petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door

PetSafe Plastic Pet Door

Durable plastic pet door frame with closing panel for interior door applicationSoft and flexible vinyl transparent flapThese dog doors feature easy do-it-yourself installationModels: Small PPA00-10958; Medium PPA00-10959; Large PPA00-10960
Average Customer Rating:
3.939 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
25 out of 33(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Review 1 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Blue Heeler Loves the Door!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tampabaycpa
from Tampa, FL
Great price, easy to install and use . Had to get a bigger door for the dog. The cats already had a smaller door and I had to replace this large door over the smaller hole. So now, cats and dog can use the door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Door

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gr8door
from Washington State
This is a good dog door for the money. The plastic screws were a little surprising but made it easy to cut them flush after installation. My only real issue with the door is that the cover to close it off when not in use fits a little snug and requires a good yank to remove once in place. Hard on the fingers!.. But again, a good product for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet door

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
doubledogs
from Valinda, Ca
In process of installing and so far going ok. A perfect fit for our dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really know my dog will enjoy being able to get out of the door now.

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ButtButt
from Paradise, Ca
My dog could not get out very well before. Now he is able to get out and not have to jump up to reach the bottom of the door that was there before. The door was very easy to install once we got the door itself cut.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product-great price

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
lbond
from Mo.
I installed this for our King Cavalier pup in the storm door which leads to the back yard. He loves the back yard and uses the door frequently. It has also helped with potty training.
Thanks Petsafe!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Plastic Pet Door

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlfieTheCat
from Upstate, NY
We purchased the small model. Installed it myself in our overhead garage door. Installation was easy. It is being used by Alfie, a large male cat we adopted from a friend who had to move. He has always been an outside cat and is happy just to have access to the garage. The size is perfect and he uses it several times a day. We have only had it a few weeks but are very pleased with it so far. Quality and price are good in our opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for dogs and cats!

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brandi1
from Harrisburg, NC
We hired someone to install this door so can't give a rating there.
I would highly recommend the door for dogs and cats. We purchased the large size for our two dogs. However, our two cats (one is less than 7 lbs.) have no problem utilizing it. We are happy with this purchase and would highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

lasted barely a month

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
jentie
from kentucky
I bought the large petsafe plastic door for 1-100 lb. dogs. It lasted barely a month. My dog chewed the plastic flap up and one of the nice plastic screws eased itself right out. Of course, then when the dog went through it the frame on the outside of the doggy door cracked. The biggest waste of $60 I have ever spent.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my dogs like their freedom

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
my2specialdogs
from john day or
I bought this several weeks ago but my husband was to sick to install it. We finally got it done last weekend. I am still working on getting them to use it. They are both timid dogs so it will take some work but they are getting it. The only problem we had installing it was those strips you snap into the door before you enstall it. The instructions said cut with scissors no, I don't think so. The plastic screws gave us no problems they went in easily and cut off easily. Yes, I would recomend this door to any one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Cats

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katieandtiggs
This product is advertised for small dogs, but works well for cats. I bought this for my bedroom door for our 2 cats. Both cats learned to use the door in about 2 days. My recommendation is to leave the flap taped open for one day and then let them use the flap the 2nd day. My only problems with this product are that it is noisy at night with the magnets catching as cats go in and out. And, the magnet is strong enough where cat tails do get squished as the cats use the door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

dobbies on the run

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
lonewolfcheyenne
I am pleased by the door for the dogs but I am shore the dogs would give it a 5 star rate if they knew how the best reviewe they can give is the use they are going it and if it dont brake under there use nothing can brake it you see I ahve two 1 1/2 year old sister doberman pinchers that run 80 lbs they use to just race from one end of the moble home to the othre and saking over the couch and all it was nuts run in jump on moms bed and the before she could swat them they where off and down to the othere 75 foot moble home and on my bed and when your trying to sleep they can wake you and it hurts when they land on you well now they ahve lurned the door and so now they race our and run around the moble home and then back in and the game starts all over again and I would like to say that it has stopped them from reashing the house but at least this way it takes a bit longer and I love the fact I can now lock them out and when I am away they can and go in and oput and protct the house inside and out and so I now ahve no fear that they can gard inside and out and there is no way anyone can get in the house and a lock trhe dogs out as the door lets them go in and out at there will and its alife saver when I hurt so bad I cant walk the dogs and go out and do there busness even in the rain and I stay dry will let you know if the door holds up to the dogs over a long time thanks lonewolf cheyenne
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
5of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but a couple drawbacks

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Zacholas
from Greeley, CO
I am certainly satisfied with my purchase, but there are a couple drawbacks to the door. For one, the magnet's not very strong, so the door very rarely closes all the way -- at least when it's windy or we have the attic fan on. Also, the plastic cover comes off somewhat easily, and our puppy figured out how to get it off. :)
Other than those two things, it's a great doggie door, and I'm certainly satisfied with my purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Install

PostedJune 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
christy813
My Hubs installed this door in no time, just had to buy a new blade for his jigsaw to cut the hole through the metal wall of his workshop where the door was being installed. It really does fit walls down to 1/16", the wall we installed it in, is just a sheet of metal siding. We purchased the "Large" Size for our 2 Aussie Mixes and our cat to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
jeffandterri
This door was bought for an American Mastiff to use. It is big enough that he can easily use the door for entrance and exit to/from the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
sadie2
Snap on cover wasn't adequate to secure the door. Thought I was getting a slide security panel. Pictures didn't show the security door.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great door for the price

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
mrfixit
We have 2 Great Danes so we ordered the extra large door. It arrived quickly and was very easy to install. Unless you are in an extreme weather condition area, this door will work great for you. Harsh winters and High wind areas may want to go with the higher end product. For us, this door works great and the dogs have no problem using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petsafe Plastic Doors

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
emae
from Colorado
I have had these doors in the past and they work wonderfully. With 8 dogs, they last about a year and then time to replace. They just fly through them when they hear a noise outside. Now I am getting each dog their own doggie door for their kennel. They are great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks nice

PostedApril 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
rottnmom
from Nebraska
This doggy door was extra large and was a great fit for my Rotties. It was easy to install, but the directions were a bit confusing for wall installation - they were intended for a door install. It looks nice and seals well with the magnetic plastic flap. I'm not crazy about the cover. I don't like how it goes on, it is not secure by any means. All in all I do recommend this door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great start-awful ending

PostedMarch 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
cowdog
from alabama
I loved the door at first. However,the flaps began to bow out and the magnets failed.(Read the reviews under the replacement flap blog- this happened to other people too)The outer flap tore at the top.The replacement cost is too high for the quality.Not a good buy in the long run.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Plastic Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

would buy again

PostedJanuary 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
prharleygirl
I got a large for my shepard mix and my chihuahua. It's great, my shep loves it, my chi at first had a problem then figured it out by pushing the side of the flap instead of the middle, to go in and out. The only problem is when I put the block cover on it my shep still tries to get in. At full speed running into it she almost popped it out. (A really funny site to see) She did'nt know why she could'nt get back in. LOL Would buy again. No wind no rain gets in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>