petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

All new design utilizes the same patented free-falling stream of water as the original Drinkwell Pet Water Fountain, which entices pets to drink more, keeping them happy, healthy and hydrated. The Platinum features: A new snap-on lid to prevent accidental removalA pre-filter to catch large particles before they reach the motorA new submersible pump for nearly silent operationServes as both dog or cat drinking fountain
Average Customer Rating:
4.503 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(203 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 203 reviews
5 stars
150
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
7
183 out of 203(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice but with some glitches

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
CatMomTX
from Austin, TX
I had the old, smaller Drinkwell for years, with the attachable reservoir, and I loved it. I bought this because I figured it was time for an upgrade. It is huge, and the improvements of the screen over the pump intake, and the spout, which makes a "rope" of water that splashes less and is quieter, is great. It is much quieter and cleaner. However, it spontaneously makes a strange noise, that sounds like water rushing through the fountain -- I can't really describe it very well. It does this for a minute, and stops. Also the unit still vibrates noisily (like the old one) if it is bumped or just out of whack slightly. Also, the water reservoir is huge, but has a curved bottom, so you can't set it on the counter to refill it. It requires 2 hands (sometimes 3, if you are pouring from a heavy vessel, like I pour from a water jug - you may need some help) into the reservoir. Design flaw I hope they fix, but not a big deal. All in all, a great water fountain -- I think Drinkwells are the best. A little pricey, but I had my last one for 8 years, so not a bad investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far... wow!

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lizlou
from McHenry, IL
I literally just set this up 10 minutes ago and my cat (Torch) immediately began drinking from it. She's a total bathroom sink faucet addict, which is why I got this for her, and I was kinda scared that she'd reject this but omg! Like,I NSTANTLY she was using it.
On the product side, it was a little flimsier than I anticipated, but not bad. It holds a TON of water and even on the highest flow setting it hasn't splashed at all. It's really quiet too. I uploaded a video on youtube and you can hear her drinking, but not the fountain. You can see that I didn't even get it seated properly before she started using it lol!
So, I've only had it for 10 minutes, so we'll see what the future holds, but so far so good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing I've ever bought to make my life easier!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dagny
from St. Louis, MO
My cats were constantly spitting food in their water bowls making their water and the bowls all gunky requiring constant refilling and washing. I was tired of it and went in search of an alternative. I found this product and never looked back. It's awesome.
The fountain comes with a pump, water reservoir, and charcoal filters to keep an almost endless supply of fresh running water for my cats. With evaporation and regular drinking the reservoir lasts about a week which is perfect since that's how often it needs to be cleaned.
It does require washing at least once a week, but all the parts are dish washer safe so I usually put it in a light load of dishes on the weekends and it comes out squeaky clean.
This has made my life so much easier since I'm not constantly worried about cleaning water bowls and my cats are happier because they love running water that is fresh and clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Water Fountain

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tim1
from Arkansas
This fountain is great, I purchased my fountain about 3 yrs ago. Our male cat developed urinary track problems and had to go to the Vet. Vet told us we needed to increase their water in take (we have 3 cats). So i thought I would try this fountain. I was amazed at how much water our cats drink with this fountain. 2 of our cats love to drink from the flowing stream and 1 likes the bowl. I have had no problems with this fountain, but did replace the pump when i dropped and broke it. Its easy to clean and cats love it. I'm going to purchase another one since this one is getting old, but it still works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works like a charm after five years

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sassyred
from Kansas
I have owned this fountain for five years and it does exactly what it is designed to do. My cats all drink a lot more water therefore staying hydrated as they should since I do feed dry food. I do agree that it can be a pain to clean but using a dish brush or bottlle brush makes it a lot easier. My only complaint is that I wish it came with a larger tank. I have five cats and go through a tank every other day but they love it and get the water intake they need so refilling the tank is a small price to pay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a must-have

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
mistervagabundus
from chicago
With four cats and high-energy shenanigans at all hours, it was a frequent occurence to find water spilled all over the kitchen floor each morning. Owing to its sturdy construction, the Drinkwell Fountain resolves this and many other issues.
All of my cats use this fountain, and I believe it has increased their water intake by providing cleaner and better tasting water. It also captivates those cats that love moving water or dripping faucets, so they are both amused by it and inclined to drink.
Water is key to the health of both cats and dogs. In an industry rife with gadgets that may or may not be worthwhile purchases, I am happy to endorse this product as one that will add significantly to the health and well-being of your cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog likes it, but wish I knew more before purchase!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
SchnauzerMom51
from Orlando, Fl
I bought this back in September for my mini schnauzer who likes it now. The first few days she seemed afraid of it. Now, she likes to drink the water that's flowing. The product is well made, durable, and looks nice on my floor. It is also pretty quiet which we were very happy about.
However, the downside is all the things I didn't know before purchasing it. Like that fact that you need to refill the water tank every other day, if not every day. If you don't, it makes this loud noise because it doesn't have enough water. I also don't like how often gunk builds up on the motor and some of the other parts. Once a week I have to disassemble the whole thing and completely scrub it. I also have to use q-tips on parts of it because the holes are small but the gunk builds up in there too. Finally, I wish I had known that it has the potential to make a big mess. If you don't take it apart once a week to clean, the water overflows onto the floor. We work during the day so coming home at the end of the day to find my schnauzer soaked from playing in the overflowed water was not fun.
Overall, my dog likes it so I'm ok with it. I will say the water stays fresh in the fountain because 1, we used filtered water, and 2, the water filters constantly throughout the day in the fountain. So I would recommend it but make sure you up to the maintenance it requires.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Christmas gift EVER

