petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets

Small dog gate designed specifically for small petsEasy-to-walk-over wooden dog gateExpands from 30" to 44" wide and 18" highFeatures a pull handle and door to give dogs access when you wantLocks securely on top and bottomDoes not damage walls - easily removable and portable
Average Customer Rating:
4.027 / 5
4
 / 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
5 stars
65
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
14
86 out of 112(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Review 1 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

unobtrusive, works well

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
fancyspance
from Portland
Got this gate to provide the new kitten a space to get away from our two small dogs. The kitten navigates the gate fine and the dogs don't even bother to try to get over, so it's working well. The short hight makes it easy for humans to step over, so placing it in a doorway for a couple of months does not lead to frustration.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Gate

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
knd26
from Pacific NW, Washington
This was a fuss-free installation (it doesn't get any simpler then this), Tall enough to keep the puppy out of the rooms where the cats hang out, but short enough that I can step right over it without problems. I would recommend it for sure
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a great product

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peacho
from Philadelphia, PA
I bought this to keep my pug in my room while no one is home. It was pretty easy to set up. Due to my doorway width, the swing door opening was a little tight for my blind pug to get through. I just twisted two or three rungs until they broke off. It is much better now. FYI-It was a little difficult to remove when I needed to use it for a different doorway in my house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is good

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trish1962
from Whittier, calif
Very easy to put together, it is well made, worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoeInNW
from Issaquah, WA
We have three of these. They work fine for our two Westies -- well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy but not for chewers!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paby
from DFW, Texas
Good quality, sturdy. Unfinished wood is appealing to chewers. Very soft wood and easy to chew through. Good mechanism on gate. Easy to step over for people but enough to deter a small dog if they are not a chewer. Plan to purchase a second one due to the perfect price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet gate

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
riversmother
from Jefferson OR
We used 2 across the plant window to prevent new kitten from jumping into the plants. He could still jump
from the floor over the 18" gate, so we purchased 2 more and stacked them upon the other set. So far this has worked. Placed the doors so I can water the plants from the center and on either end. It took a drill and dowels to secure this much gate in a window, but it was
worth it. This solution works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

small pet gates

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
raggedy123
from CT
The gate service the purpose that I need but the pins that the small door swings on broken almost instantly on 3 out of 4 doors that I bought.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

didn't like

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
hs912
from delaware
I thought this gate was hard to set up and ended up returning it. I'm sure I could've figured it out but it seemed like a pain to deal with every day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

arrived broken

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
meanasever
from Asheboro, NC
the gate arrived broken (although I was still able to use it.
The exterior box was in excellent condition but the small gate was broken free. Since I just wanted it to separate the cat litter box from the dog, I didn't need the gate. Dog is too big to go through the gate - too small to jump over. The quallity control issue was obviously with the manufacturer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great with smaller animals...

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Harleyluv
from Ft. Myers, Fl
I used this gate to keep 2 small dogs(Scottie, poodle) away from the room where my cats were adjusting to. Worked great, no damage to the walls, easy to put up....only drawback is if it was jumped on, it could fall over. But great overall. Can easily be stepped over and the cats could jump it easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small dog gate

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dickie1359
from Pittsfield, MA
This gate works real nice where small dogs are concerned. This allows me to enter a room without my dogs being able to follow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

INADEQUATE FOR TINY PUPPY!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
littlesdad
from FL
I have a 2 month old 4 pound puppy. After reading the reviews on here, I thought we would be ok as long as I secured the door with a zip tie, since a few people had mentioned that their pets could rattle the door open.
No such luck. The first time she was left alone for an hour, she managed to jump over the gates.
Disappointed.... I want my money back!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
PetsAplenty
from Nashotah WI
This gate is perfect for keeping my dog out of rooms and we can easily step over it & our cats can easily jump over it. Very well made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lasted two months

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
LadysMom73
from Kansas
We purchased this gate when we brought our 12 week old puppy home. Unfortunately, it was the only got available in our price range at the local Petco. It worked fine until Sunday when we tried to reinstall it after returning home from vacation. While trying to put it back up, the gate fell over onto our vinyl floor and split across the top. A huge chunk of wood fell off and now it is completely unusable. We have only had it for two months. I will purchase a cheap baby gate to replace. Having raised a 7-year-old human, I know those last for years.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I now own 4 of these gates!

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom2Daschies
from St. Louis, MO
We have 3 daschunds and 3 cats. We have one of these gates on our bathroom door to keep the dogs away from the litter box and cat food. Another gate is on the office door where the dogs stay during our work day. Once I get home, there's no reason to remove the gate, just open the door to let the dogs out. The gates are perfect for controlling access! I highly recommend them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME for small dogs!!

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lexi2
from Knoxville, TN
I got this so my three small dogs couldn't get onto my carpet in my hallway and into my bedrooms with carpet. They tend to ruin it ;) It is great, they can't get over it and they now know they aren't allowed to go onto the carpet. I have a yorkie, and two chihuahua's. Also, two cats they can easily jump over it. Very easy to step over, my 5 year old daughter can step over it with little assistance. I highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not so great door safe

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
LilPet
from Houston
This Door is not long enough to completely isolate the entrance and avoid my pet entering the room, besides She's so tiny that in the center of this door there is a wide opening for which She can enter easily so sorry to say but this door wasn't a solution for me
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for small doggies!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
tandramarie
from McKinney Tx
Hi,
I needed a gate that's at least 43 inches and I wanted a wooden gate I could stain, if I choose.
This gate is a nice inexspensive one that works great for my 2 maltese babys!
The only thing is I had to add a piece of wood to make it 43 inches. I think description is a little off.
I believe I got a gate that was either returned once, or damaged. The box was pieced together, 2 different boxes that did not match. I didn't buy the box so who cares about that.
It works fine now after I added another slat, about a 1x2 inch pine strip. Doesn't tear up my exspensive oak walls. Easy to put up, leave up or store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Four Paws Walk Over Wooden Gate for Small Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
yorkiesx2
from Rochester, NY
We have two of these gates and they work great for our two Yorkies. Just the right height to step over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>