petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain

All new design utilizes the same patented free-falling stream of water as the original Drinkwell Pet Water Fountain, which entices pets to drink more, keeping them happy, healthy and hydrated. The Platinum features: A new snap-on lid to prevent accidental removalA pre-filter to catch large particles before they reach the motorA new submersible pump for nearly silent operationServes as both dog or cat drinking fountain
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(218 Reviews) 218
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 218 reviews
5 stars
163
4 stars
28
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
7
197 out of 218(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fountain...

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rockford Il
Pretty fancy fountain! I have 3 cats, and after about 6 years, the old one gave out. I thought this was the same, but it is bigger & nicer. It has a covered well to keep the water clean.
They love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for multiple pets

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gulfport, MS
I got tired of constantly filling up the water bowl and the really large ones seem to go stagnant so fast and are really heavy to pick up and clean out when they are full.... this has been the perfect solution!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fountain ever!!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Highland, Cal.
Our two girls (pure white long hair cat sisters) (rescue cats) have used the fountain for 3 years and LOVE the flow of the water, to watch, drink from, and every once in awhile stick a paw into. We just purchased the new, improved fountain, and they love it too. So do we! Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love it!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Both of my cats always seemed to prefer running water. I could fill up their plain water dish with fresh water, but they wouldn't drink it! It always had to be from the tap - which could be a hassle at times. I got worried that they weren't drinking enough water. I got this fountain and I haven't ran the tap for them once! They only drink from the fountain and they really seem to enjoy it! Definitely worth the investment!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mixed feelings

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mixed feelings on this platinum fountain
Pros:
Love the design and night light feature- just suction cup on the bottom of the back basin area under the reservoir- pretty bluish tone of light-
Extremely quiet motor and easy adjustable water flow
(Recommend putting this in place and fill base and tall waterfall area with water first then attach the reservoir- if you turn the reservoir quickly into place you won't get a lot dripping water .)
I fill this with water from our 5 gallon water cooler
Cleaning and changing water in this fountain every other day- we go through 5 gallons pretty quick
Cons:
**Need to wash this out and scrub it every other day or it will feel slimy on the plastic of the unit , pump and cord and light and cord-
Especially in the crevices and nooks and feet of the pump and light-
Buy yourself a round ball sponge cleaner at the dollar store or you will scratch the resevoir
I clean all parts in the sink with dawn detergent and dry completely- except for the pump light she cord which I clean separately. Make sure you clean the rubber feet and cord- it is slimy after one day- and only one cat takes Maybe two sips from it!
This was bought for 5 cats-.4 sphynx and a bengal. So no hair problems I could see arising with multiple fur critters-
** its takes 10-15 minutes to clean this every other day or it feels like a fish tank- I think of circulating dirty water
Only to have my cats drink from a clean stainless or plastic bowl right next to it--
5 cats and only one is remotely interested after one month of trying this - Even in different locations, by the water cooler where I fill it from
Or the counter, or by their food dishes-
**So, if you have the time to scrub it every other day and can get your kitties interested, I would try it-
***It can be awkward to unplug and lift from the floor to constantly clean and put back without spilling
For the time invested in this fountain and only 1 cat taking two licks a day,
I am sticking to their little raised dishes bowls they use waaaay more!
I fill bowls with water from our water cooler and change and wipe bowls out 3x a day in about two minutes. I keep several around the house that are used all the time-
The cats just don't care for this fountain- I love it but they don't :(
I don't mind scrubbing it every other day for them if they would use it
I feel like it is all dressed up and no where to go :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet & cat loves this fountain

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Columbus,Ga.
Great fountain. Made very well and adjustable waterfall. My cat loves it and it holds alot of water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

water fountain

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jersey
recently in our town we we told not to drink the tap water because of e-coli. So I get spring water and thought I'd give this fountain a try......they love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good deal

