petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker

Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker

These fire hose toys are made from the same tough, durable material that firemen useThis material consists of a rubber lining and multiple layers of tightly woven fabricThe ends of the toys are doubled stitched with no exposed seamsThis provides excellent resistance to abrasion and superior strength for a soft dog toyAvailable in a variety of sizes
Average Customer Rating:
2.556 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
37
34 out of 81(42%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Review 1 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Destroyed

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
KoaBlue
from Cleveland, TN
Lasted a couple of days and my dog loved it. But he sat down for about 10 minutes one day and completely destroyed it with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and definitely holding up

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
MarieW
As a throw toy, this thing is perfect. My dog loves it, it flies well, and it's holding up. Granted, he's not just sitting there chewing on it, but he's constantly playing with it, flinging it about and really loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Pitbull Puppy Loves It

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
aande050
I have a 5 month old pitbull puppy and she had gone through all the other 'tough' toys we bought for her. Even her Tuffy pig lost its face in minutes. This firehose toy, along with her kong, are the only two toys which have survived her teething. The ends are a little rough and frayed, but that is it. She has plenty of elk antlers and ropes to chew on, so maybe she hasn't destroyed it like other people's dogs since her whole chewing attention is not centered on the firehouse. it is a great toy to play catch with, and has stood the test of the teething pit puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not tough enough

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mama2Daisy
from Virginia
My lab pup had a hole in this the first day. Good thing she's not a firehouse dog!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great concept

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
kmerr
from clay,ny
We got this toy home and thought it would last a while but our dog chewed a hole in it 5 mins. flat. Overall the toy lasted about 2 days before he got the sqeaker out, and all the stuffing. Probably would not reccommend because of the price. Very disappointed with the quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Need to work on seams

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
BuckleysMom
from Michigan
The middle of the toy is very tough but the ends where the seams are stitched need to be redesigned for power-chewers. I've tried both the small and larger sizes and my dog would just shred the ends.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longest Lasting Toy

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
lilyson
from Bothell, WA
We started out by getting our puppy stuffed animals for chew toys, but he made quick work of them- even the sturdiest would be toast in about a month.
This toy lasted for at least three months. It was the perfect size for him to get his mouth around, and he seemed to enjoy the squeakiness. It was also a great tug of war toy.
He seemed genuinely distressed when we had to take it away to its final resting place last night (searching around for several minutes for it), so we will be buying him a new one today.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Baengle5
from Wisconsin
"soft yet sturdy, these super-tough toys are perfect for hardcore chewers!" FAIL. Didn't last 30 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hardcore Fire hose, not so hardcore

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
caseybp90
from Arizona
I have a one and half year old Boston Terrier/Pitbull, I thought this would last through her constant need to chew, but she had it torn at the seams in 2 days. Not worth it...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

lasted 12hr

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
crazypup18
from butler, pa
My border collie puppy is 6 months old and she chewed this thing apart in 12 hrs what a waste of money. thought ropes didnt last long but wow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
GoodName
from IL
I have a ~8 month old Husky/Shepard mix and this is one of the few toys that has lasted more than a week. I read some of the other reviews and I'd like to point out that I don't let her have this as a chew toy--it is a durable toy--not something to chew on. If you are looking for something to satisfy your dogs urge to chew I would go with something like an Elk Antler instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for moderates, not for strong chewers

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rand0m1
from Phoenix
Our older lab allowed this to last for months, some good gnawing action, but not any real tearing behavior. He did eventually get into it and pull out the stuffing, but it was worth the price. The new lab-mix pups destroyed it in a day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DIDN'T LAST!!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
3doggies
from Dallas, Texas
My 9 year-old beagle had this ripped open with stuffing out in a day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WEAK!!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
ethica
from Little Chute, WI
My 7 month old boxer had it ripped open with stuffing coming out in under 10min.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that tough

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvmydoberman
from new orleans, la
I have a eight month old female doberman pinscher and it took her less than 5 minutes to completely shred and destroy this toy. She had a wonderful time while it lasted, but for the money I wished it would have lasted longer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not that tough

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
ServiceDogRaiser
from Los Angeles, CA
I raise service dogs and so I have a variety of ages and breeds of dogs at different times. My current puppy is a female lab 16 months and she TORE this toy to SHREDS! It took her only about a day to break the seam and destuff the entire thing. Not a good buy. Possibly a good buy for a dog that is not as tough on toys...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Last a week

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
LucysMom78
from Boston, MA
This product lasted my 10 month old Great Dane/Lab mix about a week before he completely destroyed it. Shreds very easily
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lasted a bit with medium dog

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
makeadoptionanoption
from Clearwater, FL
My 22 lb wiener dog has gone through several of these. He doesn't shred them instantly, so it makes it worth it. It takes him a bit to work through the stitching and then he unstuffs it and shreds the hose as he seeks out the squeakers. Because he's a smaller dog, I bought him the little one first and now I only buy him the big ones as they take longer to get through.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste money

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
sweetnj
from new jersey
i bought this 4 xmas for my 3yr old pit and she had it in shreads in 5min LOL. This would probably b ok for lil dog but not recommended for big dogs it waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for dogs with teeth

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
MooseLabmix
from Torrance CA
My 2 yr. old lab mix tore this apart in 5 minutes and had it in shreds in an hour.
Waste of money for stronger dogs at least.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>