petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door

PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door

Give your pets the freedom they deserve:Solid aluminum construction dog door with locking panel for exterior door applicationSoft, transparent single flap pet doors for tight weather sealEasy installationModels: Small PPA00-10859; Medium Model PPA00-10860; Large Model PPA00-10861
Average Customer Rating:
4.184 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
40 out of 49(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Review 1 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't close well

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
curlytop
from Stony Point, NC
It's great that the animals can go in and out without aid, but the door doesn't stay closed, especially when the outside temperature is below about 25 degrees F.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would recommend this product to anyone.

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katinka
from Apache Junction, AZ
I purchased the XL door because my dobie/rottweiller mix is too tall for anything smaller. Was thinking that it would be hard to install because of the size, but it was actually fairly easy. Seems to be constructed well, and I like the heaviness of the door flap. I thought at first that my cats might not use it, but they do. The only one who had any issues with it was the one dog I had bought it for. He has finally gotten the idea and loves the freedom he has to come and go as he pleases. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ex large door has issues

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Falcon802
from pittsburgh, pa
I ve had this door 2 years it s handy during the summer spring fall months winter is a completely different story. |First the worst issue the flap is secured to the frame by 2 small screws that as the dogs go in and out they back out locktite thread secures don't work on them they still will back out leaving you with a flap dangling to one side with winter blowing in freely. The fix and no the company wont give additional screws even though its made for 5 they give 2 and that's all you get and you cant find them in the hardware stores SO I drilled 2 additional holes thru the frame of a conventional size after aligning the outside (their screws ) I drilled thru the flap and added 2 permanently fixed bolts thru the home made fix the flap no longer falls so the door no longer fails, strong winds will open this but the metal closing plate does work well you just return to letting the dogs out for the winter months greatly disappointed in this "weather proof door"
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
twindaddy
from California
I warned my wife and kids to get ready for the swearing to begin as I went about cutting into our brand new garage door to install this. Surprisingly it never came about. The instructions were simple and straight forward and, aside from having to use a jigsaw on a fire-rated, solid wood door, the install was a breeze.
The plastic screws actually make sense. They allow you to cut them to length based on the door thickness. My holes were nice and straight, so these didn't present any problems at all.
I would advise careful consideration of placement. We opted for what would look best more than the dogs use and she doesn't like having to "step over" the opening as the old one was almost to the ground. I'm sure she'll adjust. I hope she'll adjust :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Door

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
puppyogre
from Oceanside,CA
This door is solidly made, easy to install, and a great relief from getting up at every canine whim to let the darn dogs out. One weighs 120+ lbs, and easily slides throught the X-Large
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big and Sturdy

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
HawkinFlight
from Houston, TX
After surfing the web for doggie doors until I was cross-eyed I purchased my selection for 2 X-large sizes online from PetCo based on price. I had them on my door step in a few days and they were a snap to install. One went in an exterior grade 2 inch solid core wood door and the other in a exterior metal door. I was concerned about the reviews regarding hole misalignment and the plastic screws, neither of which were issues for me. However the wind does tend to blow the flap rather easily but a thin piece of foam weather strip on the lower inside vertical part of the frame took care of that issue. Both of my girls love the upgrade from their previous medium size door plus I don't have to worry about locking myself out any longer, I can use my dogs' door if needed :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Door: Take time with install

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChrisCincy
from Cincinnati, OH
Overall I think the door is solid and well made. It has been installed for just over a week. I was unsure with whether to go with the medium or the large. I am glad I went with the large. ( I have a cocker mix)
On the install:
1.) Throw away the plastic screws and goto harware store and get stainless steel screws 2.25 inches long. The plastic screw are junk.
2. Take your time cutting out the template, My door was metal and a jigsaw did not cut it. i had to use a reciptocating saw.
3. I would recomend fitting the frame together and then loosen the screws to add caulk on the outside facing side. It is a bot drafty.
Have someone with you to steady the door or clamp it down when drilling the holes..
4. There are several youtube videos that I found after the install. Watch a few to give you confidence.
After all was said and done I spent 3 hours putting it on including my time to go to the hardware store. My only complaint is the hardware is inadequate for the job. The door looks and functions nicely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much Improved

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
FRAZSER
from Midwest
The new model has the door which can be replaced easily. I had an earlier model that did not have that option, so I had to replace the entire unit. Product works great, easy to install
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good flap

