petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker

Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker

These fire hose toys are made from the same tough, durable material that firemen useThis material consists of a rubber lining and multiple layers of tightly woven fabricThe ends of the toys are doubled stitched with no exposed seamsThis provides excellent resistance to abrasion and superior strength for a soft dog toyAvailable in a variety of sizes
Average Customer Rating:
2.559 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
42
40 out of 93(43%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Review 1 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just awful

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Durham, NC
Just awful. Boxer mix had it it shredded at the seams within 20 minutes. Might be for tough chewers, but only in the middle, definitely not on the ends.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Complete Waste of Money

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Coeur D Alene, ID
I bought this toy for my dog because it states that it is for hardcore chewers. However, my Airedale chewed a hole in it within 10 minutes of giving it to him. Do not waste your money on this toy if you have an aggressive chewer!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from atlanta, ga
We bought this toy simply because it said "for hardcore chewers" and it's already destroyed. Its too pricey (15.00 in store) and is apparently not for hardcore chewers, when torn up in a day. Don't waste your money on this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good toy for strong chewers

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tigard, OR
I actually bought this toy two weeks ago. I also have a very strong chewer. I think I should try and see about being a test chewer for there so call "nearly indestructible toys). I have a large 80+ Black Lab/German pointer. Very high energy and still under 2 years old. Daily toys are shredded. But this one we have had for the two week and it is still together. The ends are frying, but its still a useable toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

"Hard core chewers"? LOL

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Weare, NH
This toy took my lab a whole 5 minutes to chew the end off of. What a waste of money. If your dog is even a semi tough chewer they'll go through this toy like butter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great water toy

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Carnelian Bay, CA
Our 60-lb lab-mix loves fetching this toy in our big lake. It throws well but not too far, doesn't get water-logged, and has some height above the water, so it is visible to him even if there are waves. He is not a chewer so I can't rate this toy in that regard, but as a water toy it gets 5 stars. It might look plain, but it fully meets all functional expectations from us and our dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Dog

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central Oregon
My Boxer thoroughly enjoys her Hard Core toy. Running around the yard with it in her mouth, then flipping it into the air. Then sprawled on the lawn just chewing on it. The ends are fraying, soon I'll replace it. But she is now 2 yrs & not teething, so toys last longer :-) All my puppies have eaten through their toys. But as an adult dog, this is the one she loves Best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hardcore?

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
I love the idea behind this toy being in a fire fighting involved family, but my 12 pound dachsador puppy chewed it up the first day. Not sure where the hardcore part of the toy was on this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ehhhh

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, va
I have a 70lb 6 month old German shepherd who tore this toy into shreds after ten mins of playing with it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great toy

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
My 34lb dog loves her fire hose, (i believe we have the small) and it has held up really well. She loves to run after it when I squeak and toss it. When she really sits down and gnaws on it is when the problems start. Well, I say "problems", I LOVE this toy to be sure, you just have to keep an eye on your dog during play. The top corner came off after awhile and I had to pick it up so she wouldn't eat it. Several days later she chewed off the other corner and I picked it up too. After that nothing else has come off. But at any rate, I am pleased with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tough Fire House, but.....

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southern CA
But...it frays around the edges too fast. I have an aging 17lb Frenchie that can rip the edges off this in a week. We now buy them in bulk. This is her tug toy and soothing chewer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not waste your money.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from lomita ca
I think this toy is fine for small dogs but my 45lb Huskey chewed this toy to pieces like paper in the first five minutes. I am very disappointed, there is nothing "hardcore" about this toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Destroyed

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, TN
Lasted a couple of days and my dog loved it. But he sat down for about 10 minutes one day and completely destroyed it with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and definitely holding up

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
As a throw toy, this thing is perfect. My dog loves it, it flies well, and it's holding up. Granted, he's not just sitting there chewing on it, but he's constantly playing with it, flinging it about and really loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Pitbull Puppy Loves It

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have a 5 month old pitbull puppy and she had gone through all the other 'tough' toys we bought for her. Even her Tuffy pig lost its face in minutes. This firehose toy, along with her kong, are the only two toys which have survived her teething. The ends are a little rough and frayed, but that is it. She has plenty of elk antlers and ropes to chew on, so maybe she hasn't destroyed it like other people's dogs since her whole chewing attention is not centered on the firehouse. it is a great toy to play catch with, and has stood the test of the teething pit puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not tough enough

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
My lab pup had a hole in this the first day. Good thing she's not a firehouse dog!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great concept

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from clay,ny
We got this toy home and thought it would last a while but our dog chewed a hole in it 5 mins. flat. Overall the toy lasted about 2 days before he got the sqeaker out, and all the stuffing. Probably would not reccommend because of the price. Very disappointed with the quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Need to work on seams

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
The middle of the toy is very tough but the ends where the seams are stitched need to be redesigned for power-chewers. I've tried both the small and larger sizes and my dog would just shred the ends.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longest Lasting Toy

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bothell, WA
We started out by getting our puppy stuffed animals for chew toys, but he made quick work of them- even the sturdiest would be toast in about a month.
This toy lasted for at least three months. It was the perfect size for him to get his mouth around, and he seemed to enjoy the squeakiness. It was also a great tug of war toy.
He seemed genuinely distressed when we had to take it away to its final resting place last night (searching around for several minutes for it), so we will be buying him a new one today.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kyjen Hardcore Firehouse Dog Toy With Squeaker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
"soft yet sturdy, these super-tough toys are perfect for hardcore chewers!" FAIL. Didn't last 30 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>