petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker

Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker

These fire hose toys are made from the same tough, durable material that firemen useThis material consists of a rubber lining and multiple layers of tightly woven fabricThe ends of the toys are doubled stitched with no exposed seamsThis provides excellent resistance to abrasion and superior strength for a soft dog toyAvailable in a variety of sizes
Average Customer Rating:
2.575 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
39
38 out of 87(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Review 1 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Dog

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ekwuss
from Central Oregon
My Boxer thoroughly enjoys her Hard Core toy. Running around the yard with it in her mouth, then flipping it into the air. Then sprawled on the lawn just chewing on it. The ends are fraying, soon I'll replace it. But she is now 2 yrs & not teething, so toys last longer :-) All my puppies have eaten through their toys. But as an adult dog, this is the one she loves Best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hardcore?

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
PUPnamedOTTO
from Mesa, AZ
I love the idea behind this toy being in a fire fighting involved family, but my 12 pound dachsador puppy chewed it up the first day. Not sure where the hardcore part of the toy was on this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ehhhh

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
sheppup
from Richmond, va
I have a 70lb 6 month old German shepherd who tore this toy into shreds after ten mins of playing with it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great toy

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
LUVMYPUP2
My 34lb dog loves her fire hose, (i believe we have the small) and it has held up really well. She loves to run after it when I squeak and toss it. When she really sits down and gnaws on it is when the problems start. Well, I say "problems", I LOVE this toy to be sure, you just have to keep an eye on your dog during play. The top corner came off after awhile and I had to pick it up so she wouldn't eat it. Several days later she chewed off the other corner and I picked it up too. After that nothing else has come off. But at any rate, I am pleased with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tough Fire House, but.....

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
TheHoocher
from Southern CA
But...it frays around the edges too fast. I have an aging 17lb Frenchie that can rip the edges off this in a week. We now buy them in bulk. This is her tug toy and soothing chewer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not waste your money.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
xoFlawless52xo
from lomita ca
I think this toy is fine for small dogs but my 45lb Huskey chewed this toy to pieces like paper in the first five minutes. I am very disappointed, there is nothing "hardcore" about this toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Destroyed

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
KoaBlue
from Cleveland, TN
Lasted a couple of days and my dog loved it. But he sat down for about 10 minutes one day and completely destroyed it with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and definitely holding up

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
MarieW
As a throw toy, this thing is perfect. My dog loves it, it flies well, and it's holding up. Granted, he's not just sitting there chewing on it, but he's constantly playing with it, flinging it about and really loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Pitbull Puppy Loves It

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
aande050
I have a 5 month old pitbull puppy and she had gone through all the other 'tough' toys we bought for her. Even her Tuffy pig lost its face in minutes. This firehose toy, along with her kong, are the only two toys which have survived her teething. The ends are a little rough and frayed, but that is it. She has plenty of elk antlers and ropes to chew on, so maybe she hasn't destroyed it like other people's dogs since her whole chewing attention is not centered on the firehouse. it is a great toy to play catch with, and has stood the test of the teething pit puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not tough enough

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mama2Daisy
from Virginia
My lab pup had a hole in this the first day. Good thing she's not a firehouse dog!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great concept

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
kmerr
from clay,ny
We got this toy home and thought it would last a while but our dog chewed a hole in it 5 mins. flat. Overall the toy lasted about 2 days before he got the sqeaker out, and all the stuffing. Probably would not reccommend because of the price. Very disappointed with the quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Need to work on seams

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
BuckleysMom
from Michigan
The middle of the toy is very tough but the ends where the seams are stitched need to be redesigned for power-chewers. I've tried both the small and larger sizes and my dog would just shred the ends.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longest Lasting Toy

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
lilyson
from Bothell, WA
We started out by getting our puppy stuffed animals for chew toys, but he made quick work of them- even the sturdiest would be toast in about a month.
This toy lasted for at least three months. It was the perfect size for him to get his mouth around, and he seemed to enjoy the squeakiness. It was also a great tug of war toy.
He seemed genuinely distressed when we had to take it away to its final resting place last night (searching around for several minutes for it), so we will be buying him a new one today.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Baengle5
from Wisconsin
"soft yet sturdy, these super-tough toys are perfect for hardcore chewers!" FAIL. Didn't last 30 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hardcore Fire hose, not so hardcore

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
caseybp90
from Arizona
I have a one and half year old Boston Terrier/Pitbull, I thought this would last through her constant need to chew, but she had it torn at the seams in 2 days. Not worth it...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

lasted 12hr

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
crazypup18
from butler, pa
My border collie puppy is 6 months old and she chewed this thing apart in 12 hrs what a waste of money. thought ropes didnt last long but wow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
GoodName
from IL
I have a ~8 month old Husky/Shepard mix and this is one of the few toys that has lasted more than a week. I read some of the other reviews and I'd like to point out that I don't let her have this as a chew toy--it is a durable toy--not something to chew on. If you are looking for something to satisfy your dogs urge to chew I would go with something like an Elk Antler instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for moderates, not for strong chewers

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rand0m1
from Phoenix
Our older lab allowed this to last for months, some good gnawing action, but not any real tearing behavior. He did eventually get into it and pull out the stuffing, but it was worth the price. The new lab-mix pups destroyed it in a day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DIDN'T LAST!!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
3doggies
from Dallas, Texas
My 9 year-old beagle had this ripped open with stuffing out in a day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WEAK!!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
ethica
from Little Chute, WI
My 7 month old boxer had it ripped open with stuffing coming out in under 10min.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>