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
this is a great product, I have 4 cats and 1 dog, they all like drinking from this.
in the morning I fill with ice and water, and it last all day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
This fountain is so much more quiet than the previous smaller one I had. It holds enough water that I do not have to refill very often. Very nice product. I have cats and one of them much prefers the flowing water to a water dish
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Platinum Pet fountain

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Drexel HIll, PA
Our cat is finicky about fresh water, and this fountain not only works but he seems to like it! I am very pleased with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome and quiet

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from inman, sc
got this for my maine coon because he had a UTI. he loooves it! I was worried he wouldn't take the time to drink out of it and utilize it. he played in it for a minute but drinks out of it constantly. the water is cold and has a filter with it. it's always running and you can change the settling to how fast or slow the water flows. really quiet. something big enough that my cat can't man handle around the kitchen like he normally does with stuff. i'm very glad I bought this. definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from O'Fallon, IL
This fountain has lasted over a year for me so far and still going. I haven't had to clean it that often, but when I do, it works just as well as it did brand new! I've since introduced a new long-haired kitty to the family, which will require more frequent cleaning due to the hair collecting in the well, but it is wonderful. The waterfall bubbling sound provides a peaceful ambiance. LOVE!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fountain!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
When I initially set up this fountain my cat went right up to it and drank however that is until her head went underneath the running water and she was scared off by it. But after about 3 days she finally realized what happened and loves drinking out of it. She no longer drinks out of the toilet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Canton, NY
I like it better then the other one we had. Don't have to worry about filling it every day now with the water reserve tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Delaware
This product is great it took a while for my cats to like it because they were like *Were is this water coming from*. They wanted to knock it over and unplug it. Now they love it. Thank goodness for the constant flow because they don't drink out of the bowl part. I think its the best fountain I could have gotten I am really pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plays in it

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
Our kitty just discovered running water about a month ago and was always at the faucet when we were getting ready in the morning. Now, she drinks from the fountain, but still has the urge to play in it while she's drinking. The fountain is much larger than I thought it would be, but is fairly quiet while running. I haven't cleaned it yet, but we did order the filer replacements too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's quiet! That's important!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
The new Pet Fountain has been running for a week now, and I am well pleased. I'd had one previously of a more minimal model that was unbearably noisy in my small home. That was disappointing and I had to get rid of it. But this model is quiet and easy to fill and clean. I like it a lot. More importantly, so do my three cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it so much I got another

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
When I first got this fountain, all three cats were leery of it. Now my two males love it and my female just likes to play in it every now and then. (Two of my cats were feral rescues who are spooked easily, too.) I actually had to buy a second one for my bedroom because the male that sleeps in my bedroom would scratch at my door JUST so he could go drink from the fountain in the kitchen and come back! (There are food/water bowls in my room, he just doesn’t like drinking from regular bowls anymore.)
They are pretty quiet. I usually sleep in complete silence, and the fountain doesn’t bother me at all. It's fairly easy to clean, especially with the cleaning kit. I definitely have to clean them at least once a week, especially since mine like to stick their paws in the water. I have to refill the tanks every few days… but that’s very reasonable considering I have three cats and a little dog. These things have become a "must have" for me! A+ Product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Fountain

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, IL
This product is awesome! I was afraid that my new 2 year old golden lab would be afraid of the running water but he loves it. Keeps the water circulating!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and maintain

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
We bought this at the suggestion of our vet, after our male cat (1-1/2 year Ragdoll) developed a bladder infection. The vet thought he was not drinking enough water and it was contributing to his malady. The fountain has definitely helped interest him in drinking more and more often. You'll have to experiment with the flow (we started too high. He did much better with it at almost the lowest flow. Cats vary), The unit needs cleaning every 2 weeks or so, mostly because he gets food in the reservoir. Happily, it only takes a few minutes to dump it, rinse it out, and refill. The pump is submerged and makes at most a low hum. The most noise it makes is when the cat is drinking. He likes to attack the stream :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>