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutritious and (apparently) tasty

PostedOctober 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Carson City, Nevada
I originally began using this product as a nutritional supplement for my severely underweight shelter cat. Now that his weight has stabilized, I use it as an extra-special treat because he absolutely ADORES it. With Nutri-Cal as a reward, he'll happily sit still while I trim his nails, and he purrs and drools the whole time because he knows the Nutri-Cal comes at the end of it. It must be yummy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tomlyn Nutri-Cal For Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from New York
Sometimes as pet owners we often wonder if we are giving our cat the proper nutrishion he or she needs. Tomlyn Nutri- Cal for Cats is the best nutritional supplement I have seen on the market. In my opinion it is the closest thing to the nutritional supplements given by vets. My cat loves the great taste and I know he is getting the proper nutrition. Try it out! You or your cat wont regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.