petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

All new design utilizes the same patented free-falling stream of water as the original Drinkwell Pet Water Fountain, which entices pets to drink more, keeping them happy, healthy and hydrated. The Platinum features: A new snap-on lid to prevent accidental removalA pre-filter to catch large particles before they reach the motorA new submersible pump for nearly silent operationServes as both dog or cat drinking fountain
Average Customer Rating:
4.493 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(223 Reviews) 223
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 223 reviews
5 stars
165
4 stars
29
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
8
200 out of 223(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drinkwell Platinum too noisy and leaked

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have had the regular Drinkwell fountains for years and they work pretty well.. sometimes I have had to return for loud motor sounds.
THis Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain looked like it was better water flow and more streamlined. After assemblying and putting water in as instructed, two things... The motor was very loud and scared the cat away and second, the process of flipping over the filled reservoir into the well was impossible not to leak water... not a good design.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Malfunctioning after 6 months

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NYC
At first it was great! I traveled for 2 weeks and my sitter barely had to touch it to refresh! I was in love! And so were my 2 cats! Fast forward to 2 weeks ago it starts making this loud noise, like the motor was struggling. I realized it was because the reservoir was empty so I kept it filled up and the noise subsided. Then I noticed it wasn't lasting 2 weeks like before. So Im like where is the water going? So one day I paid close attention and realized the water was going all over my floor! So now the back reservoir doesn't stay full so the motor sounds like its struggling! And it so NOISY! UGH!!! I can fill it up all I want but the water just gets everywhere. So annoyed it didn't even last a year!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this fountain

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas Texas
I have "that cat". You know the one. He's the dainty one that will refuse to drink his water if he thinks he sees a tiny piece of dust.
He's the one that wont eat his food that's been sitting unless you touch it and pretend it's new. While the fountain will not help with the eating issue, it certainly has changed our lives with the water drinking.
Picky Cat APPROVES this fountain. He drinks all day. Even if the gross dogs drink out of it, he doesn't care. He sees it as a fresh water fall in paradise.
The fountain was easy to set up and has been easy to use. It needs a power supply but that is a plus in my book. Not a problem for my kitchen.
The price was right too. I feel this is a sturdy unit.
We all give 5 0f 5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice fountain

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
The kitties immediately came to investigate the new fountain, and have been using it. They use it more often than they did the Petco Automatic fountain which I'd purchased previously.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal water fountain for cats

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bethesda, MD
My cats love their new fountain -- one of them loves to drink right from the stream, while the other prefers to drink from the bowl. it was easy to assemble and works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fountain...

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rockford Il
Pretty fancy fountain! I have 3 cats, and after about 6 years, the old one gave out. I thought this was the same, but it is bigger & nicer. It has a covered well to keep the water clean.
They love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for multiple pets

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gulfport, MS
I got tired of constantly filling up the water bowl and the really large ones seem to go stagnant so fast and are really heavy to pick up and clean out when they are full.... this has been the perfect solution!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fountain ever!!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Highland, Cal.
Our two girls (pure white long hair cat sisters) (rescue cats) have used the fountain for 3 years and LOVE the flow of the water, to watch, drink from, and every once in awhile stick a paw into. We just purchased the new, improved fountain, and they love it too. So do we! Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love it!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Both of my cats always seemed to prefer running water. I could fill up their plain water dish with fresh water, but they wouldn't drink it! It always had to be from the tap - which could be a hassle at times. I got worried that they weren't drinking enough water. I got this fountain and I haven't ran the tap for them once! They only drink from the fountain and they really seem to enjoy it! Definitely worth the investment!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mixed feelings

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mixed feelings on this platinum fountain
Pros:
Love the design and night light feature- just suction cup on the bottom of the back basin area under the reservoir- pretty bluish tone of light-
Extremely quiet motor and easy adjustable water flow
(Recommend putting this in place and fill base and tall waterfall area with water first then attach the reservoir- if you turn the reservoir quickly into place you won't get a lot dripping water .)
I fill this with water from our 5 gallon water cooler
Cleaning and changing water in this fountain every other day- we go through 5 gallons pretty quick
Cons:
**Need to wash this out and scrub it every other day or it will feel slimy on the plastic of the unit , pump and cord and light and cord-
Especially in the crevices and nooks and feet of the pump and light-
Buy yourself a round ball sponge cleaner at the dollar store or you will scratch the resevoir
I clean all parts in the sink with dawn detergent and dry completely- except for the pump light she cord which I clean separately. Make sure you clean the rubber feet and cord- it is slimy after one day- and only one cat takes Maybe two sips from it!
This was bought for 5 cats-.4 sphynx and a bengal. So no hair problems I could see arising with multiple fur critters-
** its takes 10-15 minutes to clean this every other day or it feels like a fish tank- I think of circulating dirty water
Only to have my cats drink from a clean stainless or plastic bowl right next to it--
5 cats and only one is remotely interested after one month of trying this - Even in different locations, by the water cooler where I fill it from
Or the counter, or by their food dishes-
**So, if you have the time to scrub it every other day and can get your kitties interested, I would try it-
***It can be awkward to unplug and lift from the floor to constantly clean and put back without spilling
For the time invested in this fountain and only 1 cat taking two licks a day,
I am sticking to their little raised dishes bowls they use waaaay more!
I fill bowls with water from our water cooler and change and wipe bowls out 3x a day in about two minutes. I keep several around the house that are used all the time-
The cats just don't care for this fountain- I love it but they don't :(
I don't mind scrubbing it every other day for them if they would use it
I feel like it is all dressed up and no where to go :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet & cat loves this fountain

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Columbus,Ga.
Great fountain. Made very well and adjustable waterfall. My cat loves it and it holds alot of water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

water fountain

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jersey
recently in our town we we told not to drink the tap water because of e-coli. So I get spring water and thought I'd give this fountain a try......they love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good deal

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
this is a great product, I have 4 cats and 1 dog, they all like drinking from this.
in the morning I fill with ice and water, and it last all day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
This fountain is so much more quiet than the previous smaller one I had. It holds enough water that I do not have to refill very often. Very nice product. I have cats and one of them much prefers the flowing water to a water dish
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Platinum Pet fountain

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Drexel HIll, PA
Our cat is finicky about fresh water, and this fountain not only works but he seems to like it! I am very pleased with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome and quiet

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from inman, sc
got this for my maine coon because he had a UTI. he loooves it! I was worried he wouldn't take the time to drink out of it and utilize it. he played in it for a minute but drinks out of it constantly. the water is cold and has a filter with it. it's always running and you can change the settling to how fast or slow the water flows. really quiet. something big enough that my cat can't man handle around the kitchen like he normally does with stuff. i'm very glad I bought this. definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from O'Fallon, IL
This fountain has lasted over a year for me so far and still going. I haven't had to clean it that often, but when I do, it works just as well as it did brand new! I've since introduced a new long-haired kitty to the family, which will require more frequent cleaning due to the hair collecting in the well, but it is wonderful. The waterfall bubbling sound provides a peaceful ambiance. LOVE!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fountain!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
When I initially set up this fountain my cat went right up to it and drank however that is until her head went underneath the running water and she was scared off by it. But after about 3 days she finally realized what happened and loves drinking out of it. She no longer drinks out of the toilet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Canton, NY
I like it better then the other one we had. Don't have to worry about filling it every day now with the water reserve tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Delaware
This product is great it took a while for my cats to like it because they were like *Were is this water coming from*. They wanted to knock it over and unplug it. Now they love it. Thank goodness for the constant flow because they don't drink out of the bowl part. I think its the best fountain I could have gotten I am really pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>