petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles

Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles

Features Whisper filtration with easily-replaceable Bio Bags that keep water clear and odor freeReptile tank filter includes large intake holes to prevent cloggingLocking cover keeps animals out of the filtration area and provides an ideal spot for baskingRealistic rock décor with waterfall makes it an attractive turtle tank filterIncludes Tetra Care free assistance with setting up and maintaining your aquatic terrarium
Average Customer Rating:
3.85 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
31 out of 39(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Review 1 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patchy1
from Bronx, NY
I had this filter for 6 years now and works great. I only need to completely clean the tank three times a year. My turtle is 30 years old and loves her home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible product

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gossamer
from Sayville, ny
This filter does a terrible job. I have 2 small red eared sliders in a 20 gallon tank. I have to do a complete water change every 4-5 days otherwise the water is so murky you can't see them. I would not recommend this product at all. Plus the top ledges stand out farther than the lower ones so there's no way for my little guys to climb on top unless I completely covered it which is past the max fill line.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
ANMB4
from Chesapeake, VA
I wasn't expecting this to be as great a product as it is considering how inexpesive it was. I am extremely please! The product exceeded my expectations!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice addition

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
TurtleMom20
from Northern WI
This filter is quieter than our last tetra brand one. It also looks really nice in the tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
TLoJustine
I put the filter in my Chinese Water Dragons terrarium, not only do I love it but he does to! He likes to sit on the top. The water was foggy when it started but within an hour it was cleared up. It is a little noisy but its understandable considering that it is a waterfall. Great product and I'm so happy I purchased it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Painted turtle tank

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom4boys
Looks great in our tank
Larger than I expected
Filters great
Little loud
Not climbable for turtle
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

good

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
melanied
from san antonio tx
I have had this filter for a a couple and it has now stopped working it is very frustrating it hasn't really done a good job keeping the tank clean. it is always getting clogged I have to clean it twice a week at least.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ReptoFilter-Great For Turtles

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Creative21
from New Jersey
This is my second ReptoFilter, it is the only in the tank filter that keeps the water clean for at least 10 days for my Aquatic Turtle. He also likes it and enjoys snuggling up next to it. I bought the first one when they just came out, and this model is made better than that one! Great Filter, really works and lasts a long time!
I would recommend this to anyone having an aquatic turtle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, exactly what my frog needed.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ninjasmine
The Reptofilter is absolutely great. Not only does it contain dual-filters for functionality, the decor makes my frog's tank look like a peaceful pond. It's perfect for tanks that need shallow water, and it filters out the water through a beautiful waterfall. It's definitely less noisy than my previous filters, and sounds peaceful due to the trickling noises, rather than splashing noises my previous filters made. I use it in my 10 gallon tank - due to the size, it makes the tank seem a little cramped, but all in all I like the look it gives! I'd definitely recommend for 10 gal tanks and higher.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
OahuLove
from Pacifica, CA
My boyfriend and I received two fire belly toads from friends of our and decided to buy this when building their new home. The frogs share a home with 5 neon teteras and this works wonderfully. It looks nice and does the job!
Highly recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Waterfall

PostedJune 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
mommoshome
from Philadelphia, PA
It's a cool item, quieter than the usual aquarium filter. The only negative is that the difference between the max water level and top of the waterfall does not allow for the turtles to climb up there and bask as advertised.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
SoldierWife
I bought this filter for my two RES hatchlings. It worked great for the first few months when they were really small but now that they are about 6 months old it does a horrible job. I have to clean the water on almost a daily basis as it doesn't pic of anything from the bottom of the tank. The food particles left over from there pellets make a huge mess and the filter doesn't help one bit. I have just ordered a canister filter and this is going to become just a decoration in the thank... That is about all its good for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helpful Filter

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
PinkLily
from Ohio, OH
I have had the filter for approximately two weeks and I can tell that it has had an impact on my tank. My two red eared sliders were reluctant of the new design of their tank but after a few days took a real liking to it. The waterfall feature is really nice and I love the natural look of it. I can understand the other comments of it not being strong enough but I just scoop up any residue left on the bottom of the tank myself. I really don't expect a filter to pick up turtle droppings so it wasn't a problem. Overall it is a nice filter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My second one

PostedFebruary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
kikiCameraQueen
I liked this so much that I got a second one for another tank. My turtles love to climb up, bask and dive off. With normal up keep it works awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very cool!

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
eddie140bx
from Bronx,NY
Ok, First off this thing is amazing..I had the Exo-Terra medium waterfall, But it was made cheaply and cracked in 1 day. This waterfall/filter is made heavy duty. The texture of the waterfall is very strong and feels real. This comes with 2 filters, the water pressure is great compared to the Exo-Terra product. Its very silent, if you have the top places wrong it will make a humming noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
siar15
from Conneticut, CT
i bought this filter for my cute newt and it works sooo cool and great! plus it makes my newt's habbitat complete and relistic! not to mention the water fall looks AWESOME!!!!! i recomend this to any reptile owner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Recommended

PostedNovember 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kate11
I bought this for my turtle thinking that it would be great for the tank that my fiance biult for him. No, the sucction is horrible, crum remains to stay on the bottom of the tank. Super hard to clean, I take water and woosh it around and algae debri still stays in the bottom cant fit a sponge in it and is very sharp. I ended up buying a Zoo med 501 filter and now I use both. My tutle loves water flowing so both filters work great for that. The filters only last a week then it doesnt allow the water to get to the filter so it makes a horrible noise. Just a pain all in all. Great decoration though!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

coooooooool

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Guitarmaster2239
from Laredo Texas
The detail is awesome.The filter works great it's quiet and i would recomended to anyone who doesn't like noise.But it would be beter if the price went down a little.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item for small ponds

PostedAugust 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sunjo
I made a 4 gallon salt water pond for my hermit crabs and stuck this in the corner, I also had monapi wood in the pond which discolored the water quite badly and the filter actually cleared that up in 8 hours or so.
I would definitely recommend this item, it's nice to look at, and the motor is very quiet, just make sure you have at least 4 inches deep of water for it to work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Decorative ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not happy with the filter

PostedJune 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
tip109
I bought this filture for my two red ear sliders. The filter isn't very strong, and it left poo on the bottom of the tank. They hadn't been in the tank for more than three days when the filter started to make funny sounds, and not cleaning the tank at all! Not good at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>