petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies

Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies

Kills fleas, ticks and mosquitoes for up to four weeksSafe to use on your dog and around your family when applied as directedNatural active ingredients, peppermint, cinnamon, lemon grass and thyme oilSafe for dogs & puppies over 12 weeks of age
Average Customer Rating:
3.096 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
18
30 out of 52(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Review 1 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money. Smells bad, doesn't work.

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pleasant Hill, CA
I really wanted to like this product. The smell of cloves was so cloying and strong, it gave me a sore throat for several days (which is how long the smell took to go away). Also the product just doesn't work. There are now many more fleas than we started out with, the dogs still smell like cloves and I am poorer as a result of this experiment. Never again. Honestly Petco should take it off the shelves, because I feel like selling it is out of integrity. (ie if they sell it as flea killer, it ought to actually kill fleas) In fact I spent 30 minutes trying to figure out how to log in so I could leave a review and warn people...unless you LOVE the smell of cloves and your dog doesn't actually have any fleas, this is NOT one to buy. Don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wanted to like it...

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
But I think it just seasoned my dog for the fleas. I really wanted it to work, and was hoping not to have to give my dog toxic pesticides... But my poor pup just smelled like a strange coffeehouse and the fleas didn't seem to care. When I found a flea in my bed, that was it. Off we went to get stuff that actually works. Very sad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible smell

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from orange, ca
First off I bought this product because I was low on cash and wanted to try something new. I also bought it because it was scented. I can't tell you about the effectiveness as my cattle dog still itches and bites his skin. I must say the smell alone is not worth it. I bought it wanting the smell but good lord is it strong and not in a good way! I had to wash it off him the next day.. Like I said I thought the smell would be nice but boy was I wrong.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible - Doesn't Work, but smells good

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
Don't use on White pets, Stains them orange. It does not work at all to keep pests or fleas off pets.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great idea, not strong enough for dense flea populations

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from california
I love the idea of this product, and actually quite enjoy the pleasant natural scent (though quite strong). Unfortunately though in the case of my jack russell terrier vs. a dastardly flea population, this just isn't strong enough. After the first application, I noticed active fleas for several weeks but no eggs until about 3 weeks later. After the 2nd application, I noticed fewer active fleas hitching a ride with him, but that the eggs showed up well before two weeks had gone by.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Great

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kind of wierd with so many people wining about the smell. This product works great and smells great! Not a strong smell and makes your room smell like a sented candle when the dog is in it with you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sensitivity to product

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
My little 7 lb long hair chihuahua hasn't had any fleas for ticks but this product really bothers him. I like the idea of a natural product but the way he reacts makes me feel terrible. It also has a very strong smell for the first couple of days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sentry Natual Defense

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Farmington,MN
The fumes from this flea and tick application
are so strong it gives us a headache.
My dog rolls around on the lawn trying to get it off. AND sbe js listless laying in her kennel so the odor must be getting to her, too
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from san diego
I used this product last year and it worked great. My 5lb toy poodle has had seizures in the past from frontline so I no longer use those types of flea meds for him. San Diego has had a horrible flea season this year and I decided to try this again. It worked within one day. I am using other products throughout my home along with this one, but I havnt found one flea on him since the initial application and its been a week. I plan on giving it to him once every 2 weeks instead of once a month since I've heard it isnt as effective and the website says its okay to do so:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no no no

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Orlando
this product does not work!!!!!! do not buy!!! Right after i put this on my dogs i kept finding more and more ticks
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dog's fur coming out in clumps!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CT
Like the title says, I really wanted this to work. It's natural, I actually like the smell and it may do a good job. I never found out. The first try, my shepherd/lab mix's fur started coming out in clumps on her back (2 days later). I reported it and they told me to bathe her w/ dish soap, use Vit E and ice packs for inflammation. I tried it because I did extensive research through vets, naturopathic vets, and valid online sites on other pet flea and tick products due to carcinogens and side effects that conventional meds cause. I can't use Advantix because I have cats and it could kill them if they groom the dog within 12 hours or so after I apply it. Not taking chances, thank you. It also can cause skin reactions, contains a carcinogen and could put my dog into convulsions. Bio Spot, Vectra 3D, ParaStar Plus (which contains WAY too much medicine) and many others are just as bad or worse. Frontline Plus is the least of all the evils, so I guess I'll go back to that since it didn't cause reactions the first time I tried it on her and I know it does work on fleas and ticks from experience with my last dog. It can cause thyroid cancer over time though. I won't try knock-offs like it (Fiproguard, Pet Armor Plus) since they have many undisclosed ingredients which could be toxic. As soon as it's not flea and tick season, I'll stop again. The less meds and vaccines for our dogs the better! It's killing them. Vets have got to know that if most people do. It's common sense. They are trained by drug co's that market to their vet schools to say/think that the benefits outweigh the side effects. BS. How come dogs in particular used to live longer then? Drug co's say that with dog's life expectancies growing LONGER (?!) that cancers and disease also rise with it. Look at the facts. They've lost many years of life over 2 decades and the only changes made since our parents had animals is that we vaccinate them more and have all these chemicals we are supposed to put on them in order to be considered "good owners" now. Scary. I remember when we used to spend about $60/year in vet bills per pet. Don't you? I lost my dog last July to a rare cancer. He had a tumor in his heart that bled out and put him in shock with no symptoms or warnings even hours before. Perfectly healthy 9 year old lab. Explain THAT to your 5 year old why her best friend died. Older, yes. We looked at his food and had our well water tested. The only thing fingers could point to was Heartguard Plus which is known to cause cancer over time. That's why I'm using Interceptor now, again the least of the evils. If I didn't live in CT in the woods with high populations of fleas ticks and mosquitos, I wouldn't use any of this. I implore all technicians, scientists, engineers, "green consultants" and anyone else in this field to PLEASE COME UP WITH SOMETHING GOOD-and that's affordable. But as we all know, that's another story...hope this helps all who read it. Blessings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
16of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Flea Treatment for My Dogs

