petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies

Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies

Kills and repels fleas, ticks and mosquitoes yet it's safe to use on your dog or puppy and around your family when applied as directedEach easy-to-use pump spray features natural active ingredients such as peppermint oil, cinnamon oil, lemon grass oil, thyme oil and eugenolSpice scent
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Review 1 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

so far, I'm not crazy impressed

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
isavedlatin54
from austin tx
I bought this for my dog when I found he had a good number of fleas on him. after 24 hours and two full body sprays later, the number of fleas has reduced but is not fully gone. The smell isn't too bad compared to other products and his itching as greatly reduced. I'm convinced that if he was completely infested with them, this product wouldn't work as well. out of sheer curiosity I called the company about 5 minutes ago and asked how long it takes to see full results and they said typically around 48 hours. overall I'm somewhat happy with this product so far....we shall see what tomorrow brings
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

keep finding them

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
ilovemydogs5
from Orlando
i spray every day my dogs with this but i keep finding ticks on them
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for bites

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
TheNiceFishLady
Like others have mentioned, the scent is very strong, although I like it. It smells a little bit like Coke or Dr. Pepper to me. The bottle says it only kills insects when they are directly sprayed with this product, which I found to be true. However, I think it discourages additional insects from coming near my dog. ALSO, I've found it keeps my dogs from chewing on their bites. We've gotten rid of the fleas, but I've still sprayed this on my dog's paws when he's chewing on them, and it works better than Bitter Apple-type sprays as a deterrent. Kind of an extra benefit, if you like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great with no stress or pain!

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
emclNY
This stuff is amazing. Our great dog had his first case of fleas and he was truly LOADED with them and felt miserable. I tried one of the insecticide concoctions and it only worked for a week and then the fleas were back. When I received the natural spray, I first used the flea comb on him and then started to work with the spray. They were all gone in 24 hours and have not come back. An added plus is that it lubricated his coat and skin which can dry out in a NY winter. I read a review that said the Natural Defense Sray smelled bad but our experience is that it we liked the aroma which fades a bit and leaves a pleasant spicey smell. I actually paid more in shipping and tax than the price of the spray (which isn't available in our area) and I will do it again for something that works so well and doesn't contaminate our home with insecticides!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Works for a couple months and then stops working

PostedJune 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Blackbird8916
from Rhode Island
This product was great at first, but then when the summer months came and the rain came, and then came the ticks and fleas it stopped working. The odor is really strong but not unbearable, but after using it for a while it stops working. I tried this product because like most pet owners I didn't want to cause my pet harm by using toxic chemicals that come in frontline and other top flea products. However after seeing my pet suffer for three months to get rid of fleas.. I turned to frontline and the fleas were gone soon enough and my puppy was happy again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedMay 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
AnkhRockerV
from Van Nuys, CA
This spray is very effective and, although the scent is a bit strong at first, it airs out and smells lovely after a bit. You obviously have to use something like this more often than you would a chemical spray, but for the benefits (no fleas AND no risk of serious illness from toxic chemicals being on your dog), it's worth it! I spray my dogs with this once a week.
The one thing that bothers me is that the spray's alcohol dries my dog's fur out a bit, and leaves them a little waxy the first day, so I do use a spray-on conditioner before putting on the spray every week!
I read a review below saying their dog got a sore on its nose - to those of you who buy this, PLEASE note that the directions specifically say do not spray on the face (or anywhere else where the dog's skin may be extra-sensitive)!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It wrks

PostedJanuary 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
keiko
from Odessa, Fl
I bought this today after picking him up at the groomer. My groomer recommended it to me and i have to say, I actually enjoy the smell..I live in APT complex were they don't spray for fleas. As i was walkin him i see the fleas jumpin on him then jumping right back off. I checked him when we got indoors and to my surprise he only had 1flea compared to the 10-15 that are usually on him. I'm very Happy..AND will use it again..
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS STUFF!!!!!

PostedSeptember 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
AshAndTenessee
from Temple, Tx
My 10 month old puppy Tenessee was INFESTED with fleas and ticks when we adopted her from the shelter we tried so many products that didn't work. We were so excited when we found this product because it's all natural with no toxic chemicals like everything else, we took Tenessee outside and srayed her all over, instantly we saw fleas jumping off in every direction! So far she hasn't had anymore fleas and now I've only found 1 tick (of about 80, seriously) and we just used it TODAY! The only negative is that it's got a real strong scent, but we don't mind it's a small price to pay to get rid of fleas and ticks! Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It did kill the fleas

PostedJuly 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nosnibor
The scent was very strong. It did cause a sore to appear on my dogs nose.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry Natural Defense Flea & Tick Spray For Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spray away with peace of mind

PostedApril 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
ifanyt
I had to use this on myself as a repellent due the massive flea infestation at my mom's house. I would come home and there would be fleas on me and then my dog! I went there today, and no fleas on me! I also sprayed my mom's dog and saw fleas jumping off! This is great non-toxic stuff with no central nervous side effects (on humans or dogs). It smells pretty good too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.