petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

All new design utilizes the same patented free-falling stream of water as the original Drinkwell Pet Water Fountain, which entices pets to drink more, keeping them happy, healthy and hydrated. The Platinum features: A new snap-on lid to prevent accidental removalA pre-filter to catch large particles before they reach the motorA new submersible pump for nearly silent operationServes as both dog or cat drinking fountain
Average Customer Rating:
4.481 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(233 Reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
5 stars
172
4 stars
30
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
9
208 out of 233(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't rate

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
Unfortunately after 5 days of trying to get my cats to drink from the well it went back. My cats refuse to use it. On the good side it was very quite, while working
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for the long haul

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
Our Drinkwell Platinum has been in use 24/7 for 6 years . It looks and works like new. We haven't been the best about timely cleaning and filter changes, but it STILL works like a dream. Our cats all seem to like drinking from the running water and occasionally use it for water play. The fountain holds up even with a cat on top slapping the water stream. The Drinkwell Platinum is great for our cats' health and for the quality of the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Fountain

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
I found the Drinkwell Platinum and purchased it on sale with free shipping, saving quite a bit over in-store or other web sites. I already had a Drinkwell but with multiple cats was constantly refilling it. I love the Drinkwell Platinum with the reservoir, plus the first time I cleaned it I discovered it was also much easier to clean than the original Drinkwell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best fountain

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
I've tried just about every fountain by Drinkwell, Petmate, Dogit, and Pioneer Pet. I was unhappy with all of them for various reasons. Then I found this one! I've used this model for about six years or so and continue to be happy with it. My dogs love drinking from the stream, the motor is quiet and the sound of the water is relaxing. My only complaint is that it can be somewhat difficult to clean and I wish there was a stainless steel option available - I prefer this design over the zen and 360.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Broad Brook, CT
My cat was hardly drinking any water at all and started with urinary problems. My neighbor suggested to get the fountain because she has one and her cat loves it. I was very hesitant about purchasing it. Reason is that I have a cat that does not play much and I have spent so much trying to find something he liked with no success. I broke down and decided to purchase it and it was the best thing I could have bought for him. He loves it and uses it constantly. And to boot it's very easy to clean. I love it and so does my cat. Definitely would recommend this product to friends and anyone thinking about purchasing it,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Found it!

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SoCal
A long time ago I owned this product (bought from another company), well after years of use it broke down. I didn't fear because this company had lifetime warranties but when I called to exchange the item it was no longer sold (my cat would be and was extremely disappointed)! I've tried many drinking fountains since then and my baby Gismo just never really appreciated any of them or the quality was poor.
As I was browsing new fountains recently I recognized this design and researched to find out the company had changed their name (that's why it was no longer available as they were going through a transition)...so excited, I opted to buy it and my baby just ADORES THIS ONE ONLY!!! It's water stream has a calming effect in the room, the taste I'm sure must be above adequate and you don't need to fill it daily, but do clean weekly as grime will build up naturally. We want the best water for our pets/babies, yes?
I definitely recommend this product...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat likes it

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
My cat loves water and loves his fountain................................
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it.

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
Was concerned our cats wouldn't like it. That is no longer a worry. They love to drink from the spout. They will even sit and watch the water.
A great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Menifee, CA
So far its been working great. It's pretty easy to take apart and put back together. My cats love drinking from it. And I love that it holds a lot of water so I don't have to refill it every day. It's also very quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

tough to refill

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from new jersey
The product is very nice except for the way in which one has to refill the reservoir. The reservoir has to be removed by a sink or it will leak - so you have to take the whole fountain to the sink. Next you have to remove the reservoir quickly, turn it around for refill, and then flip it again to put it in place. Poor design
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drinkwell Platinum too noisy and leaked

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have had the regular Drinkwell fountains for years and they work pretty well.. sometimes I have had to return for loud motor sounds.
THis Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain looked like it was better water flow and more streamlined. After assemblying and putting water in as instructed, two things... The motor was very loud and scared the cat away and second, the process of flipping over the filled reservoir into the well was impossible not to leak water... not a good design.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Malfunctioning after 6 months