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
3dogcrazy
from CT
I've had a petsafe door for years and upon having to replace it find the freedom door flap is so flimsy even a slight breeze keeps it open. I am very dissapointed and now looking at replacing it again with a different product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great door!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Keizi
from Sacramento, CA
We installed this door in about an hour with a screwdriver and a sawsall. I love the locking security door, an option we utilize at night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT an 'easy steps' installation!!!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
dayleo
from VA
My husband AND I worked for 5 hours on our day off to install this door. First off, we did not recieve the 'included' bolts and screws so had to go to the hardware store to get the closest thing. Lining up the measurements for both sides of the door were quite literally, a Witch. The 6 easy steps are not easy. It would have majorly helped had the manufacturer included the nuts and bolts. Sure the end product looks good, but cold air still seeps in through the sides if the magnetic bottom does not catch the flap properly. Oh well, more money down the drain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, Naughty Doggie

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzie63
from Washington, MO
This door is big enough for our Great Dane. We installed it in an exterior steel door from the garage to outside, just using a little clear caulk. I didn't think my husband would actually get it done, but it didn't take long at all with the right tools. It looked really great and we trained the dog to go through it within minutes! We were thrilled, until we woke up the next morning and found our naughty 9 month old Dane had chewed the corners off the flap! I know we can eventually replace just the flap when she is older and out of the "puppy" stage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beware: new design

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
boxerboys
from Denver CO
I've had this PetSafe dog door installed for about 10 years. Every couple of years I buy a replacement flap. Much to my surprise, my back-up flap didn't fit the door. PetSafe has released a new design and the replacement flaps that are being sold today fit the new design.
This design is much easier to change out the flap, but if you have an older door, be sure that you are ordering the right flap. Since my replacement flap wouldn't fit, I decided to replace the door with the newer model. It is the same size, but has new hardware and there are screws along the top edge on the inside that you remove to replace the flap.
I would recommend this door. The door itself was holding up fine and really didn't need replacing. I did so only out of the desire for convenience and readily available parts. The flaps are thick and durable, but with two 70lb boxers hitting it at about 20MPH several times a day, it's bound to give.
Now, if someone would just stop by regularly and clean the slobber off it for me...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Doors

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
2fst4u
from Bend, Oregon
I have found that the PetSafe doors are a great product and easy to install. I purchased the petdoor that you install lin a mandoor. My puppy loves it with all the freedom she has. Made it easier to potty train also being now she can come and go as needed outside. The price was also a major factor - I paid approx $79.99 on sale on line with Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Big Dog Door

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katieandtiggs
I bought the XL size Freedom door to replace a 6 year old Classic door. The products are almost identical. It fit in the previous hole with no adjustments needed. We have three dogs who all weigh between 65 and 110 lbs. They use the door all day and night. The only issues I have with the door is that it is not very good at holding back a draft. A strong wind will blow the flap open or make it jiggle repeatedly. Also, it would be nice if PetSafe made some interchangeable flaps for the door. I would love to have a heaver flap in the winter (ie: double insulated flap). Replacing a flap on a PetSafe door is sometimes more trouble than getting a whole new door, and the price for a replacement flap is high in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for an outside door!

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
TundraGuy
from Meridian, MS
I ordered this door based on the mostly good reviews. I'm replacing a two-flap petsafe door that have been discontinued. This single flap door is not worth my time on installing it because I can tell by looking at it the wind is going to come in the sides of the flap bad. The seal down the sides open up with the slightest breeze. I don't understand why they don't put magnets down the sides to hold it in place. I'll be returning it asap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very disappointed

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
frusturated
I would not recommend this product to anyone. You might as well cut a hole in your door and leave it like that because the flap just blows all day long as if you have a window open. We will be returning this product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
greatprouct
This is a great price for a door this size great quality. Fast shipping THanks PetCo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
animallluver
The door was easy to install and looks great. Our pets love the ease of going in and out without waiting on us to get to the door to let them out. This door makes for happy pets and pet lovers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Aluminum Freedom Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Door Installs and Works

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jimbo76
from Anaheim, CA
Door works and installed easily. I did not use the nylon bolts that came with the unit as other reviews stated they break and/or strip easily. I bought some 2½" stainless bolts (#10) at Home Depot and they worked much better and will last much longer. I also caulked the outside of the door as recommended and that should keep any water out. All-in-all, the price was right and the door works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>