petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies

Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies

Kills fleas, ticks and mosquitoes for up to four weeksSafe to use on your dog and around your family when applied as directedNatural active ingredients, peppermint, cinnamon, lemon grass and thyme oilSafe for dogs & puppies over 12 weeks of age
Average Customer Rating:
3.137 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
17
30 out of 51(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Review 1 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dog's fur coming out in clumps!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dee4
from CT
Like the title says, I really wanted this to work. It's natural, I actually like the smell and it may do a good job. I never found out. The first try, my shepherd/lab mix's fur started coming out in clumps on her back (2 days later). I reported it and they told me to bathe her w/ dish soap, use Vit E and ice packs for inflammation. I tried it because I did extensive research through vets, naturopathic vets, and valid online sites on other pet flea and tick products due to carcinogens and side effects that conventional meds cause. I can't use Advantix because I have cats and it could kill them if they groom the dog within 12 hours or so after I apply it. Not taking chances, thank you. It also can cause skin reactions, contains a carcinogen and could put my dog into convulsions. Bio Spot, Vectra 3D, ParaStar Plus (which contains WAY too much medicine) and many others are just as bad or worse. Frontline Plus is the least of all the evils, so I guess I'll go back to that since it didn't cause reactions the first time I tried it on her and I know it does work on fleas and ticks from experience with my last dog. It can cause thyroid cancer over time though. I won't try knock-offs like it (Fiproguard, Pet Armor Plus) since they have many undisclosed ingredients which could be toxic. As soon as it's not flea and tick season, I'll stop again. The less meds and vaccines for our dogs the better! It's killing them. Vets have got to know that if most people do. It's common sense. They are trained by drug co's that market to their vet schools to say/think that the benefits outweigh the side effects. BS. How come dogs in particular used to live longer then? Drug co's say that with dog's life expectancies growing LONGER (?!) that cancers and disease also rise with it. Look at the facts. They've lost many years of life over 2 decades and the only changes made since our parents had animals is that we vaccinate them more and have all these chemicals we are supposed to put on them in order to be considered "good owners" now. Scary. I remember when we used to spend about $60/year in vet bills per pet. Don't you? I lost my dog last July to a rare cancer. He had a tumor in his heart that bled out and put him in shock with no symptoms or warnings even hours before. Perfectly healthy 9 year old lab. Explain THAT to your 5 year old why her best friend died. Older, yes. We looked at his food and had our well water tested. The only thing fingers could point to was Heartguard Plus which is known to cause cancer over time. That's why I'm using Interceptor now, again the least of the evils. If I didn't live in CT in the woods with high populations of fleas ticks and mosquitos, I wouldn't use any of this. I implore all technicians, scientists, engineers, "green consultants" and anyone else in this field to PLEASE COME UP WITH SOMETHING GOOD-and that's affordable. But as we all know, that's another story...hope this helps all who read it. Blessings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I really wanted this to work...but...

PostedJune 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaxAndElliesMommy
from Houston, TX
I'm the type of person who hates chemicals. I eat as organic as I can, live by herbal medicine, even my own shampoo is organic. So naturally I really wanted this to work on my pets. I'm sad to say that after applying the recommended amount to each of my dogs, it DID NOT WORK. Not even a little. In fact, I noticed more fleas on my dogs than I had ever seen before. Almost as if the stuff was attracting fleas. People talk about the smell, but to me it had a lemon scent that actually smelled great! Unfortunately, that's all it was good for. Also, one of my dogs has long fine hair (small chihuahua)- after applying the product her hair was wire like, oily, and absolutely disgusting. This even after brushing her an hour or so later (I wanted to give the oils time to soak in to her skin). The other dog is white with short hair. Well he WAS white- now he has what seems to be a perminant yellow mark all the way down his back and neck. However, this wouldn't matter to me as long as the product did what it was supposed to. Please don't waste your money on this. Like I said, I wish it would have worked even a little, but I'm sorry to say that it did not. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well On My Two Dogs

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
WipeOut97
from NC
I have two dogs and live in an apartment complex so my dogs are around where dozens of other dogs walk daily. This summer was the worst flea summer I have ever experienced and purchased a 3 month supply of Frontline for both of my dogs. I treated them 3 months in a row and the results were terrible. No matter how many times I bathed them, fogged the house, and treated them with frontline my Brittanys were still scratching. I finally broke down and tried alternative flea products and this was one of them. Within 72 hours of applying this, bathing my dogs, and bombing my house the fleas were almost completely gone. I had to re-apply after two weeks the first time I treated them but after that I switched to every 4 and have been flea free for a while. The odor on this product is strong so if earthy smells bother you I would not recommend it. To me it smells great and actually leaves a nice smell in our home for the first 24 hours.
On another note it did leave a slight stain on both dogs but nothing worse than frontline did each month so I am not sure why so many people complain about this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Natural product!

