petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats

R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats

Everything you need to keep your pet's ears clean and free of mites and ticks in one convenient kitThe R-7 Ear Care Kit includes R-7 Ear Cleaner to safely and effectively clean ears and R-7M Ear Mite Treatment to control mites and ticks
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Review 1 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
sharkhead
from central florida
product works well and is a good value as you get a bottle of cleaner as well as the mite medicine for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
aiater
from Mission, TX
This product works great! after two uses my dog's ears are clean and tick free! Before he was infested with them and it was hard to keep up. but after using this, no more ticks or mites and now I have a happy dog :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Must use religiously

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
PhatGranny
from Kennewick, WA
My gf adopted her sisters cat and he came with ear-mites. He must've had them for a long time before because its been a month since I got the ear treatment and he still has them. I switched from the safety q-tip to the regular q-tips and try to get into every nook & cranny of his ear and really massage in the ear-mite solution in before he shakes it all out. I'm a little disappointed because I'm almost out of ear cleaner (he knocked it over by thrashing around while I was trying to clean his ears) and they are still pretty bad. It says use three times a week but using medicine that infrequently doesn't work. I started to clean his ears every two days, give the poor guy the earmite treatment every day, and not let him outside for an hour after treatment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JSHOCK79
from Saginaw, TX
My dog does not like having drops of liquid in his ears, but the product does work in getting rid of ear mites and the smell that accompanies that issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing ever made

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jaredmoore86
from Tomball tx
Me and my 6 month old pitbull went out on the boat and when we came back I noticed she was attacking her ears alot. I thought she just had the normal fleas and didn't think too much about it I'll give her a bath later and shell be fine. About a week later she's clawing at her ears and I look in them and they are infested with ear mites. Like her whole inside of her ears were black bc they were crawling everywhere. I read about this product and went and got it. I used the cleaner first and them the ear mite stuff and no joke about 30 mins later she wasn't even bothered by her ears. The first ear wasn't easy to get her to let us do it but the second ear age calmed down like she knew it was helping. I did this not even a full 24 hours ago and there is not one ear mite in her ears anymore. This stuff is amazing. If ur dog has ear mites this is the stuff to get.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product!!!

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
mcd08
from Swan, Iowa
Just received this in the mail today and I can't believe I didn't purchase it sooner. For the past week my poor lab pup has been suffering from a sever case of ear mites, the itching was so bad she started scratching and bleeding on her ears. Needles to say she was miserable. As soon as I received this product I used the ear cleaner and you won't believe how well it works, the amount of dirt and gunk that came out was outstanding, but gross. She shook her head for a while and the product kind of drips out of the ear (so be careful during application) I let the cleaner sit in for a couple of minutes and massaged her ears, cleaned them out and applied the ear mite treatment. The treatment has a real strong smell, so I recommend applying it outside. My pup shook her head for a little bit, didn't seem to like it, but now she is running around as happy as she can be. Don't waste your money on other products, this is amazing!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Parker123456
from Texas
My puppy had a bad odor in his ears, we tried this product before taking him to the vet to get it checked out because we didn't want to pay vet bills. It works GREAT! Odor went away and it pulled the gunk out of his ears. Only thing I didn't like was the bottles shape. It should be pointed so it's easier to get into the ear. Other than that, this is a great product! Definitely reccomend!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

R-7

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
phanisha
from south holland, il
R-7 is the best ear mite med i came ever came across. my cat has mites it was so bad i thought we was going to have to give her up; because i couldn't efford vet care. i did some research and found this product. i love the fact that it is a 2 step process: cleaner and ear mite drops. the first time i used it the oder was gone. her ear smelled awful and within mins it was gone. when i put the cleaner in all that black stuff was coming out. it was so nasty. with the other products i didn't get this results. so far i had used it twice and her ear is looking and smelling better. her ear isn't purple its more pink. i mean its amazing. she isn't scratching her ear at all or shaking it constantly. i wish i would have discovered this product earlier. now my cat is getting better after 2 uses and she looks so much more happier. i hope after 3 weeks of usage the mites will all be history.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
TheGerman
from las vegas
I got this for my German Shepherd when i noticed she had ear mites. I would recommend being outside when you do it, as it has a pretty strong odor, and the fact that for the next 45 minutes she kept shaking her head and stuff was flying out in all directions. But within 30 mins of playing fetch at the park all the mites were gone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Using R7 FYI

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
AW2011
I just purchased this kit ...I don't know if it works yet but I have used it on one of our poodles. The groomer highly recommended this product. When I used the cleanser first, the stuff just poured down her ear so I held off on the mite killer. I picked up a couple of droppers from the drug store -- you can usually find them in the aisle that has kid's thermometers and pill cases. Fairly inexpensive and gives better control to administer drops. I wished R7 had better packaging or at least included a dropper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Products

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChiDad
from Indianapolis, IN
I bought this product hoping that it would help my male Chihuahuas ear "funk"! He absolutely hates having his ears messed with even at the Vet, so I was reluctant to throw money at another wonder product. THE FIRST time we cleaned his ears, the solution pulled a ton of gunk/wax out and left a strong smell in his ears. After a few hours the smell had faded and the original "funk" smell was gone. MIRACLE! We use the solution every few weeks or so just to keep his ears as clean as possible. A little solution goes a long long way. The ear mite solution seems to be a great protectant as well. We haven't had a sign of earmites on any of our 3 Chi's since using the product. Don't waste your money on the other stuff.. This product is the only one we have found luck with!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hard to use

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
leosmom15
from Portlsnd Oregon
I'm not sure if this product gets rid of mites just yet. I have only used it twice so far. I do not like the applicator though. I needs to be a pointy end so that you can easily dispense the liquid without it getting all over the place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works but very strong odor

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
VeeBrown
from Jersey City, NJ
The R-7 Ear Care kit is great for ear mites treatment and ear care. I use it on my kitten and dog. My dog has never had ear mite, but sine the kitten we rescued has them we clean the dogs ears as a preventative. The Kitten lets us clean his ears with out a problem, and its been working slowly ( he had a pretty bad infestation) The treatment has a very strong chemical odor, which makes me nervous when I put it on the kitten. I am looking for more natural ways of getting rid of his ear mites situation
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

greatest ear care product

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
msperfectionist
I really love the r-7 ear care for dogs! I have a dauchshund and they are prone to have ear issues and it really keeps my pet's ear mite problems under control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth the money

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
chika
from waco tx
my 4 year old poodle had ear mites for quite a while and the vets drops didnt help at all. with this she stoped itching and the smell went away. i only used it about every 3 days. about 3 months of using it it and now i do it even less often she doesnt scratch or smell any more!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJuly 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
strykerstricken
r-7 ear care product has worked extremely well on our pet i would recommend this product to anyone that has pets with ear mites
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend!!!!!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dragonflies220
from Louisville, KY
The difference in odor is amazing! The amount of time between cleanings has increased greatly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for R-7 Ear Care Kit for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Results

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
jaded21
from Vacaville, California
After adopting my 6 month old cocker spaniel mix, my husband and I noticed she was itching her ears excessively. We eventually learned that she had ear mites from her previous owners not properly caring for her. My mom recommended I get her ear cleaner and a treatment. I found this stuff first and loved that it was on sale. After just one cleaning and treatment her itching decreased 100% and her ears don't stink like they used to. This is a way better solution then taking your dog to a vet or groomer to have them do the same exact thing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.