petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food

Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food

Specially formulated for growing puppies' health and developmentIncludes high-quality protein featured in all Blue Buffalo dog foodWhole grains provide carbohydrates for energyEssential vitamins and minerals support the immune systemIncludes ingredients rich in Omega-3 fatty acids like DHA - essential for brain and eye development)Dry dog food contains no corn, wheat, or soyFeatures unique LifeSource Bits to maintain oxidative balance, support immune system and meet life stage requirements
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
66 out of 71(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST FOOD

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from VENTURA,CA
My golden retriever loves this dog food will keep given it to him he is only 7 months old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
My 10 week old puppy German shepherd loves this food. We transitioned our puppy with this food and had no issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 18 week old lab loves her food

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ashburn, VA
I have an 18 week old yellow lab and she is doing very well on the Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy food. She gets 3 - 1 cup servings a day and treats in between. She is very active and sleeps through the night. When I got her, she was eating Royal Canin……we did the switch very gradually over a three week period of time….mainly because we did not want to throw out a perfectly good bag of food. She is growing normally and is very healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Chester, PA
Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food is great, my puppy loves it. He always looks forward for his meal. He was able to digest the food nicely, and his skin and coat is shinny. He is growing nicely and all thanks to Blue Buffalo....I have used other products from Blue Buffalo and they are all great. We love you Blue Buffalo :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mission, TX
I've been feeding my Malamute blue buffalo for half a year. I got a puppy (husky/ lab mix) two months ago. She absolutely loves blue buffalo chicken and brown rice for large breed puppies. She's growing very well and her coat looks lovely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food for German Sheppard

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cecil County, MD
My puppy loves this food as does my senior husky/lab. I had concerns about the old dog but the extra protein and calories seem to be doing well for her and help her keep up with the puppy. Our vet suggested large breed puppy formula to keep the pup from gaining weight and growing too quickly which can aggravate joint, bone and hip issues later in life. Very happy with the product and one food for both dogs is much easier on our schedules.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Buffalo Puppy Food

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I did a lot of research as to the best food for our new yellow lab puppy. This was highly recommended as to being very healthy and without a lot of fillers. "Daisy" is very happy with this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
This product was recommended for our english bulldog puppy by our breeder. The food was ok at the beginning, but then it caused our pup horrible diarrhea. The food ended up being too rich for him.
Every dog is different and every food is different, but I have read a ton of reviews online about Blue Buffalo giving puppies and dogs horrible diarrhea.
So, we will have to switch foods for him.
I would recommend this food, but only with caution.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Digestion Issues

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have an 8.5-month-old Black Lab puppy who has been on Blue Buffalo's Large Breed Puppy food for quite some time. He has had terrible diarrhea and nothing but really soft stool since being on it. I talked to his vet this morning, and she told me BB is extremely hard on puppies' (and kittens') digestive systems so she recommends not feeding it to him anymore. I am switching him today! If you are going to try this food, I would recommend starting with a small bag to see how your puppy does with it before spending the money on the larger bag. Did not work for me. Yikes!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
I've been feeding my 7 month old puppy this food since he was 8 weeks old and he is growing and thriving.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My pup thrives on Blue Buffalo

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
My puppy absolutely LOVES this food. like no other!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Decatur, TN
My pup is now 8 months old, weighs 60 lbls (blue pit mix). He has been a picky eater over the last few months and loves this stuff so far. Thanks again BLUE!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food! Great Health!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
Excellent food for health & coat! I have tried other natural foods but had to switch because of dog gas! I have NO Issues with gas from my dogs on this product. There are skin allergy issues in the blood lines of 1 of my dogs but my dogs have beautiful coats & skin! I would recommend this to everyone who wants to reduce vet bills!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No differernt than Reg BB puppy food

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alexandria, VA
Looks exactly the same as regular Blue Buffalo puppy food. Same exact kibble size, etc. BB makes a great product but not sure why they have a regular and Large Breed when they are the same.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Diharea

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo, NY
Tried to transition my 9 week old rotty off the purina complete puppy chow that was given to it when we adopted. After a week of bad diharea i stopped. I just gave him boileled chicken and rice and am starting him on Orijin large breed puppy giving him a little at a time and no loose stools and he loves it. All dogs are different but google BB Diharea.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality dog food

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, CA
Blue Buffalo dog food provides all the high quality nutrients my active dogs need to grow and thrive. The regular delivery makes staying stocked up easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our Chessie puppy loves this food

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Thompson Falls, MT
After much online investigation this dog food had high marks. Our 4 month old male Chessie puppy loves this product. He is an extremely large puppy and we follow the feeding guide provided by the manufacturer. Vet says that he is very healthy and his weight is right were it should be. Will continue to buy for our pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis MO
Excellent quality food. My lab puppy just loves when it is time for her to eat. Coat and skin looks fantastic. So far I have been very pleased with the food. It would be great if the bags were larger but other then that fantastic. Would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dog Food

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Middletown, RI
My puppy loves this dog food. It was an easy transition from the generic puppy food she was fed at the shelter. A tad more $$ but we feel it is worth it to know she is eating natural foods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic food

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from long Island NY
I have a 9 month old 85lb bullmastiff and he loves this food. It is very healthy and contains no fillers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>