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NYC
At first it was great! I traveled for 2 weeks and my sitter barely had to touch it to refresh! I was in love! And so were my 2 cats! Fast forward to 2 weeks ago it starts making this loud noise, like the motor was struggling. I realized it was because the reservoir was empty so I kept it filled up and the noise subsided. Then I noticed it wasn't lasting 2 weeks like before. So Im like where is the water going? So one day I paid close attention and realized the water was going all over my floor! So now the back reservoir doesn't stay full so the motor sounds like its struggling! And it so NOISY! UGH!!! I can fill it up all I want but the water just gets everywhere. So annoyed it didn't even last a year!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this fountain

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas Texas
I have "that cat". You know the one. He's the dainty one that will refuse to drink his water if he thinks he sees a tiny piece of dust.
He's the one that wont eat his food that's been sitting unless you touch it and pretend it's new. While the fountain will not help with the eating issue, it certainly has changed our lives with the water drinking.
Picky Cat APPROVES this fountain. He drinks all day. Even if the gross dogs drink out of it, he doesn't care. He sees it as a fresh water fall in paradise.
The fountain was easy to set up and has been easy to use. It needs a power supply but that is a plus in my book. Not a problem for my kitchen.
The price was right too. I feel this is a sturdy unit.
We all give 5 0f 5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice fountain

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
The kitties immediately came to investigate the new fountain, and have been using it. They use it more often than they did the Petco Automatic fountain which I'd purchased previously.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal water fountain for cats

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bethesda, MD
My cats love their new fountain -- one of them loves to drink right from the stream, while the other prefers to drink from the bowl. it was easy to assemble and works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fountain...

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rockford Il
Pretty fancy fountain! I have 3 cats, and after about 6 years, the old one gave out. I thought this was the same, but it is bigger & nicer. It has a covered well to keep the water clean.
They love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for multiple pets

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gulfport, MS
I got tired of constantly filling up the water bowl and the really large ones seem to go stagnant so fast and are really heavy to pick up and clean out when they are full.... this has been the perfect solution!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fountain ever!!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Highland, Cal.
Our two girls (pure white long hair cat sisters) (rescue cats) have used the fountain for 3 years and LOVE the flow of the water, to watch, drink from, and every once in awhile stick a paw into. We just purchased the new, improved fountain, and they love it too. So do we! Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love it!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Both of my cats always seemed to prefer running water. I could fill up their plain water dish with fresh water, but they wouldn't drink it! It always had to be from the tap - which could be a hassle at times. I got worried that they weren't drinking enough water. I got this fountain and I haven't ran the tap for them once! They only drink from the fountain and they really seem to enjoy it! Definitely worth the investment!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mixed feelings

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mixed feelings on this platinum fountain
Pros:
Love the design and night light feature- just suction cup on the bottom of the back basin area under the reservoir- pretty bluish tone of light-
Extremely quiet motor and easy adjustable water flow
(Recommend putting this in place and fill base and tall waterfall area with water first then attach the reservoir- if you turn the reservoir quickly into place you won't get a lot dripping water .)
I fill this with water from our 5 gallon water cooler
Cleaning and changing water in this fountain every other day- we go through 5 gallons pretty quick
Cons:
**Need to wash this out and scrub it every other day or it will feel slimy on the plastic of the unit , pump and cord and light and cord-
Especially in the crevices and nooks and feet of the pump and light-
Buy yourself a round ball sponge cleaner at the dollar store or you will scratch the resevoir
I clean all parts in the sink with dawn detergent and dry completely- except for the pump light she cord which I clean separately. Make sure you clean the rubber feet and cord- it is slimy after one day- and only one cat takes Maybe two sips from it!
This was bought for 5 cats-.4 sphynx and a bengal. So no hair problems I could see arising with multiple fur critters-
** its takes 10-15 minutes to clean this every other day or it feels like a fish tank- I think of circulating dirty water
Only to have my cats drink from a clean stainless or plastic bowl right next to it--
5 cats and only one is remotely interested after one month of trying this - Even in different locations, by the water cooler where I fill it from
Or the counter, or by their food dishes-
**So, if you have the time to scrub it every other day and can get your kitties interested, I would try it-
***It can be awkward to unplug and lift from the floor to constantly clean and put back without spilling
For the time invested in this fountain and only 1 cat taking two licks a day,
I am sticking to their little raised dishes bowls they use waaaay more!
I fill bowls with water from our water cooler and change and wipe bowls out 3x a day in about two minutes. I keep several around the house that are used all the time-
The cats just don't care for this fountain- I love it but they don't :(
I don't mind scrubbing it every other day for them if they would use it
I feel like it is all dressed up and no where to go :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>