PostedAugust 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
teaberries
from New England, USA
I'm another pet owner who is guilty of having used the harmful flea/tick products purchased from my vet and manufactured by the huge pharmaceutical companies (who are incidentally the same people who make the veterinary chemo drugs, hmmm). I found this product three months ago after the FDA spoke out about the potential dangers of the other products. Three long, hot, and humid summer months have now passed in the northeast and I'm delighted to say that my Lab has not had a single tick, nor flea, nor been bothered greatly by mosquitoes since we started using Natural Defense! After month two's application he did, coincidentally, develop a slight skin rash, so now I cut the product with a very small (1 teaspoon) of vegetable oil before applying to his skin. It's fantastic! I can't recommend this product over the other potentially cancer-causing products highly enough!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money this Doesn't work

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
bordercollieslover
I bought this for my border collies I applied the Sentry Natural Defense squeeze like they said and my dog still had ticks on her the product never worked like it said it would I am very Unhappy to have a dog covered in ticks I thought this would be a great product since they claim it is all natural but Man Was I wrong it doesn't work and just has a bad smell to it! I had to pull off over a dozen ticks because the item never worked I should have just stock with Advintix which never had any issues with killing ticks I am so sorry I wanted to save money and try a natural defense to kill the ticks because all I ended up with was a major tick problem I would not recommend this to anyone unless you want to waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMyDoxiez
from Timberlake, NC
We just moved to NC and never experienced so many ticks as there are here. We rarely needed or used a repellent for ticks until now. I believe in using as much organic products as we can, and this goes for pets now too. Thought we give it a try. We were pulling ticks off every day, and when we applied this product, yes it smells like cloves, but I'm ok with that, better than chemicals. Wow, we have not had a tick since. Because we live in an area where ticks are heavly invested, we may have to reapply in a shorter time. Right now, we are on week 3 and no ticks, keeping our fingers crossed. Will be buying more of this product to continue use on my 3 dachshunds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great smell, effective & safe

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
ShepherdLover07
from Portland, ME
My 5 month old pup doesn't have any signs of fleas or ticks, but I still wanted her to be on a preventative because she goes to the dog park & is out in public areas a lot. I was scared to use a product with harsh pesticides and chemicals that might prove to be too much for a young pup, so I chose this. The smell is great! Smells just like vanilla-spice. The only draw back is it makes the dog a little oily and things tend to "stick" to her until it absorbs in. I would definitely not recommend using this product on more than 2 dogs at once because the smell could be overwhelming indoors. We're hoping the product will continue to keep fleas & ticks repelled!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Flea Treatment for My Dogs

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Papillonmommy
from San Diego, CA
Was very excited about the natural ingredients, so I bought and applied to my Papillons. The scent was too overpowering actually gave me a headache. Within 2 days both dogs were covered in fleas and my white dog's fur was stained where the product was applied. The yellow stain would not wear off and I wanted to make sure it was safe to give them another flea treatment, so I called the 800 number on the back of the box. They wanted me to wait a full 30 days before giving them any other flea treatments and told me to just wash my dog with dish soap. Four baths later and still covered in fleas, my dog's fur is still stained yellow. I'll stick to what works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bettyboop59
I have been using this product for a while now. I didn't at first like the strong smell. But I got used to it. It works great on my dog. My dog gets bad seizures and it helps him from getting them (besides using meds). I give it to him every 2 weeks and he hasn't had any seizures in 10 months. He used to get them monthly. I showed my nutritionist and she said it has oils in there that is calming for the brain. I feel the other flea products created his seizures. If this flea product goes to the brain and helps my dog. Imagine what that pesticide does to the brain with the other products.
I feel everybody should give this product a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Using it for years

