petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food

Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food

Specially formulated for growing puppies' health and developmentIncludes high-quality protein featured in all Blue Buffalo dog foodWhole grains provide carbohydrates for energyEssential vitamins and minerals support the immune systemIncludes ingredients rich in Omega-3 fatty acids like DHA - essential for brain and eye development)Dry dog food contains no corn, wheat, or soyFeatures unique LifeSource Bits to maintain oxidative balance, support immune system and meet life stage requirements
Average Customer Rating:
4.649 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
5 stars
65
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
71 out of 77(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dog food for pups

PostedJune 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
My puppy is full of energy ever since i switched him from Purina Plus Sports mix to Blue Buffalo his coat is much nicer his breath smells better,digestion is better then before if you really do love your dog you would feed him this brand .=)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Blue Buffalo puppy food for large breed

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I started giving this to my puppy. She developed soft stool and thought because of the change in diet.
She never regained control of her poo. I changed her food and now has solid stool again. She is also a very happy puppy growing quite big.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Andrews AFB, MD
Is a great dog food, I have a 3mo. Goldendoodle and she love it. In the beginning her stool was a little bit soft, but after 1 or 2 weeks when back to normal, I asked her Vet. and she told me is normal. Stool smells very bad and make her fard. But, since I start this food with her, the hair looks better, perfect high and weight for her age, more energy and more alert. Recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dobielady

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, New York
This food must taste really good because my girl never turns up her nose at it. Eats it all and looks for more!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Labrador pup gobbles it up

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, New York
My Labrador puppy really likes this stuff, especially when I mix it with pumpkin purée, some diced carrots, and blueberries. I recommend adding a little water to the food - it releases more of the flavor for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great large breed puppy food!

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brea, CA
This is a great puppy food for large breeds! While I would prefer to feed grain free, those have far too much protein for a giant breed like my Great Dane. She needs a more balanced ratio. My dog loves the taste and it hasn't caused any stomach upset or diarrhea when I switched to his brand. I'm happy if my dogs happy. Everyone comments on how beautiful and shiny her black coat is too. I do wish they had more flavors in their large breed food, I do switch brands to give my puppy variety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST FOOD

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from VENTURA,CA
My golden retriever loves this dog food will keep given it to him he is only 7 months old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
My 10 week old puppy German shepherd loves this food. We transitioned our puppy with this food and had no issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 18 week old lab loves her food

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ashburn, VA
I have an 18 week old yellow lab and she is doing very well on the Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy food. She gets 3 - 1 cup servings a day and treats in between. She is very active and sleeps through the night. When I got her, she was eating Royal Canin……we did the switch very gradually over a three week period of time….mainly because we did not want to throw out a perfectly good bag of food. She is growing normally and is very healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Chester, PA
Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food is great, my puppy loves it. He always looks forward for his meal. He was able to digest the food nicely, and his skin and coat is shinny. He is growing nicely and all thanks to Blue Buffalo....I have used other products from Blue Buffalo and they are all great. We love you Blue Buffalo :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mission, TX
I've been feeding my Malamute blue buffalo for half a year. I got a puppy (husky/ lab mix) two months ago. She absolutely loves blue buffalo chicken and brown rice for large breed puppies. She's growing very well and her coat looks lovely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food for German Sheppard

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cecil County, MD
My puppy loves this food as does my senior husky/lab. I had concerns about the old dog but the extra protein and calories seem to be doing well for her and help her keep up with the puppy. Our vet suggested large breed puppy formula to keep the pup from gaining weight and growing too quickly which can aggravate joint, bone and hip issues later in life. Very happy with the product and one food for both dogs is much easier on our schedules.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Buffalo Puppy Food

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I did a lot of research as to the best food for our new yellow lab puppy. This was highly recommended as to being very healthy and without a lot of fillers. "Daisy" is very happy with this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
This product was recommended for our english bulldog puppy by our breeder. The food was ok at the beginning, but then it caused our pup horrible diarrhea. The food ended up being too rich for him.
Every dog is different and every food is different, but I have read a ton of reviews online about Blue Buffalo giving puppies and dogs horrible diarrhea.
So, we will have to switch foods for him.
I would recommend this food, but only with caution.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Digestion Issues

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have an 8.5-month-old Black Lab puppy who has been on Blue Buffalo's Large Breed Puppy food for quite some time. He has had terrible diarrhea and nothing but really soft stool since being on it. I talked to his vet this morning, and she told me BB is extremely hard on puppies' (and kittens') digestive systems so she recommends not feeding it to him anymore. I am switching him today! If you are going to try this food, I would recommend starting with a small bag to see how your puppy does with it before spending the money on the larger bag. Did not work for me. Yikes!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
I've been feeding my 7 month old puppy this food since he was 8 weeks old and he is growing and thriving.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My pup thrives on Blue Buffalo

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
My puppy absolutely LOVES this food. like no other!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Decatur, TN
My pup is now 8 months old, weighs 60 lbls (blue pit mix). He has been a picky eater over the last few months and loves this stuff so far. Thanks again BLUE!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food! Great Health!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
Excellent food for health & coat! I have tried other natural foods but had to switch because of dog gas! I have NO Issues with gas from my dogs on this product. There are skin allergy issues in the blood lines of 1 of my dogs but my dogs have beautiful coats & skin! I would recommend this to everyone who wants to reduce vet bills!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Buffalo Large Breed Puppy Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No differernt than Reg BB puppy food

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alexandria, VA
Looks exactly the same as regular Blue Buffalo puppy food. Same exact kibble size, etc. BB makes a great product but not sure why they have a regular and Large Breed when they are the same.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-11points
0of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>