petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle

Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle

The Ultimate Chew Resistant BottleSpecially engineered & designed to be completely chew proofSpring attachment hanger and security hanger safely hold the chew proof water bottle to the inside or outside of any wire small animal home
Average Customer Rating:
2.896 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
21
26 out of 48(54%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Review 1 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hints for leaking bottles

PostedMay 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
I had trouble with this bottle leaking until I realized that the washers are clear instead of the typical black washers you see in other bottles. Once you find or see the washer, you can notice whether or not it is lined up flat. If not, then make sure it is. When you screw on the top, make sure the top and bottle grooves are also lined up. You may have to go slowly. Get it ready and not leaking before you put it on the cage. It takes practice, but I find it's worth it in order to get a glass bottle that is chew proof, and at a good price, especially for the large bottle..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible -_-

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
First off I didn't realize when buying it that you can't fill it all the way to the top... There's a line about an inch from the bottom of the bottle that says "maximum fill line" so the bottle holds less water than I originally thought. There's also issue with the nozzle linking up correctly and it must line up a certain way because the back of the bottle it completely flat. There's major leakage as well. I thought maybe mine was defective but judging on other reviews many others have had this problem. Hoping I can return it tomorrow even though it was opened as it's an expensive bottle and I'd like to return it for a different one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing, just what I was looking for. Chinchilla

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vista, ca
Exactly what I was looking for. Easy to clean and to refill. I have it on the inside of the cage and don't have to worry about my chinchilla getting hurt by trying to chew it since it's glass. No problems. And I've bought one before. Loved it then too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made product

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LA
Love that this water bottle is NOT plastic!! The glass and stainless are easy to sterilize so your pet stays healthy! The double ball bearings in the lick spout help prevent leakage and the bottle is very easily attached to the cage wall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Be careful...inconsistent dispensing!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pflugerville, TX
I chose this water bottle as it appeared to be of higher quality than others on the shelf. I was hopeful it would not continuously leak as many small animal water bottles do. Well, it did not leak. When first installed it was dispensing water as it should. However, after about 24 hours I noticed the floating duck had not descended at all, so I checked the spout. It was not dispensing any water! My poor little ratty when presented with the working (yet leaky) bottle that he had previously, drank for 3 minutes straight. Always check your water bottles regularly to see if they are functioning as they should!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks water everywhere

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
I purchased this water bottle for my pet chinchilla because it is advertised as chew proof and "Features Super Pet’s Unique “Double Ball Bearing” Drip Resistant Sipper Tube" which is important because chinchilla fur is not supposed to get wet. I have had it less than three weeks and it is dripping water everywhere. As soon as I fill it and hang it on his cage, the water drains out and is completely empty within an hour (at most).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Water Bottle

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
This water bottle is great, I had the smaller version of this originally and now I upgraded for my two rats. It doesn't leak at all and you can move the tip without having to twist the base off. I have my hung inside the cage instead of the outside. I definitely recommend this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks a lot of water

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Anchorage
I hung the water bottle at 2pm and at 9:30pm it was empty. This bottle leaks everywhere. As long as it's hung straight it should not matter if it's on the outside or inside of the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Help for Those Whose Bottles Leak

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
This is for those who have had problems with their bottles leaking:
I had the same problem when I first bought it, and I couldn't get the nozzle to line up in the right direction. However, I was trying to hang it on the INSIDE of the cage, and when I decided to try hanging it on the OUTSIDE of the cage it worked great. I hope this helps.
I love being able to use a glass bottle instead of plastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from austin tx
This bottle leaks no matter how it's sitting. The nozzle doesn't even line up to the flat surface design on the back of the bottle. I thought spending extra money would guarantee me a leak proof bottle. How wrong I was. Very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
This bottle leaked all over the place no matter what i did. Nice design, easy setup, but that stuff doesn't really mean anything if it can't hold water.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only water bottle worth buying.

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
I'm really unsure why people have complained about this bottle being undrinkable. I am on my second 12 oz bottle (because i dropped, and broke the first...the only downfall to glass), and neither one has had any issues dispensing water. Neither bottle has had any strange gasket or seal that needed to be removed. I simply filled the bottle all the way up, screwed the cap on tightly, and affixed it to the cage with the included fixtures. this bottle does not leak, and the yellow duck floaty makes it really easy to keep track of the water level. Glass keeps the water tasting good (so my rats drink more), prevents scum buildup, is chew proof, and overall the healthiest choice for any small animal.
Do not listen to the bad reviews. That's all USER ERROR. This is the only water bottle worth purchasing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
After dealing with several leaky water bottles, I got this one and I love it. Since the back is flat it fits against the cage well, hasn't leaked, and it's easy to see the water level thanks to the duck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Drips Too Much

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from TopSecret
This water dripper drips WAY TOO MUCH!!!!!! Luckily, I had the dripper on a level so it did not soak the bedding. When a hamster's bedding gets soaked, it's really bad for them. If you have a level you should definitely place your water dripper on a level or your hammie could get sick.
♫ SpyHammie ♫
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Undrinkable!

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from SF
I had bought this bottle blindly after my hamster had decided to chew through her old plastic bottle, so I made a conscious decision to switch to a chew proof bottle.
However, I found out quickly (through the sound of my hamster struggling to get water from it for 5-10 minutes at a time) that my hamster could not get water to drip down at all!
Lucky I had her old Petco plastic bottle, and also I was lucky to find that the plastic head fit the glass bottle.
So she's now drinking from a hybrid of this glass bottle and her older plastic cap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
My guinea pigs love this water bottle. It never leaks and they can get water out of it. I highly suggest this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Guinea pigs don´t like it.

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
My pigs won´t use this bottle. They would only use the plastic one that came with the cage. I tried to get water from it and it was hard. I guess my pigs figured that out quickly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best water bottle I've owned.

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Bloomsburg, PA
I bought this bottle when I first got my rats, and I still use it and only it. I like that it's glass, so it won't deteriorate or form scum on the inside like a plastic one would, and is chew proof. Mine has never leaked and gives the right amount of water. I also like the little ducky that reminds me how much water is in it, haha.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Is a Great Product, Once You Realize the Nozzle Mechanics.

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Most of the bad reviews on here are valid, to a point. I bought this bottle for my chinchilla, and was glad to see it never leaked. Soon I realized why---nothing ever came OUT. I had to literally shake the bottle up and down for my chin to drink. I realized I wasn't tightening the nozzle enough....and I noticed that the inner seal was broken, but thought nothing of it.
Now, seeing these reviews, I realize why the bottle didn't work before and why it works now: the inner gray seal people mentioned needs to be taken out (or in my case, broken) in order for the water flow to occur.
Once you take care of that--which definitely needs to be corrected by the company--you won't regret buying this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Chew Proof Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do NOT Buy

PostedJune 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
I bought this water bottle for my Chinchilla. He was not able to get any water from it. I returned it to the store thinking it was defective and the second bottle did the same thing. I even removed the "inner lip" as others describe. I tried filling it to different capacities and the water eventually just stops coming out for some reason. This water bottle is a waste of money and time despite its tempting aesthetics.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>