PostedMarch 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
oakley
I have been using this product for many years. I like the fact that it is all natural. Yes, it does have a smell, I think it smells like lemon grass and spice. I rather have something natural on my dogs rather a harsh chemical that I am scared of. At least I know that it will not harm either of my dogs or the kids that play with them. I never let the kids around the dogs for a few days after I applied other products and that is not fair to them since the kids love the dogs and they are part of our family. Ask yourself what would you rather have. Chemicals on the kids and dogs or a spice smell for a few days? LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
msheather8
from san diego
I used this product last year and it worked great. My 5lb toy poodle has had seizures in the past from frontline so I no longer use those types of flea meds for him. San Diego has had a horrible flea season this year and I decided to try this again. It worked within one day. I am using other products throughout my home along with this one, but I havnt found one flea on him since the initial application and its been a week. I plan on giving it to him once every 2 weeks instead of once a month since I've heard it isnt as effective and the website says its okay to do so:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Natural is Best

PostedApril 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
LuvMyRotti
from Sacramento, CA
I would feel very comfortable recommending this product to anybody. I've used it on my Rotti since he was 4 wks old and he's never had fleas, ticks or mosquitto bites. It has natual ingredients that humans use in their baking or as aromatherapy oils. It is a little strong but smells much better than the chemicals in other spot on products like this and it's harmless to my dog which makes it worth while to me. If you apply it as a strip along their back deep down in the fur it doesn't leave their fur as oily as just putting it on their neck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great idea, not strong enough for dense flea populations

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
khaleesi
from california
I love the idea of this product, and actually quite enjoy the pleasant natural scent (though quite strong). Unfortunately though in the case of my jack russell terrier vs. a dastardly flea population, this just isn't strong enough. After the first application, I noticed active fleas for several weeks but no eggs until about 3 weeks later. After the 2nd application, I noticed fewer active fleas hitching a ride with him, but that the eggs showed up well before two weeks had gone by.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just right

PostedSeptember 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
DoxieMD
Yes, it does cause any oily spot, as they all do, but apply along the length of dog the oil will work its way in by 2 days. Yes, it smells, mint c a hint of spice, but all squeeze ons have an order at least this one is natural and I am not afraid for the chemicals to rub off onto me, or the bedding, nor am I concerned if they pups groom some of it off one another. No flees on my girls, maybe others reviewers have a carpet infestation and no topical can out kill that problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible smell

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
horsegirl123
from orange, ca
First off I bought this product because I was low on cash and wanted to try something new. I also bought it because it was scented. I can't tell you about the effectiveness as my cattle dog still itches and bites his skin. I must say the smell alone is not worth it. I bought it wanting the smell but good lord is it strong and not in a good way! I had to wash it off him the next day.. Like I said I thought the smell would be nice but boy was I wrong.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Natural Remedy!

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Diego, CA
When you first put it on, the smell IS strong, but I think it's awesome. It's like my dog is a scented candle walking around the house :)
I squeeze some on my dog after a bath and it keeps fleas and ticks off! I'm so happy that the ingredients are all natural oils / chemicals I can recognize and that it's safer than using the conventional drops that are covered in warning labels and many cases of dogs adverse life-threatening reactions
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

An ok product

PostedJune 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Aileen
from Bridgewater, NJ
I say it works about 80 percent of the time. My bully doesn't have fleas nor does she have mosquito bites, but I still find ticks on her.
I do like the fact that it's natural, and I don't mind the scent on it - it disappears after 2 days. There is some staining on her white coat, but that all goes away once you bath her. All in all, I'll still use this product since I'd rather use a natural product opposed to all these chemicals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plus and Minus

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tabasco
We have 5 Newfoundland dogs and live in a densely wooded area. The dogs all have adverse reactions to more chemically based Tick medicine; the chemical based products really make their skin irritated and scabby. Sentry Natural Defense gives us none of these problems. However, it (like many products) are not 100% effective. This is a bad tick season and despite using this product, each dog usually has 1-4 ticks per week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
RottiMom2
I have been using this product on both dogs now for about a year, and I really like the fact I am not putting harmful chemicals on them every month. The price is great too. We also use the Feline version on our Cat as well. The house smells like peppermint for a few days, but its worth it. The only thing I have noticed is that all of the animals experience about a week of "dandruff" after placing the product on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Stuff

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
NHDogLover
from Atkinson, NH
This product works great and its safe for the animal and your family. The one downfall is the first day you apply it to the animal the scent is very strong (clove oil) but it wears off by the second day. I would much rather put up with a strong scent for a day than to put pesticides on my animal!!!!!! Great product with great results I live in a wooded area and no tics or fleas since the application.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>