petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

All new design utilizes the same patented free-falling stream of water as the original Drinkwell Pet Water Fountain, which entices pets to drink more, keeping them happy, healthy and hydrated. The Platinum features: A new snap-on lid to prevent accidental removalA pre-filter to catch large particles before they reach the motorA new submersible pump for nearly silent operationServes as both dog or cat drinking fountain
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(212 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 212 reviews
5 stars
159
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
7
192 out of 212(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

water fountain

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
PJay
from Jersey
recently in our town we we told not to drink the tap water because of e-coli. So I get spring water and thought I'd give this fountain a try......they love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good deal

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
alt08ajs
this is a great product, I have 4 cats and 1 dog, they all like drinking from this.
in the morning I fill with ice and water, and it last all day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
nj2000
from Minnesota
This fountain is so much more quiet than the previous smaller one I had. It holds enough water that I do not have to refill very often. Very nice product. I have cats and one of them much prefers the flowing water to a water dish
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Platinum Pet fountain

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Greg534
from Drexel HIll, PA
Our cat is finicky about fresh water, and this fountain not only works but he seems to like it! I am very pleased with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome and quiet

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
erinm12
from inman, sc
got this for my maine coon because he had a UTI. he loooves it! I was worried he wouldn't take the time to drink out of it and utilize it. he played in it for a minute but drinks out of it constantly. the water is cold and has a filter with it. it's always running and you can change the settling to how fast or slow the water flows. really quiet. something big enough that my cat can't man handle around the kitchen like he normally does with stuff. i'm very glad I bought this. definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
JennaDawn
from O'Fallon, IL
This fountain has lasted over a year for me so far and still going. I haven't had to clean it that often, but when I do, it works just as well as it did brand new! I've since introduced a new long-haired kitty to the family, which will require more frequent cleaning due to the hair collecting in the well, but it is wonderful. The waterfall bubbling sound provides a peaceful ambiance. LOVE!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fountain!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gizmonmb
from CT
When I initially set up this fountain my cat went right up to it and drank however that is until her head went underneath the running water and she was scared off by it. But after about 3 days she finally realized what happened and loves drinking out of it. She no longer drinks out of the toilet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Butterscotch2014
from Canton, NY
I like it better then the other one we had. Don't have to worry about filling it every day now with the water reserve tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveMySiamese
from Delaware
This product is great it took a while for my cats to like it because they were like *Were is this water coming from*. They wanted to knock it over and unplug it. Now they love it. Thank goodness for the constant flow because they don't drink out of the bowl part. I think its the best fountain I could have gotten I am really pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plays in it

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
RubyCooper
from Nebraska
Our kitty just discovered running water about a month ago and was always at the faucet when we were getting ready in the morning. Now, she drinks from the fountain, but still has the urge to play in it while she's drinking. The fountain is much larger than I thought it would be, but is fairly quiet while running. I haven't cleaned it yet, but we did order the filer replacements too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's quiet! That's important!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
brandyoh
from Ohio
The new Pet Fountain has been running for a week now, and I am well pleased. I'd had one previously of a more minimal model that was unbearably noisy in my small home. That was disappointing and I had to get rid of it. But this model is quiet and easy to fill and clean. I like it a lot. More importantly, so do my three cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it so much I got another

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
kelsb
from Maryland
When I first got this fountain, all three cats were leery of it. Now my two males love it and my female just likes to play in it every now and then. (Two of my cats were feral rescues who are spooked easily, too.) I actually had to buy a second one for my bedroom because the male that sleeps in my bedroom would scratch at my door JUST so he could go drink from the fountain in the kitchen and come back! (There are food/water bowls in my room, he just doesn’t like drinking from regular bowls anymore.)
They are pretty quiet. I usually sleep in complete silence, and the fountain doesn’t bother me at all. It's fairly easy to clean, especially with the cleaning kit. I definitely have to clean them at least once a week, especially since mine like to stick their paws in the water. I have to refill the tanks every few days… but that’s very reasonable considering I have three cats and a little dog. These things have become a "must have" for me! A+ Product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Fountain

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Booms
from Aurora, IL
This product is awesome! I was afraid that my new 2 year old golden lab would be afraid of the running water but he loves it. Keeps the water circulating!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and maintain

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
RBHPAH
from Seattle
We bought this at the suggestion of our vet, after our male cat (1-1/2 year Ragdoll) developed a bladder infection. The vet thought he was not drinking enough water and it was contributing to his malady. The fountain has definitely helped interest him in drinking more and more often. You'll have to experiment with the flow (we started too high. He did much better with it at almost the lowest flow. Cats vary), The unit needs cleaning every 2 weeks or so, mostly because he gets food in the reservoir. Happily, it only takes a few minutes to dump it, rinse it out, and refill. The pump is submerged and makes at most a low hum. The most noise it makes is when the cat is drinking. He likes to attack the stream :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Christmas gift EVER

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
linder
from Hutchinson, KS
I bought the Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain for our cat's Christmas present. It turned out to be a present for me, as well. She started drinking from it as soon as it was filled and running. My kitty was getting me up every night to turn on the faucet but she leaves me alone now. I noticed my furball started jumping up to the sink again after using it for 2 weeks. She returned to the pet fountain once I cleaned it and rinsed the filter. I should have bought one of these years ago!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Encourages better drinking for cats

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
piscesvj53
from Iowa
My three cats have adapted well to the fountain. 2- 8 month old kittens began using it right away. My 4 year old male was a little hesitant but now is drinking from it also. All 3 seem to be drinking much more water than before so I feel this will surely keep them healthier. I have cleaned it and it cleans very easily and quickly. I am not sure if the fountain leaks a little OR if the kittens are playing and splashing the water out to the floor. One kitten loves to stick his paws in the water and play. Overall I am very happy with the fountain and the increase in water consumption I have seen. Great product !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a Multiple Cat Household!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britgirl81
from Missoula Montana
This Platinum Drinkwell design is amazing! Holds lots of water, suitable for my 6 cats, I only have to fill it every other day. It is almost silent. I've tried other drinking fountains and none of them were suitable for my 6 babies, they would constantly run out of water and run dry. Its very well made and pretty in any room. I highly recommend this fountain, over ALL others on the market, especially if you have lots of kitties!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Like it but...

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
OcicatMom
from West Palm Beach, FL
I love the large capacity of this fountain which is why I bought a new one - we have 4 cats. However, I can't figure out why/how it is leaking. I have it sitting on a plastic tray so it isn't doing any damage to the floor but I don't think that is the solution. Other than that, like most fountains, my cats love the moving water. It is still new so I don't know how easy it will be to clean. I am glad to see the motor comes apart. That is an improvement over the previous one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lion

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
LionDizz
from Milwaukee, WI
Had for little over three weeks and both cats still seem to ignore it. I think training to drink from it will be the only solution. Since owning, others have commented that they have tried similar products with little luck. Continuous power usage should also be a deterrent.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My drinking cat

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
greyheart
from Wayne MI
Has been satisfied with his own fountain! I hope you find the same with your cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>