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
linder
from Hutchinson, KS
I bought the Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain for our cat's Christmas present. It turned out to be a present for me, as well. She started drinking from it as soon as it was filled and running. My kitty was getting me up every night to turn on the faucet but she leaves me alone now. I noticed my furball started jumping up to the sink again after using it for 2 weeks. She returned to the pet fountain once I cleaned it and rinsed the filter. I should have bought one of these years ago!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble and clean

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
zangru
from Pittsburgh, PA
Since my cats love to drink from the faucet and bathtub, they really enjoy drinking from the fountain. They will actually seek it out for their water instead of drinking from other standing water bowls in the house.
So if you get a Drinkwell product, definitely get the platinum version. It is a little more pricey, but it is SO much easier to clean and assemble. I have had it only for a week, but just the ease of putting it together and the ease of getting the pump in and out makes a huge difference from Drinkwell's lower end products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

drinkwell platinum pet fountain

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
birder316
from setauket, ny
Great fountain...a tad noisy but if reservoir is readjusted, it gets quiet again. Biggest complaint is cleaning...it's really a pain. Pieces never line up easily and it really needs to be taken apart to clean the pet hair out of it. I clean it less often than I should because of how annoying it is to do it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! What a differerence...

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robbin
from Appleton, WI
I have been well trained by my cats to go into the bathroom and turn on the shower faucet on ever so slighly so they can get a drink of water. Although fresh water is always set out, this was their preferred beverage. The drinks were served at all hours of the day which means I was getting up in the middle of the night to get them what they wanted. This fountain fits the bill for all of us. The cats drink when they want and I can sleep! I also believe they are getting more fluids which at the age of 10 and 11 must be better for their kidney function. Give ti a try!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice product, frequent and expensive upkeep

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
midlebrok
from Washington, DC
The product is really nice. My cat loves it, but you have to clean it thoroughly weekly and replace filters weekly that aren't cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For cats that like to drink from the sink

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
DPowell
from Nevada
I purchased this product because I found that my cat enjoyed drinking from the faucet of my kitchen sink. Once it arrived it was very easy to set up and get things started. While it does make some noise (it is a pump, to expect it to be silent would be unrealistic), my cat quickly got used to the noise once she learned that it was her only source of water. The pet fountain is not difficult to maintain since it only needs the filter changed once a week, and I throw it in the dishwasher ever two weeks. I have found no leaks (unless the reservoir is overfilled) and I am extremely happy with my pet fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fascinating Fountain

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
FourFurryFriends
from Minnesota
I have four cats. They are all fascinated and love the fountain. It's easy to disassemble and clean. Very quiet. Happy cats = happy mom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Improvement

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nana01
from Gillette, WY
I love the improved fountain. It is much quieter. Seems to stay clean longer also. Sleek looking. Good job, Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
turtle98
from IdahoGreat
We have 3 cats and 3 ankle biters , they all love this thing. This is my second one. They all seem to drink more water. Don't replace filter as often as they say , just back flush to clean to clean it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, a Winner

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
john099
from Phoenix, AZ
This drinking fountain seems to overcome the many drawbacks of other fountains we have tried. So far it works perfectly. With its waterfall, It seems makes our pets want to drink. Looks like it will be easy to clean and maintain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMyCritters7
from RC, SD
I love everything about this pet fountain. Easy and the cats love it!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Fountain rocks!

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
cudz
Excellent quality in this water fountain. Cat had no trouble getting used to it; stuck her head under the waterfall a couple of times (first one was an accident, the rest were on purpose, I'm pretty sure). Very quiet if you want it to be--or you can turn up the volume for the trickle noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
CatmanDan
from Seattle
I had the original model for 8yrs and it worked ok but was starting to fade in color, so I decided to up-grade. The first thing I noticed was that it is silent (in noise level), compared to the old orginal model. It is a little more to clean (pump and tubing), but well worth the money. Very pleased with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>