petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KONG Tug Toy

KONG Tug Toy

Rubber grips or bite-zones provide outstanding comfort and safety for both dog and ownerThe rubber center connector with control-flex technology eliminates potentially dangerous snap-backGreat for encouraging exerciseMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
2.577 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
10
8 out of 26(31%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for KONG Tug Toy
Review 1 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dogs were not interested

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Saginaw, MI
Glad I got this on sale because the dogs could have cared less about this toy. I think it had to do with the feel of the rubber because a couple of tries to play with it and they walked away disinterested.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kong Tug toy

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fell apart first time using it. Big dogs will destroy very fast.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very kong-like

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Northern California
The dog (a black lab) chewed through the connecting rubber in 20 minutes and there was no more tug toy. I definitely wouldn't recommend this for a chewer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Well made but our dog prefers rope

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
Our dog has destroyed several rope tugs so I was looking forward to getting an indestructable version. Unfortunately, the rubber doesn't appeal to our dog and he doesn't play with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

more of a chew toy

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from mesa az
I purchased this toy for my 2 labs, one a pup and the other grown because they love to play tug but manage to destroy all their toys. I gave them the toy and they were not very interested in it except to chew on it. though it has held up they are starting to chew the rubber off. I spent the extra money hoping for a durable tug toy but they don't like it. I wouldn't buy it again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but can be chewed apart

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ann Arbor, MI
We bought this for a bull terrier. He loves it not as a tug toy but as a chew toy. The only down side is he chews it apart within a few days. We watch him to make sure he doesn't eat the rubber off, but he enjoys the different textures to chew on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Kong quality

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
Kong did not live up to their name. Another reviewer said it lasted about 5 minutes. For our dogs, it was about 4 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kong toy not durable

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Romeoville, Il
I have heard great things about kong, So since my dogs always can take other toys apart, I tried Kong.
Well they had this pull toy apart in minutes. This was not durable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

dog really liked it

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
from animal lover
my boxer mix liked it but immediately tore the black handles off...........wish it was sturdier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good fun

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
this is toy has been a pleasure to play with my 3 y/o husky-hound-boxer/pit mix...she can get a good hold one one end and I can get a good grip on the other. we don't leave it out for her to play with on her own so its lasted a number of weeks when we usually replace ropes just about every other week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE!!!!!

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
It was great for 1 use and didn't even last 8 hours. The second time we used it with our 7 mo old lab, the plastic in the middle broke. We were surprised since have had really good luck with Kong toys in the past. We will be returning it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not For Large Breeds

PostedMay 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Zachary, LA
My German Shepherd Dog couldn't maintain a solid grip on the rubber end. The lack of give in the toy makes tug-of-war a jerky, clumsy game. It also wasn't very safe. My dog frequently lost his bite hold, causing him to lunge forward and snap in an attempt to regain it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke in 3 MInutes

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Norfolk, VA
Within 3 minutes of tugging with a light-weight dog, it broke. I returned in to Petco and was given a full refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for chewers

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I bought this for my 6 month old labrador puppy and within two minutes it was pulled apart and chewed. All of her other red Kong toys have survived, but this was a complete waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money

PostedJuly 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
My Rotttie 8 month old pup refuses to have anything to do with the Tug Toy. Just a waste of money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
I would not recommend this to anyone with an aggressive chewer. We have a 45-pound pit bull who insists on chewing on the red side parts. She easily chewed a hole through one side within the first half hour. I cannot get her to pull on the rubber grips despite praising her every time she does and smearing the handles with peanut butter. Definitely disappointed - her black Kong toy is one of her favorites and has lasted about a year. I was hoping this would be of the same durability.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
RUBBER HANDLE CAME APART THE FIRST DAY.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tug of War?

PostedApril 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Our Lab puppy loves to play with her tug toy. It's lasted well, no ripping or tearing like some of the other reviews but our Lab is still young...so far a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good for a month

PostedApril 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
This toy has great play value but our small rat terrier chewed through the middle rubberized area in about a month.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KONG Tug Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kong is Tough!

PostedMarch 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have a 55 pound Pit. She loves to pull and chew on this. It holds up well. Just be sure not to leave your dog alone with it, because it is not intended for extended chewing. The handles do not pinch my hands or my dog's mouth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>