petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

All new design utilizes the same patented free-falling stream of water as the original Drinkwell Pet Water Fountain, which entices pets to drink more, keeping them happy, healthy and hydrated. The Platinum features: A new snap-on lid to prevent accidental removalA pre-filter to catch large particles before they reach the motorA new submersible pump for nearly silent operationServes as both dog or cat drinking fountain
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(208 Reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 208 reviews
5 stars
155
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
7
188 out of 208(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice but with some glitches

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
CatMomTX
from Austin, TX
I had the old, smaller Drinkwell for years, with the attachable reservoir, and I loved it. I bought this because I figured it was time for an upgrade. It is huge, and the improvements of the screen over the pump intake, and the spout, which makes a "rope" of water that splashes less and is quieter, is great. It is much quieter and cleaner. However, it spontaneously makes a strange noise, that sounds like water rushing through the fountain -- I can't really describe it very well. It does this for a minute, and stops. Also the unit still vibrates noisily (like the old one) if it is bumped or just out of whack slightly. Also, the water reservoir is huge, but has a curved bottom, so you can't set it on the counter to refill it. It requires 2 hands (sometimes 3, if you are pouring from a heavy vessel, like I pour from a water jug - you may need some help) into the reservoir. Design flaw I hope they fix, but not a big deal. All in all, a great water fountain -- I think Drinkwells are the best. A little pricey, but I had my last one for 8 years, so not a bad investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far... wow!

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lizlou
from McHenry, IL
I literally just set this up 10 minutes ago and my cat (Torch) immediately began drinking from it. She's a total bathroom sink faucet addict, which is why I got this for her, and I was kinda scared that she'd reject this but omg! Like,I NSTANTLY she was using it.
On the product side, it was a little flimsier than I anticipated, but not bad. It holds a TON of water and even on the highest flow setting it hasn't splashed at all. It's really quiet too. I uploaded a video on youtube and you can hear her drinking, but not the fountain. You can see that I didn't even get it seated properly before she started using it lol!
So, I've only had it for 10 minutes, so we'll see what the future holds, but so far so good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing I've ever bought to make my life easier!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dagny
from St. Louis, MO
My cats were constantly spitting food in their water bowls making their water and the bowls all gunky requiring constant refilling and washing. I was tired of it and went in search of an alternative. I found this product and never looked back. It's awesome.
The fountain comes with a pump, water reservoir, and charcoal filters to keep an almost endless supply of fresh running water for my cats. With evaporation and regular drinking the reservoir lasts about a week which is perfect since that's how often it needs to be cleaned.
It does require washing at least once a week, but all the parts are dish washer safe so I usually put it in a light load of dishes on the weekends and it comes out squeaky clean.
This has made my life so much easier since I'm not constantly worried about cleaning water bowls and my cats are happier because they love running water that is fresh and clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Christmas gift EVER

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
linder
from Hutchinson, KS
I bought the Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain for our cat's Christmas present. It turned out to be a present for me, as well. She started drinking from it as soon as it was filled and running. My kitty was getting me up every night to turn on the faucet but she leaves me alone now. I noticed my furball started jumping up to the sink again after using it for 2 weeks. She returned to the pet fountain once I cleaned it and rinsed the filter. I should have bought one of these years ago!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works like a charm after five years

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sassyred
from Kansas
I have owned this fountain for five years and it does exactly what it is designed to do. My cats all drink a lot more water therefore staying hydrated as they should since I do feed dry food. I do agree that it can be a pain to clean but using a dish brush or bottlle brush makes it a lot easier. My only complaint is that I wish it came with a larger tank. I have five cats and go through a tank every other day but they love it and get the water intake they need so refilling the tank is a small price to pay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Water Fountain

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tim1
from Arkansas
This fountain is great, I purchased my fountain about 3 yrs ago. Our male cat developed urinary track problems and had to go to the Vet. Vet told us we needed to increase their water in take (we have 3 cats). So i thought I would try this fountain. I was amazed at how much water our cats drink with this fountain. 2 of our cats love to drink from the flowing stream and 1 likes the bowl. I have had no problems with this fountain, but did replace the pump when i dropped and broke it. Its easy to clean and cats love it. I'm going to purchase another one since this one is getting old, but it still works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's quiet! That's important!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
brandyoh
from Ohio
The new Pet Fountain has been running for a week now, and I am well pleased. I'd had one previously of a more minimal model that was unbearably noisy in my small home. That was disappointing and I had to get rid of it. But this model is quiet and easy to fill and clean. I like it a lot. More importantly, so do my three cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it so much I got another

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
kelsb
from Maryland
When I first got this fountain, all three cats were leery of it. Now my two males love it and my female just likes to play in it every now and then. (Two of my cats were feral rescues who are spooked easily, too.) I actually had to buy a second one for my bedroom because the male that sleeps in my bedroom would scratch at my door JUST so he could go drink from the fountain in the kitchen and come back! (There are food/water bowls in my room, he just doesn’t like drinking from regular bowls anymore.)
They are pretty quiet. I usually sleep in complete silence, and the fountain doesn’t bother me at all. It's fairly easy to clean, especially with the cleaning kit. I definitely have to clean them at least once a week, especially since mine like to stick their paws in the water. I have to refill the tanks every few days… but that’s very reasonable considering I have three cats and a little dog. These things have become a "must have" for me! A+ Product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a must-have

