petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones

Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones

Made from cuttlebone, a natural floating treat for turtles, tortoises and hermit crabsProvides habitat enrichment and supplementary calciumRough edible surface helps prevent overgrown beaks
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Review 1 for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My Eastern Box Turtle Hasn't bothered it yet.

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
TurtleGirl1
My Eastern Box Turtle Hasn't bothered it yet that I can tell. He mainly gets it dirty. So I recommend Repti Calcium.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crunchies for turtle health

PostedApril 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
BlueTongueSkink
from Broomfield, CO
I bought these for my elderly box turtle a while back and she loved them! I could hear her scrapping on these all day long. It sounded terrible, almost like nails on a chalkboard but she jsut loved to chew her turtle-bones. These really seemed to help keep her beak trimmed and she wouldn't have any over-growth issues that some turtles get. I haven't tried these with aquatic turtles, but the box says its for water too. These look, feel and smell the same as a bird's cuttle bone, but I'm pretty sure the ingrediants are different, so make sure you buy these turtle bones for reptiles, and not ones for birds since reptiles have special diet needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I'ts okay

PostedApril 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
xXEnterNameXx
my turtle takes only a few bites at it. I think it's too hard for them to bite, because they tried to bite a tiny piece they spits it out right away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turtle bones ae great

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
msgadiva
from Mew York
These turtle bones are the best things, I have 2 red earred sliders one is huge and the other not so big, and the big one goes to town on the bone and the little one nips at it but not as much
It stops them from biting on their platform and stops them from fighting with each other. One bone last about 2 weeks and they love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad.

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roho
from Marietta, Georgia
I use these for my Florida box turtles. They are fine, but the cuttlebone made for birds is cheaper and just as good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Backing on this is a pain

PostedFebruary 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
weesnack
from Colorado Springs, CO
It takes me forever to chip off the stupid "backing" on these that helps file down the turtles' beaks... that is ridiculous, the turtles won't even eat it with the backing on, haven't met a person who doesn't chip off the back, I wish they'd make them to where you had the option of buying them without the backing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ok

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aufer
from Philadelphia
I have never put a whole one in the tank because I'm cheap and I don't want my turtle to let them detiorate. So I break them in four. I don't notice new bites often. But I do notice bites. My turtle is healthy so I can't complain. Should come in smaller portions for smaller turtles. They float for a minute and eventually sink.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedMarch 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
tdarn
My turle loves to chase it around his tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Calci-Treat Turtle Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item

PostedFebruary 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
avie
i have 2 red eared sliders they were biting each others feet, and their floating dock. this item put a stop to that. one bone lasts about 2-3 weeks. the zoo med turtle bone is a super item i would recommend every turtle gets to munch on them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.