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Was very excited about the natural ingredients, so I bought and applied to my Papillons. The scent was too overpowering actually gave me a headache. Within 2 days both dogs were covered in fleas and my white dog's fur was stained where the product was applied. The yellow stain would not wear off and I wanted to make sure it was safe to give them another flea treatment, so I called the 800 number on the back of the box. They wanted me to wait a full 30 days before giving them any other flea treatments and told me to just wash my dog with dish soap. Four baths later and still covered in fleas, my dog's fur is still stained yellow. I'll stick to what works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Natural Remedy!

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
When you first put it on, the smell IS strong, but I think it's awesome. It's like my dog is a scented candle walking around the house :)
I squeeze some on my dog after a bath and it keeps fleas and ticks off! I'm so happy that the ingredients are all natural oils / chemicals I can recognize and that it's safer than using the conventional drops that are covered in warning labels and many cases of dogs adverse life-threatening reactions
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Timberlake, NC
We just moved to NC and never experienced so many ticks as there are here. We rarely needed or used a repellent for ticks until now. I believe in using as much organic products as we can, and this goes for pets now too. Thought we give it a try. We were pulling ticks off every day, and when we applied this product, yes it smells like cloves, but I'm ok with that, better than chemicals. Wow, we have not had a tick since. Because we live in an area where ticks are heavly invested, we may have to reapply in a shorter time. Right now, we are on week 3 and no ticks, keeping our fingers crossed. Will be buying more of this product to continue use on my 3 dachshunds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worked on 1 of 3 dogs

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
I have a yorkie, long haired chihuahua & a jack russell/chihuahua mix. This worked on my yorkie, but not at all on the other two. From other reviews I think spot on treatments work better on some dogs than others. Still trying to find a brand that works on all three.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Stuff

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Atkinson, NH
This product works great and its safe for the animal and your family. The one downfall is the first day you apply it to the animal the scent is very strong (clove oil) but it wears off by the second day. I would much rather put up with a strong scent for a day than to put pesticides on my animal!!!!!! Great product with great results I live in a wooded area and no tics or fleas since the application.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has one flaw

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from S.H.,Ca
As far as effective against fleas & ticks, so far so good but the odor of eucalyptus is too strong and lasts several days.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Go Natural

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
This is the first time that we try this product, so far we're very satisfied with it. We love the fact that has natural ingredients. Smell like spice scent, but it's not a big deal, we like it. The smell vanished in about 2 days. The product absorbed completely after 48 hrs. Our dog had None allergic reaction. Repeals mosquitoes too. Is affordable and effective.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loved the Idea!

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Litchfield, CT
I loved the idea of this product and wanted to go with an organic way of ridding my poor pets of fleas but I was very disappointed with the outcome. It seemed to work at first but within 24 hours the fleas had returned (we even bought the organic house spray and sprayed the whole house). I unfortunately returned to the chemical spot on treatments and those have worked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Squeeze-On For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great smell, effective & safe

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Portland, ME
My 5 month old pup doesn't have any signs of fleas or ticks, but I still wanted her to be on a preventative because she goes to the dog park & is out in public areas a lot. I was scared to use a product with harsh pesticides and chemicals that might prove to be too much for a young pup, so I chose this. The smell is great! Smells just like vanilla-spice. The only draw back is it makes the dog a little oily and things tend to "stick" to her until it absorbs in. I would definitely not recommend using this product on more than 2 dogs at once because the smell could be overwhelming indoors. We're hoping the product will continue to keep fleas & ticks repelled!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>