petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder

Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder

Existing plaster blocks are "old school" technology that can wreak havoc on your water qualityTetra's innovative new gel feeder blocks contain no plaster and feed up to fourteen days with the Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release FeederFeeders do not cloud water and may stay in your tank when you return from vacation
Average Customer Rating:
2.389 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
10
6 out of 18(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Review 1 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hoping to help others

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I recently tried this feeder for a 3 gal eclipse system I have. Was gone for over a week only to come home and find out the product was in the same condition as when I left. It did not release anyting & I was surprised my fish were still alive. I normally don't write reviews but couldn't resist this one in hopes to help others save some money. The product is horrible and I am surprised it remains on shelves. There were no other directions than to drop in the recommended portion so I will assume the ones who had sucess with the product were the ones who's fish nibbled at it and picked it apart. It does not release any food otherwise. The only reason I gave it 1 "paw" was b/c it did not cloud my tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, WA
I tried these gels disk feeders recently and they are worthless. The gel didn't dissolve at all. I was gone for 5 days and it was intact at the bottom of my tank when I got home.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tried it

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
It feed pretty well, no cloudy water here, but my plecostamus (sp, sorry) parked himself on it and pretty much ate the whole thing...so I drop in in the middle of a spiky fake plastic plant he can't get into and it lasts the weekend. Debating on an auto feeder, since we go away every other weekend and I prob have spent the equivalent of an auto feeder with the Tetra disks...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Clouding

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I bought this for my fish for a vacation and I put the feeder into my tank a day and a half before leaving, just to make sure the fish were eating off of it. They loved it, but the next morning my tank was incredibly cloudy. I left it in for the afternoon and it just got worse. I finally just took it out. I'll have my friend come and feed them instead.
I was also afraid the fish might overfeed themselves on it. It seemed like every time I walked by there were at least 2 of my few fish feeding on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please use other means

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York,NY
I tested the 5 day supply before my vacation. After even just three days, the gel Tetra feed is largely there, five days still there. My danios, glofish, oto cat and shrimps hardly touched it. I'm thinking the gel doesn't release easy because when I picked it out of tank it was still firm, maybe they have to soften or redesign it better. Always try your food before you leave for vacation.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not at all useful

PostedMay 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
None of my fish had or will have even a bite of them. I gave them to tropical freshwater including barbs, gouramis, mollies, platies, guppies, blood parrots, other cichlids, tetras and rasbora.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

vacation feeders great for babies

PostedMarch 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
We had a vacation feeder in while we were gone for two days, it was a 5 day feeder, and when we got home we just left it in. The next morning we had new babies, and I think because the other fish's pallets were satisfied, they hardly went after the young fry! Now, two months later, we have about 30 plattys and about 20 guppies that made it past the one week stage (where we so often loose them) and now, we are expecting another batch from a new momma...... It is so exciting watching them mature and get their colors etc! I attribute it to the feeder being in the tank when they were young. Also- we did add another feeder after the first was gone. They really last a lot longer than what the package says..... Although, Petco hasn't had much for stock on the shelves lately. Maybe others are getting to know what it is worth!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Worked well enough

PostedDecember 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
I was gone for four days and the weekend feeder fed my fish for a good five days, but they were able to take chucks of it out of the tin and leave it on the gravel. After I came back, a lot of the food was under the gravel (i was able to see it because it was next to the glass) and brown algae began to grow.
It did it's job so i give it a 3/5.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

fish didn't like

PostedApril 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from wv
thought i would try this in case we went away for the weekend. the community fish ignored it but the snails loved it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great to use

PostedMarch 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from El paso TEXAS
I went on vacation for a week. I placed the feeder in my ten gallon tank for all five goldfish. I came back and the goldfish still had a lot left over. I can't believe that other people have had a bad experience. .. I find it great to use as the fish can naturally feed when they are hungry...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

they dont do that bad

PostedFebruary 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
from colorado
we put them in the tanks when we went on are honey moon and they worked well. but we toke them out of the tin and have high ph in the tank. So that maybe why they worked so well
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Completely Ineffective

PostedJanuary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I bought three of these tins and put two of them in my tank before leaving for a six-day trip. When I returned, the tins were completely full, completely intact, and my fish were starving. I know I didn't "do" something wrong because the only instructions are to remove the foil seal and drop it in the tank. I took the remaining one back to the store because these were completely ineffective, and I've never had any problems with the white plaster blocks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Vacation Tropical Slow Release Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not recommend it

PostedAugust 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
before I went on a long vacation, I tested the food block (white block) and this jelly like food, but just after 3, 4 days while I was cleaning my tanks, I found there was some mold under this jelly food. I also noticed that my fish like the white food block better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.