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
mistervagabundus
from chicago
With four cats and high-energy shenanigans at all hours, it was a frequent occurence to find water spilled all over the kitchen floor each morning. Owing to its sturdy construction, the Drinkwell Fountain resolves this and many other issues.
All of my cats use this fountain, and I believe it has increased their water intake by providing cleaner and better tasting water. It also captivates those cats that love moving water or dripping faucets, so they are both amused by it and inclined to drink.
Water is key to the health of both cats and dogs. In an industry rife with gadgets that may or may not be worthwhile purchases, I am happy to endorse this product as one that will add significantly to the health and well-being of your cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog likes it, but wish I knew more before purchase!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
SchnauzerMom51
from Orlando, Fl
I bought this back in September for my mini schnauzer who likes it now. The first few days she seemed afraid of it. Now, she likes to drink the water that's flowing. The product is well made, durable, and looks nice on my floor. It is also pretty quiet which we were very happy about.
However, the downside is all the things I didn't know before purchasing it. Like that fact that you need to refill the water tank every other day, if not every day. If you don't, it makes this loud noise because it doesn't have enough water. I also don't like how often gunk builds up on the motor and some of the other parts. Once a week I have to disassemble the whole thing and completely scrub it. I also have to use q-tips on parts of it because the holes are small but the gunk builds up in there too. Finally, I wish I had known that it has the potential to make a big mess. If you don't take it apart once a week to clean, the water overflows onto the floor. We work during the day so coming home at the end of the day to find my schnauzer soaked from playing in the overflowed water was not fun.
Overall, my dog likes it so I'm ok with it. I will say the water stays fresh in the fountain because 1, we used filtered water, and 2, the water filters constantly throughout the day in the fountain. So I would recommend it but make sure you up to the maintenance it requires.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveMySiamese
from Delaware
This product is great it took a while for my cats to like it because they were like *Were is this water coming from*. They wanted to knock it over and unplug it. Now they love it. Thank goodness for the constant flow because they don't drink out of the bowl part. I think its the best fountain I could have gotten I am really pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble and clean

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
zangru
from Pittsburgh, PA
Since my cats love to drink from the faucet and bathtub, they really enjoy drinking from the fountain. They will actually seek it out for their water instead of drinking from other standing water bowls in the house.
So if you get a Drinkwell product, definitely get the platinum version. It is a little more pricey, but it is SO much easier to clean and assemble. I have had it only for a week, but just the ease of putting it together and the ease of getting the pump in and out makes a huge difference from Drinkwell's lower end products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

drinkwell platinum pet fountain

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
birder316
from setauket, ny
Great fountain...a tad noisy but if reservoir is readjusted, it gets quiet again. Biggest complaint is cleaning...it's really a pain. Pieces never line up easily and it really needs to be taken apart to clean the pet hair out of it. I clean it less often than I should because of how annoying it is to do it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! What a differerence...

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robbin
from Appleton, WI
I have been well trained by my cats to go into the bathroom and turn on the shower faucet on ever so slighly so they can get a drink of water. Although fresh water is always set out, this was their preferred beverage. The drinks were served at all hours of the day which means I was getting up in the middle of the night to get them what they wanted. This fountain fits the bill for all of us. The cats drink when they want and I can sleep! I also believe they are getting more fluids which at the age of 10 and 11 must be better for their kidney function. Give ti a try!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Butterscotch2014
from Canton, NY
I like it better then the other one we had. Don't have to worry about filling it every day now with the water reserve tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and maintain

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
RBHPAH
from Seattle
We bought this at the suggestion of our vet, after our male cat (1-1/2 year Ragdoll) developed a bladder infection. The vet thought he was not drinking enough water and it was contributing to his malady. The fountain has definitely helped interest him in drinking more and more often. You'll have to experiment with the flow (we started too high. He did much better with it at almost the lowest flow. Cats vary), The unit needs cleaning every 2 weeks or so, mostly because he gets food in the reservoir. Happily, it only takes a few minutes to dump it, rinse it out, and refill. The pump is submerged and makes at most a low hum. The most noise it makes is when the cat is drinking. He likes to attack the stream :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Improvement

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nana01
from Gillette, WY
I love the improved fountain. It is much quieter. Seems to stay clean longer also. Sleek looking. Good job, Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice product, frequent and expensive upkeep

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
midlebrok
from Washington, DC
The product is really nice. My cat loves it, but you have to clean it thoroughly weekly and replace filters weekly that aren't cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fountain!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gizmonmb
from CT
When I initially set up this fountain my cat went right up to it and drank however that is until her head went underneath the running water and she was scared off by it. But after about 3 days she finally realized what happened and loves drinking out of it. She no longer drinks out of the toilet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plays in it

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
RubyCooper
from Nebraska
Our kitty just discovered running water about a month ago and was always at the faucet when we were getting ready in the morning. Now, she drinks from the fountain, but still has the urge to play in it while she's drinking. The fountain is much larger than I thought it would be, but is fairly quiet while running. I haven't cleaned it yet, but we did order the filer replacements too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>